DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control unit”, “a user interface unit”, “a first access point unit”, ‘a second access point unit” in claims 1, 22 and 27, “a car control unit”, “a main control unit” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahlke US 11,274,016 B2 in a view of Kuenzi et al. US 2020/0165099 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Pahlke discloses
An elevator system (fig. 1, item 2) having an elevator car (item 6), the elevator system comprising: a control unit (network structure in fig. 2) that moves with the elevator car (column 3, lines 25-37, column 4, lines 4-14); a user interface unit (item 7b) being a car operating panel within the elevator car, the car operating panel including an interface configured for user interaction (column 3, lines 54-64, column 4, lines 4-14); a first wireless network having a first access point unit (see annotated fig. below) configured as an access point of the first wireless network, wherein the first access point unit and the user interface unit are configured to communicate within the first wireless network (column 6, lines 40-58); a second wireless network having a second access point unit (see annotated fig. below) included in the control unit and configured as an access point of the second wireless network, wherein the first access point unit and the user interface unit are configured to send and receive an alarm signal therebetween within the first wireless network independent of the control unit (column 6, lines 47-58. The first wireless network and the control unit are two different entities as shown in fig. 2); and wherein the control unit is communicatively connected to the first access point unit to communicate with the user interface unit (column 5, lines 48-58).
Pahlke does not disclose but Kuenzi et al. disclose wherein the second access point unit (fig. 3 shows the second access point on item 208) is configured to communicate with a plurality of client devices within the second wireless network, the plurality of client devices including at least one of an elevator car door controller, a landing door controller, and a landing operating panel [0036, 0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the second access point unit to configure to communicate with a plurality of client devices within the second wireless network as disclosed by Kuenzi in Pahlke’s teachings to detect status parameter of a door. (See Kuenzi’s paragraph 0003)
Regarding claim 22, a combination of Pahlke and Kuenzi discloses
A method of operating an elevator system, the elevator system including an elevator car, a control unit that moves with the elevator car, a user interface unit being a car operating panel within the elevator car, the car operating panel including an interface configured for user interaction, and a first access point unit; the method comprising the steps of: connecting the first access point unit and the user interface unit in a first wireless network; connecting the control unit with at least a first client device of a plurality of client devices in a second wireless network, wherein the control unit includes a second access point unit of the second wireless network and the plurality of client devices includes at least one of an elevator car door controller, a landing door controller and a landing operating panel; recording (sensing) a user input signal representing a user input using the user interface unit (column 6, lines 47-58); and transmitting the user input signal within the first wireless network from the user interface unit to the first access point unit and from the first access point unit to the control unit (see claim 14 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 27, a combination of Pahlke and Kuenzi discloses
An elevator system having an elevator car movable in an elevator shaft (Pahlke’s fig. 1, item 4. See column 3, lines 25-53), the elevator system comprising: a control unit that moves with the elevator car in the elevator shaft; a user interface unit being a car operating panel within the elevator car, the car operating panel including an interface configured for user interaction; a first wireless network having a first access point unit configured as an access point of the first wireless network, the first access point unit being stationary adjacent a top of the elevator shaft (see column 4, lines 15-20. Item 20 is attached to item 18), wherein the first access point unit and the user interface unit are configured to communicate within the first wireless network; a second wireless network having a second access point unit included in the control unit and configured as an access point of the second wireless network, wherein the second access point unit is configured to communicate with a plurality of client devices within the second wireless network, the plurality of client devices including at least one of an elevator car door controller, a landing door controller, and a landing operating panel; wherein the first access point unit and the user interface unit are configured to send and receive an alarm signal therebetween within the first wireless network independent of the control unit; and wherein the control unit is communicatively connected to the first access point unit to communicate with the user interface unit (see claim 14 rejection for detail).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Pahlke discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to communicate within the first wireless network and/or is configured to communicate with the first wireless network over a wired connection (a CAN bus) to the first access point unit (Fig. 2 shows item 10 is coupled to item 20 via a wire. Column 4, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 16, Kuenzi et al. disclose wherein the plurality of client devices includes at least one landing lantern [0036].
Regarding claim 17, Pahlke discloses
wherein the user interface unit includes an alarm call function, a microphone and/or a loudspeaker (column 4, lines 4-14).
Regarding claim 18, Pahlke discloses
wherein the first access point unit is stationary within the elevator system (column 4, lines 20-28).
Regarding claim 20, Pahlke discloses wherein the first wireless network and the second wireless network operate on different frequency bands or different channels (Fig. 2 shows two different networks).
Regarding claim 19, Pahlke discloses wherein the control unit includes a first radio module transmitting and receiving first information within the first wireless network and/or a second radio module transmitting and receiving second information within the second wireless network (column 4, lines 15-28).
Regarding claim 21, Pahlke discloses wherein the control unit is a car control unit on or within an elevator car and/or the control unit is a main control unit of the elevator system (column 4, lines 20-28).
Regarding claim 23, Pahlke discloses connecting (via a CAN bus) the control unit in the first wireless network (Fig. 2 shows item 10 is coupled to item 20 via a wire. Column 4, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 24, Pahlke discloses transmitting an alarm signal within the first wireless network (column 6, lines 47-58).
Regarding claim 25, Pahlke discloses transmitting a control signal (program and instructions) within the second wireless network (column 5, lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 26, Pahlke discloses providing the control unit, the user interface unit and the first access point unit to the elevator system (see claim 14 rejection for detail).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bacellar et al. (US 7,426,981 B2) disclose an elevator wireless communication infrastructure using PICONET modules.
Baumgartner (US 12,577,081 B2) discloses systems and methods for hoist elevator system.
Manes et al. (US 2020/0189877 A1) disclose an elevator system with plural wireless communication paths using different frequencies [0042]
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837