DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breeding, US 7,175,365 B1 in view of Richardson et al., US 8,342,489 B1.
Regarding claim 11, Breeding teaches a vibrating screed (Figure 24) comprising:
a frame including a handle (unnumbered, clearly shown at the top of Figure 24) terminating at an end;
a screed member (surfacing blade 40) coupled to the frame;
a motor (37) coupled to the frame; and
an exciter assembly (column 6 lines 20-28 and lines 58-65) coupled to the frame and configured to vibrate the screed member in response to receiving torque from the motor.
Breeding discusses the vibrating screed having vibration isolators to reduce the amount of vibrations transmitted to the handle bar (column 7 lines 53-55). While Breeding fails to disclose a tuned mass system coupled to the handle, Richardson teaches a handlebar vibration damping assembly comprising a tuned mass system within the ends of the handlebar where a user would grip, the tuned mass system comprising a spring member (22) having a first end and a tuned mass (weight 12) coupled to an opposite, second end of the spring member (Figures 1 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breeding’s handle to include a tuned mass system coupled to the handle, the tuned mass system comprising a spring member having a first end and a tuned mass coupled to an opposite, second end of the spring member in view of Richardson disclosing that the tuned mass system is designed to reduce vibrations which are felt through the handlebars (column 3 lines 39-40) which is the same concern as discussed by Breeding. Since Breeding’s handle includes an end cap (unnumbered but shown in Figure 24) and the end cap is coupled to the handle adjacent the end, it is an obvious modification that the spring member has a first end coupled to the end cap (via a bolt as disclosed by Richardson). The resulting combination yields the tuned mass system being configured to attenuate vibration emitted by the motor or the exciter assembly to the handle.
Regarding claim 12, while the resulting combination fails to disclose that the spring member comprises a coil spring, the Examiner takes Official Notice that a coil spring is an old and well-known spring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring member of the resulting combination to be a coil spring as a functional equivalent that is commonly available.
Regarding claim 13, the resulting combination includes the spring member comprising a spring steel (Richardson’s column 3 last line through column 4 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, the resulting combination includes the end cap being aligned along a cap axis.
Regarding claim 15, the resulting combination includes the cap axis extending through a center of the end cap.
Regarding claim 16, the resulting combination includes the cap axis being coaxial with the handle (looking at Breeding’s Figure 24, from a bend at the handlebar to the end).
Regarding claim 17, since the spring member is a spring steel, it is naturally expected that it would be elastically deformable such that the tuned mass becomes misaligned (when the spring steel flexes) with the cap axis upon vibration of the handle (evidenced by Richardson’s Figure 4, the tuned mass is only attached on one end by the spring member, and the tuned mass is shown with space around it to move).
Regarding claim 18, since neither Breeding nor Richardson disclose the end of the handle or end cap deflecting, the resulting combination includes the end cap not being able to deflect with respect to the handle.
Regarding claim 19, the resulting combination includes the tuned mass moving within the handle to attenuate vibration transmitted to the handle (evidenced by Richardson’s Figure 4, the tuned mass is only attached on one end by the spring member, and the tuned mass is shown with space around it to move).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited sheet. Sperfslage, US 2012/0251241 A1 is cited for teaching a hand-operated screed with vibration dampening to reduce operator fatigue by minimizing vibrations going to the handle. CN 208762840 U is cited for teaching a vibrating tamping machine with handles that minimize vibrational damage to a machine operator.
/KATHERINE J CHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671