DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a monitoring device” in claim 18;
“a monitoring device” in claim 34; and
“at least one monitoring device” in claim 37.
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 30 and 37 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “for introducing said allergen or allergens into the skin” is recommended to recite “configured for introducing said allergen or allergens into the skin”, or the like, to avoid any semblance of non-statutory nature such that a portion of a human organism is not explicitly, implicitly, inferentially, and/or inherently required by the claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a missing “,” or “;” at the end of line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “preferably” in claim 29 is a relative/conditional term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if “preferably on a relative scale” is required.
The term “preferably” in claim 35 is a relative/conditional term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if “preferably the microneedle array comprises pyrolytic carbon” is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 24 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 24 recites “array can detect…”. Claims 26-28 each positively recite “the allergic reaction can be detected within…”. However, the recitation of the optional “can” is not required such that the claims fail to further limit. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sexton et al. (WO 2009/079589 A2, hereinafter Sexton).
For claim 18, Sexton discloses a system for determining an allergic reaction in skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47), the system comprising inter alia:
allergen or allergens (1020) (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47),
a microneedle array (810) with a microneedle configured (810) to receive said allergen or allergens (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47), for introducing said allergen or allergens into the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47), wherein the microneedle is able to detect an electrochemical signal as a response to the introduced allergen (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47), and
a monitoring device (510) for receiving the electrochemical signal detected by said microneedle, said electrochemical signal being indicative for an allergic reaction in the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 19, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein said electrochemical signal is detected by said microneedle in the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 20, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein said electrochemical signal is detected by said microneedle outside the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 21, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein said electrochemical signal is triggered by biomarkers inherently released by activated mast cells (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 22, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the electrochemical signal is triggered by biomarkers selected from the list consisting of histamine, chymase, and tryptase (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 23, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the electrochemical signal is triggered by histamine inherently released by activated mast cells (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 24, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 21, wherein said microneedle array can detect signals triggered by said biomarkers in concentration below 900 nM (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 25, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the monitoring device is configured to receive, process and/or record an electrochemical signal from one or more electrode(s) arranged in said microneedle (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 26, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the allergic reaction can be detected within an hour (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 27, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the allergic reaction can be detected within 20 minutes (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 28, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the allergic reaction can be detected within 10 minutes (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 34-47).
For claim 29, Sexton discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the system is adapted for measuring said electrochemical signal as a response to the introduced allergen so as to provide a quantitative indication for said allergic reaction in the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47), preferably on a relative scale.
For claim 30, Sexton discloses a microneedle array, comprising inter alia:
a microneedle (810) configured to receive an allergen (1020) (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47), wherein the microneedle comprises an electrochemical sensor (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47) configured to receive, process and/or record an electrochemical signal triggered by the allergen (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 31, Sexton discloses the microneedle array according to claim 30, wherein the microneedle array comprises a plurality of microneedles (810) arranged in a predetermined pattern (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 32, Sexton discloses the microneedle array according to claim 30, wherein the microneedle array comprises at least 2 microneedles (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 33, Sexton discloses the microneedle array according to claim 30, wherein the microneedles are connectable to a monitoring device in groups of 2 or more (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 34, Sexton discloses the microneedle array according to claim 30, wherein the microneedles are individually connectable to a monitoring device (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 35, Sexton discloses the microneedle array according to claim 30, wherein the microneedle array comprises a conductive material (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47), preferably the microneedle array comprises pyrolytic carbon.
For claim 36, Sexton discloses the microneedle array according to claim 30, wherein the of microneedles have a length of at least 400 µm (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
For claim 37, Sexton discloses a set of parts for detecting an allergic reaction in the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47), the set of parts comprising inter alia:
allergen or allergens (1020) (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47),
a microneedle array according to claim 30 (as above), and
at least one monitoring device (510) for receiving the electrochemical signal detected by said microneedle array in the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47), said electrochemical signal being indicative for an allergic reaction in the skin (Figs 19-22) (Pgs 9-15, 34-47).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring a microneedle assay to electrochemically evaluate and monitor allergic reaction.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791