Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 12/29/2025. Claims 1 and 3-7 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2025/0219260 A1 – of Record) in view of Mortara et al. (US 2022/0297412 A1 – of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches an apparatus for sealing (Para. [0069]) a pouch-type secondary battery (Fig. 1) including a sealing portion (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 420) at a location from which an electrode lead extends (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20) comprising a pressing part and a heating part (Para. [0069]); but does not teach a transfer part nor that the pressing part includes an elastic body in a continuous band shape.
In an analogous art, Mortara teaches an apparatus (Fig. 2) for heat pressing a multilayered structure that comprises a transfer part (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 20) to move the material in one direction, two pressing parts that includes an elastic body having a continuous band shape (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 21) and a pressing roller disposed within the elastic body (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 23) where the two pressing parts are disposed on opposite sides of the transfer part, and a heating part (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Song with Mortara to turn the sealing apparatus into a continuous one including a pressing part made of an elastic band. This modification will allow the sealing to occur at lower pressures (Para. [0084]) and increase the efficiency making it a continuous process. Song teaches the battery should be sealed for 1.5 to 3 seconds (Para. [0042]) and Mortara teaches the movement speed of 0.5 to 5 m/min (Para. [0088]). This would mean the elastic body is passing over the battery for 0.125 to 0.25 m, which is within the claimed range of less than 1.5m.
Regarding claim 4, modified Song teaches that the elastic body is made of PTFE (Mortara; Para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches that the battery sealing occurs at 180 to 215 degrees Celsius (Para. [0042]) and Mortara teaches that the apparatus is configured to heat at 200 to 260 degrees Celsius (Para. [0096]), both ranges which overlap each other and the claimed range of 200 to 250 degrees Celsius which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches that the battery sealing occurs at 0.3 to 0.6 Mpa (Para. [0042]) and Mortara teaches that the apparatus is configured to press at less than 5 bar (0.5 Mpa) (Para. [0095]), both ranges which overlap each other and the claimed range of 0.1 to 1.5 MPa which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2025/0219260 A1) and (US 2022/0297412 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitsuboshi (physical_properties_ptfeEN).
Regarding claim 2, modified Song teaches that the elastic body is made of PTFE (Mortara; Para. [0085]), but does not teach the Young’s modulus of the elastic body. However, a PTFE data sheet teaches that the Young’s modulus of PTFE is 0.3Gpa (Mitsuboshi). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the Young’s modulus of the elastic body 0.3 GPa as the elastic body is made of PTFE and that is a physical property of PTFE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Song et al. (US 2025/0219260 A1) and Mortara et al. (US 2022/0297412 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Song and Mortara teach all the limitations except for the movement speed of the pouch-type battery being 8 m/min to 15 m/min. Mortara teaches the movement speed being 0.5 to 5 m/min (Para. [0088]) so it would not be obvious to modify that to have the movement speed be outside that range and destroy the reference for the intended purpose. It is the examiner’s opinion that without the improper use of hindsight or destroying the references for their intended use, it would not have been obvious to combine prior art references in the manner, as required by claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Song in view of Mortara does not teach two pressing parts; however, Mortara does teach two pressing parts ((Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 21, 23) where one is above the product and one is below the product.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749