DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-4, 6, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (US 20230232430, hereinafter referred to as Zhou).
Re claim 1, Zhou teaches a method for determining a Hybrid automatic repeat request Process Number (HPN) (HARQ process ID) corresponding to Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) in a Multicast-broadcast Service (MBS) (MBS SPS configuration, Fig. 33-36), performed by a terminal (UE), comprising:
(i) receiving SPS configuration information sent by a network device (MBS SPS configuration received from a gNB, Fig. 33-36) (Par 0314, Par 0316-0319, Par 0325, Par 0339-0341, Par 0349, Par 0358); and
(ii) determining a first HPN (HARQ process ID) of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) corresponding to a SPS transmission (determining HARQ process ID for a multicast TB corresponding to a multicast PDSCH occasion, Par 0317, Par 0332, Par 0363-0366,Fig. 36) according to the SPS configuration information (group common parameters such as periodicity, number of HARQ processes, HARQ process offset included in the MBS SPS configuration, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0332, Par 0363-0365).
Claim 53 recites a communication device performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the communication device comprises a processor (1518); and a memory (1524) having computer programs stored thereon (Fig. 15, Par 0213-0215, Par 0219-0220).
Re claim 2, Zhou teaches to determine a second HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located (slot number), a number of Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes in the SPS transmission (number of HARQ processes), a cycle of the SPS transmission (periodicity), and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (number of slots per frame); and determine the first HPN (calculating HARQ process ID by including HARQ process ID offset) according to the second HPN (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) and the SPS configuration information (HARQ process ID offset) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0363-0365).
Re claim 3, Zhou teaches to obtain an HPN offset (HARQ process ID offset ) corresponding to a group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI) (group common RNTI) used for scrambling of the PDSCH comprised in the SPS configuration information sent by the network device (MBS SPS configuration) (Par 0317-0319, Par 0325, Par 0341, Par 0358-0359); and generating the first HPN (calculating HARQ process ID by including HARQ process ID offset) according to the second HPN (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) and the HPN offset (HARQ process ID offset) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0363-0365).
Re claim 4, Zhou teaches to generate a first HPN adjustment value (HARQ process ID offset) according to at least one GS-RNTI (group common RNTI) comprised in the SPS configuration information, wherein the GS-RNTI is a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) used for scrambling of the PDSCH (obtaining HARQ process ID offset from the MBS SPS configuration associated with the group common RNTI); and generate the first HPN (calculating HARQ process ID by including HARQ process ID offset) according to the second HPN (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) and the first HPN adjustment value (HARQ process ID offset) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0341, Par 0358-0359, Par 0363-0365).
Re claim 6, Zhou teaches to determine the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located (slot number), a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission (number of HARQ processes), a cycle of the SPS transmission (periodicity), a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (number of slots per frame), and a GS-RNTI (MBS SPS configuration associated with the group common RNTI) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0341, Par 0358-0359, Par 0363-0365).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhou et al (US 20220104187, hereinafter referred to as Zhou ‘187).
Re claim 9, Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the SPS configuration information comprises a starting time domain position or an ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission, and determining the first HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission according to the SPS configuration information comprises: determining the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located, a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission, a cycle of the SPS transmission, and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame, and one of the starting time domain position or the ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission.
Zhou ‘187 teaches that the SPS configuration information comprises a starting time domain position or an ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission (starting symbol in a slot), and determining the first HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission according to the SPS configuration information comprises: determining the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located (slot number in the frame), a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission (nrofHARQ-Processes), a cycle of the SPS transmission (Periodicity), and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (numberOfSlotsPerFrame), and one of the starting time domain position or the ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission (current symbol) (Par 0430, Par 0434, Par 0448-0449).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou by including the step that the SPS configuration information comprises a starting time domain position or an ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission, and determining the first HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission according to the SPS configuration information comprises: determining the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located, a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission, a cycle of the SPS transmission, and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame, and one of the starting time domain position or the ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission, as taught by Zhou ‘187 for the purpose of improving “HARQ process determination for SPS/CG when multiple TRPs and/or panels are supported”, as taught by Zhou ‘187 (Par 0438).
6. Claims 14-17, 19, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 20230232430, hereinafter referred to as Zhou) in view of Wu et al (US 20240187824 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wu).
Re claim 14, Zhou teaches a method for determining a Hybrid automatic repeat request Process Number (HPN) (HARQ process ID) corresponding to Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) in a Multicast-broadcast Service (MBS) (MBS SPS configuration, Fig. 33-36), performed by a network device (gNB/base station), comprising:
(i) sending SPS configuration information to a terminal (gNB/base station provides the MBS SPS configuration, Fig. 33-36) (Par 0314, Par 0316-0319, Par 0325, Par 0339-0341, Par 0349, Par 0358); and
(ii) determining a first HPN (HARQ process ID) of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) corresponding to a SPS transmission (determining HARQ process ID for a multicast TB corresponding to a multicast PDSCH occasion, Par 0317, Par 0332, Par 0363-0366, Fig. 36) according to the SPS configuration information (group common parameters such as periodicity, number of HARQ processes, HARQ process offset, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0332, Par 0363-0365).
Zhou discloses to determine an HARQ process ID based on the SPS configuration information (periodicity, number of HARQ processes, HARQ process offset etc., Par 0463-0465). Zhou does not explicitly disclose that a network device (gNB/base station) determines HARQ process ID based on the SPS configuration information (periodicity, number of HARQ processes, HARQ process offset etc.).
Wu teaches that a base station and a UE determine an HARQ process ID based on SPS configuration information using the same formula (Par 0109-0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou by utilizing the same formula by a UE and a base station to determine an HARQ process ID based on SPS configuration information, as taught by Wu for the purpose of improving semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) as well as dynamic scheduling for multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS), as taught by Wu (Par 0001, Par 0006-0007).
Re claim 15, Zhou teaches to determine a second HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located (slot number), a number of Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes in the SPS transmission (number of HARQ processes), a cycle of the SPS transmission (periodicity), and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (number of slots per frame); and determine the first HPN (calculating HARQ process ID by including HARQ process ID offset) according to the second HPN (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) and the SPS configuration information (HARQ process ID offset) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0363-0365).
Re claim 16, Zhou teaches to obtain an HPN offset (HARQ process ID offset ) corresponding to a group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI) (group common RNTI) used for scrambling of the PDSCH comprised in the SPS configuration information sent by the network device (MBS SPS configuration) (Par 0317-0319, Par 0325, Par 0341, Par 0358-0359); and generating the first HPN (calculating HARQ process ID by including HARQ process ID offset) according to the second HPN (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) and the HPN offset (HARQ process ID offset) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0363-0365).
Re claim 17, Zhou teaches to generate a first HPN adjustment value (HARQ process ID offset) according to at least one GS-RNTI (group common RNTI) comprised in the SPS configuration information, wherein the GS-RNTI is a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) used for scrambling of the PDSCH (HARQ process ID offset in the MBS SPS configuration associated with the group common RNTI); and generate the first HPN (calculating HARQ process ID by including HARQ process ID offset) according to the second HPN (HARQ process ID calculation before including the HARQ process ID offset) and the first HPN adjustment value (HARQ process ID offset) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0341, Par 0358-0359, Par 0363-0365).
Re claim 19, Zhou teaches to determine the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located (slot number), a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission (number of HARQ processes), a cycle of the SPS transmission (periodicity), a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (number of slots per frame), and a GS-RNTI (MBS SPS configuration associated with the group common RNTI) (Fig. 35-36, Par 0319, Par 0325, Par 0341, Par 0358-0359, Par 0363-0365).
Claim 54 recites a communication device performing the steps recited in claim 14 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 14. Zhou further teaches that the communication device comprises a processor (1508); and a memory (1514) having computer programs stored thereon (Fig. 15, Par 0213-0215, Par 0219-0220).
7. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou and Wu as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Zhou et al (US 20220104187, hereinafter referred to as Zhou ‘187).
Re claim 22, Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the SPS configuration information comprises a starting time domain position or an ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission, and determining the first HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission according to the SPS configuration information comprises: determining the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located, a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission, a cycle of the SPS transmission, and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame, and one of the starting time domain position or the ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission.
Zhou ‘187 teaches that the SPS configuration information comprises a starting time domain position or an ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission (starting symbol in a slot), and determining the first HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission according to the SPS configuration information comprises: determining the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located (slot number in the frame), a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission (nrofHARQ-Processes), a cycle of the SPS transmission (Periodicity), and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (numberOfSlotsPerFrame), and one of the starting time domain position or the ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission (current symbol) (Par 0430, Par 0434, Par 0448-0449).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou by including the step that the SPS configuration information comprises a starting time domain position or an ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission, and determining the first HPN of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission according to the SPS configuration information comprises: determining the first HPN according to an identifier of a slot where the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission is located, a number of HARQ processes in the SPS transmission, a cycle of the SPS transmission, and a number of slots comprised in a radio frame, and one of the starting time domain position or the ending time domain position of the PDSCH corresponding to the SPS transmission, as taught by Zhou ‘187 for the purpose of improving “HARQ process determination for SPS/CG when multiple TRPs and/or panels are supported”, as taught by Zhou ‘187 (Par 0438).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 10, 18, 20, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473