Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2025; 03/22/2024 & 05/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ro (U.S. 2011/0234232 A1) in view of Bertness (U.S. 2022/0384858 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Regarding claim 1, Ro et al. disclose a method for inspecting and separating batteries (via system 100), comprising determining which of a predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery (see [0032]; measuring open circuit voltage and discharge voltage, see paragraph [0035]); when not all of the predetermined number of the batteries are determined to be good batteries (see classifying battery cells as normal or abnormal based on reference values, [0038]); when it is possible to form a good battery group (see sorting battery cells into groups having similar electrical characteristics, see [0036]) including only good batteries by receiving the another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage (190) by the transfer (see [0042] sorting battery cells into groups having similar electrical characteristics; [0039] forming groups of a predetermined number of battery cells for downstream use (see paragraph [0057]); and discharging the good battery group when the good battery group is formed (see paragraph [0031]).
Ro et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose temporarily storing the good battery among the predetermined number of the batteries by transferring the good battery to the good battery storage unit, when it is not possible to form the good battery group including only good batteries even by receiving another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage unit by the transfer.
Bertness et al. disclose temporarily storing the good battery among the predetermined number of the batteries by transferring the good battery to the good battery storage unit, when it is not possible to form the good battery group including only good batteries even by receiving the another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage unit by the transfer (see determining which of a predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery based on at least one of a voltage test, a current test, and a resistance test, see [0024] wherein determining whether a battery is good or failing based on at least one of voltage, current, conductance, or resistance testing and comparing measured values to predetermined threshold values (see battery tester performing voltage and conductance measurements, see paragraphs [0025]; threshold based determination of battery condition, see paragraphs [0044] & [0057]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Ro et al. to determine which batteries are good batteries using voltage, current, or resistance testing as taught by Bertness et al., as doing so would provide an objective and reliable basis for classifying batteries prior to grouping and discharge because Bertness et al. emphasize that battery condition can be determined by comparing measured electrical parameters to predetermined thresholds (see Ro’s paragraphs [0044], [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose discharging all of the predetermined number of the batteries when all of the predetermined number of the batteries are determined to be good batteries (see [0033]; wherein discharging all batteries during inspection when batteries are not determined to be abnormal, see [0031] & loading unit discharges battery cells during testing prior to grouping, see [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose transferring a defective battery determined not to be a good battery among the predetermined number of the batteries to a defective battery storage (190) for storage of the defective battery (see [0038] wherein identifying defective or abnormal battery cells and sorting them out from usable battery cells; battery cells having voltage differential greater than a reference value are determined as abnormal and sorted out, also see [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose determining of which of the predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery includes determining thereof based on at least one of a voltage test, a current test, and a resistance test for the predetermined number of the batteries (see [0033]; wherein determining battery condition based on voltage testing (measuring OCV and discharge voltage and calculating voltage differential, see [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose the good battery group includes a same number of good batteries as the predetermined number of the batteries (see [0042] wherein forming groups from which a constant number of battery cells are drawn to form a battery pack (constant number of battery cells drawn from each group, see [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose prior to the determining of which of the predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery, sequentially receiving battery groups each including the predetermined number of the batteries (see [0028]; wherein sequentially receiving and processing battery cells through insertion, conveying, measuring, and sorting (inserting unit, conveying unit, measuring unit, sequential method steps S1–S5; see [0046] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose the transfer is performed by using a suction pad (see [0029] wherein transferring battery cells between units using mechanical handling components such as rails or tongs, also see conveying unit transfers battery cells, see [0030] wherein suction pad is an equivalent battery transfer mechanism).
Regarding claim 8, Ro & Bertness discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Ro further disclose discharging all of the predetermined number of the batteries or the good battery group to a battery operator to perform a predetermined operation (see [0039], wherein providing battery cells for subsequent operations including forming battery packs; wherein battery pack manufactured from sorted battery cells, see [0042] & [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Ro discloses system for inspecting and separating batteries (via system 100), the system comprising: a battery inspector that determines which of a predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery (see [0032]; measuring open circuit voltage and discharge voltage, see paragraph [0035]); a battery separator that separates and discharges the predetermined number of the batteries; a good battery storage (190) in which good batteries are temporarily stored (see sorting machine 100, control unit 170, sorting unit 190, see [0027] & [0051]); and a controller (170) electrically connected to the battery inspector and the battery separator, wherein the controller: controls the battery inspector to determine which of the predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery (see [0035] a controller controlling battery inspection and sorting operations, wherein control unit commands measurement, discharge, and sorting, see [0056]; and grouping batteries based on test results (sorting batteries into groups having same OCV and voltage differential, see [0039]); and temporarily store a good battery among the predetermined number of the batteries by transferring the good battery to the good battery storage, when it is not possible to form the good battery group including only good batteries even by receiving the another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage by the transfer; and discharge the good battery group when the good battery group is formed (see [0042] sorting battery cells into groups having similar electrical characteristics; [0039] forming groups of a predetermined number of battery cells for downstream use (see paragraph [0057]).
Ro does not explicitly disclose a predetermined number of the batteries are determined to be good batteries, receive another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage by a transfer, when it is possible to form a good battery group by receiving another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage by the transfer.
Bertness discloses predetermined number of the batteries are determined to be good batteries, receive another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage by a transfer, when it is possible to form a good battery group by receiving the another good battery temporarily stored in the good battery storage by the transfer (see determining which of a predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery based on at least one of a voltage test, a current test, and a resistance test, see [0024] wherein determining whether a battery is good or failing based on at least one of voltage, current, conductance, or resistance testing and comparing measured values to predetermined threshold values (see battery tester performing voltage and conductance measurements, see paragraphs [0025]; threshold based determination of battery condition, see paragraphs [0044] & [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the battery inspection and sorting system of Ro by incorporating the battery tester and condition determination functionality taught by Bertness as doing so would provide enhanced system-level determination of battery condition before separation and grouping because Bertness emphasize in see paragraphs [0024], [0026], and [0057] that using a processor-controlled battery tester to evaluate electrical characteristics of batteries against predetermined thresholds enables consistent identification of good and failing batteries, thereby improving the accuracy, safety, and effectiveness of controller-based battery inspection and separation systems.
Regarding claim 10, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose a defective battery storage that stores a defective battery, wherein the controller (170) controls the battery separator to transfer the defective battery determined not to be a good battery among the predetermined number of the batteries to the defective battery storage (see [0038] wherein sorting out abnormal battery cells separate from usable battery cells, wherein abnormal battery cells identified and sorted out, see [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose the controller (170) controls the battery inspector to determine which of the predetermined number of the batteries is a good battery based on at least one of a voltage test, a current test, and a resistance test for the predetermined number of the batteries (see [0032-0033] wherein determining battery condition based on voltage measurements including OCV and discharge voltage, see [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose the good battery group includes a same number of good batteries as the predetermined number of the batteries (see [0042], wherein groups from which a constant number of batteries are selected, see [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose the battery separator transfers the good battery using a suction pad (see [0029] wherein transferring batteries using conveying and sorting mechanisms, via conveying unit, sorting unit, see [0041]; wherein suction pad is an equivalent transfer mechanism).
Regarding claim 14, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose a battery supplier that sequentially supplies battery groups each including the predetermined number of the batteries to the battery inspector (see [0029-30], wherein sequentially supplying battery cells through an inserting unit and conveying unit to the measuring unit, see [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose a battery operator that performs a predetermined operation on the discharged all of the predetermined number of the batteries, or the discharged good battery group (see [0039]; wherein performing predetermined operations on grouped batteries including forming battery packs (battery pack manufacturing from grouped batteries, see [0042] & [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, Ro & Bertness discloses the system of claim 9, wherein Ro further disclose the controller (170) controls the battery separator to, when all of the predetermined number of the batteries are determined to be good batteries, discharge all of the predetermined number of the batteries (see [0033] wherein discharging batteries during inspection when all batteries meet grouping criteria (loading unit discharges battery cells under control prior to grouping, see [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 6,781,344 B1 to Hedegor et al. discloses a battery testing and sorting apparatus that includes an upwardly inclined conveyor having a conveyor drive for moving batteries to be tested and sorted. The conveyor includes a battery feeding section disposed along the conveyor for positioning the batteries laterally onto the conveyor so that terminals of the batteries are in a horizontal orientation on the conveyor. A testing section is disposed along the conveyor upstream from the battery feeding section for testing the electrical condition of the batteries as they move along the conveyor. A sorting section is disposed along the conveyor upstream from the testing section for ejecting the batteries from the conveyor according to the electrical condition of the batteries determined by the testing section. In this manner, a battery testing and sorting apparatus is provided for continuously sorting large quantities of batteries into groups based on the electrical condition of the batteries.
U.S. 2025/0189591 A1 to Kim discloses a battery diagnosis apparatus includes a measuring unit to measure a battery voltage, which is a voltage between both terminals of a battery and a battery current which is a current flowing through the battery, a storage unit to store a plurality of actual-measurement internal resistance values, each of which has been calculated based on at least one of the battery voltage and the battery current at each diagnosis time when diagnosing defects of the battery, and at least one test internal resistance value determined according to a predetermined criterion, and a control unit to extract a plurality of previous diagnosis times, corresponding to a predetermined number of samples, from each diagnosis time, at the diagnosis time, calculate a moving average, and diagnose defects of the battery by comparing an actual-measurement internal resistance value calculated at each diagnosis time with reference values calculated based on the moving average.
U.S. 2024/0283039 A1 to Hwang et al. disclose a battery testing apparatus according to an embodiment disclosed herein includes a first connecting unit connected to a positive electrode of each of a plurality of battery cells, a second connecting unit connected to a negative electrode of each of the plurality of battery cells, a wherein the battery testing apparatus is configured to charge or discharge the plurality of battery cells through the first connecting unit and the second connecting unit, and a battery management apparatus configured to measure state information in at least any one of a charging state, a discharging state, and an idle state of each of the plurality of battery cells.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
January 21, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858