DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, ‘derived’ is unclear as to what is meant and when the implied derivation step was performed and what that step was.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111276767B.
The machine translation provided is used.
CN ‘67 teaches, especially on pg. 2, pulverizing battery materials, adding a calcium-containing powder, mixing and pressing and then reducing the mass and recovering Li.
This differs in not requiring the reduction, rather teaching it as an option- thus rendering it obvious.
For claim 2, treating a ‘dead’ battery is obvious to recover valuable material from an otherwise useless object.
For claim 3, the roasting of step 2 removes liquids so the pulverization is on a dried material.
For claim 4, removing the casing is taught, leaving only the remaining active chemicals; see pg. 2, and in any event is obvious to remove harmful and valuable materials.
For claim 5, (as understood) a Ca compound is added and reactions occur.
For claim 6, using a battery having the listed components is obvious to recover valuable materials therefrom.
For claim 7, CaO is taught on pg. 2.
For claim 8, pg. 8 teaches that the Ca material removes F-containing off-gases, thus rendering the claimed ratio obvious to achieve this goal.
For claim 9, the overlapping temperatures of pg. 3 (600-900) render the claims obvious.
For claim 11, the overlapping temperatures of pg. 3 (600-900) render the claims obvious.
Claims 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘67 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dolotko et al. 20200318219.
CN ’67 does not explicitly teach the extraneous battery parts (claims 4-6), however Dolotko does in paras 35, 48, 90 and 110 in a LI recovery scheme. Using batteries having these parts is obvious to recover valuable materials. It is noted that graphite is taught as a material, thus it is present during processing (claim 10).
Claims 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘67 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boryta et al. 20040005267.
CN ’67 does not teach the claimed LI recovery, however Boryta does in fig. 1. Using in the process of CN ’67 is obvious to recover a valuable product, the efficiency (claim 13) is obvious for economic optimization.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘67 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cochran et al. 4735654.
CN ’67 does not explicitly teach carbon as a reducing material, but (in so far as not inherent in view of the teachings of Dolotko, above), Cochran does in fig 2 and col. 5 lines 25-30 as reducing agent with Al for Li recovery (col. 10 lines 30-35). Using it in the process of CN’67 with the Al used by CN ’67 is obvious to provide the reducing environment option of CN ’67.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/549348 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common, substantially the same, subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736