NON-FINAL REJECTION
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to because-
(1) The drawings are objected to because Fig.3 of the drawings is blurred. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning (See MPEP 1.84 (l)).
(2) The drawings are objected to because of the font size of fig.3 being too small. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height (see MPEP 1.84(p)).
(3) Solid black shading areas in fig.3 are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color (see MPEP 1.84(m)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofmann et al. (US 2009/0272190 Al, cited by Applicants, “Hofmann”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hofmann teaches a measuring apparatus (Fig.1-4) for inline measuring the homogenizing degree of a fluid product in a dispersing unit ([0005], [0009], [0022-0024], [0028-0029], [0034-0035], [0075]-[0086]), said measuring apparatus comprising: a tubular device (fig.1; element 1) arrangeable at an output of the dispersing unit [0101], said tubular device having an internal cavity for the passage of the fluid product received from the dispersing unit [0105]; a plurality of ultrasound sensors (fig.1; element 5, [0099], [0102], Claims 10, 12) mounted on the tubular device (1) (shown in fig.1 and discussed in Claims 10, 12 and para. [0026], [0099], [0102], [0137]), wherein said internal cavity has a variable diameter across the length of the tubular device (shown in fig.1), the internal cavity having at least one first tract with a tapering development from an inlet of the tubular device towards an outlet of the tubular device (tapering feature is shown in Fig.1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 2, the measuring apparatus according to claim 1 is taught by Hofmann.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the first tract of the internal cavity is formed by a plurality of substantially cylindrical portions which are joined by frusto-conical portions (shown in fig.1 that the first tract of the internal cavity is formed by a plurality of substantially cylindrical portions, at least three cylindrical portions and two frusto-conical portions), said cylindrical portions having corresponding diameters that decrease from the inlet towards the outlet of the tubular device (shown in fig.1).
Regarding Claim 3, the measuring apparatus according to claim 2 is taught by Hofmann.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the internal cavity has a second tract originating from the first tract and ending at the outlet of the tubular device, said second tract having a tapering development from the outlet of the tubular device towards said first tract (Fig.1 shows a symmetrical longitudinal cross section of a flow conduit with an ultrasound transceiver alongside it where one side from the middle could be considered as first tract and the other side as second tract. Fig.1 shows that the second tract having a tapering development from the outlet of the tubular device towards said first tract. Thus, the limitation is implicitly taught by Hofmann.).
Regarding Claim 4, the measuring apparatus according to claim 3 is taught by Hofmann.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the second tract of the internal cavity consists of a frusto-conical portion connecting the first tract to the outlet of the tubular device (shown in fig.1).
Regarding Claim 17, the measuring apparatus according to claim 1 is taught by Hofmann.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the ultrasound sensors are distributed along the length of the tubular device [0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. CN 103323064 (A), cited by the applicants, “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 5, the measuring apparatus according to claim 1 is taught by Hofmann.
Hofmann does not explicit teach wherein the tubular device comprises a first tube and a second tube, the first tube being coaxial with and internally arranged inside the second tube, said internal cavity being delimited by an internal surface of the first tube.
However, Chen teaches wherein the tubular device comprises a first tube (8) and a second tube (1), the first tube being coaxial with and internally arranged inside the second tube, said internal cavity being delimited by an internal surface of the first tube. (shown in Fig.2, [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmann’s structure with the teaching of Chen since it would provide a similar structure and such modification would not alter the functionality of Hofmann’s structure.
Regarding Claim 6, the measuring apparatus according to claim 5 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Modified Hofmann, specifically Chen further teaches wherein the internal surface of the first tube partially has a tapering development from the inlet towards the outlet of the tubular device so as to delimit the corresponding tapering development of the first tract of the internal cavity (shown in fig.2 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 7, the measuring apparatus according to claim 5 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Modified Hofmann, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the ultrasound sensors are arranged between the first tube and the second tube (shown in fig.2 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 8, the measuring apparatus according to claim 7 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Modified Hofmann, specifically Chen, further teaches wherein the first tube has a plurality of housings for receiving said ultrasound sensors, said housings being obtained as inward recesses of an external surface of the first tube (implicit in fig.2 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 9, the measuring apparatus according to claim 7 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the ultrasound sensors are glued to the first tube [0066].
Regarding Claim 10, the measuring apparatus according to claim 5 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Modified Hofmann, specifically Chen, further teaches wherein the ultrasound sensors are mounted externally to the second tube (shown in fig.1 of Hofmann and fig.2 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 11, the measuring apparatus according to claim 10 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Modified Hofmann further teaches wherein the ultrasound sensors are screwed to the second tube (Hofmann: [0066]).
Regarding Claim 12, the measuring apparatus according to claim 5 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Modified Hofmann further teaches wherein the first tube is made of a plastic material (claim 8) and the second tube is made of a metal material (claim 7). Hofmann teaches two options of materials in claims 7-8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first tube of a plastic material and the second tube of a metal material since such materials and usages are known in the art.
Regarding Claim 13, the measuring apparatus according to claim 12 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the first tube is made of PEEK or PTFE ([0047] discloses usage of “PEEK”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first tube of PEEK since such material and usage are known in the art.
Regarding Claim 14, the measuring apparatus according to claim 12 is taught by Hofmann in view of Chen.
Hofmann further teaches wherein the second tube is made of stainless steel ([0048] discloses usage of stainless steel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second tube is made of stainless steel since such material and usage are known in the art.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Calhoun et al. US 2024/0343609 A1, “Calhoun”).
Regarding Claim 15, the measuring apparatus according to claim 1 is taught by Hofmann.
Hofmann does not explicitly teach wherein the tubular device comprises a heat exchanger for cooling down the ultrasonic sensors.
However, Calhoun teaches a sonolysis module wherein the tubular device comprises a heat exchanger for cooling down the ultrasonic sensors [0262].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmann’s apparatus with the teaching of Calhoun since it is known in the art to cool down the ultrasonic sensors and it would protect the transducer probes and enhance the energy transfer when sound transducers are activated [0262].
Regarding Claim 16, the measuring apparatus of claim 15 is taught by Hofmann in view of Calhoun.
Modified Hofmann, specifically Calhoun teaches wherein the heat exchanger is a conduit for a cooling fluid, said conduit passing through the tubular device for its whole length and being parallel to a longitudinal axis of the tubular device (shown in Fig.41 of Calhaun).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dam (US 8,214,168 B2) teaches an apparatus and method for non-invasive measuring of the sound velocity of a fluid, such as a liquid, flowing in a tubing having points of two different and known transverse length has one sensor mounted at each point connected to a circuit that provides signals to each sensor that are returned to it after passing through the tubing wall and flowing fluid and reflection from the tubing internal wall opposing each sensor and from which the round trip transit time of the signals is measured and the sound velocity calculated from the two measured round trip transit times and the differential between the known transverse lengths. Flexible tubing is placed in the slot of a measuring head which deforms it to provide the two points at one location or the slot has two sections of different transverse length along its length with a point at each section [Abstract].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855