DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Big Dutchman Pig Equipment GMBH (DE 202014005974, hereinafter Dutchman, provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Dutchman discloses a stirring device for stirring a biphasic fluid with a stirring shaft that can be mounted with a mounting end into a stirring drive (figure 7, drive 29), comprising:
a first paddle (figure 5, agitator 50) that is arranged in a rotationally fixed manner at or near a stirring end of the stirring shaft (shaft 20) that is opposite to the mounting end (near upper stop 22), and with a second paddle (element 30) that is arranged in a rotationally fixed manner at the stirring shaft in between the mounting end and the first paddle (see figure 5), wherein the second paddle is mounted with respect to the stirring shaft in such a manner that it can be displaced in an axial direction along the stirring shaft, which allows for a change of an axial distance between the second paddle and the mounting end of the stirring shaft (paragraph 0052, “Fastened to the drive shaft 20 in a rotationally rigid and at the same time longitudinally displaceable or axially displaceable manner are the upper stirring element 30”).
Regarding claim 2, Dutchman discloses the second paddle (figure 5, element 30) being mounted to a hollow shaft (receptacle 32; paragraph 0052, “central receptacles 32, 41 which, like the drive shaft 20, are designed as square hollow profiles”) which surrounds the stirring shaft (shaft 20) and is axially displaceable relative to the stirring shaft (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 3, Dutchman discloses the second paddle (figure 5, element 30) being mounted in a rotationally fixed manner at the stirring shaft (paragraph 0052, “Fastened to the drive shaft 20 in a rotationally rigid and at the same time longitudinally displaceable or axially displaceable manner are the upper stirring element 30”).
Regarding claim 5, Dutchman discloses the first paddle (figure 5, agitator 50) being rigidly connected to the stirring end of the stirring shaft (shaft 20; see figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, the second paddle (figure 5, element 30) of Dutchman would be fully capable of being displaced in the axial direction with a drive device, meeting the claim. It is noted that the drive device is not positively recited in claim 7, merely that the second paddle is capable of being (“can be”) displaced with a drive device.
Regarding claim 8, Dutchman discloses the second paddle (figure 5, element 30) being connected to a buoyancy body (floating body 40) that floats on an upper surface of the biphasic fluid, resulting in rise of the second paddle as the buoyancy body rises with a rising upper surface of the biphasic fluid (paragraph 0052). It is noted that the biphasic fluid itself is a material worked upon by the apparatus, and thus does not limit the apparatus claim. See MPEP 2115. The apparatus of Dutchman would be fully capable of performing the recited functions with such a fluid, and thus the claim is met.
Regarding claim 9, Dutchman discloses the buoyancy body being a rotational body (figure 5, floating body 40).
Regarding claim 11, Dutchman discloses the buoyancy body having a discoidal shape (figure 5, floating body 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Big Dutchman Pig Equipment GMBH (DE 202014005974, hereinafter Dutchman, provided by Applicant) in view of JPH0192235 (hereinafter JP ‘235, provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Dutchman is silent to the first paddle and second paddle being rigidly connected. JP ‘235 teaches a stirring device having a first paddle (figure 3, item 1a) and a second paddle (item 1b) wherein the first and second paddle are rigidly connected (via item 5). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have rigidly connected the first and second paddles of Dutchman, as in JP ‘235, for the purpose of allowing both paddles to move together as needed in the mixing device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Big Dutchman Pig Equipment GMBH (DE 202014005974, hereinafter Dutchman, provided by Applicant) in view of Noro et al. (US PGPub 2009/0189931, hereinafter Noro).
Regarding claim 6, Dutchman is silent to a non-rotationally symmetric shape of the stirring shaft. Noro teaches a stirring device having an axially-moving paddle (figures 7A-D) and a shaft having a non-rotationally symmetric shape (paragraph 0165, “a key is disposed on the shaft”; this would render the shaft non-rotationally symmetric in cross-section), and that the paddle (propeller 64) has a continuous recess (paragraph 0165, “a key groove is formed in the propeller member”) with a cross- sectional area that is adapted to the non-rotationally symmetric shape of the stirring shaft (paragraph 0165) such that the paddle is slidable in the axial direction along the stirring shaft (figures 7A-D), but mounted in a rotationally fixed manner at the stirring shaft (paragraph 0165). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the apparatus of Dutchman with a non-rotationally symmetric stirring shaft, as in Noro, as an alternative to the square stirring shaft of Dutchman that would allow for rotational movement to be translated from the stirring shaft to the paddle while also allowing for axial movement of the paddle. It is noted that Noro presents the square shaft and non-rotationally symmetrical shaft as functional equivalents (see figure 6 and paragraph 0165), indicating that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand them to be interchangeable.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Big Dutchman Pig Equipment GMBH (DE 202014005974, hereinafter Dutchman, provided by Applicant) in view of Bannocks (GB 2503690, hereinafter Bannocks, provided by Applicant).
Regaridng claim 10, Dutchman is silent to a conical buoyancy body, although it is noted that Dutchman discloses a variety of shapes for the buoyancy body (see figures 3, 5, and 6). Bannocks teaches a stirring device having a buoyancy body (figure 1, float 410) having a conical shape with the larger diameter facing the mounting end (i.e. the top of the figure). As can be seen in the figure, at least a portion of float 410 is conical. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the apparatus of Dutchman with a conical float because Dutchman acknowledges that different shapes of float can be used, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that alternative shapes of float would provide only the predictable result of allowing the float to sit on the surface of a liquid in the vessel.
Regarding claim 12, Dutchman is silent to a thrust bearing as recited. Bannocks teaches a stirring device having a buoyancy body and a second paddle (figure 1) wherein the structures are connected via a thrust bearing (see connection between float 410 and paddles 435 in figure 1). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the apparatus of Dutchman with a thrust bearing, as in Bannocks, for the purpose of reducing wear on the buoyancy body by allowing it to remain stationary while the paddle rotates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is deemed to contain allowable subject matter because it recites an adapter shaft and specifics thereof not reasonably disclosed, taught, or suggested in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited references generally disclose stirring devices having axially-movable paddles. DE337980 specifically discloses a paddle moveable by a drive device, as in claim 7.
/MARC C HOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774