DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/034943 09/20/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
JAPAN 2021-156321 09/27/2021
Claims 10-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2004531539-A, machine translation.
JP-2004531539-A teaches the use of azithromycin (which has a 15-membered ring) for treating rheumatoid arthritis. See claims 1 and 7. The dose is 30-1500 mg. See claim 23. Treatment of emphysema is also taught in claim 2 of the reference. The composition can be administered locally [0047]. An exemplified dose is 500 mg [0070].
Diseases accompanied with destruction of bone tissue or lung tissue include rheumatoid arthritis and emphysema as recited on page 14 of the current specification, so subjects suffering from these disorders are in need of treatment for regenerating bone or lung tissue. The current specification page 11 states that an effective dose is generally about 100 µg to 1200 mg. Thus, JP-2004531539-A teaches administration of an effective amount of azithromycin for treating subjects in need of regenerating bone or lung tissue and subjects suffering from a disease accompanied with destruction of bone tissue or lung tissue.
Claim(s) 10-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sotgia (CN 201980079188 A, machine translation).
Sotgia teaches a method of delaying the onset of an age-related disease by administering azithromycin, roxithromycin, telithromycin, or their analogs (claim 29). The age-related disease is osteoporosis (claim 30).
Diseases accompanied with destruction of bone tissue or lung tissue include osteoporosis as recited on page 14 of the current specification, so subjects suffering from osteoporosis are in need of treatment for regenerating bone or lung tissue, or treating a disease accompanied with destruction of bone tissue, or preventing deterioration of bone regenerative capacity, or for activating bone regenerative capacity.
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaur (DJAS 4(11), 94-103, 2016) as evidenced by Thronton-Evans.
Kaur teaches that local delivery of azithromycin (a 15-membered macrolide antimicrobial drug) encourages bone formation in the treatment of periodontitis. See abstract. Subjects were in the age group of 25-60 years, so subjects are reasonably interpreted to be aging. See page 96, Patient Population.
Thornton-Evans (CDC Supplements, November 22, 2013, 62(03); 129-135) teaches that Periodontitis increases with age. See Introduction. Thus, periodontitis is associated with aging. The current specification paragraph [0002] recognizes that bone destruction is associated with periodontitis.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693