DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (KR 20110080215, with para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of KR 20110080215 Obtained 11 December 2025) taken in combination with Yoon (KR 20150119997, with para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of KR 201501199907 Obtained 11 December 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches discloses a water plant employing a vacuum evaporation method (title, abstract): comprising an evaporator 1, a condenser 2, a heating device 3, a vacuum pump 4, a compressor 5 and water vapor pipes 6; evaporator 1 (equivalent to gas generating unit of the present application) is where contaminated water or seawater to be purified or fresh hydrated flows into and evaporates into water vapor, the condenser 2 (equivalent to the condensing unit of the present application) functions to condense water vapor discharged by evaporation of raw water in the evaporator 1, the condenser 2 is provided with a heat exchanger 22 (equivalent to the cooling unit of the present application) inside the condenser body 21, an exhaust port 27 is provided at an upper end of the condenser body 21 to discharge uncondensed water vapor to the outside, a vacuum pump 4 is provided at the water vapor pipe 6 connecting the evaporator 1 and the condenser 2, and a pressure gauge 28 is provided to confirm the pressure state inside the condenser 2, and when the pressure inside the condenser 2 rises above a certain amount, the exhaust port 27 can be opened to discharge water vapor to the outside (Fig 1-2, [0014-0031]).
However Hong does not teach the present cooling unit reduces the temperature of the condensing unit by evaporating seawater, further included is a gas storage unit, the vacuum pump discharges gas stored in the gas storage unit to the external area, the control unit, the condensing tubes are bent into a "U" shape and the gas is passed through the condensing tubes, the cooling unit supplies seawater to the outer surfaces of the condensing tubes to reduce the temperature of the condensing tubes by evaporation of the seawater and therefore is different in how to reduce the condensing unit temperature.
Yoon discloses an evaporation/condensation desalination apparatus using vacuum (title, abstract), comprising a brine tank 100, an evaporation tank 200, a condenser 300, a drinking water tank 400, a pressure maintaining valve 500, brine tank 100 is a tank where seawater is stored, the evaporation tank 200 is further connected with a vapor exhaust pipe 260, the condenser 300 is at the same time as increasing the temperature of the brine supplied to the evaporation tank 200, a device for lowering the temperature of water vapor discharged through the steam discharge pipe 260 to condense, the condenser 300 is configured to provide a space for the passage of brine guided by the brine supply pipe 120, and is configured to further pass a portion of the steam exhaust pipe 260 through the passage space of the brine, whereby water vapor flowing inside the steam exhaust pipe 260 is heat exchanged to condense, thereby forming condensed water (Figs 1-3, [0022-0045,0069]).
Both Hong and Yoon substantially teaches vacuum distillation desalination systems, both utilizing condenser in different means, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hong in view of Yoon to including the seawater use of reducing the temperature of the condensing unit using evaporation of seawater, as taught by Yoon into Hong as this would be readily contemplated by those skilled in the art as a way of reducing energy consumed by condenser and readily incorporated into Hong without undue experimentation a person skilled in the art is able to properly arrange the gas storage means, the vacuum pump position and the specific shape of the condensing tubes, as well as to properly arrange the control unit, the effect of which can be expected, according to the needs of the desalination system and the application selected.
Regarding claim 2, Yoon teaches that the condenser 300 includes curved lines as seen in Figure 1. Therefore the specific structure of the condensation tubes is well within the constructional design skill of the person skilled in the art without unexpected results through routine skill and duplication of parts.
Regarding claim 3, Yoon further teaches including a drinking water supply pipe 500, a drinking water tank 400 as a water tank that receives and stores condensed water that is condensed while flowing along the steam exhaust pipe 260 (Figs 1-3, [0022-0045,0069]) therefore the claimed piping is routine skill for one having ordinary skill in the art to include without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4, Yoon further teaches that a brine inflow pipe 110 for receiving brine (seawater) and a brine supply pipe 120 (equivalent to the evaporative seawater supply section of the present application) for supplying brine stored in brine tank 100 are respectively connected to brine tank 100 (Figs 1-3, [0022-0045,0069]), and therefore specific structure of the cooling unit is well within the routine construction of the skilled artisan without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 6-7, Hong further teaches evaporator 1 is where contaminated water or seawater to be purified or fresh hydrated flows into and evaporates into water vapor, in the evaporator body 11 (equivalent to the evaporation section of the present application) there is provided a flow inlet 12 for flowing raw water, a heating coil 13 (equivalent to the heat exchange section of the present application) provided in the interior of the evaporator body 11, and a steam outlet 14 for discharging evaporated water vapor, a water vapor tube 6 (equivalent to the gas supply tube of the present application); there is a receiving space in the evaporator body 11 for receiving seawater, and the heating coil 13 is inserted into one side of the evaporator body 11 (Fig 1-2, [0014-0031]). Therefore a water level sensor is a conventional component in the art of evaporators, and those skilled in the art would find obvious to properly set the specific structure of the heat exchange tubes as desired without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 8, Yoon further teaches that at the lower end of the evaporation tank 200 there is also connected a brine discharge pipe 220 for discharging a high concentration of brine (Figs 1-3, [0022-0045,0069]). Therefore the skilled artisan knew to remove the brine and storage of a removed stream from a process was standard and routine in order to store the brine before further processing.
Regarding claim 9, Hong further teaches that the heating device 3 heats the water and supplies the heating coil 13 of the evaporator 1 so as to function as heating the evaporator 1 (Fig 1-2, [0014-0031]). Therefore Hong recognizes the heat source and the specific structure of the heat source device is conventional in the art, the effect of which heating can be expected.
Regarding claim 10, Hong further teaches an exhaust port 27 is provided at an upper end of the condenser body 21 to discharge uncondensed water vapor to the outside, a vacuum pump 4 is provided at the water vapor pipe 6 connecting the evaporator 1 and the condenser 2, and a pressure gauge 28 is provided to confirm the pressure state inside the condenser 2, and when the pressure inside the condenser 2 rises above a certain amount, the exhaust port 27 can be opened to discharge water vapor to the outside (Fig 1-2, [0014-0031]). Therefore Hong substantially teaches the condenser and recovery and gas and it follows that the specific construction of the condensing unit and the gas storage unit is conventional in the art would be routine for one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 11 is a dependent claim of claim 1. Claim 12 is a dependent claim of claim 11. Desiccant and drain tubes comprising desiccant solutions are conventional in the art and their effects are contemplated. Accordingly, to the extent that the claims to which they are cited are not inventive, neither are claims 11-12 capable of the inventive step specified in clause 22, clause 3 of the patent law.
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches discloses a water plant employing a vacuum evaporation method (title, abstract): comprising an evaporator 1, a condenser 2, a heating device 3, a vacuum pump 4, a compressor 5 and water vapor pipes 6; evaporator 1 (equivalent to gas generating unit of the present application) is where contaminated water or seawater to be purified or fresh hydrated flows into and evaporates into water vapor, the condenser 2 (equivalent to the condensing unit of the present application) functions to condense water vapor discharged by evaporation of raw water in the evaporator 1, the condenser 2 is provided with a heat exchanger 22 (equivalent to the cooling unit of the present application) inside the condenser body 21, an exhaust port 27 is provided at an upper end of the condenser body 21 to discharge uncondensed water vapor to the outside, a vacuum pump 4 is provided at the water vapor pipe 6 connecting the evaporator 1 and the condenser 2, and a pressure gauge 28 is provided to confirm the pressure state inside the condenser 2, and when the pressure inside the condenser 2 rises above a certain amount, the exhaust port 27 can be opened to discharge water vapor to the outside (Fig 1-2, [0014-0031]).
However Hong does not teach the present cooling unit reduces the temperature of the condensing unit by evaporating seawater, further included is a gas storage unit, the vacuum pump discharges gas stored in the gas storage unit to the external area, the control unit, the condensing tubes are bent into a "U" shape and the gas is passed through the condensing tubes via a plurality of pipes connected to each other.
Yoon discloses an evaporation/condensation desalination apparatus using vacuum (title, abstract), comprising a brine tank 100, an evaporation tank 200, a condenser 300, a drinking water tank 400, a pressure maintaining valve 500, brine tank 100 is a tank where seawater is stored, the evaporation tank 200 is further connected with a vapor exhaust pipe 260, the condenser 300 is at the same time as increasing the temperature of the brine supplied to the evaporation tank 200, a device for lowering the temperature of water vapor discharged through the steam discharge pipe 260 to condense, the condenser 300 is configured to provide a space for the passage of brine guided by the brine supply pipe 120, and is configured to further pass a portion of the steam exhaust pipe 260 through the passage space of the brine, whereby water vapor flowing inside the steam exhaust pipe 260 is heat exchanged to condense, thereby forming condensed water (Figs 1-3, [0022-0045,0069]). Yoon teaches that the condenser 300 includes curved lines as seen in Figure 1. Therefore the specific structure of the condensation tubes is well within the constructional design skill of the person skilled in the art without unexpected results through routine skill and duplication of parts
Both Hong and Yoon substantially teaches vacuum distillation desalination systems, both utilizing condenser in different means, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hong in view of Yoon to including the seawater use of reducing the temperature of the condensing unit using evaporation of seawater, as taught by Yoon into Hong as this would be readily contemplated by those skilled in the art as a way of reducing energy consumed by condenser and readily incorporated into Hong without undue experimentation a person skilled in the art is able to properly arrange the gas storage means, the vacuum pump position and the specific shape of the condensing tubes, as well as to properly arrange the control unit, the effect of which can be expected, according to the needs of the desalination system and the application selected.
Regarding claim 14, Yoon further teaches including a drinking water supply pipe 500, a drinking water tank 400 as a water tank that receives and stores condensed water that is condensed while flowing along the steam exhaust pipe 260 (Figs 1-3, [0022-0045,0069]) therefore the claimed piping is routine skill for one having ordinary skill in the art to include without unexpected results.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (KR 20110080215, with para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of KR 20110080215 Obtained 11 December 2025) taken in combination with Yoon (KR 20150119997, with para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of KR 201501199907 Obtained 11 December 2025) as applied above and further in combination with Wilson (US 2009/0173617).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hong teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Hong is silent to the evaporation fabric claimed.
Wilson teaches a water desalination system utilizing a capillary material (title, abstract), Wilson teaches that raw water is fed to desalination chamber 20/22 having evaporation condensation portion 24, the portion being tubes 26 wrapped in capillary material 42 to evaporate constituent water (see Figs 1-5, [0017-0021,0031]), the capillary desalination being superior to standard desalination by greatly reducing scaling, brine stream and improving heat transfer [0023].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hong to include capillary surfaces as taught by Wilson because Wilson teaches the advantages of capillary desalination being superior to standard desalination by greatly reducing scaling, brine stream and improving heat transfer [0023].
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (KR 20110080215, with para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of KR 20110080215 Obtained 11 December 2025) taken in combination with Yoon (KR 20150119997, with para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of KR 201501199907 Obtained 11 December 2025) as applied above and further in combination with Igorevich (CA 3142006).
Regarding claims 11-12, modified Hong teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Hong is silent to the gas storage unit having moisture provider and discharge as claimed.
Igorevich teaches a system for monitoring and controlling moisture content in a gas pipeline (title, abstract), Igorevich teaches the device for monitoring comprises an indicating cartridge 2 a silica gel 3 with pipeline 1,4 that monitors pressure and moisture in pipeline (Figs 1-3, P6:L20-P11:L17).
Therefore monitoring of gases stored for moisture was routine and addressing moisture content in stored gases was desirable as substantially taught by Igorevich, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include gas moisture monitoring and removal, such as silica gels or other known moisture collectors to ensure gas in Hong remains moisture free prevent corrosion and safety issues.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huhta Koivisto (US 3,783,108) teaches seawater desalination system. Humiston (US 4,302,297) teaches seawater desalination system. Barth (US 4,494,967) teaches gas stream cleaning. Linke (US 5,466,344) teaches vacuum distillation. Paxton (US 6,936,140) teaches seawater desalination system. Duesel (US 2008/0173590) teaches seawater desalination system. Alhazmy (US 2010/0078306) teaches desalination system. Sonander (US 7,811,420) teaches desalination system. Kwak et al (US 2011/0000778) teaches desalination system. Alsaadi (US 2021/0178281) teaches desalination system. .
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772