DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to filing on 03/22/2024.
Claims 1-18 and 25-26 are currently pending in the application.
Claims 1-18 and 25-26 are currently rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2024, 12/18/2024, and 04/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4 line 4 and claim 14 line 4 recite: “…the expected SRS resource set on the target Panel”.
Given that the context of the claim only requires “one or more of the following”, there is a scenario where only the second limitation applies. In this interpretation where only the second limitation is required, there could be an antecedent basis issue, as this would be the first time that an expected SRS resource set and target Panel are mentioned when the first limitation is not required. This would make the claim indefinite. Examiner requests that applicant please correct this to make the claim language more clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 17, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang (WO 2020/168350 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches
A method for adjusting a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (Tang [0003-0008]: method for adjusting SRS resources), performed by a terminal (Tang [0004-0005]: UE (user equipment); Tang [0798]: UE may be referred to as a terminal), wherein the method comprises:
determining an SRS resource configuration adjustment condition according to target information (Tang [0005]: dynamically adjust SRS resources based on SRS needs (target information); Tang [0004]: “determine a degree of partial beam correspondence of the UE, compare the degree to a threshold amount of partial beam correspondence support of the UE. In response to the comparison, the processor circuitry is configured to select a number of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources to request from the network, and generate and transmit, using the radio front end circuitry, a SRS resource request message to the network to request the selected number of SRS resources”); and
sending SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal to a network device (Tang [0004], fig. 1, and fig. 9: transmit SRS based on resource configuration information received; Tang [0004]: “The radio front end circuitry is further configured to transmit a SRS based on a SRS resource configuration received from the network in response to the SRS resource request message”).
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the terminal comprises at least one antenna panel (Panel) (Tang [0034] and [0103]: antennas or antenna array), and the target information comprises at least one of the following:
measurement information of channel state information (CSI) of the at least one Panel (Tang [0029]: CSI measurement);
measurement information of a beam management of the at least one Panel; or
change information of an antenna use state of the at least one Panel.
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal is carried by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Tang [0040]: SRS configuration information can be carried by RRC), a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, or uplink control information (UCI).
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 2 (the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource configuration update information comprises one of following items:
a first Bitmap, wherein the SRS resource configuration update information of each Panel is independently indicated in the first Bitmap, and the SRS configuration update information of a plurality of Panels are indicated sequentially;
a second Bitmap, wherein the SRS resource configuration update information of all Panels is jointly indicated through the second Bitmap (Tang [0054]: “resource grid comprises a number of resource blocks, which describe the mapping of certain physical channels [all Panels] to resource elements”);
a first Codepoint, wherein the first Codepoint indicates the SRS resource configuration update information of each Panel correspondingly and independently, and indicates the SRS configuration update information of a plurality of Panels sequentially;
a second Codepoint, wherein the SRS resource configuration update information of all Panels is jointly indicated through the second Codepoint.
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource is used for codebook transmission or non-codebook transmission (Tang [0039]: codebook used for SRS transmission), and the SRS resource is one of the following:
a periodic P-SRS resource (Tang [0031]: SRS resources can be periodic);
a semi-static SP-SRS resource (Tang [0031]: SRS resources can be semi-persistent);
an aperiodic AP-SRS resource (Tang [0031]: SRS resources can be aperiodic).
Regarding claim 12, Tang teaches
A method for adjusting a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (Tang [0003-0008]: method for adjusting SRS resources), performed by a network device (Tang [0004]: network), wherein the method comprises:
receiving SRS resource configuration update information expected by a terminal sent by the terminal (Tang [0004]: “a SRS resource request message to the network to request the selected number of SRS resources” (received by the network)); and
adjusting an SRS resource configuration corresponding to the terminal according to the SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal (Tang [0005]: dynamically adjust SRS resources based on SRS needs (target information); Tang [0004]: “determine a degree of partial beam correspondence of the UE, compare the degree to a threshold amount of partial beam correspondence support of the UE. In response to the comparison, the processor circuitry is configured to select a number of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources to request from the network, and generate and transmit, using the radio front end circuitry, a SRS resource request message to the network to request the selected number of SRS resources”).
Regarding claim 17, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource configuration update information is carried by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Tang [0040]: SRS configuration information can be carried by RRC), a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling or uplink control information (UCI).
Regarding claim 25, Tang teaches
A terminal comprising a processor and a memory (Tang [0798], [0176-0180], and fig. 8: terminal with processor and memory), a computer program is stored in the memory (Tang [0176-0180]: instructions in memory), and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory (Tang [0176-0180]: processor executes stored instructions), so that the apparatus performs:
determining an SRS resource configuration adjustment condition according to target information (Tang [0005]: dynamically adjust SRS resources based on SRS needs (target information); Tang [0004]: “determine a degree of partial beam correspondence of the UE, compare the degree to a threshold amount of partial beam correspondence support of the UE. In response to the comparison, the processor circuitry is configured to select a number of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources to request from the network, and generate and transmit, using the radio front end circuitry, a SRS resource request message to the network to request the selected number of SRS resources”); and
sending SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal to a network device (Tang [0004], fig. 1, and fig. 9: transmit SRS based on resource configuration information received; Tang [0004]: “The radio front end circuitry is further configured to transmit a SRS based on a SRS resource configuration received from the network in response to the SRS resource request message”).
Regarding claim 26, Tang teaches
A network device comprising a processor and a memory (Tang fig. 8: processor and memory), a computer program is stored in the memory (Tang [0180]: instructions stored in the memory), and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory (Tang [0176-0180]: computer program stored in the memory executed by processor), so that the apparatus performs the method according to claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 9-10, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (WO 2020/168350 A1) in view of Li (Pub. No.: US 2019/0013909 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 2 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Tang does not appear to explicitly teach that each Panel in the terminal corresponds to at least one SRS resource set, and each of the SRS resource sets comprises at least one SRS resource.
However, Li, in the analogous art of SRS transmissions, teaches
wherein each Panel in the terminal corresponds to at least one SRS resource set, and each of the SRS resource sets comprises at least one SRS resource (Li [0013], [0021], and [0008-0009]: antenna ports (panel) corresponding to symbols (resources) to be transmitted for SRS transmissions).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang to incorporate the teachings of Li and have each Panel in the terminal corresponds to at least one SRS resource set, and each of the SRS resource sets comprises at least one SRS resource. Doing so would provide flexible SRS transmissions in wireless communications networks (Li [0001]).
Regarding claim 4, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 3 (the limitations of parent claim 3 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource configuration update information comprises one or more of the following:
an activation state of an expected SRS resource set on a target Panel (Tang [0082]: notification of activation; Tang [0034] and [0103]: antennas or antenna array (Panel which is a part of the UE));
an activation state of a target SRS resource in the expected SRS resource set on the target Panel.
Regarding claim 5, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the target Panel is one of the following:
all Panels on the terminal (Tang [0103] and fig. 6: antenna array (all panels));
a Panel on the terminal that has a channel state change meeting the SRS resource configuration adjustment condition;
a specific Panel on the terminal (Tang [0103]: one antenna).
Regarding claim 6, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the target SRS resource is all SRS resources or a specific SRS resource in a corresponding SRS resource set (Tang [0004]: select a number of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources).
Regarding claim 9, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
Upon initial examination Tang does not appear to teach sending one or more of an ID of an SRS resource set and an ID of a target Panel to the network device.
However, Li, in the analogous art of SRS transmissions, teaches
sending one or more of an ID of an SRS resource set (Li [0008-0009]: “transmitting, by the terminal device to the network device, a SRS through one or more antenna ports of the terminal device based on the plurality of alternative SRS selections”) and an ID of a target Panel to the network device (Li [0008-0009]: “terminal device contains a plurality of antenna ports, and one of the plurality of alternative SRS transmission selections indicates that one antenna port selects one or more subcarriers within a symbol for the SRS transmission”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang to incorporate the teachings of Li and send one or more of an ID of an SRS resource set and an ID of a target Panel to the network device. Doing so would provide flexible SRS transmissions in wireless communications networks (Li [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above),
Tang does not appear to teach wherein in response to that the SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal is carried by the UCI signaling, the method comprises one of the following: sending the SRS resource configuration update information through a channel state information (CSI) report quantity; reporting through a periodic CSI configuration measurement; reporting through a semi-static CSI configuration measurement; reporting through an aperiodic CSI configuration measurement.
However, Li, in the analogous art of SRS transmissions, teaches
wherein in response to that the SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal is carried by the UCI signaling, the method comprises one of the following:
sending the SRS resource configuration update information through a channel state information (CSI) report quantity (Li [0114]: “measurement may be obtained from the channel state indication (CSI) in the SRS”);
reporting through a periodic CSI configuration measurement;
reporting through a semi-static CSI configuration measurement;
reporting through an aperiodic CSI configuration measurement.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang to incorporate the teachings of Li and in response to that the SRS resource configuration update information expected by the terminal is carried by the UCI signaling, the method comprises one of the following: sending the SRS resource configuration update information through a channel state information (CSI) report quantity; reporting through a periodic CSI configuration measurement; reporting through a semi-static CSI configuration measurement; reporting through an aperiodic CSI configuration measurement. Doing so would provide flexible SRS transmissions in wireless communications networks (Li [0001]).
Regarding claim 13, Tang teaches
The method according to claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above), wherein the terminal comprises at least one antenna panel (Panel) (Tang [0034] and [0103]: antennas or antenna array),
Tang does not appear to explicitly teach each antenna panel (Panel) in the terminal corresponds to at least one SRS resource set, and each of the SRS resource sets comprises at least one SRS resource.
However, Li, in the analogous art of SRS transmissions, teaches
each antenna panel (Panel) in the terminal corresponds to at least one SRS resource set, and each of the SRS resource sets comprises at least one SRS resource (Li [0013], [0021], and [0008-0009]: antenna ports (panel) corresponding to symbols (resources) to be transmitted for SRS transmissions).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang to incorporate the teachings of Li and have each Panel in the terminal corresponds to at least one SRS resource set, and each of the SRS resource sets comprises at least one SRS resource. Doing so would provide flexible SRS transmissions in wireless communications networks (Li [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource configuration update information comprises one or more of the following:
an activation state of an expected SRS resource set on a target Panel (Tang [0082]: notification of activation; Tang [0034] and [0103]: antennas or antenna array (Panel which is a part of the UE));
an activation state of a target SRS resource in the expected SRS resource set on the target Panel.
Regarding claim 15, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the target Panel is one of the following:
all Panels on the terminal (Tang [0103] and fig. 6: antenna array (all panels));
a Panel on the terminal that has a channel state change meeting an SRS resource adjustment condition;
a specific Panel on the terminal (Tang [0103]: one antenna).
Regarding claim 16, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the target SRS resource is all SRS resources or a specific SRS resource in a corresponding SRS resource set (Tang [0004]: select a number of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources).
Regarding claim 18, Tang modified by Li teaches
The method according to claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Tang further teaches
wherein the SRS resource configuration update information comprises one of following items:
a first Bitmap, wherein the SRS resource configuration update information of each Panel is independently indicated in the first Bitmap, and the SRS configuration update information of a plurality of Panels are indicated sequentially;
a second Bitmap, wherein the SRS resource configuration update information of all Panels is jointly indicated through the second Bitmap (Tang [0054]: “resource grid comprises a number of resource blocks, which describe the mapping of certain physical channels [all Panels] to resource elements”);
a first Codepoint, wherein the first Codepoint indicates the SRS resource configuration update information of each Panel correspondingly and independently, and indicates the SRS configuration update information of a plurality of Panels sequentially;
a second Codepoint, wherein the SRS resource configuration update information of all Panels is jointly indicated through the second Codepoint.
Conclusion
The following prior art is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Xi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0159966 A1) discloses SRS resource configuration, ID information, and panel ID information.
/R.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412