DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016147996 A1 (Sep. 22, 2016) with Machine translation.
WO teaches the instant polyimide resin comprising the recited formula (1) and formula (2) of claim 1 in abstract. Machine translated WO teaches a combination of the polyimide resin and other resins including polyether sulfone resins in a seventh full paragraph of page 14. The polyether sulfone resins would include the recited formula (I) with R4 being a single bond (i.e., basic polyether sulfone recited as formula (I-1) in of claim 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to obtain a composition comprising the instant polyimide resin comprising the recited formula (1) and formula (2) and polyether sulfone in WO since AWO teaches utilization of a combination with other resins including the polyether sulfone absent showing otherwise.
See In re Mills, 477 F.2d 649, 176 USPQ 196 (CCPA), In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750 (CCPA 1976): Reference must be considered for all that it discloses and must not be limited to preferred embodiments or working examples. MPEP 2123.
Regarding claim 2, Machine translated WO teaches a molded article in a lower part of page 14 and a combination of the polyimide resin and polyether sulfone resin would yield a microphase separated structure inherently since the two resins are immiscible.
Regarding claim 3, the molded article of the combination of the polyimide resin and polyether sulfone resin taught by WO would be expected to have the recited properties.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Machine translated WO teaches a mixing ratio of the polyimide resin and other resin being 1/99 to 99/1 in a eighth full paragraph of page 14.
Regarding claim 7, Machine translated WO teaches a molded article in a lower part of page 14.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016147996 A1 (Sep. 22, 2016) with Machine translation as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of JP H10251515 A (Sep. 22, 1998).
Further regarding claim 2, JP teaches a polyimide phase dispersed in the polyethersulfone phase in the form of particles in abstract which would be further evidence that the two resins are immiscible.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016147996 A1 (Sep. 22, 2016) with Machine translation as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of EP 3771555 A1 (Feb. 3, 2021).
Regarding the recited polyethersulfone resin of claim 4, such as polyethersulfone resin is known as taught by [0022] and [0027] of EP.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention further to utilize the polyethersulfone resin taught by EP in WO since the polyether sulfone resins taught by WO would encompass various structure including that taught by EP absent showing otherwise.
Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious, see Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). MPEP 2144.07.
The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). MPEP 2141.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 4-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-6 of copending Application No. 18/044,918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polyether sulfone resins having the instantly recited formula (I) with R4 being a single bond (i.e., basic polyether sulfone recited as formula (I-1) in of claim 4) would meet the formula (I) in claim of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/TAE H YOON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762