Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 (i) is unclear as to what an ‘interface’ is. Is it merely when a liquid phase contacts a gas phase (above it)?
Claim 15 (ii) line 1 is ungrammatical.
Claim 17 is unclear as to what is ‘further’ required because the reaction already occurs.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hiza et al. 20120275987.
Hiza teaches, especially in para 5 and fig. 1, sorbing syngas in a reactive aqueous solution and forming a precipitate.
For claim 4, see para 33.
For claim 6, fig. 1 shows the H2 generating synthetic fuel, see para 37.
For claim 10, ‘blue hydrogen’ is not an intrinsic property of the hydrogen, but rather a characterization of the process, especially in how the CO2 is treated. Since CCS is taught, the hydrogen is by definition blue.
For claim 11, a building material is taught in para 5.
For claim 12, aggregates are taught in para 5.
Claims 13 and 14 merely recite a property; hydrocarbons are known reducing agents and are chemicals.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiza et al. 20120275987.
Hiza teaches, especially in para 5 and fig. 1, sorbing syngas in a reactive aqueous solution and forming a precipitate.
Hiza does not explicitly teach the reactor which makes the syngas (claim 15), nor the particulars of the dependent claims as noted below:
For claim 2, paragraph 32 implies a high yield of syngas, rendering the claim obvious.
For claim 3, para 43 teaches 30% CO2 in the syngas.
For claim 5, para 33 teaches optional ammonia sorbent, thus making an ammonium salt in water. Using it is obvious as an option for better CCS.
Claim 15 is an apparatus which tracks the features already discussed, noting that an apparatus is not limited to the (intended) process of use. Incorporating the ATR or SMR reactor to the process is obvious to treat the gas as it is produced.
For claim 16, para 30 teaches ATR and SMR reactions.
Claim 17 is taught in para 5.
Claim 19, in so far as it actually requires something, amine sorption is noted above (para 33).
Claim 7, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiza as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Okada et al. 20160176784.
For claim 7, Hiza does not teach multiple CO2 absorbers, however Okada teaches, especially in para 87, making H2 and CO2, sorbing the CO2 in amine solvent. Fig. 1 teaches multiple CO2 treatment units.
For claim 8, amine compounds are taught in Hiza para 33.
For claim 20, para 55 teaches PSA to purify H2.
Using these in the process of Hiza is obvious to make purified gases.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiza/Okada as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ravikumar 20170204335.
The above do not teach PSA to remove CO2, however unit 300 is recovery and not sequestration. Using PSA is thus obvious to make a purified CO2 stream for recycle; see paras 49, 55, 112-113 and 124.
Additionally, para 61 teaches PSA to separate H2.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736