DETAILED ACTION
The following is response to Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 05/07/2026.
In the Amendment:
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 13, 16 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 2, 4, 7, 11, 12, 15, 18 and 19 have been cancelled.
Claims 23-27 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1,
Applicant argues that Zhen does not disclose or suggest "the semi-static transmission resource is configured for a small data transmission (SDT) in an inactive state; sending an uplink message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) resume request for a random access using the semi-static transmission resource" (Remarks: page 8, sixth paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that SDT [0096] states that “The UE may determine to use the valid resource for subsequent SDT transmitting of the uplink data using the configured grant SDT procedure;” and in an inactive state, [0049] states that “a UE may be configured to communicate using small data transfers (SDTs) when the UE is in an inactive mode (e.g., radio resource control (RRC) inactive.” Thus, pars. [0049] and [0096] disclose the semi-static transmission resource is configured for a small data transmission (SDT) in an inactive state. Zheng further discloses “sending an uplink message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) resume request for a random access using the semi-static transmission resource.” See [0005]: initiating a random access channel (RACH) procedure based at least in part on the configured grant]; [0007]: the user equipment to transmit an uplink message, via a configured grant (i.e., semi-static resource), while the UE is in an inactive state; [0007]and [0036]: one or more processors of the UE further cause the UE to initiate a RACH procedure based at least in part on the configured grant (e.g., semi-static resource) being unsuitable for subsequent transmissions of the uplink data. Also, [0006]: the UE is in an inactive state, the uplink message including a request to resume a connection and uplink data.
Applicant further argues that Zhen does not teach or suggest "receiving downlink control information (DCI), wherein RRC resume information is included in a downlink data transmission scheduled by the DCI; and sending an acknowledgement message,"
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the UE may receive the configuration information via one or more of RRC signaling, MAC CEs, and/or downlink control information (DCI), [0084]. Thus, Zheng discloses receiving downlink control information (DCI). And determining that RRC resume information or RRC setup information is included in a downlink data transmission scheduled by the DCI (the UE may determine that the configured grant is unsuitable based at least in part on the UE receiving data that triggers a BSR when the configured grant does not have a scheduling request resource available, See [0081]). And sending an acknowledgement message (The network response may indicate an acknowledgment of the first uplink message and/or may request a re-transmission of the first uplink message, [0071] ),
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Applicant presents the same arguments as above, with regards to claims 10 and 20. (Remarks: page 12, third paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and presents the same response as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
With respect to claims dependent claims 3, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14, 16-17 and 21-27, which depend directly or indirectly from claims 1, 10 and 20, the Examiner presents the same response as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-10, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (US 20240324020).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a random access method (random access channel (RACH) procedure), applied to performed by a terminal, comprising:
determining a semi-static transmission resource (Fig. 4, 405, and [0069] “the UE may receive … a release message (e.g., RRCRelease) that indicates one or more configurations of a set of configured grant resources. … the configured grant may indicate resources configured to be used by the UE for SDT communications.” [0039] “The transmit processor 220 may process system information (e.g., for semi-static resource partitioning information (SRPI)) and control information”), wherein the semi-static transmission resource is a semi-static transmission resource configured for a small data transmission or SDT (The UE may determine to use the valid resource for subsequent SDT transmitting of the uplink data using the configured grant SDT procedure, [0096]); and
sending an uplink message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) resume request (the uplink message including a request to resume a connection and uplink data, [0046]; the UE may transmit, … , a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) payload that includes a resume request message (e.g., an RRCResumeReq), [0053]) and/or an RRC setup request, or comprises the RRC resume request and the RRC setup request)
for a random access using semi-static transmission resource (initiating a random access channel (RACH) procedure based at least in part on the configured grant (e.g., semi-static resource), see [0005]; the user equipment to transmit an uplink message, via a configured grant (i.e., semi-static resource), while the UE is in an inactive state[0007]; one or more processors of the UE further cause the UE to initiate a RACH procedure based at least in part on the configured grant (e.g., semi-static resource) being unsuitable for subsequent transmissions of the uplink data, [0007]and [0036] ).
Claim 2. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the random access method of claim 1, wherein before sending the uplink message for the random access based on the semi-static transmission resource, the method further comprises: determining that a time advance (TA) of an uplink data transmission for the random access is valid (the UE may restart a timing alignment timer for the configured grant-based SDT (e.g., TA-SDT timer) such that the configured grant SDT resources are valid again, [0110]).
Claim 4. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses the random access method of claim 1, wherein the RRC resume request includes no first identification information of the terminal ([0049]: UE may be configured to communicate using small data transfers (SDTs) when the UE is in an inactive mode (e.g., radio resource control (RRC) inactive; the UE selects the non-SDT RACH-based procedure based at least in part on one or more criteria, [0108]), and the first identification information of the terminal is identification information of the terminal in an RRC inactive state (the UE may transmit the indication of support as part of an RRC connection procedure, [0087]; the message of the RACH procedure comprises an indication of an identification of the UE, [0151]).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng discloses the random access method of claim 1,wherein the first identification information of the terminal is determined based on a position of the semi-static transmission resource that carries the uplink message (The transmit processor 220 may process system information (e.g., for semi-static resource partitioning information (SRPI)) and control information, [0039] ), wherein the first identification information of the terminal is identification information of the terminal in an RRC inactive state (the message of the RACH procedure comprises an indication of an identification of the UE, [0151]).
Claim 7. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 8, Zheng discloses the random access method of claim 1, wherein the RRC resume message resume information or includes no contention resolution information (the network response may indicate a contention resolution for the random access preamble. The network response does not include an RRC message (e.g., an RRCConnect or RRCReconnect message, among other examples) based at least in part on the UE not being in a connected state. The network response does not include an RRC message (e.g., an RRCConnect or RRCReconnect message, among other examples) based at least in part on the UE not being in a connected state, [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng discloses the random access method of claim 1, further comprising: acquiring second identification information of the terminal based on received indication information or a communication protocol, wherein the second identification information of the terminal is configured for data scheduling and data transmission (the UE may transmit, and the base station may receive, a second uplink message including a UE ID and/or a BSR via one or more MAC CEs, as described herein. The UE ID may implicitly indicate that the UE is an SDT-configured UE. The second uplink message may further include a configured grant resource request, UE assistance information, and/or traffic pattern information (e.g., traffic associated with the UE), [0111]).
Claim 10 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Zheng, Figure 2, UE 200; base station 110a).
Claim 11. (Cancelled)
Claim 12. (Cancelled)
Claim 13 contains subject matter similar to claim 5, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 contains subject matter similar to claim 6, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15. (Cancelled)
Claim 16 contains subject matter similar to claim 8, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 contains subject matter similar to claim 9, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
18. (Cancelled)
19. (Cancelled)
Claim 20 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Zheng, Figure 2, UE 200, processor 280, and memory 281).
Claim 21 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale ( Zheng [0162]: “non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by a controller or a processor”).
Claim 22 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale (Zheng, Figure 2, base station 110, processor 220, memory 242).
Claim 23 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 24 contains subject matter similar to claim 5, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 25 contains subject matter similar to claim 6, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 26 contains subject matter similar to claim 8, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 27 contains subject matter similar to claim 9, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644