DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/22/2024 was received and placed in the record on file. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, 15-22 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1 and 15, the preamble should be amended to recite “An installation unit of an analyte detection device, comprising…” and “A method of use of an installation unit of an analyte detection device, comprising…”, respectively, to use proper grammar.
Further regarding claims 1 and 2; the limitations “coupling of the first buckle and the second buckle is cancelled” is not colloquial English as “cancel” isn’t normally used to describe when a coupling is released, broken, uncoupled, etc… The examiner encourages the applicant to amend this limitation in claims 1, 2 and 16 to be similar to that claim 15 which recites “coupling of the first buckle and the second buckles is released to implement an installation action” or similar.
Regarding claims 2-8, 10, 12, 13, 16-22 and 24; the preamble of the dependent claims use the phrases “According to the installation unit of analyte detection device of claim” or “According to the use method of installation unit of analyte detection device of claim” which are confusing and/or grammatically incorrect. The examiner encourages the applicant to use the phrases: “The installation unit of the analyte detection device of claim…” or “The method of use of the installation unit of claim…” or similar.
Further regarding claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, 15-22 and 24; while not improper, it appears that the claim are a machine translation from a foreign language, and in the translation some of the grammar is improper. The examiner encourages the applicant to review the claim limitations to correct any improper grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an auxiliary needle module” in claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, 15-22 and 24;
“a triggering module” in claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 22 and 24; and
“an elastic module” in claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, 15-22 and 24.
In the instant application, the identified claim limitations are interpreted as:
“an auxiliary needle module” is interpreted as described in paragraphs [0098]-[0103] of the printed publication, or equivalents thereof capable of providing the claimed function.
“a triggering module” is interpreted as described in paragraphs [0104]-[0107] of the printed publication, or equivalents thereof capable of providing the claimed function.
“an elastic module” is interpreted as described in paragraphs [0108]-[0113] of the printed publication, or equivalents thereof capable of providing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, the claims recite that the elastic module pushes the parallel slider module and auxiliary-needle module toward the far end of the installation unit in the limitation starting with “pushing the parallel slider module…”. This is not supported by the specification or the drawings which show that the elastic module element 1071 pushes the auxiliary-needle module and parallel slider module toward the near end of the installation unit as depicted in figure 10b and paragraph [0125] of the printed publication. Based on a weighing of the evidence, the disclosure does not provide written description support to show that the applicant had possession of the limitation wherein the elastic module pushes the parallel slider module and auxiliary-needle module toward the far end. Further see the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 15-22 and 24 for how the examiner will deal with the limitation.
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, 15-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 15; the claims recite “the second buckles are coupled to the first buckles” and then later recites “a coupling of the first bucks and the second buckle is cancelled” which creates confusion to whether the “a coupling” is the same coupling of the second buckle coupled to the first buckles” or a different coupling. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the claims to recite “wherein the first buckles and the second buckles are releasably coupled at a coupling in an initial pre-installation configuration” and “the coupling of the first buckle and the second buckle is released” or similar.
Claims 2-8, 10, 12, 13, 16-22 and 24 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite independent claims 1 and 15.
Further regarding claims 3 and 17; the claims recite “each of the fixed buckles is in contact with the first buckle to prevent the first buckle from bending to the outside of the housing” is indefinite because it is unclear if the fixed bucks are in contact with each of the first corresponding first buckles, or to just a single first buckle. Further, it is unclear in light of the spec if they are in contact at all times or if they are only in contact during the pre-installation configuration. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the claim limitations to recite “and each of the fixed buckles are in contact with the corresponding first buckles in a pre-installation configuration to prevent the first bucks from bending to the outside of the housing.”
Further regarding claims 4 and 18; the claims recite “the fixing buckle” however it is unclear if the fixing buckle is the same as the fixed buckle and if it is the same, which of the fixed buckles it is referring to, or if it is referring to all of them. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the claim to recite “the fixed buckles do not contact the corresponding first buckles.”
Further regarding claims 5-8 and 19-22; the claims recite “the first buckle” “the second buckle” and “the fixed buckle” which is indefinite as it is unclear which of the plurality of recited buckles of the first, second an fixed buckles the claim is referring to, or if it is referring to all of them. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the claims 5 and 19 to recite “the first buckles, the second buckles and the fixed buckles are located on a same horizontal plane”; amend claims 6 and 20 to recite “the contact between each of the fixed buckles and the corresponding first buckles…“; amend claims 7 and 21 to recite “wherein the contact between each of the fixed buckles and the corresponding first buckles is…”; and amend claims 8 and 22 to recite “wherein a coupling place of each of the first buckles and corresponding second buckles is a plane” to correct the issues.
Further regarding claim 13; the claims recite “the elastic module pushes the auxiliary-needle module back to its initial position” is indefinite because an initial position has not been established, so it is unclear as to what the initial position refers to. In order to address the issue the examiner encourages the applicant to amend claim 12 to recite “the elastic module pushes the parallel slider module and the auxiliary-needle module to move from an initial position toward a near end” which makes “its initial position” recited in claim 13 clear and definite.
Further regarding claims 15-22 and 24; independent claim 15 recites “pushing the parallel slider module and the auxiliary-needle module to move toward the far end by the elastic module” which is indefinite in light of the specification and figures such that it is unclear as to what the applicant wishes to claim. Specifically, the disclosure clearly shows that the elastic module (element 1071) pushes the parallel slider module (element 103) and the auxiliary-needle module (element 105) toward the near end (skin surface) in figures 3, 10b, 10c and paragraph [0125] of the printed publication. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the limitation to recite “the elastic module pushes the parallel slider module and the auxiliary-needle module to move toward the near end of the installation unit” or similar.
For the purpose of advancing examination over prior art and practicing compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret the indefinite claim limitations as if they were amended to the examiner suggested claim amendment to fix the issues as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Antonio et al (US 2017/0290546 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 10, 12 and 13; Antonio discloses an installation unit (element 1500; figure 24) of analyte detection device (element 100; figure 1), which comprises:
a housing (element 1516), comprising at least two first buckles (holes in element 1516 which receive elements 1575; paragraph [0115]; figures 26);
a parallel slider module (element 1570), provided with second buckles (elements 1575) corresponding to the first buckles, wherein the first buckles and the second buckles are releasably coupled at a coupling in an initial pre-installation configuration (wherein elements 1575 correspond and are coupled to openings in housing element 1516; paragraph [0115]; figure 26);
an analyte detection device (element 100) arranged at a front end of the parallel slider module (wherein element 100 is held in element 1570; paragraph [0113]; figures 26-29), wherein the analyte detection device (element 100) comprises a shell (element 110), a transmitter (wireless transmitter; paragraph [0083]), a sensor (element 12; figure 3) and an internal circuit (PCBA element 320) arranged in the shell and electrically coupled with the sensor (paragraph [0084]-[0085]; figures 1-5);
an auxiliary-needle module (element 1540), wherein the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) and the parallel slider (element 1570) module are releasably connected to each other and the auxiliary-needle module is used to insert the sensor under a user's skin (wherein element 1570 carries element 1540 in the cocked and firing positions as depicted in figures 26 and 27 and then released as depicted in figure 28; paragraphs [0115]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29);
a triggering module (element 1520), wherein when the triggering module moves towards a far end relative to the housing (wherein element 1520 moves toward the far end of the housing element 1516 when it is pressed; figures 26-29), the coupling of the first buckle and the second buckle is cancelled, in order to implement an installation action (wherein elements 1526 of element 1520 engage element 1575 which causes 1575 and 1574 of element 1570 to disengage from element 1516, thus resulting in the installation of the sensor by advancing element 1570 which carries the sensor element 100; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29) and
an elastic module (elements 1530 and 1550) configured to provide an elastic force required to implement the installation action (wherein spring elements 1530 and 1550 provide an elastic force to fire and retract the device; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29).
Further regarding claim 8; Antonio discloses a coupling place of the first buckle and the second buckle is a plane, the plane is at a fixed angle with a horizontal plane and converge at a near end (wherein the planes that defines where elements 1575 engage the flat surfaces of the openings in element 1516 define horizontal planes that are set at a fixed angle of 0 degrees and converge with each other as two planes in the same plane would intersect/converge with other and the convergence are at the near end where the sensor is installed; see figure 26).
Further regarding claim 10; Antonio discloses the first buckles are distributed on the housing at a same angle interval (wherein the openings for receiving elements 1575 are on opposite sides of housing element 1516, thus a 180-degree angle interval; see figures 24 and 26-29);
Further regarding claims 12 and 13; Antonio discloses that when the installation action is implemented, the elastic module (element 1530) pushes the parallel slider module (element 1570) and the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) to move toward a near end (wherein spring element 1530 pushes elements 1570 and 1540 from their position in figure 26 to their position in figure 27; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]).
Further regarding claim 13; Antonio discloses after the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) moves toward the near end to a predetermined position (figure 27), the parallel slider module (element 1570) and the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) are disconnected, and the elastic module (element 1550) pushes the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) back to its initial position (figure 28) (wherein element 1540 is disconnected from element 1570 after the sensing device element 100 is installed and forced back to its initial position by spring element 1550; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29).
Regarding claims 15, 22 and 24; Antonio discloses a method of use (figures 26-29) of an installation unit (element 1500; figures 24) of an analyte detection device (element 100), comprising:
providing an installation unit (element 1500) of analyte detection device (element 100) which comprises
a housing (element 1516), comprising at least two first buckles (holes in element 1516 which receive elements 1575; paragraph [0115]; figures 26);
a parallel slider module (element 1570), provided with second buckles (elements 1575) corresponding to the first buckles, wherein the first buckles and the second buckles are releasably coupled at a coupling in an initial pre-installation configuration (wherein elements 1575 correspond and are coupled to openings in housing element 1516; paragraph [0115]; figure 26);
an analyte detection device (element 100) arranged at a front end of the parallel slider module (wherein element 100 is held in element 1570; paragraph [0113]; figures 26-29), wherein the analyte detection device (element 100) comprises a shell (element 110), a transmitter (wireless transmitter; paragraph [0083]), a sensor (element 12; figure 3) and an internal circuit (PCBA element 320) arranged in the shell and electrically coupled with the sensor (paragraph [0084]-[0085]; figures 1-5);
an auxiliary-needle module (element 1540), wherein the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) and the parallel slider (element 1570) module are releasably connected to each other and the auxiliary-needle module is used to insert the sensor under a user's skin (wherein element 1570 carries element 1540 in the cocked and firing positions as depicted in figures 26 and 27 and then released as depicted in figure 28; paragraphs [0115]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29);
a triggering module (element 1520), wherein when the triggering module moves towards a far end relative to the housing (wherein element 1520 moves toward the far end of the housing element 1516 when it is pressed; figures 26-29), the coupling of the first buckle and the second buckle is cancelled, in order to implement an installation action (wherein elements 1526 of element 1520 engage element 1575 which causes 1575 and 1574 of element 1570 to disengage from element 1516, thus resulting in the installation of the sensor by advancing element 1570 which carries the sensor element 100; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29) and
an elastic module (elements 1530 and 1550) configured to provide an elastic force required to implement the installation action (wherein spring elements 1530 and 1550 provide an elastic force to fire and retract the device; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 24 and 26-29);
attaching a near end of the installation unit of the analyte detection device to the skin surface (paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figure 26);
pressing the housing (element 1516) at the far end, wherein the triggering module (element 1520) moves to the far end relative to the housing (wherein element 1520 moves to the far end of the housing element 1516, thus it is moved to the far end relative to the housing) to release the coupling of the first buckles (openings in element 1516) and the second buckles (element 1575) (wherein the top of the housing element 1516 away from the skin is pressed indirectly by element 1520 when element 1520 is pressed by the user, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of pressing the housing at a far end; paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figure 26);
pushing the parallel slider module (element 1570) and the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) to move toward the near end by the elastic module (element 1530), wherein the analyte detection device (element 100) is installed on the skin surface while the sensor penetrates the users skin (paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 27-29);
wherein the parallel slider module (element 1570) is disconnected from the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540), and the elastic module (element 1550) pushes the auxiliary-needle module (element 1540) back to its initial position (paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 28); and
removing the remaining parts of the installation unit (paragraphs [0113]-[0117]; figures 23a-23d).
Further regarding claim 22; Antonio discloses a coupling place of the first buckle and the second buckle is a plane, the plane is at a fixed angle with a horizontal plane and converge at a near end (wherein the planes that defines where elements 1575 engage the flat surfaces of the openings in element 1516 define horizontal planes that are set at a fixed angle of 0 degrees and converge with each other as two planes in the same plane would intersect/converge with other and the convergence are at the near end where the sensor is installed; see figure 26).
Further regarding claim 24; Antonio discloses the first buckles are distributed on the housing at a same angle interval (wherein the openings for receiving elements 1575 are on opposite sides of housing element 1516, thus a 180-degree angle interval; see figures 24 and 26-29).
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner notes that claims 2-7 and 16-21 are not rejected over prior art. However, the claims do stand rejected under 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112(b) and are also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. The claims would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to correct all of the 35 USC 112 rejections and objection identified above. Please note that the examiner reserves the right to re-evaluate the allowability of these claims over the prior art of record and an updated search if any amendments alter the scope of the claims such that they no longer recite the features which are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 2-7 and 16-21 recite further structural limitations of the installation unit which set forth how the first buckle of the housing is configured to bend outside the housing which differs from the structure and method of use of the closest prior art to Antonio et al (as described in the rejections above) and Halac et al (US 2017/0188910 A1). Both Antonio and Halac disclose similar analyte detect device installation units wherein a first buckle and a second buckles are disengaged in order to actuate the installation of the analyte sensor. The first buckle of Antonio and Halac is not bendable to be bent in a direction out of the housing to cause uncoupling of the first and second buckle.
The examiner further notes that the applicant could also amend the claims to further recite limitations which claim the positioning of the triggering module and/or the housing module in relation to each other when the installation assembly is assembled as both Antionio and Halac anticipate and meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claims, but would not disclose or make obvious the configuration as depicted in figures 3 and 10a-c and the corresponding sections of the specification wherein the triggering module is disposed at a near end of the installation unit and is configured to be stationary relative to movement of the housing to trigger the installation action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0188910 A1 to Halac et al; discloses a transcutaneous analyte sensor system and installation unit that is operated as depicted in figures 61-64 and the corresponding sections of the specification which is similar to the prior art of Antonio used in the 102 rejections above.
US 2010/0228226 A1 to Nielsen; discloses an inserter for inserting an medical device which utilizes a installation unit for firing a needle and medical device to install the medical device on a patient.
US 2023/0027522 A1 to Antonio et al; discloses an insertion device for installing a medical device on a patient’s skin.
US 2010/0217105 A1 to Yodfat et al; discloses an insertion device and method for inserting a subcutaneously insertable element into the body.
US 2009/0124979 A1 to Raymond et al; discloses an insertion device for infusion devices.
US 2023/0364331 A1 to List et al; discloses an insertion system for inserting a medical device.
US 2022/0225899 A1 to Peterson et al; discloses a subcutaneous analyte sensor applicator.
US 7,097,631 B2 to Trautman et al; discloses self-actuating applicator for a micro-projection array.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791