DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-22, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebire et al. (previously cited in Office Action 5/21/2026) in view of Gao et al. (US 2024/0023168).
Regarding claim 1, Sebire et al. discloses (see Fig. 7) a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (block 1106); and
one or more processors (block 1104), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive information (SIBs as disclosed in section 0028) identifying a set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters (cell reselection related parameters as disclosed in section 0028), wherein the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters include one or more parameter values (as disclosed in sections 0095-0101, see also section 0108) associated with a characteristic (such as neighboring cell related information as disclosed in section 0097) of a type of cell selection (intra-frequency, inter-frequency, etc., as disclosed in sections 0095-0101, see also section 0108)) that is to be performed; and
perform the type of cell selection (cell reselection as disclosed in section 0055) in accordance with the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters (cell reselection related parameters as disclosed in section 0055).
Sebire et al. further discloses the type of cell selection includes an evaluation of a slice priority (see sections 0108-0109). Sebire et al. does not specifically disclose the type of cell selection includes an evaluation of both a slice priority and a frequency priority. However, Gao et al. also discloses performing different types of cell selection/reselection (see sections 0158-160) which include (1) using a cell selection priority value of the cell or (2) using a cell selection priority value of a frequency deployed by the cell. Gao et al. further discloses the type of cell selection (see sections 0158-0160) includes an evaluation (see also section 0182) of a slice priority (cell selection priority value of a slice as disclosed in section 0159) and a frequency priority (cell selection priority value of a frequency as disclosed in sections 0159-0160). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Seibre et al. to include an evaluation of a slice priority and a frequency priority for a type of cell selection as disclosed by Gao et al. to enable network slicing which enables the flexibility of MNOs to provide service to customers belonging to different tenant types with each having different service requirements (see Gao et al., section 0032).
Regarding claim 2, Sebire et al. discloses the cell selection is a cell reselection type (as disclosed in section 0055) of cell selection procedure or a non-cell reselection type of cell selection procedure.
Regarding claim 3, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters includes a parameter relating to at least one of: an intra-frequency reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), an inter-frequency reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), an intra-radio-access-technology (RAT) reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), an inter-RAT reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), or a cell priority (as disclosed in section 0109).
Regarding claim 4, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters includes a value for at least one of a network slice offset (see sections 0048 and 0050) or a network slice threshold (see section 0110).
Regarding claim 5, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters relate to a network slice associated with at least one of: a network slice selection assistance information identifier, a single network slice selection assistance information identifier, a single network slice selection assistance information identifier group, or a slice or service type identifier (network slice identifier (ID) as disclosed in sections 0039 and 0051).
Regarding claim 6, Sebire et al. discloses the information identifying the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters is received via a dedicated radio resource control message, a system information block message (SIBs as disclosed in section 0028, see also sections 0095-0101), or a subscription establishment message.
Regarding claim 8, Sebire et al. discloses the type of cell selection is based at least in part on a network slice (such as network slice as disclosed in sections 0054-0058) to which the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters applies.
Regarding claim 9, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters includes a plurality of subsets of parameters (as disclosed in section 0108) applicable to a plurality of different types of use cases (for different types of cell selection/reselection as disclosed in sections 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 10, Sebire et al. discloses the type of cell selection includes an evaluation of one (network slice 1 as disclosed in sections 0054-0055) or more slices (network slices 1-4 as disclosed in sections 0051-0052).
Regarding claim 11, Sebire et al. further discloses the slice priority is associated with a plurality of slices associated with a particular frequency (see sections 0108-0109).
Regarding claim 13, Sebire et al. discloses a base station (see Fig. 7) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (block 1106); and
one or more processors (block 1104), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
transmit (through broadcasting a signal as disclosed in section 0050), to a user equipment (UE), information (SIBs as disclosed in section 0028) identifying a set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters (cell reselection related parameters as disclosed in section 0028), wherein the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters include one or more parameter values (as disclosed in sections 0095-0101, see also section 0108) associated with a characteristic (such as neighboring cell related information as disclosed in section 0097) of a type of cell selection (intra-frequency, inter-frequency, etc., as disclosed in sections 0095-0101, see also section 0108)) that is to be performed;; and
communicate with the UE on a cell selected in accordance with the type of cell selection (by the UE camping on the selected cell as disclosed in section 0029 and configuring the UE, by request and confirmation with the base station of the selected cell (see gNB1 of section 0114), to use a network slice of the selected cell as disclosed in section 0114) and the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters (transmitted/broadcasted cell reselection information received by the UE from the base station (gNB1) as disclosed in section 0114).
Sebire et al. further discloses the type of cell selection is based at least in part on an evaluation of a slice priority (see sections 0108-0109). Sebire et al. does not specifically disclose the type of cell selection is based at least in part on an evaluation of both a slice priority and a frequency priority. However, Gao et al. also discloses performing different types of cell selection/reselection (see sections 0158-160) which include (1) using a cell selection priority value of the cell or (2) using a cell selection priority value of a frequency deployed by the cell. Gao et al. further discloses the type of cell selection (see sections 0158-0160) includes an evaluation (see also section 0182) of a slice priority (cell selection priority value of a slice as disclosed in section 0159) and a frequency priority (cell selection priority value of a frequency as disclosed in sections 0159-0160). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Seibre et al. to include an evaluation of a slice priority and a frequency priority for a type of cell selection as disclosed by Gao et al. to enable network slicing which enables the flexibility of MNOs to provide service to customers belonging to different tenant types with each having different service requirements (see Gao et al., section 0032).
Regarding claim 14, Sebire et al. discloses the type of cell selection is a cell reselection type (as disclosed in section 0055) of cell selection procedure or a non-cell reselection type of cell selection procedure.
Regarding claim 15, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters includes a parameter relating to at least one of: an intra-frequency reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), an inter-frequency reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), an intra-radio-access-technology (RAT) reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), an inter-RAT reselection (as disclosed in section 0108), or a cell priority (as disclosed in section 0109).
Regarding claim 16, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters includes a value for at least one of a network slice offset (see sections 0048 and 0050) or a network slice threshold (see section 0110).
Regarding claim 17, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters relate to a network slice associated with at least one of: a network slice selection assistance information identifier, a single network slice selection assistance information identifier, a single network slice selection assistance information identifier group, or a slice or service type identifier (network slice identifier (ID) as disclosed in sections 0039 and 0051).
Regarding claim 18, Sebire et al. discloses the information identifying the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters is received via a dedicated radio resource control message, a system information block message (SIBs as disclosed in section 0028, see also sections 0095-0101), or a subscription establishment message.
Regarding claim 19, Sebire et al. discloses the type of cell selection is based at least in part on a network slice (such as network slice as disclosed in sections 0054-0058) to which the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters applies.
Regarding claim 20, Sebire et al. discloses the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters includes a plurality of subsets of parameters (as disclosed in section 0108) applicable to a plurality of different types of use cases (for different types of cell selection/reselection as disclosed in sections 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 21, Sebire et al. discloses the type of cell selection includes an evaluation of one (network slice 1 as disclosed in sections 0054-0055) or more slices (network slices 1-4 as disclosed in sections 0051-0052).
Regarding claim 22, Sebire et al. discloses the slice priority (as disclosed in sections 0108-0109) is associated a plurality of slices associated with a particular frequency.
Regarding claims 24-26, the claimed method includes features corresponding to the above rejection of claims 1-3, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
Regarding claims 27-30, the claimed method includes features corresponding to the above rejection of claims 13-15, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
3. Claims 7, 12, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebire et al. (previously cited in Office Action 5/21/2026) in view of Gao et al. (US 2024/0023168), and in further view of Shuka et al. (previously cited in Office Action 5/21/2026).
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 23, Sebire et al. Gao et al. do not specifically disclose the information identifying the set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters is received from the one or more memories; or the type of cell selection is initiated based at least in part on an evaluation of a criterion relating to initiating a call connection. However, Shuka et al. also discloses a cell selection/reselection process (see sections 0021-0032) which includes transmitting/receiving information identifying a set of network slice specific cell selection evaluation parameters (system information blocks (SIBs) as disclosed in sections 0017-0023), wherein the system information blocks (SIBs) can be received from memory (see section 0035). Shuka et al. further discloses a type of cell selection is initiated (see section 0043) based at least in part on an evaluation of a criterion (limited service as disclosed in section 0043) relating to initiating a call connection (originating an emergency call as disclosed in section 0016, see also sections 0043-0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/apparatus of Sebire et al. and Gao et al. to store SIB information and initiate cell selection as taught by Shuka et al. since Shuka et al. discloses the cell selection process enables a UE to camp on the strongest cell (see section 0002).
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 September 18, 2026