Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (Patent No: US 2018/0054824 A1), hereinafter, Xue, in view of BAE et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0329391 A1), hereinafter, BAE.
Regarding Claim 1, Xue teaches,
A method for carrier handover, performed by a terminal device, comprising: receiving a carrier handover indication; -Fig. 5 (210); Paragraph [0162-0165] ([0164] recites, “S210: Receive carrier switching indication information sent by a base station, where the carrier switching indication information is used for indicating a carrier switching policy according to which user equipment UE performs carrier switching.”)
and determining, from a plurality of candidate carriers, a target carrier Fig. 5 (220); Paragraph [0165][0019]([0165] recites, “S220: Perform carrier switching according to the carrier switching policy indicated in the carrier switching indication information.” [0019] recites, “the first indication information is used for indicating a candidate carrier set according to which the UE performs carrier switching and/or a switching time delay for which the UE performs carrier switching.” As explained above, according to the switching policy, determine the target carrier from a set (plurality of carriers) The carrier switching is done by UE in the uplink in the PUCCH)
Although implicit, Xue does not explicitly mention,
a target carrier of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)
wherein the plurality of candidate carriers comprises two candidate carriers, and the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication is configured to implicitly indicate the carrier handover between the two candidate carriers;
wherein when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an odd number, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an even number, the value indicates no handover;
or, when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an even number, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an odd number, the value indicates no handover;
or, when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is a preset specific value, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is not the preset specific value, the value indicates no handover.
In an analogous invention, BAE teaches,
a target carrier of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) -Paragraph [0267] ([0267] teaches, “In some implementations of the present disclosure, the UE may be separately provided with an RRC parameter indicating a set of CCs by the BS. The set of CCs may indicate CCs (i.e., cells) that may be subjected to PUCCH carrier switching. The UE and the BS may limitedly perform PUCCH carrier switching within a configured set of CCs.”)
wherein the plurality of candidate carriers comprises two candidate carriers, and the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication is configured to implicitly indicate the carrier handover between the two candidate carriers; -Paragraph [0334-0335] ([0334-0335] recites, “When a separate reference cell or reference SCS for a carrier switching operation is configured, for example, when a reference cell for determining a set of HARQ-ACK feedback timing values, for determination of a PDSCH-to-HARQ-ACK timing (i.e., HARQ-ACK feedback timing), a slot length, and an SCS is predefined or configured by higher layer signaling of the BS in the carrier switching operation, if PUCCH transmission is scheduled with the DCI format without carrier indication, the UE uses a PUCCH resource set and a set of HARQ-ACK feedback timing values of the reference cell and uses the slot length of the reference cell, in order to select the PUCCH resource under the assumption that the PUCCH is scheduled on the primary cell. Method A6-1a_3: When a separate reference SCS for the carrier switching operation is configured, for example, when the reference SCS for determining an SCS to be used in the carrier switching operation is predefined or is configured by higher layer signaling of the BS, if PUCCH transmission is scheduled with the DCI format without carrier indication, the UE uses a PUCCH resource set and a set of HARQ-ACK feedback timing values of the primary cell and uses the slot length of the reference cell, in order to select the PUCCH resource under the assumption that the PUCCH is scheduled on the primary cell.”)
wherein when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an odd number, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an even number, the value indicates no handover;
or, when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an even number, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is set to an odd number, the value indicates no handover; -Paragraph [0329] ([0329] recites, “Method A6_4: One (e.g., all “1”s or all “0”s) of bit representations that may be indicated by the PUCCH carrier indicator may be reserved as “no switching state”. For example, when “no switching state” is indicated, the UE may perform PUCCH transmission on a primary cell without performing PUCCH carrier switching.”)
or, when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is a preset specific value, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is not the preset specific value, the value indicates no handover. -Paragraph [0295] ([0295] recites, “Method A3a_4: (Dedicated K1 set for PUCCH carrier switching) When a cell on which a PUCCH will be transmitted is explicitly indicated or is capable of being explicitly indicated through a PDSCH scheduling message or when the PUCCH is to be transmitted in a cell other than a primary cell by a predefined rule, the UE may select the PUCCH resource using a set of HARQ-ACK feedback values separately configured by the BS for PUCCH cell switching. The BS may separately configure, for the UE, a set of HARQ-ACK feedback timing values to be used when dynamically switching a PUCCH carrier.” As explained above BS may configure separate HARQ feedback timing values (preset) and depending on the configured preset timing values switching from original carrier to another carrier (handover) may happen, or remain in the same carrier (no handover).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “a target carrier of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); wherein the plurality of candidate carriers comprises two candidate carriers, and the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication is configured to implicitly indicate the carrier handover between the two candidate carriers; when a value of the HARQ feedback time indication is a preset specific value, the value indicates handing over from an original carrier to another carrier, and when the value of the HARQ feedback time indication is not the preset specific value, the value indicates no handover.” of BAE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order for more flexible and efficient resource use and service support [0221].
Claim 11 is essentially same as Claim 1, the only difference is Claim 11 is viewed from network side while Claim 1 is viewed from UE side. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as Claim1.
Claim 41 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 41 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Xue further teaches,
A communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is stored with a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the device to perform -Fig. 9, Paragraph [0268] ([0268] recites, “FIG. 9 is a schematic block diagram of user equipment UE 600 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 9, the UE 600 includes: a processor 610, a memory 620, a bus system 630 and a receiver 640. The processor 610, the memory 620 and the receiver 640 are connected by using the bus system 630, the memory 620 is configured to store an instruction, and the processor 610 invokes, by using the bus system 630, the instruction stored in the memory 620….”)
Claim 42 is the Apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 11. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 11 above which is rejected. Claim 42 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 11.
Xue further teaches,
A communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is stored with a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the device to perform the method according to claim 11. -Fig. 8, Paragraph [0243] ([0243] recites, “FIG. 8 is a schematic block diagram of a base station 500 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 8, the base station 500 includes a processor 510, a memory 520, a bus system 530 and a transmitter 540. The processor 510, the memory 520 and the transmitter 540 are connected by using the bus system 530, the memory 520 is configured to store an instruction, and the processor 510 invokes, by using the bus system 530, the instruction stored in the memory 520….”)
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of BAE, and further in view of KRISZTIAN et al. (Patent No: CN 117859287 A), hereinafter, KRISZTIAN.
Regarding Claim 6, Xue and BAE teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Xue does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 1, wherein when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located or a carrier index of the target carrier, and the second indication information is configured to indicate an available PUCCH time frequency resource of the target carrier.
However, in an analogous invention, KRISZTIAN teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate carriers consists of four candidate carriers, and the carrier handover indication comprises a multiplexed PRI; -
Page 13, Paragraph 8, 14 (Recites, “…1 bit of an existing DCI field (e.g., PRI) may be used to provide the dynamic PUCCH cell indication…. In one embodiment, the indication is provided by an existing PUCCH Resource Indicator (PRI) field in DCI formats 1_0, 1_1 and/or 1_2. In
this embodiment, the serving cell ID information may be included as part of PUCCH resource configuration using the new RRC parameter. If the indicated PUCCH resource contains the UL cell ID information, it indicates a UL cell to be used for corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback.”)
wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located or a carrier index of the target carrier, and the second indication information is configured to indicate an available PUCCH time frequency resource of the target carrier. -Page 11, Paragraph 2-4 ( Recites, “Fig. 3 shows a timeline in a simple scenario with two PDSCH and one feedback message. In this example, a total of 4 PUCCH resources are configured, and PRI indicates that PUCCH 2 will be used for HARQ feedback. PUCCH 2 is selected from 4 PUCCH resources based on the procedure defined in NR Rel-15. In NR Rel-15, the UE may be configured with a maximum of 4 PUCCH resource sets for transmission of HARQ-ACK information. Each set is associated with a range of UCI payload bits including HARQ-ACK bits. The first set is always associated with 1 or 2 HARQ-ACK bits and thus includes only PUCCH format 0 or 1 or both. The range of payload values (minimum or maximum) of the other sets is provided by the configuration in the case of being configured, except for the maximum of the last set using the default value, and the minimum of the second set is 3. The first set may include a maximum of 32 PUCCH resources of PUCCH format 0 or 1. Other sets may include up to 8 bits in formats 2 or 3 or 4. As described above, the UE determines a slot for transmitting HARQ-ACK bits in a PUCCH corresponding to a PDSCH scheduled or activated by the DCI via a K1 value provided by the configuration or in a field in the corresponding DCI. The UE forms a codebook from HARQ-ACK bits with associated PUCCHs in the same slot via the corresponding K1 value.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises first indication information and second indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located or a carrier index of the target carrier, and the second indication information is configured to indicate an available PUCCH time frequency resource of the target carrier.” of KRISZTIAN . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the performance of carrier aggregation [Page 5, Paragraph 12].
Claim 16 is essentially same as Claim 6, the only difference is Claim 16 is dependent claim of independent claim 11, while Claim 6 is dependent claim of independent Claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 6 above which is rejected. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of BAE, KRISZTIAN, and further in view of XING (Patent No: US 2023/0134484 A1), hereinafter, XING.
Regarding Claim 7, Xue and BAE teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Xue does not implicitly mention,
The method according to claim 1, when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises third indication information, and the third indication information is 3 bits in length, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate the target carrier and a corresponding PUCCH time frequency resource.
However, in an analogous invention, KRISZTIAN teaches,
The method according to claim 1, when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI);-Page 11, Paragraph 2-4 ( Recites, “Fig. 3 shows a timeline in a simple scenario with two PDSCH and one feedback message. In this example, a total of 4 PUCCH resources are configured, and PRI indicates that PUCCH 2 will be used for HARQ feedback. PUCCH 2 is selected from 4 PUCCH resources based on the procedure defined in NR Rel-15”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI);” of KRISZTIAN . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the performance of carrier aggregation [Page 5, Paragraph 12].
Although implicit, Xue and KRISZTIAN combination do not explicitly mention,
wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises third indication information, and the third indication information is 3 bits in length, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate the target carrier and a corresponding PUCCH time frequency resource.
However, BAE teaches,
wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises third indication information, -Fig. 13; Paragraph [0482] ( [0482] recites, “For PUCCH transmissions that overlap with each other, the UE may determine the CC on which the (multiplexed) PUCCH will be transmitted based on a PUCCH resource indicated or configured to transmit HARQ-ACK. When there are two or more PUCCH resources indicated or configured to transmit HARQ-ACK, the UE may determine the CC on which the PUCCH will be transmitted based on dynamically indicated PUCCHs rather than semi-statically configured PUCCHs and determine the CC on which the PUCCH will be transmitted based on a PUCCH which is indicated later among the dynamically indicated PUCCH(s).”[0065] recites, “In this specification, a radio resource (e.g., a time-frequency resource) scheduled or configured to the UE by the BS for transmission or reception of the PUCCH/PUSCH/PDSCH may be referred to as a PUCCH/PUSCH/PDSCH resource.” )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “wherein the multiplexed PRI comprises third indication information, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate the target carrier and a corresponding PUCCH time frequency resource” of BAE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order for more flexible and efficient resource use and service support [0221].
Although implicit and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art, Xue does not explicitly mention,
and the third indication information is 3 bits in length,
However, in an analogous invention, XING teaches,
and the third indication information is 3 bits in length, -Paragraph [0152, ] ([0152] recites, “0≤r.sub.PUCCH≤15, N.sub.CCE,0 is a quantity of control channel elements (control channel elements, CCEs, CCEs) in a control resource set (control resource set, CORESET) of the PDCCH that carries DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1, n.sub.CCE,0 is an index of a first CCE of the PDCCH, and PRI is a value of the PUCCH resource indicator in DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1. In this case, a bit length of the PRI is 3 bits, and a value range is 0 to 7.” )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “and the third indication information is 3 bits in length “ of XING. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve access efficiency of the terminal device [0005].
Claim 17 is essentially same as Claim 7, the only difference is Claim 17 is dependent claim of independent claim 11, while Claim 7 is dependent claim of independent Claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 7 above which is rejected. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 7.
Claims 8-10, 18-20, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of BAE and further in view of Chun-Che CHIEN (Patent No: US2024/0381366 A1), hereinafter, CHIEN.
Regarding Claim 8, Xue and BAE teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Xue does not explicitly mention,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of a multiplexed uplink/supplementary uplink (UL/SUL) indication and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed UL/SUL indication is configured to indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the candidate carrier subset.
However, in an analogous invention, CHIEN teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of a multiplexed uplink/supplementary uplink (UL/SUL) indication and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed UL/SUL indication is configured to indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the candidate carrier subset. -Paragraph [0213-0217] ([0213-0217] recites, “In the scenario of CA and/or SUL, for dynamic switching of a PUCCH cell/carrier carrying HARQ-ACK and/or a scheduling request (SR) based on an DCI indication. If a field (referred to as a PUCCH cell/carrier indication field) indicating the PUCCH cell/carrier is included in the DCI of the original cell, then: The field of PRI in the DCI is to indicate a PUCCH resource of a corresponding PUCCH cell/carrier, i.e., target cell. The value of HARQ-ACK feedback timing K1 in the DCI is associated with the indicated PUCCH cell/carrier. The PUCCH cell/carrier indication field can also indicate the original cell, e.g., PCell, of the UE. The PUCCH cell/carrier indication field can indicate a PUCCH cell of one PUCCH group in a plurality of PUCCH groups of the UE. An index of the PUCCH group (referred to as a PUCCH group index) and an index of the PUCCH cell (referred to as a PUCCH cell index) within a PUCCH group can be separately or jointly encoded.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of a multiplexed uplink/supplementary uplink (UL/SUL) indication and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed UL/SUL indication is configured to indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the candidate carrier subset.“ of CHIEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to Reduce transmission latency of HARQ-ACK feedback [0032] Enhance resource utilization efficiency of PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK [0033] Enhance HARQ-ACK feedback reliability due to interference avoidance or larger available resources [0034].
Regarding Claim 9, Xue and BAE teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Xue does not explicitly mention,
The method according to claim 1, wherein when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises of four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of a multiplexed carrier indication in DCI and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed carrier indication is configured to indicate a carrier index of the target carrier, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the target carrier.
However, in an analogous invention, CHIEN teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises of four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of a multiplexed carrier indication in DCI and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); -Paragraph [0213-0214] ([0213-0214] recites, “ In the scenario of CA and/or SUL, for dynamic switching of a PUCCH cell/carrier carrying HARQ-ACK and/or a scheduling request (SR) based on an DCI indication. If a field (referred to as a PUCCH cell/carrier indication field) indicating the PUCCH cell/carrier is included in the DCI of the original cell, then: The field of PRI in the DCI is to indicate a PUCCH resource of a corresponding PUCCH cell/carrier, i.e., target cell.”)
wherein the multiplexed carrier indication is configured to indicate a carrier index of the target carrier, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the target carrier. -Paragraph [0214, 0217] ([0214] recites, “The field of PRI in the DCI is to indicate a PUCCH resource of a corresponding PUCCH cell/carrier, i.e., target cell. “[0217] recites, “The PUCCH cell/carrier indication field can indicate a PUCCH cell of one PUCCH group in a plurality of PUCCH groups of the UE. An index of the PUCCH group (referred to as a PUCCH group index) and an index of the PUCCH cell (referred to as a PUCCH cell index) within a PUCCH group can be separately or jointly encoded.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises of four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of a multiplexed carrier indication in DCI and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed carrier indication is configured to indicate a carrier index of the target carrier, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the target carrier.“ of CHIEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to Reduce transmission latency of HARQ-ACK feedback [0032] Enhance resource utilization efficiency of PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK [0033] Enhance HARQ-ACK feedback reliability due to interference avoidance or larger available resources [0034].
Regarding Claim 10, Xue and BAE teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Xue does not explicitly mention,
The method according to claim 1, wherein when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication is configured to implicitly indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the candidate carrier subset.
However, in an analogous invention, CHIEN teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication is configured to implicitly indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the candidate carrier subset. -Paragraph [0218, 0315] ([0218] recites, “the first PDSCH is received at slot/sub-slot location n−K1, K1 being a positive integer HARQ feedback timing offset, the UE determines the slot/sub-slot location n based on the HARQ feedback timing offset K1 indicated in the first DCI for transmitting a Type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook comprising a HARQ-ACK bit responding to the received first PDSCH, wherein the HARQ feedback timing offset K1 is determined based on numerology of the determined cell/carrier indicated in the first PUCCH cell/carrier indication, and a K1 set used for constructing the Type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook is associated with the determined cell/carrier indicated in the first PUCCH cell/carrier indication.”[0315] recites, “the UE further receives a second PDSCH and corresponding second DCI at a slot/sub-slot location n−K1′ where K1′<K1, the UE determines the same slot/sub-slot location n for HARQ-ACK transmission responding to the received second PDSCH based on the HARQ feedback timing offset K1′ indicated in the second DCI, a PUCCH resource used for the Type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission is indicated in a PUCCH resource indication (PRI) of the second DCI.” HARQ feedback timing offset and PRI both multiplexed in DCI)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “CARRIER SWITCHING METHOD, BASE STATION, AND USER EQUIPMENT” proposed by Xue to include the concept of “when the plurality of candidate carriers comprises four candidate carriers, the carrier handover indication comprises a joint indication of the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication and a multiplexed PUCCH resource indication (PRI); wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback time indication is configured to implicitly indicate a candidate carrier subset where the target carrier is located, and the multiplexed PRI is configured to indicate a target PUCCH time frequency resource in a time frequency resource set corresponding to the candidate carrier subset.“ of CHIEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to Reduce transmission latency of HARQ-ACK feedback [0032] Enhance resource utilization efficiency of PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK [0033] Enhance HARQ-ACK feedback reliability due to interference avoidance or larger available resources [0034].
Claim 18 is essentially same as Claim 8, the only difference is Claim 18 is dependent claim of independent claim 11, while Claim 8 is dependent claim of independent Claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 8 above which is rejected. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 8.
Claim 19 is essentially same as Claim 9, the only difference is Claim 19 is dependent claim of independent claim 11, while Claim 9 is dependent claim of independent Claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 9 above which is rejected. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 9.
Claim 20 is essentially same as Claim 10, the only difference is Claim 20 is dependent claim of independent claim 11, while Claim 10 is dependent claim of independent Claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 10 above which is rejected. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 10.
Claim 47 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 10. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 10 above which is rejected. Claim 47 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 10.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475