DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/694,518 filed on 03/22/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG RAN WG #106e R1-2107779 hereby referred to as R1-2107779.
1. Regarding claim 1, R1-2107779 teaches a first device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the
at least one processor, cause the first device at least to:
obtain a configuration of a gap within which a radio resource control connected
state of the first device is kept (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode);
receive, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a
compensation associated with a transmission between the first device and a second device (Section 3.3 valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation); and
perform a uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device
within the gap (Introduction: UE pre-compensation for UL synchronization in RRC connected states based at least on GNSS and ephemeris).
2. Regarding claim 2, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to receive the system broadcasted information by:
receiving the system broadcasted information not earlier than at least one of the
following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
3. Regarding claim 3, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the system broadcasted information comprises at least one of the following:
Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, data; or
satellite ephemeris data (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast; SIB; ephemeris data).
4. Regarding claim 4, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to obtain
the configuration of the gap by:
receiving, from the second device, the configuration of the gap during a process for
establishing a RRC connection between the first device and second device or after the RRC connection has been established (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode).
5. Regarding claim 5, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to obtain
the configuration of the gap by:
determining the configuration of the gap before at least one of the following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode; Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
6. Regarding claim 6, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to perform the uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device by:
performing the uplink synchronization after receiving the system broadcasted
information via a contention free random access procedure (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode; Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
7. Regarding claim 7, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to perform the uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device by:
receiving, from the second device, a parameters configuration for a contention free
random access procedure for the first device to access the second device; and
performing the uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device
based on the parameters configuration and the system broadcasted information (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode; Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
8. Regarding claim 8, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to receive the parameters configuration by:
receiving the parameters configuration before at least one of the following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
9. Regarding claim 9, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is caused to perform the uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device by:
obtaining a configuration of a time window for monitoring a control channel from
the second device to the first device (Section 3.1 and 3.2 PUSCH and PRACH transmissions; segmented pre-compensation via more frequent new UL gaps);
monitoring the control channel within the time window not earlier than at least one
of the following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation);
receiving a random-access command and a set of parameters for a contention free
random access procedure for the first device to access the second device through the control channel (Section 3.1 and 3.2 PUSCH and PRACH transmissions; segmented pre-compensation via more frequent new UL gaps); and
performing the uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device
based on the set of parameters and the system broadcasted information (Introduction: UE pre-compensation for UL synchronization in RRC connected states based at least on GNSS and ephemeris).
10. Regarding claim 10, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device is further caused to: perform, within the gap, a downlink synchronization between the second device to the first device after receiving the system broadcasted information and before performing the uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device (Proposals 8 to 11 valid time length; linked to DL subframe where SIB information is broadcast; upon expiry of the validity timer, synchronization is lost).
11. Regarding claim 11, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the first device comprises a
terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (Proposals 8 to 11 broadcast from BS; UE).
12. Regarding claim 12, R1-2107779 teaches a second device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the
at least one processor, cause the second device at least to:
transmit, to a first device, a configuration of a gap within which a radio resource
control connected state of the first device is kept (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode);
transmit, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a
compensation associated with a transmission between the first device and a second device (Section 3.3 valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation); and
receive, from the first device, random access information to perform an uplink
synchronization between the first device to the second device within the gap (Introduction: UE pre-compensation for UL synchronization in RRC connected states based at least on GNSS and ephemeris; Section 3.1 and 3.2 PUSCH and PRACH transmissions).
13. Regarding claim 13, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the second device is caused
to transmit the system broadcasted information by:
transmitting the system broadcasted information not earlier than at least one of the
following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
14. Regarding claim 14, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the system broadcasted
information comprises at least one of the following:
Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, data; or
satellite ephemeris data (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast; SIB; ephemeris data).
15. Regarding claim 15, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein the second device is caused
to transmit the configuration of the gap by: transmitting the configuration of the gap during a process for establishing a RRC connection between the first device and second device or after the RRC connection has been established (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode).
16. Regarding claim 16, R1-2107779 teaches wherein the second device is further
caused to:
transmit, to the first device, parameters configuration for a contention free random
access procedure for the first device to access the second device before at least one of the following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
17. Regarding claim 17, R1-2107779 teaches wherein the second device is further
caused to:
transmit a random-access command and a set of parameters for a contention free
random access procedure for the first device to access the second device through the control channel (Section 3.1 and 3.2 PUSCH and PRACH transmissions; segmented pre-compensation via more frequent new UL gaps).
18. Regarding claim 18, R1-2107779 teaches wherein the first device comprises a
terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (Proposals 8 to 11 broadcast from BS; UE).
19. Regarding claim 19, R1-2107779 teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a configuration of a gap within which a radio resource control connected
state of the first device is kept (Section 3.2 Gaps for GNSS position fix supported in RRC connected mode);
receiving, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a
compensation associated with a transmission between the first device and a second device (Section 3.3 valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation); and
performing a uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device
within the gap (Introduction: UE pre-compensation for UL synchronization in RRC connected states based at least on GNSS and ephemeris).
20. Regarding claim 20, R1-2107779 teaches, wherein receiving the system broadcasted information comprises:
receiving the system broadcasted information not earlier than at least one of the
following:
a validity timer for a current Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS,
measurement expires, or
a validity timer for current satellite ephemeris data expires (Section 3.3 Proposal 8 to 11, valid time length broadcast along with assistance information; pre-compensation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Astrom et al. (US 2023/0134701 A1)
Zhang et al. (US 2024/0031009 A1)
Narasimha et al. (US 2022/0086786 A1)
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466