DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. In the response filed 10/19/26, Applicants submitted new claims. Therefore, the restriction dated 8/17/26 is hereby withdrawn.
B. Claims 23-27 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 23, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brat et al. in view of Asfaha et al. (cited as NPL document 1 on the IDS filed 3/22/24).
The instant claims are essentially drawn to a method of screening C57BL/6 mice engineered to express the entire human IL8 gene locus and its regulatory elements and identifying potential therapeutic agents based on their ability to decrease, or lessen glioma growth.
Brat teaches the involvement of IL8 in glioma (for which glioblastoma is a species). See Title/Abstract. Brat also teaches (Introduction) that “[a] precise definition of the mechanisms by which IL-8 exerts its proangiogenic functions requires further study for the development of effective IL-8-targeted therapies”. Therefore, Brat provides motivation for screening for therapeutics modulation IL8.
Brat does not teach the use of PiggyBac-on Bac RP11-997L11, nor mice. However, Asfaha does teach the use of a human bacterial artificial chromosome (hBAC; RPL11-997L11) encompassing the entire IL-8 gene (first paragraph under “Materials and Methods”), which was purchased commercially and used to express IL8 in C57BL/6 mice.
Therefore, both the fact that IL8 is involved in the promotion of glioma, and that the claimed IL8 gene construct was commercially available at the time of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to have used the construct of Asfaha in the invention of Brat in order to express this gene for study of potential therapeutics.
Neither Brat nor Asfaha teach the specific gene integration position recited in claim 23. However, given the teachings in the prior art as discussed above, it would have been obvious to have determined an appropriate position for gene insertion.
B. Claims 23, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. in view of Asfaha et al.
The instant claims are essentially drawn to a method of screening C57BL/6 mice engineered to express the entire human IL8 gene locus and its regulatory elements and identifying potential therapeutic agents based on their ability to decrease, or lessen glioma growth.
Sharma teaches the involvement of IL8 in glioma (for which glioblastoma is a species). See Title/Abstract. Sharma also teaches (Conclusion) “[i]n vitro targeting of IL-8/CXCR1/2 axes provided notable evidence of their therapeutic potential which may be bolstered with further in vivo studies”. Therefore, Sharma provides motivation for screening for therapeutics modulation IL8.
Sharma does not teach the use of PiggyBac-on Bac RP11-997L11, nor mice. However, Asfaha does teach the use of a human bacterial artificial chromosome (hBAC; RPL11-997L11) encompassing the entire IL-8 gene (first paragraph under “Materials and Methods”), which was purchased commercially and used to express IL8 in C57BL/6 mice.
Therefore, both the fact that IL8 is involved in the promotion of glioma, and that the claimed IL8 gene construct was commercially available at the time of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to have used the construct of Asfaha in the invention of Sharma in order to express this gene for study of potential therapeutics.
Neither Brat nor Asfaha teach the specific gene integration position recited in claim 23. However, given the teachings in the prior art as discussed above, it would have been obvious to have determined an appropriate position for gene insertion.
C. Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either (1) Brat et al. or (2) Sharma et al., each in view of Asfaha et al., further in view of Carleton et al. (US 2021/0054063 – cited on the IDS filed 3/22/24)
The teachings of Brat, Sharma and Asfaha are seen above. None teach an anti-PD-1 antibody. However, Carleton teaches the use of a combination therapy for comprising anti-IL-8 and anti-PD-1 antibodies (i.e. inhibitors) in potential treatment of glioma/glioblastoma (paragraph [0125]).
3. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647