DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1, 17, 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 17, 22 and 28 recite “select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from one or more candidate SL anchor UEs based on positioning capability information of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs AND SL radio signal strength measurement results associated with the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs”.
The Examiner notes Applicants disclosure does not even support the recited claim limitations.
Applicants specification as published discloses select the at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs based on at least one of the following: positioning capability information of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs, SL radio signal strength measurement results associated with the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs; OR types of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs (0019, 0053, 0139-0142, 0195. Also see claim 8 dated 3/22/2024).
Claim Objections
2. Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 28 recites The UE of claim 29. However, there is no claim 29. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (2024/0236653).
Regarding claim 27. Manolakos teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (0007- UE includes memory, transceiver, and processor used to receive discovery messages from peer UEs regarding peer UEs capabilities to participate in SL positioning and sends an interest message to one or more peer UEs indicating that the target UE intends in having the one or more peer UEs participate in SL positioning session and receives one or more capability messages from the peer UEs which is used to send a selection message to at least one or more peer UEs to participate in SL positioning):
determine one or more candidate sidelink (SL) anchor UEs based on a discovery procedure (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength) in a discovery layer (0007, 0111 – wherein the discovery signal may be an upper layer signal (e.g. discovery layer)); and
select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength).
Regarding claim 28. Manolakos teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select the at least one anchor UE for SL positioning based on positioning capability information of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs and based on SL radio signal strength measurement results associated with the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5, 7, 17-20, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangakhedkar et al (2019/0239181) found in IDS 4/15/2025 hereinafter D1 in view of Manolakos et al (2024/0236653).
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 22. D1 teaches method and a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE (0048, figure 2 teaches a first UE item 204 having transmitter, selection unit, location unit, processor, memory and software program) to:
determine one or more candidate sidelink (SL) anchor UEs (0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))); and
select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs (0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))).
Regarding amendment 6/12/2026. D1 does not explicitly teach based on positioning capability information of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs AND SL radio signal strength measurement results associated with the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs.
Manolakos teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (0007- UE includes memory, transceiver, and processor used to receive discovery messages from peer UEs regarding peer UEs capabilities to participate in SL positioning and sends an interest message to one or more peer UEs indicating that the target UE intends in having the one or more peer UEs participate in SL positioning session and receives one or more capability messages from the peer UEs which is used to send a selection message to at least one or more peer UEs to participate in SL positioning):
determine one or more candidate sidelink (SL) anchor UEs 0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength) in a (0007, 0111 – wherein the discovery signal may be an upper layer signal (e.g. discovery layer)); and
select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs teach based on positioning capability information of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs AND SL radio signal strength measurement results associated with the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to use capability AND signal strength measurements regarding potential candidate SL anchor UEs as taught by Manolakos thereby enabling a target UE to select/determine which peer UEs to select for SL positioning session without using network elements to determine a position of the target UE (Manolakos at 0221) thereby providing for more accurate SL positioning location determination.
Regarding claims 2, 18, and 23. D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs based on a discovery procedure in a discovery layer.
Manolakos teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (0007- UE includes memory, transceiver, and processor used to receive discovery messages from peer UEs regarding peer UEs capabilities to participate in SL positioning and sends an interest message to one or more peer UEs indicating that the target UE intends in having the one or more peer UEs participate in SL positioning session and receives one or more capability messages from the peer UEs which is used to send a selection message to at least one or more peer UEs to participate in SL positioning):
determine one or more candidate sidelink (SL) anchor UEs based on a discovery procedure (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength) in a discovery layer (0007, 0111 – wherein the discovery signal may be an upper layer signal (e.g. discovery layer)); and
select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to use a discovery procedure in a discovery layer as taught by Manolakos thereby enabling a target UE to select/determine which peer UEs to select for SL positioning session without using network elements to determine a position of the target UE (Manolakos at 0221) thereby providing for more accurate SL positioning location determination.
Regarding claims 3, 19 and 24. D1 teaches wherein, the at least one processor is configured to determine the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs, by:
receiving, a discovery message containing positioning capability information of a second UE, and determining the second UE to be a candidate SL anchor UE (0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS)));
receiving, a discovery message containing positioning capability information of a second UE, and determining the second UE to be a candidate SL anchor UE in response to that a positioning capability of the second UE meets a criterion to serve as an anchor UE for the first UE (0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS)));
transmitting, a location service request, receiving, a response message containing positioning capability information of a second UE, and determining the second UE to be a candidate SL anchor UE, wherein the location service request contains at least one of an SL anchor UE discovery message and a criterion to serve as an anchor UE for the first UE.
Manolakos teaches at least one of: (0007, 0176, 0181, 0191 – the target UE may select a peer UE to act as an anchor UE based upon capabilities AND signal strength, 0178, 0189-0190, 0205, 0213, 0220-0221 – a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning the peer UE is capable of performing during the SL positioning session AND one or more measurements associated with a signal strength) in a discovery layer (0007, 0111 – wherein the discovery signal may be an upper layer signal (e.g. discovery layer)).
Regarding claims 4, 20 and 25. D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: establish an SL radio resource control (RRC) connection with the selected at least one anchor UE; and receive, with the wireless transceiver, positioning capability information of the selected at least one anchor UE in SL UE capability information from the selected at least one anchor UE.
Manolakos teaches SL RRC connection (0113, 0165).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to use SL RRC connection message as taught by Manolakos enabling for sidelink connection after identifying a potential sidelink target UE.
Regarding claims 5 and 26. D1 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs based on an SL UE capability transfer procedure (0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))).
Manolakos teaches determine/select one or more candidate SL anchor UEs based on an SL UE capability transfer procedure (0007, 0111 – wherein the discovery signal may be an upper layer signal (e.g. discovery layer)).
Regarding claim 7. D1 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs by:
receiving SL positioning reference signal (PRS) information from a second UE; and determining the second UE to be a candidate SL anchor UE 0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080-0081 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))).
Manolakos teaches SL-PRS (0148, 0157)
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Manolakos further in view of Wu et al (2020/0245394).
Regarding claim 6. D1 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs: transmitting a request for positioning capability information in an SL UE capability enquiry message to a second UE; receiving positioning capability information of the second UE in an SL UE capability information message from the second UE (0008 – first UE transmits a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes (e.g., second UEs) and the first UE selects a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support via a sidelink … make a dynamic selection of the most appropriate anchor nodes, 0051 – PC5 interface used for sidelink positioning, figure 3 at step 301, 0063 – first UE 204 transmit a request for positioning support to anchor nodes, figure 3 at step 302, 0069 – a set of anchor nodes is selected to meet the request, 0055 and 0081 – a CP response message is used by the target nodes (e.g., first UE) to obtain information about the anchor nodes … wherein the information includes the anchor node ID, the anchor node position precision which corresponds to transmitting positioning capability information and the CP radio resource configuration and transmission configurations for the Position Reference Signal, figure 3 at step 303, 0075 – instruction is transmitted to the selected anchor nodes asking them to provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support, figure 3 at step 305, 0080 – anchor nodes provide the target node (e.g., first UE) with positioning support (e.g., transmitting sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))); and
D1 in view of Manolakos do not teach determining the second UE to be a candidate SL anchor UE after an SL RRC configuration with the second UE is completed.
Wu teaches an RRC layer of an initiating UE may include an upper layer signaling message (e.g., a PC5-S message) in an RRC message (e.g., PC5-RRC message) and the initiating UE may transmit the PC5-RRC message to the target UE wherein the PC5-RRC message may include a connection setup request including UE capability, a sidelink bearer configurations (0084) allowing UEs to more efficiently coordinate communication and to coordinate connection establishment between one or more UEs by using RRC layer signaling procedure over the sidelink (0185) which decreases signaling overhead and decreases signaling latency in the connection establishment between one or more UEs (0186).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Manolakos to use RRC message as taught by Wu enabling UEs to more efficiently coordinate communication and to coordinate connection establishment between one or more UEs by using RRC layer signaling procedure over the sidelink (Wu at 0185) which decreases signaling overhead and decreases signaling latency in the connection establishment between one or more UEs (Wu at 0186).
6. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Manolakos further in view of Wu et al (2023/0061043).
D1 in view of Manolakos do not explicitly teach select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from one or more candidate SL anchor UEs based on: types of the one or more candidate SL anchor UEs.
Wu teaches UE identifies a plurality of SL positioning anchor UEs. Based on one or more parameters associated with each of the plurality of SL positioning anchor UEs, the UE may associate with one or more anchor UEs (abstract, figure 7, 0006 – 0010). Depending on the SL positioning algorithm/method to be employed to determine the position of the UE, a number of SL positioning anchors that are needed vary. In one example, one or two SL positioning anchor devices (e.g., RSU, pedestrian UEs, vehicle UEs, etc.) may be needed. A target UE may identify a group of SL positioning anchor UEs that are available for use in implementing a SL position algorithm. Each SL positioning anchor UE from the group may include a device having known location. For instance, a SL positioning anchor can include an RSU, a pedestrian UE (e.g., mobile device, tablet, wearable device), a vehicle UE, and/or other device. In some cases, the UE may associate with a subset of positioning anchor devices in order to implement SL positioning (e.g., determine an absolute position or a relative position) (0045-0048, 0116, 0118-0121) and may further use information relating to UE capabilities and RSRP measurement (0049-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Manolakos to select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning based on types of one or more candidate SL anchor UEs as taught by Wu in order to provide for more accurate SL positioning.
7. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Manolakos further in view of Harounabadi et al (2023/0180098).
Regarding claim 10. D1 in view of Manolakos do not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to perform SL anchor UE re-selection in response to at least one of the following conditions:
a change in a positioning capability requirement of the first UE for SL positioning meets a first predefined condition;
a change in a positioning capability of an anchor UE for SL positioning meets a second predefined condition;
the first UE enters, leaves, or remains within a predefined area;
the first UE moves by more than a predefined straight-line distance from a previous location;
the first UE receives an SL anchor UE re-selection indication via a long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling from location management function (LMF), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling from a base station, or from an anchor UE for SL positioning;
no SL positioning reference signal (PRS) information is received within a duration of a timer pre- configured or configured by a network, wherein the timer is shorter than a timer indicating a radio link failure;
an SL-RSRP (reference signal received power) measurement value on an SL unicast link between the first UE and an anchor UE for SL positioning is within a specified threshold during a specified time window; or
an SL radio link between the first UE and an anchor UE for SL positioning fails.
Harounabadi teaches anchor node reselection based on PC5 link quality, anchor loads change, radio link failure occurs, reselection request from higher layers is received, distance threshold between UEs, current speeds of the UEs, moving directions of the UEs, etc. (0161-0172).
Harounabadi teaches selecting a candidate node based on one or more criterion which includes PC5 link quality wherein the PC5 link quality is based on a received signal strength of a discovery message (0036, 0040).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Manolakos to use PC5 link information, distance information, speed and moving direction information as taught by Harounabadi in order to better select the best candidate anchor UE(s) thereby providing for more accurate location determination.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10, 17-20, 22-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Furthermore, it is noted applicant’s amendment regarding selecting/determining an anchor UE based on capability information AND signal strength measurement is not mentioned in Applicants disclosure. Instead, the claims should read selecting/determining an anchor UE based on capability information OR signal strength measurement.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2024/0188153) Hoang et al teaches UEs may request information about sidelink positioning via upper layer (0089).
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646