DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI (US Pub No. 2022/0109633).
Claims 1, 8, LI discloses a first network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 2A block diagram illustrating a service-based view of a system architecture of a 5G Core Network); and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from a second network node (See FIG. 1, network 120, network transceiver/interface(s) 110, 122, processor 106, and [0026] FIG. 8 is a call flow diagram illustration of steering traffic via a network operation administration and maintenance (OAM) system), a policy and charging control (PCC) rule and fully qualified domain name (FQDN)-based information that indicate any one of traffic detections via DNS message reporting or a DNS resolution (par [0229] a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name (which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN; [0175] Fully Qualified Domain Name FQDN), and if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s), the SMF 204 may consider that the AF-related PCC rules apply to the PDU Session or a traffic associated to the PDU Session), generate a DNS message handling rule on the basis of the FQDN-based information (See Fig. 9, and par [0230] the UPF1 220 may check the content . If the content indicate a DNS query, a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name (which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN)), transmit the DNS message handling rule to a third network node, and receive, from the third network node, an FQDN and an IP address for the FQDN (par [0230-0231] the AF-related PCC rule(s) received in step 904, and a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN, and [par 0229] if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s) wherein Fig. 9 allocated second network node, third network node, for example steps 903, 904, 906, 916), wherein the FQDN and the IP address are identified by the third network node via detection of a DNS response message on the basis of the DNS message handling rule (par [0229-0230] the content indicate a DNS query, a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and FQDN and associated the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s)).
Claim 2, LI further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the DNS message reporting, the method further comprises transmitting the FQDN and the IP address to the second network node (par [0214, 0217] FQDN) of the AS, a target AS IP address, for example: the provisioning of the AF-related PCC rules from the PCF to the SMF by step 312 in FIG. 3, step 412 in FIG. 4, step 904 in FIG. 9).
Claim 3, LI further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the traffic detection through the DNS resolution, the method further comprises: generating an N4 rule corresponding to the PCC rule, and transmitting the N4 rule to a fourth network node (par [0054, 0229] PCF 206 generate policies based on the requirement or request and provide 232 the polices to an SMF 204 that is serving to the traffic flow 212 or 214, the polices received from the PCF 206, the SMF 204, for example: such as attributes in N4 forwarding action rules based on a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name).
Claim 4, LI further discloses the method of claim 3, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the traffic detection through the DNS resolution and receives information about the traffic detection associated with the FQDN-based information from the fourth network node, the method further comprises transmitting the information about the traffic detection to the second network node (par [0229] a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message of FQDN, and the SMF 204 may consider that the AF-related PCC rules apply to the PDU Session or a traffic associated to the PDU Session).
Claims 5, 12, LI discloses a second network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: a transceiver(FIG. 2A block diagram illustrating a service-based view of a system architecture of a 5G Core Network); and a controller (See FIG. 1, network 120, network transceiver/interface(s) 110, 122, processor 106), wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from a fifth network node, a policy and charging control (PCC) (See Abstract “ disclosed the method includes receiving PCC rules from a policy control function, the PCC rules including information comprising at least one of service function chain information”) rule and fully qualified domain name (FQDN)-based information that indicate any one of traffic detections via DNS message reporting or a DNS resolution (par [0229] a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name (which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN; [0175] Fully Qualified Domain Name FQDN), and if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s), the SMF 204 may consider that the AF-related PCC rules apply to the PDU Session or a traffic associated to the PDU Session , and transmit the PCC rule and the FQDN-based information to a first network node FQDN (par [0230-0231] the AF-related PCC rule(s) received in step 904, and a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN, and [par 0229] if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s) wherein Fig. 9 allocated first network node, fifth network node, for example steps 903, 904, 906, 916).
Claim 6, LI further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the DNS message reporting, the method further comprises: receiving, from the first network node, an FQDN detected by a third network node and an IP address for the FQDN, and transmitting the FQDN and the IP address to the fifth network node (par [0230-0231] the AF-related PCC rule(s) received in step 904, and a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN, and [par 0229] if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s) wherein Fig. 9 allocated first network node, fifth network node, for example steps 903, 904, 906, 916).
Claim 7, LI further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the traffic detection through the DNS resolution, the method further comprises: receiving, from the first network node, traffic information associated with the FQDN-based information detected by a fourth network node; and transmitting the traffic information to the fifth network node (par [0230-0231] the AF-related PCC rule(s) received in step 904, and a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN, and [par 0229] if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s) wherein Fig. 9 allocated first network node, fourth network node, fifth network node, for example steps 903, 904, 906, , 914, 916).
Claim 9, LI further discloses the first network node of claim 8, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the DNS message reporting, the controller is further configured to transmit the FQDN and the IP address to the second network node (par [0214, 0217] FQDN) of the AS, a target AS IP address, for example: the provisioning of the AF-related PCC rules from the PCF to the SMF by step 312 in FIG. 3, step 412 in FIG. 4, step 904 in FIG. 9).
Claim 10, LI further discloses the first network node of claim 8, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the traffic detection through the DNS resolution, the controller is further configured to: generate an N4 rule corresponding to the PCC rule; and transmit the N4 rule to a fourth network node (par [0054, 0229] PCF 206 generate policies based on the requirement or request and provide 232 the polices to an SMF 204 that is serving to the traffic flow 212 or 214, the polices received from the PCF 206, the SMF 204, for example: such as attributes in N4 forwarding action rules based on a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name).
Claim 11, LI further discloses the first network node of claim 10, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the traffic detection through the DNS resolution and receives information about the traffic detection associated with the FQDN-based information from the fourth network node, the controller is further configured to transmit the information about the traffic detection to the second network node (par [0229] a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message of FQDN, and the SMF 204 may consider that the AF-related PCC rules apply to the PDU Session or a traffic associated to the PDU Session).
Claim 13, LI further disclose the second network node of claim 12, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the DNS message reporting, the controller is further configured to: receive, from the first network node, an FQDN detected by a third network node and an IP address for the FQDN, and transmit the FQDN and the IP address to the fifth network node (par [0230-0231] the AF-related PCC rule(s) received in step 904, and a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN, and [par 0229] if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s) wherein Fig. 9 allocated first network node, fifth network node, for example steps 903, 904, 906, 916).
Claim 14, LI further discloses the second network node of claim 12, wherein in case where the PCC rule indicates the traffic detection through the DNS resolution, the controller is configured to: receive, from the first network node, traffic information associated with the FQDN-based information detected by a fourth network node, and transmitting the traffic information to the fifth network node (par [0230-0231] the AF-related PCC rule(s) received in step 904, and a DNS message sent to the DNS server for querying the IP address corresponding to a domain name which is included in the message and may be in the form of FQDN, and [par 0229] if the domain name matches or is identical to the domain name of the AS in the AF-related PCC rule(s) wherein Fig. 9 allocated first network node, fourth network node, fifth network node, for example steps 903, 904, 906, , 914, 916).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US Pub No. 2025/0081089) discloses digital network communication method and apparatus.
XU et al. (US Pub No. 2025/0287294) discloses methods and apparatuses for edge application service.
Karampatsis et al. (US Pub No. 2024/0283772) discloses domain name system determination.
/PHUOC H DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646