Response to Amendment
1. This in response to an amendment filed 02/02/2026 No claims have been added. Claim 1 has been amended. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-10 are still pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (US. PUB. 2015/0163572 A1) in view of Chaikin et al. (9,560,460 B2) and further in view of in view of Wright (US PAT # 8,208,670 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Weiss teaches an air pressure adjustment method and apparatus (this reads on pressure vent for speaker of microphone modules, see abstract and [0007]), the air pressure adjustment method and apparatus comprising:
controlling a speaker to emit a first sound (reads speaker to emit acoustic pulses for clearing or relieving pressure in a rare cavity, see [0031]); and
performing a pressure relief process of a rear cavity of the speaker (reads on speaker or microphone module may be capable of further attempting to drive the liquid from the cavity by producing one or more modified tones or pulses, see [0031]).
Weiss limitations are already addressed in the above rejection. Weiss does not specifically teach “analyzing the sound signal to obtain a corresponding amplitude value” and “determining whether the amplitude value is less than a preset amplitude threshold”.
However, Chaikin teaches a sound emitted from a speaker, a microphone receiving the emitted sound, a processor that computes amplitude or SPL from the microphone signal, a comparison against a preset amplitude threshold and a corrective action performed if the measured amplitude falls below the threshold (see col. 17, lines 23-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the amplitude-based feedback control, as taught by Chaikin, into the system of Weiss, because both relate to adjusting speaker operation based on acoustic conditions, and applying known microphone-derived amplitude analysis to determine whether to continue or initiate cavity relief constitutes a predictable use of known signa-processing control methods to improve operational accuracy.
Weiss and Chaikin features are discussed in the above rejection. Neither Weiss nor Chaikin specifically teaches “the wrist-worn device” and “receiving a sound signal picked up by a microphone”. Also, note that Weiss Is not limited to a wrist device, and does not require that the device include a microphone.
Wright teaches a wrist worn electronic device that includes both speaker and microphone in the housing with a control circuitry capable of driving the speaker and receiving audio from the microphone (see col. 3, lines 12-34).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combined system in a wrist-worn device as taught by Wright, into the system of Weiss because Weiss is not limited to any particular from factor, and placing acoustic components into a wrist-worn devices is considered well known. Using the known wrist-mounted housing of Wright represents a routine adaptation of location and packaging and it does not result in an unexpected improvement.
Note that while Wright teaches “receiving a sound signal picked up by a microphone” (as discussed above, col. 3, lines 12-34), the underline newly claimed feature of “corresponding to the first sound” is already taught by Chaikin (because Chaikin teaches the loudspeaker generates/reproduces a test signal, and the microphone picks up/measures the acoustics response of that emitted test signal, see col. 17, lines 5-14/steps 710-714).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright teaches wherein, before controlling the speaker of the wrist-worn device to emit the first sound, the method further comprises:
determining whether an audio system of the wrist-worn device is in an idle state, and if so, performing controlling the speaker of the wrist-worn device to emit the first sound (note that Chaikin teaches performing acoustic test/calibration sound only when the system is place in calibration mode, which inherently assumes no active audio playback is outputted).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright teaches wherein determining whether the amplitude value is less than the preset amplitude threshold comprises:
determining a target preset amplitude threshold according to a current volume of the speaker based on a pre-established correspondence between a volume of the speaker and the preset amplitude threshold (Chaikin teaches that speaker emits a sound and microphone measures system computes amplitude, see col. 17, lines 23-60); and
determining whether the amplitude value is less than the target preset amplitude threshold (Note that determining amplitude threshold differently based on current output volume is a routine calibration principle in loudspeaker and microphone feedback control systems to compensate for known changes in SPL output vs, input sensitivity, so it is a well-known in audio DSP and would have been obvious to apply to the amplitude threshold of Chaikin).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright teaches wherein controlling the speaker of the wrist-worn device to emit the first sound comprises:
after receiving a command to turn on a pressure relief mode, controlling the speaker of the wrist-worn device to emit the first sound (Weiss teaches a speaker having a rear cavity and a pressure – relief vent structure to relief pressure within cavity, see [0031]. Wright teaches wrist worn device that have both speaker and a microphone, see (col. 3, lines 12-34). Chaikin teaches emitting a sound from a speaker after a mode being activated, receiving the microphone signal, signal analyzing amplitude to preset threshold to determine whether to continue corrective mode (see Fig. and Fig.4A with corresponding texts). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the command-activated speaker emission control, as taught by Chaikin into the structure of Weiss, implemented in the wrist worn device of Wright, to provide condition-based pressure relief in portable acoustic system).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright teaches an air pressure adjustment system for a wrist-worn device, applied to the wrist-worn device, the air pressure adjustment system comprising:
a memory (see Weiss [0068]) configured to store a computer program; and
a processor (the claimed processor is inherent within the system of Weiss because Weiss discloses controlled circuitry configured to control speaker operation and initiate the pressure relief process. It is well understood that such control circuitry includes a processor for executing the described control steps) configured to implement, when executing the computer program, the air
pressure adjustment method (see Weiss [0007] and [0015]) of the wrist-worn device according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright teaches a wrist-worn device comprising a speaker (see Wright col. 3, lines 12-34), a microphone (see Wright col. 3, lines 12-34) and the air pressure adjustment system (reads on speaker module that includes a barometric pressure vent 118, see [0036] and Fig. of Weiss) of the wrist-worn device (see Fig. 1 of Wright) of claim 9.
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (US. PUB. 2015/0163572 A1) in view of Chaikin et al. (9,560,460 B2) in view of in view of Wright (US PAT # 8,208,670 B2) and further in view of Zadesky et al. (Pub.No.: 2015/0326959 A1).
Claim 2 recites “wherein performing the pressure relief process of the rear cavity of the speaker comprises:
controlling the speaker to emit a low-frequency sound, so that a displacement of a diaphragm of the speaker reaches a preset value to relieve pressure in the rear cavity of the speaker”.
Weiss, Chaikin and Wright features are addressed and discussed in the rejection of independent claims 1and 8 rejections. Neither Weiss, Chaikin nor Wright specifically teach the limitation of claim 2.
However, Zadesky teaches acoustic module 303 may also include a speaker formed from a diaphragm element 310 and a voice coil 309. In cases where the acoustic module includes a speaker, one or more acoustic energy pulses may be applied to further facilitate expulsion of liquid from the acoustic module 303. In one example, the acoustic energy pulses may be generated at a frequency that is outside the audible range of a human ear. A typical range of acoustic frequencies that are audible to humans may be between 20 Hz and 20,000 Hz. Thus, the acoustic energy pulse(s) used to help expel the liquid may be less than 20 Hz or greater than 20,000 Hz (see [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the low-frequency diaphragm displacement, as taught by Zadesky, into the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright, in order to improve pressure relief performance in compact speaker housing.
Claim 4 recites “wherein controlling the speaker of the wrist-worn device to emit the first sound comprises:
controlling the speaker of the wrist-worn device to emit the first sound having a frequency band in a low-frequency non-audible band”.
Weiss, Chaikin and Wright features are addressed and discussed in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 8 rejections. Neither Weiss, Chaikin nor Wright specifically teach the limitation of claim 4.
However, Zadesky teaches that acoustic energy pulses may be generated at a frequency that is outside the audible range of a human ear (see [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to emit low frequency non-audible band, as taught by Zadesky, into the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright, in order to equalize internal air pressure, maintain or restore diaphragm’s neutral resting position, and reduce acoustic distortion or long-term mechanical stress without distributing the user.
Claim 5 recites “wherein controlling the speaker to emit the low-frequency sound, so that a displacement of a diaphragm of the speaker reaches the preset value comprises:
controlling the speaker to emit the low-frequency sound having a frequency band in a low-frequency non-audible frequency band, so that the displacement of the diaphragm of the speaker reaches the preset value”.
Weiss, Chaikin and Wright features are addressed and discussed in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 8. Neither Weiss, Chaikin nor Wright specifically teach the limitation of claim 5.
However, Zadesky teaches acoustic module 303 may also include a speaker formed from a diaphragm element 310 and a voice coil 309. In cases where the acoustic module includes a speaker, one or more acoustic energy pulses may be applied to further facilitate expulsion of liquid from the acoustic module 303. In one example, the acoustic energy pulses may be generated at a frequency that is outside the audible range of a human ear. A typical range of acoustic frequencies that are audible to humans may be between 20 Hz and 20,000 Hz. Thus, the acoustic energy pulse(s) used to help expel the liquid may be less than 20 Hz or greater than 20,000 Hz (see [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the low-frequency diaphragm displacement, as taught by Zadesky, into the combination of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright, in order to improve pressure relief performance in compact speaker housing.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 regarding independent claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chaikin does not teach the amended limitation of “receiving a sound signal corresponding to the first sound picked up by a microphone”, however, the rejection relies on the combined teaching of Weiss, Chaikin and Wright, not Chaikin alone.
Chaikin teaches a sound emitted from a speaker, a microphone receiving the emitted sound, and a processor computing amplitude or SPL from the microphone signal, including comparison against a preset amplitude threshold and corrective action if the measured amplitude falls below the threshold (see Chaikin col. 17, lines 23-60). Thus, Chaikin teaches that the received microphone signal corresponds to the emitted speaker sound.
Further, Wright teaches a wrist-worn electronic device including both a speaker and a microphone in the housing, with control circuitry capable of driving the speaker and receiving audio from the microphone (see Wright col. 3, lines 12-34). Therefore, Wright supplies the claimed wrist-worn device contexts for the speaker/microphone arrangement.
Finally, Weiss teaches the pressure vent/pressure relief process of the speaker cavity, as previously set forth in the rejection. Accordingly, the combined references teach or suggest the amended claim 1 limitations and Applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 does not overcome the rejection.
Conclusion
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth
In 37 CFR 1.136(a).
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action.
In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of
this final. action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693