DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP 2004095660 A (Ito et al.).
[Claim 1] Ito teaches a light receiving device, comprising:
a light transmitting part that transmits emitted light emitted from a light emitting device (para 22-24 see figure 3,6, 8 note transmitting region EV);
a light receiver that receives incident light from outside (para 22-24 and abstract note light receiving region ED);
and a semiconductor substrate (para 4 note substrate), wherein a non-sensitive region that does not sense light is formed between the light transmitting part and the light receiver (para 22-24 note non transmissive region EO).
[Claim 2] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1, wherein the non-sensitive region includes an insulating film (para 81 note region EO includes insulating film and light shielding film).
[Claim 3] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1, wherein the non-sensitive region includes a light shielding film (para 81 note region EO includes insulating film and light shielding film).
[Claim 4] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1, wherein the non-sensitive region includes an insulating film and a light shielding film (para 81 note region EO includes insulating film and light shielding film).
[Claim 5] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1, wherein a solder bump is formed on the semiconductor substrate (para 83,90,94 note bump).
[Claim 6] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1, wherein a light shielding layer is formed on an opposite side of the light receiver side (para 82 a light shielding film 40a is formed in a region other than the transmission region EV on the back surface (the surface opposite to the insulating film 17) of the semiconductor substrate 12 '(FIG. 16C).).
[Claim 11] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1, wherein the light transmitting part is formed of a transparent material which is transparent or translucent (para 86 note light emitting surface facing the transparent substrate 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004095660 A (Ito et al.) in view of US 20190101625 A1 (Laplante).
[Claim 7] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails to explicitly teach but Laplante teaches wherein the light transmitting part is formed so that a diameter on an opposite side of the light receiver side in a side cross- sectional view is smaller than a diameter on the light receiver side (see figure 11, para 33 note light enters the detector through lens 88 and diameter 102 which is opposite to receiver side is enlarged than diameter 104. Also note the enlarged end 102 of the shroud 100 fits into the stepped recess 98 to mount the shroud 100 into the step 98 and adjacent the laser emitter lens 90. The smaller end 104 of the shroud 100 may be located close to the laser emitter 52 and a small gap 106 may be present between the smaller end 104 of the shroud 100 and the laser emitter 52.).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and Laplante and modify the light receiving device such that the light transmitting part is formed so that a diameter on an opposite side of the light receiver side in a side cross- sectional view is smaller than a diameter on the light receiver side. The motivation to do so would be to separate the light emitted from emitter from the reflected light (Laplante para 34).
[Claim 8] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails to explicitly teach but Laplante teaches wherein the light transmitting part is formed in a stepped-shape in a side cross-sectional view and has a top portion (see figure 11, para 33 note the enlarged end 102 of the shroud 100 fits into the stepped recess 98 to mount the shroud 100 into the step 98 and adjacent the laser emitter lens 90. The smaller end 104 of the shroud 100 may be located close to the laser emitter 52 and a small gap 106 may be present between the smaller end 104 of the shroud 100 and the laser emitter 52.).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and Laplante and modify the light receiving device such that the light transmitting part is formed in a stepped-shape in a side cross-sectional view and has a top portion. The motivation to do so would be to separate the light emitted from emitter from the reflected light (Laplante para 34).
[Claim 9] Ito as modified in view of Lapante teaches Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 8. Lapante teaches wherein in a side cross-sectional view, a first straight line connecting substantially a center of a first aperture positioned on an opposite side of the light receiver side or the light emitting device and the top portion is positioned more inward than a second straight line connecting substantially a center of the first aperture or the light emitting device and an end portion of a second aperture positioned on the light receiver side (see figure 11, para 33 note the enlarged end 102 of the shroud 100 fits into the stepped recess 98 to mount the shroud 100 into the step 98 and adjacent the laser emitter lens 90. The smaller end 104 of the shroud 100 may be located close to the laser emitter 52 and a small gap 106 may be present between the smaller end 104 of the shroud 100 and the laser emitter 52.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have combined the references of Ito and Laplante and modify the light receiving device such that a first straight line connecting substantially a center of a first aperture positioned on an opposite side of the light receiver side or the light emitting device and the top portion is positioned more inward than a second straight line connecting substantially a center of the first aperture or the light emitting device and an end portion of a second aperture positioned on the light receiver side. The motivation to do so would be to separate the light emitted from emitter from the reflected light (Laplante para 34).
[Claim 10] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails to explicitly teach but Laplante teaches wherein the light transmitting part is formed in a taper shape in a side cross-sectional view (para 33 figure 11 note shroud on emitter has a taper shape in side cross-sectional view).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have combined the references of Ito and Laplante and modify the light receiving device such the light transmitting part is formed in a taper shape in a side cross-sectional view. The motivation to do so would be to separate the light emitted from emitter from the reflected light (Laplante para 34).
Claim(s) 12-14,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004095660 A (Ito et al.) in view of JP 2012242694 A (MATSUSHIMA).
[Claim 12] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails but MATSUSHIMA teaches wherein the light receiver is formed in a ring shape in a plan view (see figure 1C, line 32).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and MATSUSHIMA and modify the light receiving device such that the light receiver is formed in a ring shape in a plan view. The motivation to do so would be to save space and create a lightweight device.
[Claim 13] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails but MATSUSHIMA teaches wherein the light receiver includes a plurality of regions in a plan view (line 32,see figure 8 and 9 and note plurality of photodiodes PD).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and MATSUSHIMA and modify the light receiving device such that the light receiver includes a plurality of regions. The motivation to do so would be to have faster processing speed.
[Claim 14] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails but MATSUSHIMA teaches wherein the light receiver includes four or more regions in a plan view (line 32,see figure 8 and 9 and note plurality of photodiodes PD).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and MATSUSHIMA and modify the light receiving device such that the light receiver includes four or more regions. The motivation to do so would be to have faster processing speed.
[Claim 16] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails but MATSUSHIMA teaches wherein the light receiver is disposed so that a plurality of regions is vertically and horizontally arranged in a plan view (see figure 8).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and MATSUSHIMA and modify the light receiving device such that the light receiver is disposed so that a plurality of regions is vertically and horizontally arranged. The motivation to do so would be to have faster processing speed.
Claim(s) 15,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004095660 A (Ito et al.) in view of US 20230369373 A1 (IWATA).
[Claim 15] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1. Ito fails but Iwata teaches wherein the light receiver includes eight or more regions in a plan view (para 66 figure 2 note array of pixels 102).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and Iwata and modify the light receiving device such that the light receiver includes eight or more regions. The motivation to do so would be to have faster processing speed.
[Claim 17] Ito teaches the light receiving device according to claim 1; and a light emitting device that emits the emitted light (para 22-24 and see claim 1 rejection above ). Ito fails to teach a distance measurement apparatus that includes the light receiving device according to claim 1. However, Iwata teaches a distance measurement apparatus with light receiver on a substrate (para 64 and abstract note substrate and diodes and para 83 note distance measurement apparatus)
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and Iwata and modify the light receiving device such that it can be used as a distance sensor. The motivation to do so would be to increase efficiency so that it can also measure distance.
[Claim 18] Ito as modified in view of Iwata teaches a distance measurement module, comprising the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 17.
Ito teaches the light receiving device. Ito fails to teach a distance measurement apparatus that includes the light receiving device according to claim 1. However, Iwata teaches a distance measurement apparatus with light receiver on a substrate (para 64 and abstract note substrate and diodes and para 83 note distance measurement apparatus )
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and Iwata and modify the light receiving device such that it can be used as a distance measurement module. The motivation to do so would be to increase efficiency so that it can also measure distance.
[Claim 19] Ito as modified in view of Iwata teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 17.
Ito teaches the light receiving device. Ito fails to teach a distance measurement apparatus that includes the light receiving device according to claim 1. However, Iwata teaches a distance measurement apparatus with light receiver on a substrate (para 64 and abstract note substrate and diodes and para 83 note distance measurement apparatus )
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Ito and Iwata and modify the light receiving device such that it can be used as a distance measurement apparatus. The motivation to do so would be to increase efficiency so that it can also measure distance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowable.
Regarding claim 20, The closest prior art, neither alone nor in combination, sufficiently discloses the claimed invention in such a way that the combination of limitations would be rendered anticipatory or obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The closest prior art Ito fails to teach a manufacturing method for a light receiving device, comprising: stacking a light receiver on one surface of a semiconductor substrate; etching a side on which the light receiver is disposed into a ring shape; fixing the semiconductor substrate to a permanent fixing substrate; etching an outer periphery and substantially a center portion of the light receiver; and removing the semiconductor substrate from the permanent fixing substrate by laser lift off. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant, nor would there exist a reasonable motivation to combine prior art with similar components in such a way that does not render the original invention inoperable for its intended purpose.
Conclusion
/SANJIDA NASER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645