DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/3/26.
Applicant has not formally traversed the restriction requirement, but made arguments against the requirement. These are not persuasive, as can be seen in the art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim limitation:
is unclear. The claim reads and applicant appears to argue that the positions of Unit-I and Unit-II can be interchanged. However, the disclosure does not show how it is done. Applicant’s drawings are difficult to read – tiny prints and faded lines. The second feed line 2B and FL apparently is for the regeneration flow. There is no disclosure that would make Unit-II upstream of Unit-I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyberg (US 5,788,826) in view of CN 113398759 A (CN-759) and CN 113402079 A (CN-079.)
Claims are directed to an apparatus for water treatment, which is a combination of series and parallel-connected electrochemical cells with a prefilter and a post carbon filter. Claim 1 recites the structure of the electrochemical cell, how they are plumbed to obtain the series and parallel connections, and the added pre and post filers. Nyberg is cited by the applicant in the disclosure in the paragraph linking pages 6 and 7. Applicant’s figures 2-4 are identical to the corresponding figures in Nyberg. Therefore the structure of the electrochemical cells recited are taught by Nyberg. Nyberg does teach series and parallel arrangements in example 3, column 26. Fig. 9 shows two cells in parallel; fig. 10 shows three in parallel, of which one is being regenerated. Example 3 teaches that each of the two cells in the parallel arrangement has three spiral cells/cartridges in series.
Applicant’s claim 1, as now drafted, has one of EC-I or EC-II under regeneration according to the last ‘wherein’ clause. This means that at any time the system works with two cells in series. One of EC-I and EC-II, and Unit-II, because the other of EC-I and EC-II would be undergoing regeneration. Nyberg, in each of the two units in Fig. 9, has 3 cells in series in example 3:
Nyberg, fig. 10, also teaches having one unit under regeneration while other units are deionizing, but does not show the detailed plumbing for it. Nyberg also does not teach the pre- and post-filers. CN-079 teaches the two-cell parallel arrangement, with the plumbing required for regeneration, as well as the pre and post (carbon) filters. See figure 5 copied herein.
Since applicant cites this reference in page 7 of the disclosure, applicant is well-aware of the teaching of this reference. It would have been obvious to use the teaching of CN-079 in the teaching of Nyberg, since Nyberg fails to provide the details. Also, since Nyberg is primarily teaching about deionization, providing pre and post filters to remove non-ionic and organic matter from the water to purify the water would have been prima facie obvious, as taught by CN-079.
Finally, having a series cascade arrangement (well-known in chemical engineering unit operations) for deionization to achieve the degree of deionization required, while reducing the unit size as the process water volume decreases, would also have been prima facie obvious. This is considering applicant’s fig. 1, discounting the last wherein clause of claim1. See CN-759, figure 5 (copied herein,) which teaches such a staged cascade of parallel and series arrangement for deionization. See page 14/40 of the reference with translation included in the 892.
CN-579 also teaches regeneration of the electrochemical cells as and when required.
MPEP 2143: Rationales that support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
Claims 2-11 recite the features of the electrochemical cell, which are taught by Nyberg, see the claims of Nyberg. Again, applicant’s disclosure indicate that applicant uses teaching of Nyberg in their invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument:
This argument is unclear. The disclosure and the claims only show a unit-I (just a name) having two cells (EC-I and EC-II) in parallel, each cell being independently operable and regenerable. Nyberg teaches that.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, CN-079 was used to show the plumbing required and the pre and post filters. CN- 759 teaches the general tapered cascade arrangement well-known in chemical engineering unit operations as applied to electrochemical cells.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771