DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/694,408 filed on 03/21/24 in which claims 1-16 and 23-26 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri et al. (US 2023/0189305 A1) in view of Yi et al. (US 2022/0304015).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 23, Oteri teaches a method and device for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0102] to [0104]), comprising:
determining, by a user equipment, that a PDCCH monitoring capability for use in a connection state is a multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability (Paragraphs [0102] to [0104] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; RRC establishment).
Oteri does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the user equipment is in the connection state, monitoring, by the user equipment, the PDCCH using the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability.
Yi teaches in response to determining that the user equipment is in the connection state, monitoring, by the user equipment, the PDCCH using the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability (Paragraph [0402] to [0404] RRC connection; multi-slot PDCCH monitoring enabled, apply the second BD capability).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in response to determining that the user equipment is in the connection state, monitoring, by the user equipment, the PDCCH using the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability as taught by Yi in the system of Oteri for data scheduling in high frequency see title and abstract of Yi.
2. Regarding claims 2 and 24, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, further comprising:
in response to determining that the user equipment is in a non-connection state,
monitoring, by the user equipment, the PDCCH using a single slot PDCCH monitoring capability (Yi, Paragraph [0402] to [0404] RRC connection; single-slot PDCCH monitoring enabled, apply the first BD capability).
3. Regarding claims 3 and 25, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein determining that the PDCCH
monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability comprises:
determining, according to a protocol, that the PDCCH monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability (Yi, Paragraph [0402] to [0404] RRC connection; multi-slot PDCCH monitoring enabled, apply the second BD capability).
4. Regarding claims 4 and 26, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein determining that the PDCCH
monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability comprises:
receiving PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information from a network device,
wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to
indicate that the PDCCH monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability (Yi, Paragraph [0402] to [0404] RRC connection; multi-slot PDCCH monitoring enabled, apply the second BD capability).
5. Regarding claim 5, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein determining that the PDCCH
monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability comprises:
sending capability information to a network device (Oteri, Paragraphs [0102] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring),
wherein the capability information comprises the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring
capability (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring).
6. Regarding claim 6, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, further comprising:
sending, by the user equipment, at least one group of capability parameters corresponding to the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability to a network device (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; group of slots).
7. Regarding claim 7, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, further comprising:
receiving PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information from a network device,
wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to
indicate that the PDCCH monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability, and is further configured to indicate a target group of capability parameters (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; group of slots), and
wherein the target group of capability parameters is a group among the at least one group of capability parameters (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; group of slots).
8. Regarding claim 8, Oteri in view of Yi teaches,, wherein slots for monitoring the PDCCH corresponding to the target group of capability parameters meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that a common search space configured within a same multi-slot group and a common search space received by the user equipment in a non-connection state are located in some or all of the slots for monitoring the PDCCH corresponding to the target group of capability parameters of the user equipment (Oteri, Paragraphs [0102] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; CSS).
9. Regarding claim 9, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein each of the at least one group of capability parameters comprises a first value and a second value (Oteri, Paragraphs [0108] to [0110] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, fixed pattern having a span of Y consecutive time window; signaled according to any appropriate means).
10. Regarding claim 10, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein the first value is
configured to indicate a number of slots comprised in each multi-slot group, and the second value is configured to indicate a number of slots for monitoring the PDCCH comprised in each multi-slot group, and
wherein respective multi-slot groups are consecutive and do not have an overlapping slot, and positions of slots for monitoring the PDCCH in any two different multi-slot groups are the same (Oteri, Paragraphs [0108] to [0110] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, fixed pattern having a span of Y consecutive time window; signaled according to any appropriate means).
11. Regarding claim 11, Oteri in view of Yi teaches wherein the first value is configured to indicate a minimum value of a number of slots between two neighbouring multi-slot groups, and the second value is configured to indicate a number of slots for monitoring the PDCCH comprised in each multi-slot group (Oteri, Paragraphs [0108] to [0110] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, signaled according to any appropriate means).
12. Regarding claim 12, Oteri A method for sending a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the method being performed by a network device and comprising:
sending, by a network device, PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information to a user equipment (Oteri, Paragraphs [0102] to [0113] base station specifies a PDCCH search space set for the UE with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; USS/CSS),
wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to
indicate that a PDCCH monitoring capability for use in a connection state is a multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability.
Oteri does not explicitly disclose wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to indicate that a PDCCH monitoring capability for use in a connection state is a multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability.
Yi teaches wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to indicate that a PDCCH monitoring capability for use in a connection state is a multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability (Paragraph [0402] to [0404] RRC connection; multi-slot PDCCH monitoring enabled, apply the second BD capability).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to indicate that a PDCCH monitoring capability for use in a connection state is a multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability as taught by Yi in the system of Oteri for data scheduling in high frequency see title and abstract of Yi.
13. Regarding claim 13, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, further comprising:
receiving, by the network device, capability information from the user equipment,
wherein the capability information comprises the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring
capability (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring).
14. Regarding claim 14, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein-further comprising:
receiving, by the network device, at least one group of capability parameters corresponding
to the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability is received-from the user equipment (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; group of slots).
15. Regarding claim 15, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, further comprising:
sending, by the network device, PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information to the user equipment,
wherein the PDCCH monitoring capability configuration information is configured to
indicate that the PDCCH monitoring capability for use in the connection state is the multi-slot group PDCCH monitoring capability (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; group of slots), and is further configured to indicate a target group of
capability parameters, and wherein the target group of capability parameters is a group among the at least one group of capability parameters (Oteri, Paragraphs [0107] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; group of slots).
16. Regarding claim 16, Oteri in view of Yi teaches, wherein slots for monitoring the PDCCH corresponding to the target group of capability parameters meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that a common search space configured within a same multi-slot group and a common search space received by the user equipment in a non-connection state are located in some or all of the slots for monitoring the PDCCH corresponding to the target group of capability parameters of the user equipment (Oteri, Paragraphs [0102] to [0113] UE signals to base station capabilities with regard to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring; CSS).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bhamri et al. (US 2024/0205928 A1) Paragraph [0053]
Lee et al. (US 2019/0104510 A1) Paragraph [0046]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466