DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (2018/0215643) in view of Tatsukoshi et al., (JP H0748132 machine translation provided). Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, Takahashi discloses a method for producing a glass article, the method comprising providing a molding apparatus having a lower portion and an upper portion, the molding apparatus comprising:
a preparatory mold 20 at the lower portion of the molding apparatus, the preparatory mold composed of two parts, configured to be separated from each other, wherein a upper part of the preparatory mold has a molding surface (inner periphery surface of mold 20) and a cavity 22a ([0221]) formed along the molding surface for producing an external shape and shaped protuberance on the glass article ([0207]-[0210], figures 10A-10C), as illustrated below,
a forming member 10, composed of two parts configured to be separated from each other, the forming member surmounting and engaging the preparatory mold ([0207]-[0210], figures 10A-10C),
a pressing member 60 disposed at the upper portion of the molding apparatus (figure 6B, [0270]-[0271]) and a plunger 50 ([0259]), and
a finishing mold 80/82 (figure 8, [0174]).
Takahashi further teaches depositing molten glass in the preparatory mold ([0138]), closing the pressing member 60 and plunger 50 against the preparatory mold to press the glass and form the external shape and shaped protuberance of the glass article, as well as a hollow area of the glass article ([0145]-[0150], figures 6B, 7A), extracting the pressing member 60 and plunger 50, and opening the two parts of the forming member (10) so as to disengage from the preparatory mold holding the hollow glass article ([0171]-[0172], [0175]-[0176]). Takahashi further teaches holding the hollow glass article with the preparatory mold, moving the hollow glass article by overturning it so as to transfer it to the finishing mold for cooling of the hollow glass article ([0177], [0180]-[0182]), opening the two parts of the preparatory mold so as to free the hollow glass article ([0178]), and extracting the hollow glass article from the finishing mold once cooled ([0182]). Although extraction was not explicitly disclosed, Takahashi teaches obtaining the finished glass article. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have expected the method for producing the hollow glass article to naturally comprise of the step of extracting the hollow glass article from the finishing mold in order to obtain the finished product for use.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cavities on molding surface)]
Takahashi teaches the pressing member 60 comprising a support body (upper portion of 60) and a forming body fixed to and integral with the support body, the forming body having a forming surface (lower portion of 60) that can form a hollow area of the glass article. However, Takahashi doesn’t specify a guide and an elastic system associated with the pressing member. Tatsukoshi teaches a process for molding a glass article using a molding apparatus comprising a lower mold, and an upper mold that is a pressing member. Tatsukoshi teaches the pressing member comprises a support body (shaft 4 and plate 6), a forming body 5 that is fixed to and integral with the support body and having a forming surface, a guide (11-15) configured to guide the forming body and allow a relative movement between the forming body and the guide during closing of the pressing member against the lower mold, and an elastic system, such as compression coil springs 10 (claim 4), interposed between the guide and the support body of the pressing member (figure 1, on page 3 [0014] to the bottom). Tatsukoshi further teaches the spring is configured to oppose the relative movement of the forming body with respect to the guide (2nd to last passage on page 3). Tatsukoshi also teaches the guide stops against the forming member during a downward axial movement of the pressing member to close against the forming member 17 and the preparatory mold 2, during the pressing of the glass (figure 3, 6th-9th passages on page 4).
In further regards to claim 3, Tatsukoshi further teaches the guiding element is connected slidingly with the support body by means of a plurality of pins 8, wherein the pins are integral with the guide and able to slide in corresponding holes formed in a flange 6 of the support body element (figure1, bottom of page 3) in order to allow relative movement between the forming body and the guide. Tatsukoshi further teaches the guiding element comprises not only springs 10 interposed between the guiding element and the support body of the pressing member, but also springs 11 that also opposes the relative movement of the forming body and the guiding element (regarding claim 4). Tatsukoshi teaches such arrangement allows stable press molding of the glass article and alignment of the pressing member with the lower mold, thereby improving pressing accuracy (abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized a similar arrangement of a guiding element, pins, and elastic member, wherein the elastic member is disposed between the support body and the guide element, in the process of Takahashi, so as to provide stable pressing of the glass and enhance accuracy of the molded glass article.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (2018/0215643) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hamilton (3,867,123). Takahashi doesn’t specify a cavity that provides for a ring shaped. Hamilton teaches a method for producing a hollow glass article using a mold having two parts. Hamilton teaches two part molds are suitable for producing hollow glass articles comprising appendages, such as handles on cups, as the opening of two parts allows proper removal of the cup with handles (col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-16, 40-47). Accordingly, Hamilton teaches two parts of a mold having a cavity formed on the molding surface that is configured so as to form a shaped protuberance of the cup, the shaped protuberance having a through hole, thereby producing a ring shaped handle (see dotted lines in figures 3 and 5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for a mold design for the preparatory mold having a molding surface with a cavity that is configured to form a shaped protuberance of a hollow glass article having a through hole, so as provide for hollow glass article such as cups with handles, as matter of design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Tatsukoshi does not disclose a preparatory mold composed of two parts that can separate from each other or a forming member composed of two parts that can separate from each other, the forming member surmounting and engaging the preparatory mold. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). These features are disclosed by Takahashi
Applicant further argues Tatsukoshi does not disclose an elastic system interposed between the guide and support body of the pressing member, the elastic system interposed between the guide and the support body of the pressing member, the elastic system being configured to opposed the relative movement of the forming body with respect to the guide of the pressing member. More specifically, the coils of Tatsukoshi are not interposed between a guide and a support body of a pressing member. The examiner disagrees. The guide of Tatsukoshi comprises shaft 4 and plate 6, and the guide comprises the assembly of at least parts 11-15 as shown in figure 1. Also shown in figure 1, the coils are interposed between plate 6 of the support member and part 15 of the guide. Furthermore, Tatsukoshi specifies the coil opposes the relative movement of the forming body with respect to the guide (“coil springs for urging the lower plate 7 downward (2nd to last passage on page 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741