DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/KR2021/017840 filed 30 November 2021. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application KR10-2021-0126659 filed 24 September 2021.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 June 2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim 12 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim 11 is allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatenable over Kim et al. (Appl. Sci. 2021, 11, 5780, pgs 1-13) in view of Yu et al. (J. Anat. (2014) 225, pp 510-518).
Kim teaches that tonsil-derived mesenchymal stem cell nanovesicles (TMSC-NVs) have an effect on recovering from cellular senescence by oxidative stress and can be applied as useful materials for the development of skin rejuvenation and anti-aging purposes (abstract; pg 10, sec 4). To prepare the TMSC, human tonsil tissue was chopped and digested using collagenase type 1 and DNase 1, filtered, and then centrifuged to isolate a pellet (pg 2, sec 2.1). The cells were then cultured in DMEM (id). The resulting TMSCs were suspended in culture media and centrifuged to form a cell pellet (i.e. removal of supernatant) which was further resuspended in PBS (pg 2, sec 2.2). The cells were sequentially passed through filter papers with pore sizes of 10, 5, and 0.4 mm using an extruder to produce TMSC-NVs (id). Kim teaches that TMSCs are positive for MCS markers including CD90, CD105, and CD73 (pg 3, sec 3). The diameters of the nanovesicles have peaks at 88.5 and 228.3 nm (id). Kim teaches using TMSC derived nanovesicles from passages 2-4 (pg 2, sec 2.2).
Kim does not teach wherein the TMSCs are CD146 positive. Kim does not teach applying the TMSC-NVs to the skin of a subject in need thereof.
Yu teaches that a considerable level of CD146 positive cells are found in TMSCs at passage 3 (pg 513, col 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the TMSC-NVs of Kim in the process described, using TMSC-NVs from passage 3, and then apply said nanovesicles to the skin of a patient for the purpose of skin regeneration and anti-aging. Kim teaches using the nanovesicles for this purpose. The resulting method of skin regeneration renders obvious instant claims 1-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 appears to be free of the art and would be allowable if written as an independent claim.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613