Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 101-123 are pending. Claims 108, 111, and 119-122 are withdrawn. Claims 101-107, 109-110, and 112-118 are rejected. Claim 123 is objected to.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) submitted on 4/11/2025 and 7/31/2026 were considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species of Compound 17:
, in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 101-107, 109-110, 112-118 and 123 embrace Applicant’s elected species and are therefore under examination. The elected species is free of the prior art. As per MPEP 803.02, “Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability.” The search has been expanded to include non-elected species rejected under 35 USC 102 and 103 below. Additionally, claim 123 has been searched in full and is free of the prior art.
Claims 108, 111, and 119-122 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 117 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Compounds 24 and 25 should be explicitly drawn out.
Lines 1 and 2 should read: “A compound selected from the group consisting of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 123 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 should read: “The compound of claim 101, wherein the compound is selected from the group consisting of:”.
The second to last line, there should be an “and” in between the last two structures, instead of an “or”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 110 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 110 depends from claim 101 and claim 110 recites the following as included in the “R6” variable:
, which are not included by the broader definition of “R6” in independent claim 101. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 101, 102, 103, 106, 107, 112, 114, and 116 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2935-94-6 (which entered the STN database on 11/16/1984).
Regarding instant claims 101, 102, 103, 106, 107, 112, 114, and 116, CAS Registry No. 2935-94-6 is drawn to the following structure:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant formula (VB):
,wherein R3= alkoxy; m = 0 (R3a = H); R2 = H; X = -C(O)-; Ra = H; n = 2; Y = -SH.
Claim(s) 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 114, 115, 116 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bekvazarova et al. (Uzbek Chemical Journal, 2009, p. 7-11).
Regarding instant claims 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 114, 115, 116, Bekvazarova teaches the following compound on p. 9 (arrow added by Examiner):
, which is embraced by a compound of instant formula (VB):
, wherein R3 = alkoxy (-OCH3); R2 = H; X = -C(O)-; m = 0 (R3a = H); n =1; Ra = alkyl (methyl); Y = -SC(O)NH2, R1 = -NR4R5, R4 and R5 = H.
Claim(s) 117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schonauer et al. (JACS, 2017, 139, 12696-12703).
Regarding instant claim 117 and instant compound 2:
, Schonauer teaches an identical compound (compound 4) in Table 1 (arrow added by Examiner):
.
Claim(s) 101, 102, 103, 106, 107, and 112-116 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 1695339-41-3 (which entered the STN database on 4/30/2015).
Regarding instant claims 101, 102, 103, 106, 107, and 112-116, CAS Registry No. 1695339-41-3 is drawn to the following structure:
which is embraced by a compound of instant formula (VB):
,wherein R3= alkoxy; m = 0 (R3a = H); R2 = H; X = -C(O)-; Ra = C3 alkyl (isopropyl); n = 1; Y = -SH.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 112, 114, 115, 116, and 118 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schonauer et al. (JACS, 2017, 139, 12696-12703).
Schonauer teaches a similar compound (compound 4) in Table 1 with its IC50 value in uM (arrow added by Examiner):
, which is similar to a compound of instant formula (VB):
, wherein R3 = -C(O)R6, R6= alkoxy (-OCH3); R2 = H; X = -C(O)-; m = 0 (R3a = H); n =1; Ra = H; Y = -SC(O)NH2, R1 = -NR4R5, R4 and R5 = H. Additionally, the prior art teaches their compounds as bacterial inhibitors (see abstract).
Regarding instant claims 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 112, 114, 115, 116, the prior art differs from the instant claims in a hydrogen vs. methyl possibility at the Ra location. The compounds as taught by the prior art and the compounds in the instant claims are considered structural analogs and hydrogen and methyl are deemed obvious variants. It is well established that the substitution of hydrogen for methyl on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, Whittaker, Stirling, and Ohta, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978). In the instant case, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to synthesize the instantly claimed analogs with the reasonable expectation that it would have the same utility as the closest structurally related compounds taught by the prior art and with the motivation of obtaining additional useful compounds. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to be useful in the same utilities (bacterial inhibitors) and been motivated to apply them in the same methods. Regarding instant claim 118, as discussed in the “Supporting Information”, the compounds were tested in a 2% DMSO buffer, which is a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see p. S11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 123 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art to claim 123 is Bekvazarova, as taught under 35 USC 102 supra. Bekvazarova teaches the following compound on p. 9 (arrow added by Examiner):
, wherein Ra = methyl. It is similar to the following compound of instant claim 123:
, but differs in the “Ra” location of methyl in the prior art vs. ethyl of instant claim 123. The prior art does not teach their compounds with similar utility, such as inhibitor of bacterial toxins. A PHOSITA would not have been motivated to explore manipulating the prior art compounds to arrive at homologs with the unique utility of inhibiting bacterial toxins.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626