Response to Amendment
The amendments filed August 31, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 4-8 are currently pending and have been examined. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments of claim 1. Claims 2-3 are cancelled by applicant. Claims 6-8 are withdrawn by applicant. The previous 102/103 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made due to applicant’s amendments. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the holding controller displaces the center portion of the substrate in an upward direction or a downward direction by adjusting a force to be applied to the front surface of the substrate by the upper gripper and a force to be applied to the back surface of the substrate by the lower gripper, in a state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above” in lines 12-14. The examiner cannot find in the specification any recitation of the claimed state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above. Furthermore on paragraph 0065 of the specification, the original disclosure states “the center portion of the substrate is displaced is defined by the resultant force of the gravity applied to the substrate and the force received by the substrate from the upper holding devices, and the uplift force applied to the lower-surface brush” thus including an additional force being received. As such, the limitation is being regarded as new matter.
Claims 4-5 depends on claim 1 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(a).
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above” in lines 13-14. It is unclear how gravity can act from above of the substrate since gravity would necessarily pull the substrate from below, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation as intended use which is met with the structure of the substrate processing apparatus.
Claims 4-5 depends on claim 1 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (JP 2004037234).
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa discloses: a substrate processing apparatus (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0018) comprising:
a substrate holder (element 20) that holds an outer peripheral end (element 11) of a substrate (element 10);
a processor that processes a front surface or a back surface of the substrate (See paragraph 0018 where the prior art discloses utilizing “a vapor deposition apparatus” (processor) in combination with the holding device (i.e. element 20 substrate holder) in order to hold a substrate for “vapor deposition” (processes) and see figure 6 showing the substrate being held by the substrate holder (element 20) and having an exposed surface for processing, thus the processer would be capable of processing either the front surface or the back surface of the substrate, as recited.); and
a center portion (see figures 4 and 5 annotated below Detail A) of the substrate is displaced in an upward direction or a downward direction in a period during which the substrate is processed by the processor (see figures 4 and 5 annotated below showing the substrate (element 10) being displaced in an upward direction (figure 5) and a downward direction (figure 4), thus being capable of having the center portion of the substrate in the upward direction or the downward direction in a period during which the substrate is processed by the processor, as recited.), wherein
the substrate holder has two grippers (elements 20A/20B) that are arranged to be opposite to each other with the substrate interposed between the two grippers (see figure 5),
each of the two grippers includes an upper gripper (see figure 5 annotated below Detail B) that abuts against the front surface of the substrate (see figure 5 annotated below showing the upper gripper (Detail B) abutting an expose surface of the substrate (element 10), thus depending on the orientation of the substrate being placed on the substrate holder, the upper gripper would be capable of abutting against the front surface of the substrate) and a lower gripper (see figure 5 annotated below Detail C) that abuts against the back surface of the substrate (see figure 5 annotated below showing the lower gripper (Detail C) abutting an expose surface of the substrate (element 10), thus depending on the orientation of the substrate being placed on the substrate holder, the lower gripper would be capable of abutting against the back surface of the substrate), and
displaces the center portion of the substrate in an upward direction or a downward direction by adjusting a force to be applied to the front surface of the substrate by the upper gripper and a force to be applied to the back surface of the substrate by the lower gripper, in a state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above (Per applicant’s disclosure in paragraph 0130, “a case in which the pair of upper holding devices cause the rotation of the pair of upper holding devices in the forward direction, a force that displaces the center portion of the substrate in the upward direction is exerted. In a case in which the pair of upper holding devices cause the rotation of the pair of upper holding devices in the negative direction, a force that displaces the center portion
of the substrate W in the downward direction is exerted”, similarly the prior art discloses that the substrate holder (element 20) which has two grippers (elements 20A/20B) are “rotatably supported around a support shaft” (see paragraph 0020 via element 41), thus as shown in figure 5 annotated below a force would necessarily be applied to multiple surfaces (i.e. front/back surface) of the substrate (element 10) by both the upper and lower grippers (Detail B/C) in order to displace the center portion (Detail A) of the substrate with no additional elements providing that force. Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitation and there is no structural difference, the prior art would be capable of displacing the center portion of the substrate in an upward direction or a downward direction by adjusting a force to be applied to the front surface of the substrate by the upper gripper and a force to be applied to the back surface of the substrate by the lower gripper, in a state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above, as recited.).
Furthermore, Ogawa discloses the mechanical structure of the substrate holder (element 20) that performs the claimed function of the center portion of the substrate is displaced in an upward direction or a downward direction and adjusting a force to be applied to the front surface of the substrate by the upper gripper (see figure 5 annotated above Detail B) and a force to be applied to the back surface of the substrate by the lower gripper (see figure 5 annotated above Detail C), in a state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above. However, Ogawa does not explicitly disclose utilizing a holding controller that controls the substrate holder of the substrate is displaced in an upward direction or a downward direction in a period during which the substrate is processed by the processor and the holding controller displaces the center portion of the substrate in an upward direction or a downward direction by adjusting a force to be applied to the front surface of the substrate by the upper gripper and a force to be applied to the back surface of the substrate by the lower gripper, in a state where the substrate does not receive a force other than gravity from above.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogawa to provide a holding controller that controls substrate holder, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the same result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the substrate holder would necessarily increase productivity and efficiency during processing operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (JP 2004037234) in view of Paul (JP 2017152565).
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the processor includes a cleaner that comes into contact with a lower surface of the substrate to clean the lower surface of the substrate, and the holding controller controls the substrate holder such that the center portion of the substrate is displaced in the upward direction or the downward direction in a period during which the cleaner cleans a lower-surface center portion of the substrate.
Paul is also concern in providing a substrate processing apparatus (Figures 1-7 and see also paragraph 0011) comprising a substrate holder (element 30) that holds an outer peripheral end (element Wd) of a substrate (element W) and a processor (element 4) that processes a surface of the substrate (see figures 4-7). The prior art of Paul further teaches wherein the processor includes a cleaner (see paragraphs 0011-0012 where the prior art discloses element 4 as “a cleaning means” and comprises “a leaning roller” (element 40)) that comes into contact with a lower surface of the substrate to clean the lower surface of the substrate (see figures 4-7 and see also paragraph 0011 where the prior art discloses utilizing element 40 “for cleaning the lower surface Wb of the wafer W”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogawa to incorporate the teachings of Paul to provide wherein the processor includes a cleaner that comes into contact with a lower surface of the substrate to clean the lower surface of the substrate. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known processer in the form of a cleaner having a cleaning roller would necessarily allow dirt to be attached to the roller, thus the risk of contamination of the wafer is reduced and the wafer cleaning effect can be improved as described by Paul (see paragraph 0043). Therefore, given that the prior art as modified discloses an automatic means of having the holding controller that controls substrate holder in order to displace a center portion of the substrate using the substrate holder (see rejection of claim 1 above), one of ordinary skill would find it obvious that Ogawa modified substrate processing apparatus would behave the same as recited, including wherein the holding controller controls the substrate holder such that the center portion of the substrate is displaced in the upward direction or the downward direction in a period during which the cleaner cleans a lower-surface center portion of the substrate, as recited.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (JP 2004037234) in view of Hanashima (JP 2020102573).
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent further comprising a displacement sensor that detects displacement of the substrate, wherein the holding controller controls the substrate holder such that displacement of the substrate falls within a predetermined range.
Hanashima teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0013) comprising a substrate holder (element 10 and see also figure 7) holds an outer peripheral end of a substrate (element 200) and a holding controller (element 160) that controls the substrate holder (see paragraph 0045-0046). Hanashima further teaches the apparatus further comprising a displacement sensor (element 72) that detects displacement of the substrate (see paragraph 0042), wherein the holding controller controls the substrate holder such that displacement of the substrate falls within a predetermined range (see paragraphs 0059-0060).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogawa to incorporate the teachings of Hanashima to provide a displacement sensor that detects displacement of the substrate, wherein the holding controller controls the substrate holder such that displacement of the substrate falls within a predetermined range. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a displacement sensor on the apparatus would necessarily indicate to the user how much displacement is occurring with the substrate, thus preventing allowing the user to make any necessary adjustments on the substrate holder in order to prevent the substrate from over displacing and being damaged during operations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723