Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 6/16/2026 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that claim 1 is patentable because “none of the cited references, either alone or in combination, disclose ‘select [an SSB] having [RSRP greater than a first RSRP threshold .., if there is at least one SSB having RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold: [and] select any SSB regardless of RSRP, if there is no SSB which has RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold,’ as recited.” However, Mo discloses select a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block (SSB) having Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) greater than a first RSRP threshold associated with a feature or a feature combination if there is at least one SSB having RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold (Mo, Fig. 2, step 4; paragraph [0054], UE performs SSB selection mased on a measured L2-RSRP and the RSRP threshold; paragraph [0140], measurement result and configured threshold value associated with a combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT-CovEnh; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], UE measures an L1-RSRP corresponding to at least one SSB that is greater than the configured threshold, and the UE randomly selects one SSB from the at least one SSB); select any SSB regardless of RSRP, if there is no SSB which has RSRP greater than the first threshold (Mo, paragraph [0112]-[0113], when the first condition that a downlink pathloss measurement value of the terminal is less than a second threshold is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], otherwise, the UE randomly or equiprobably selects one downlink reference signal from all downlink reference signals associated with a configured random access resource).
Applicant further argues that claim 1 is patentable because Cozzo describes UE uplink carrier selection and not the claimed SSB selection. However, as discussed in the paragraph above and in the claim rejections below, Mo discloses SSB selection using an RSRP threshold for RedCap.
Applicant further argues that claim 1 is patentable because Cozzo and Mo fail to teach addressing a situation in which “there is no SSB which has RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold.” However, as discussed in the paragraph above and in the claim rejections below, Mo discloses select any SSB regardless of RSRP, if there is no SSB which has RSRP greater than the first threshold (Mo, paragraph [0112]-[0113], when the first condition that a downlink pathloss measurement value of the terminal is less than a second threshold is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], UE measures an L1-RSRP corresponding to at least one SSB that is greater than the configured threshold, and the UE randomly selects one SSB from the at least one SSB, otherwise, the UE randomly or equiprobably selects one downlink reference signal from all downlink reference signals associated with a configured random access resource).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-11, 15 and 36-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo et al. (US 2024/0179684) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2021/0274554).
Regarding claim 1, Mo discloses a radio terminal (Mo, Fig. 1, terminal) comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Mo, paragraph [0023], processor, memory) and configured to:
select a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block (SSB) having Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) greater than a first RSRP threshold associated with a feature or a feature combination if there is at least one SSB having RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold (Mo, Fig. 2, step 4; paragraph [0054], UE performs SSB selection mased on a measured L2-RSRP and the RSRP threshold; paragraph [0140], measurement result and configured threshold value associated with a combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT-CovEnh; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], UE measures an L1-RSRP corresponding to at least one SSB that is greater than the configured threshold, and the UE randomly selects one SSB from the at least one SSB);
select any SSB regardless of RSRP, if there is no SSB which has RSRP greater than the first threshold (Mo, paragraph [0112]-[0113], when the first condition that a downlink pathloss measurement value of the terminal is less than a second threshold is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], otherwise, the UE randomly or equiprobably selects one downlink reference signal from all downlink reference signals associated with a configured random access resource); and
perform a random access preamble using a first random access occasion corresponding to the selected SSB (Mo, Fig. 2, steps 5, 6; paragraph [0052], UE performs random access; paragraph [0055], UE selects one preamble, based on the random access type, from a preamble associated with a selected SSB; paragraph [0056], UE selects, based on the random access type, one RO from a random access occasions associated with the selected SSB; paragraph [0143], a preamble and an RO are selected), wherein
the feature is one of Reduced Capability (RedCap), Small Data Transmission (SDT), Coverage Enhancement (CovEnh), or Slicing (Mo, paragraph [0080], first characteristic includes at least one of small data transmission (SDT), a reduced capability (RedCap) NR device, coverage enhancement (CovEnh), radio access network slicing (RAN slicing; paragraph [0137], threshold value associated with the combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT), and
the feature combination includes at least two of RedCap, SDT, CovEnh, or Slicing (Mo, paragraph [0080], first characteristic includes at least one of small data transmission (SDT), a reduced capability (RedCap) NR device, coverage enhancement (CovEnh), radio access network slicing (RAN slicing; paragraph [0137], threshold value associated with the combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT).
Mo does not explicitly disclose perform a random access preamble transmission.
Cozzo discloses perform a random access preamble transmission (Cozzo, paragraph [0081], UE attempts a PRACH preamble transmission with the PRACH resource section including a SSB and/or preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cozzo into the system of Mo in order to ensure that a terminal can select a suitable random access resource from a plurality of random access resources (Cozzo; [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Mo does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform random access resource selection prior to random access preamble retransmission if random access response reception or contention resolution is not successful after transmission on the first random access occasion,
wherein the random access resource selection includes retrying to select an SSB having an RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold
Cozzo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform random access resource selection prior to random access preamble retransmission if random access response reception or contention resolution is not successful after transmission on the first random access occasion (Cozzo, paragraph [0081], if the RAR is not successful, the UE attempts a new PRACH preamble transmission with the PRACH resource section possibly including a different SSB and/or different preamble),
wherein the random access resource selection includes retrying to select an SSB having an RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold (Cozzo, paragraph [0087], The UE selects which uplink carrier to use for random access based on a threshold, rsrp-ThresholdSSB-RedCap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cozzo into the system of Mo in order to ensure that a terminal can select a suitable random access resource from a plurality of random access resources (Cozzo; [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mo and Cozzo, particularly Mo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from the radio access network node, a plurality of RSRP thresholds, each associated with one of a plurality of features or with one of one or more combinations of two or more features included in the plurality of features (Mo, paragraph [0064], terminal receives configuration information sent by the network side device; paragraphs [0073]-[0079], the configuration information includes at least one measurement threshold associated with a characteristic); and
select the first RSRP threshold from the plurality of RSRP thresholds (Mo, paragraph [0090], UE selects target carrier to use for random access procedure based on a threshold value),
wherein the plurality of features includes at least two of RedCap, SDT, CovEnh, or Slicing (Mo, paragraph [0080], first characteristic includes at least one of small data transmission (SDT), a reduced capability (RedCap) NR device, coverage enhancement (CovEnh), radio access network slicing (RAN slicing; paragraph [0137], threshold value associated with the combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT).
Regarding claim 7, Mo does not explicitly disclose if both a Normal Uplink (NUL) carrier and a Supplementary Uplink (SUL) carrier support the feature or the feature combination, select one of the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier based on a downlink measurement result, otherwise select one of the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier that supports the feature or the feature combination; and
select the first random access occasion from a set of random access resources associated with the selected uplink carrier.
Cozzo discloses if both a Normal Uplink (NUL) carrier and a Supplementary Uplink (SUL) carrier support the feature or the feature combination, select one of the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier based on a downlink measurement result (Cozzo, Fig. 6, step 630; paragraph [0076], the UE selects the uplink carrier to initiate the random access based on DL measurements. An RSRP threshold rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL for the selection between the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier is configured to the UE. The value of the threshold rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL determines the carrier where the RedCap UE initiates the random access), otherwise select one of the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier that supports the feature or the feature combination (Cozzo, Fig. 6, step 630; paragraph [0094], In case the threshold is set to zero, all RedCap UEs perform random access on the normal UL carrier. If the threshold is set to a very high value or infinity, all RedCap UEs perform random access on the SUL carrier); and
select the first random access occasion from a set of random access resources associated with the selected uplink carrier (Cozzo, paragraph [0081], UE attempts a PRACH preamble transmission with the PRACH resource section including a SSB and/or preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cozzo into the system of Mo in order to ensure that a terminal can select a suitable random access resource from a plurality of random access resources (Cozzo; [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Mo discloses if the selected uplink carrier does not support the feature combination, select the first random access occasion from a set of random access resources associated with a feature subset included in the feature combination (Mo, paragraph [0108]-[0113], when the first condition, that the first random access preamble group corresponding to the target random access type is configured on a network side, is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0120], performing a random access type fallback when a random access type selected by the terminal includes a RAN slicing or SDT type (that may be, for example, a RAN slicing-RedCap-4-step RA type) and a preset fallback condition is satisfied in an ongoing random access procedure, and resetting the target random access type (for example, the RAN slicing-RedCap-4-step RA type may fall back to a RedCap-4-step RA type); paragraph [0146], random access type fallback is performed if the random access type selected by the UE includes at least a Slicing or SDT manner and a fallback condition is satisfied, and random access resource selection is performed again based on a fallback type. For example, the UE may fall back from a Slice-RedCap-SDT access type to Slice-RedCap).
Mo does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select an uplink carrier from a Normal Uplink (NUL) carrier and a Supplementary Uplink (SUL) carrier based on a downlink measurement result.
Cozzo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select an uplink carrier from a Normal Uplink (NUL) carrier and a Supplementary Uplink (SUL) carrier based on a downlink measurement result (Cozzo, Fig. 6, step 630; paragraph [0076], the UE selects the uplink carrier to initiate the random access based on DL measurements. An RSRP threshold rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL for the selection between the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier is configured to the UE); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cozzo into the system of Mo in order to ensure that a terminal can select a suitable random access resource from a plurality of random access resources (Cozzo; [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mo and Cozzo, particularly Mo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: if a first set of random access resources associated with the feature combination is configured, select the first random access occasion from the first set; and if the first set is not configured, select the first random access occasion from a second set of random access resources associated with a feature subset included in the feature combination (Mo, paragraph [0108]-[0113], when the first condition, that the first random access preamble group corresponding to the target random access type is configured on a network side, is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0120], performing a random access type fallback when a random access type selected by the terminal includes a RAN slicing or SDT type (that may be, for example, a RAN slicing-RedCap-4-step RA type) and a preset fallback condition is satisfied in an ongoing random access procedure, and resetting the target random access type (for example, the RAN slicing-RedCap-4-step RA type may fall back to a RedCap-4-step RA type); paragraph [0146], random access type fallback is performed if the random access type selected by the UE includes at least a Slicing or SDT manner and a fallback condition is satisfied, and random access resource selection is performed again based on a fallback type. For example, the UE may fall back from a Slice-RedCap-SDT access type to Slice-RedCap).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mo and Cozzo, particularly Mo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: if a first set of random access resources associated with the feature or the feature combination is configured, select the first random access occasion from the first set; and if the first set is not configured, select the first random access occasion from a second set of random access resources not associated with the feature or the feature combination (Mo, paragraph [0108]-[0113], when the first condition, that the first random access preamble group corresponding to the target random access type is configured on a network side, is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0120], performing a random access type fallback when a random access type selected by the terminal includes a RAN slicing or SDT type (that may be, for example, a RAN slicing-RedCap-4-step RA type) and a preset fallback condition is satisfied in an ongoing random access procedure, and resetting the target random access type (for example, the RAN slicing-RedCap-4-step RA type may fall back to a RedCap-4-step RA type); paragraph [0146], random access type fallback is performed if the random access type selected by the UE includes at least a Slicing or SDT manner and a fallback condition is satisfied, and random access resource selection is performed again based on a fallback type. For example, the UE may fall back from a Slice-RedCap-SDT access type to Slice-RedCap).
Claim 11 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Mo discloses a method performed by a radio access network node (Mo, Fig. 1, network side device), the method comprising:
in a cell a first Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold associated with a feature or a feature combination (Mo, Fig. 2, step 4; paragraph [0054], UE performs SSB selection mased on a measured L2-RSRP and the RSRP threshold; paragraph [0140], measurement result and configured threshold value associated with a combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT-CovEnh; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], UE measures an L1-RSRP corresponding to at least one SSB that is greater than the configured threshold, and the UE randomly selects one SSB from the at least one SSB); and
a random access preamble using a first random access occasion corresponding to a selected Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block (SSB) selected by the terminal (Mo, Fig. 2, steps 4, 5, 6; paragraph [0052], UE performs random access; paragraph [0054], UE performs SSB selection mased on a measured L2-RSRP and the RSRP threshold; paragraph [0055], UE selects one preamble, based on the random access type, from a preamble associated with a selected SSB; paragraph [0056], UE selects, based on the random access type, one RO from a random access occasions associated with the selected SSB; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0143], a preamble and an RO are selected), wherein
the selected SSB is an SSB having RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold, if there is at least one SSB having RSRP greater than the first RSRP threshold (Mo, Fig. 2, step 4; paragraph [0054], UE performs SSB selection mased on a measured L2-RSRP and the RSRP threshold; paragraph [0140], measurement result and configured threshold value associated with a combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT-CovEnh; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], UE measures an L1-RSRP corresponding to at least one SSB that is greater than the configured threshold, and the UE randomly selects one SSB from the at least one SSB);
the selected SSB is any SSB regardless of RSRP, if there is no SSB which has RSRP greater than the first threshold (Mo, paragraph [0112]-[0113], when the first condition that a downlink pathloss measurement value of the terminal is less than a second threshold is not satisfied, selecting a second random access preamble group as the target random access preamble group, where the second random access preamble group and the first random access preamble group are different; paragraph [0141], downlink reference signal is selected; paragraph [0142], otherwise, the UE randomly or equiprobably selects one downlink reference signal from all downlink reference signals associated with a configured random access resource);
the feature is one of Reduced Capability (RedCap), Small Data Transmission (SDT), Coverage Enhancement (CovEnh), or Slicing (Mo, paragraph [0080], first characteristic includes at least one of small data transmission (SDT), a reduced capability (RedCap) NR device, coverage enhancement (CovEnh), radio access network slicing (RAN slicing; paragraph [0137], threshold value associated with the combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT), and
the feature combination includes at least two of RedCap, SDT, CovEnh, or Slicing (Mo, paragraph [0080], first characteristic includes at least one of small data transmission (SDT), a reduced capability (RedCap) NR device, coverage enhancement (CovEnh), radio access network slicing (RAN slicing; paragraph [0137], threshold value associated with the combined characteristic of Slice-RedCap-SDT).
Mo does not explicitly disclose broadcasting in a cell a first Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold; and
receiving a random access preamble transmitted.
Cozzo discloses broadcasting in a cell a first Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold associated with a feature or a feature combination (Cozzo, paragraph [0076], UE selects the uplink carrier to initiate the random access based on DL measurements. An RSRP threshold rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL for the selection between the NUL carrier and the SUL carrier is configured to the UE: if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL, the UE selects the SUL carrier for performing Random Access procedure; paragraph [0087], The UE selects which uplink carrier to use for random access based on a threshold, rsrp-ThresholdSSB-RedCap, which is broadcasted in the cell; paragraph [0088], different threshold values for UL carrier determination allow a certain type of traffic and/or certain load in an UL carrier), and
receiving a random access preamble transmitted (Cozzo, paragraph [0081], UE attempts a PRACH preamble transmission with the PRACH resource section including a SSB and/or preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cozzo into the system of Mo in order to ensure that a terminal can select a suitable random access resource from a plurality of random access resources (Cozzo; [0004]).
Claim 36 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 37 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim 38 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim 39 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim 40 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 9.
Claim 41 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 10.
Claim 42 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koskinen et al. (US 20240251449) discloses a RedCap UE 110 attempting SDT determines if cell reference signal received power (RSRP) is above a certain threshold and performs SDT over regular SDT RA resources (not separately configured for Redcap UEs) in case the RSRP is above the certain threshold—such a threshold could be higher than a RSRP threshold to select the SDT procedure; in this case, the RedCap UE also indicates its RedCap capability in the Msg3/MSGA PUSCH of the SDT procedure. In case the RSRP is below the certain threshold, the RedCap UE 110 performs RA over RedCap random access channel (RACH) and indicates over Msg3/MSGA PUSCH it is attempting SDT; in this case, the SDT transmission would happen in subsequent transmissions after the RA procedure.
Mu et al. (US 20240137851) discloses a method for accessing a network is provided in the present disclosure. A plurality of sets of RSRP threshold value parameters of the SSB signal are configured, and the plurality of sets of RSRP threshold value parameters of the SSB signal may respectively correspond to terminals with different types and/or terminals that support the coverage enhancement function.
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413