DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (Shimadzu No. L554A, Quick Estimation of the Freshness and the Level of Putrefaction in Fish Meat Using Nexera™ Dual Injection System, March 2020) in view of Qiu et al. (CN 104237412A, rejection refers to Google Patents machine translated version), and further in view of Champion (HPLC Separation Fundamentals, 02/08/2011).
Regarding claim 1, Iwata teaches:
Claim 1 An analytical method for performing, in parallel (see P1/Dual Injection System Capable of Two Different Analyses Simultaneously):
a first analysis step of introducing a non-derivatized first sample (e.g., untreated sample to injection port 1, P2/Fig. 4) into a first column (e.g., Shim-pack GIST 3μm C18 AQ, P2/Table 2) together with a first mobile phase (e.g., buffered water/acetonitrile mobile phase solutions A/B, Table 2), and analyzing components contained in the first sample (e.g., PDA detection, 260nm, Table 2); and
a second analysis step of introducing a derivatized second sample (e.g., OPA/FMOC-derivatized histamine/amino-acid sample delivered through injection port 2, P2/Tables 3-4 & Fig. 4) into a second column (e.g., shim-packed Velox C18, P2/Table 2) together with a second mobile phase (e.g., phosphate-buffer mobile phase solution A and acetonitrile/methanol/water mobile phase solution B, Table 2), and analyzing components contained in the second sample (e.g., fluorescence detection Table 2), using the first column and the second column each constituted by an ODS column (e.g., C18 columns, Table 2),
wherein the first sample contains inosinic acid (e.g., IMP, peak 2, Table 1), and
in the first analysis step, by separating components contained in the first sample (see e.g., ATP-related compound chromatograms in Fig. 5) using the first column having a length of 100mm (Table 2), a chromatogram (Fig. 5) is obtained in which peaks corresponding to inosinic acid (e.g., peak 2).
However, Iwata does not explicitly teach: wherein the first sample contains guanylic acid, and in the first analysis step, by separating components contained in the first sample using the first column having a length of 185 mm or more, a chromatogram is obtained in which peaks corresponding to inosinic acid and guanylic acid are separated with a separation degree of 1.5 or more.
Qiu teaches: An analytical method for performing:
a first analysis step of introducing a non-derivatized first sample (e.g., nucleotide mixture, P6/Example 1, last 3 paragraphs) into a first column (e.g., Waters Atlantis T3C18 (4.6×250mm, 5μm) P7/¶ 1) together with a first mobile phase (e.g., methanol (phase A) and dipotassium hydrogen phosphate buffer (phase B), P7/¶ 5), and analyzing components contained in the first sample (e.g., diode-array detector, P6-7/Example 1); and
wherein the first sample contains inosinic acid and guanylic acid (e.g., IMP/GMP, P4/¶ 3), and
in the first analysis step, by separating components contained in the first sample (P7/¶ 3+) using the first column having a length of 185 mm or more (e.g., 250mm, P7/¶ 2-3), a chromatogram is obtained (see Fig. 3 for example) in which peaks corresponding to inosinic acid and guanylic acid are separated (see separated IMP GMP in Fig. 3 for example.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the parallel arrangement of Iwata with the first sample contains inosinic acid and guanylic acid, and the first column having a length of 185 mm or more ODS column, as taught by Qiu to individually analyze the nucleotides while simultaneously analyze derivatized components in the second column.
However, modified Iwata does not explicitly teach: a separation degree of 1.5 or more.
Champion teaches: An analytical method for performing:
a first analysis step of introducing a first sample into a first column (e.g., ZORBAX SB-C18, P34) together with a first mobile phase (e.g., methanol/water or acetonitrile/water P34), and analyzing components contained in the first sample (see P34 for example); and
using the first column constituted by an ODS column (e.g., C18, P34),
in the first analysis step, by separating components contained in the first sample using the first column having a length of 185 mm or more (e.g., 250mm P34), a chromatogram is obtained (P34) with a 1.5 baseline resolution criteria P29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select and adjust the disclosed separation methods to obtain the known baseline resolution of at least 1.5, as taught by Champion, to permit reliable and improved measurements of IMP and GMP.
Regarding claim 2, modified Iwata teaches:
Claim 2 The analytical method according to claim 1, wherein the first analysis step includes a gradient step of gradually increasing a ratio of an organic solvent in the first mobile phase to be introduced into the first column (e.g., 0% to 12%, Table 2) by changing a mixing ratio between a first solution (e.g., solution A: 100:1 water/acetonitrile) and a second solution (e.g., solution B: 80:20 water/acetonitrile) having a higher organic solvent content (e.g., acetonitrile) ratio than that of the first solution (e.g., solution B acetonitrile content).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata (Shimadzu No. L554A, Quick Estimation of the Freshness and the Level of Putrefaction in Fish Meat Using Nexera™ Dual Injection System, March 2020) in view of Qiu et al. (CN 104237412A, rejection refers to Google Patents machine translated version), and in view of Champion (HPLC Separation Fundamentals, 02/08/2011), and further in view of Berry et al. (Fast Separation of Seven Biocides Using an Agilent ZORBAX Rapid Resolution High Definition Eclipse Plus C18 1.8 μm Column, 10/29/2009).
Regarding claim 3, modified Iwata teaches: Claim 3 The analytical method according to claim 2, wherein the first analysis step includes introducing only the second solution into the first column after the gradient step (e.g., 100% B for 11.51-18.5 min, Table 2). Although a washing step is inferred and commonly practiced in chromatography analysis, the modified Iwata method does not explicitly teach: wherein the first analysis step includes a washing step of washing an inside of the first column.
Berry teaches: wherein a first analysis step includes a washing step of washing an inside of a first column (e.g., Column Wash, Table 2) by introducing only a second solution into the first column (e.g., 100% B, Table 2) after a gradient step (see Table 2 & Fig. 5 for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify Iwata with the wash step, as taught by Berry, to remove retained material and prepare the column for subsequent analyses.
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1795