DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
In response to applicant’s preliminary amendments received on 3/22/24 and 5/17/24, all requested changes to the specification, abstract, drawings and claims have been entered. Claims 1-15 were previously pending. Claim 15 has been cancelled. Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0074144 to Abe in view of US 2020/0005059 to Yamada et al. (“Yamada”) (Both provided on the IDS filed 3/22/24).
Regarding claim 1, Abe discloses an Fig. 1 and paragraph 111) comprising:
a communication circuitry to receive detection data output by AT LEAST ONE OF a sensor provided in or on an Fig. 1, elements 2, 3 and 5; paragraph 31, wherein a camera (i.e. sensor) mounted in a vehicle captures images (i.e. detection data) that are received by the occupant and object identifications units, implemented by a processing circuit (paragraph 111), collectively corresponding to the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “communication circuitry” when receiving the image data) OR a sensor installed along a travel route of the on-demand vehicle (alternative limitation not required to be addressed by the prior art, see MPEP 2143.03);
a categorization information generation circuitry to recognize a user who uses the paragraphs 32-33, wherein the occupant identification unit identifies the occupant that got in the vehicle based on the image data (i.e. detection data)), and to generate categorization information that associates an object represented by information included in the detection data with the user, as a possession of the user (paragraphs 34-36, wherein an object is identified based on the image data by the object identification unit, and associated as a possession of the user via the owner determining unit, where all three units are implemented by a processing circuit (paragraph 111), and in combination (i.e. occupant identification unit, object identification unit and owner determining unit) correspond to the BRI of “categorization information generation circuitry”);
a categorization information comparison circuitry to determine whether a change has occurred in a situation of the possession of the user by making a comparison, on a per-user basis (paragraphs 37-38, wherein the object, previously detected, tracked and associated with a user/occupant by the object identification unit, associated with a user exiting the vehicle is identified, and the object misplacement determining unit which in combination with the occupant identification unit and object identification unit, each being implemented by a processing circuit (paragraph 111), corresponding to the “categorization information comparison circuitry”, determines if the user is, for example, holding the object when they exit the vehicle, compared to if they are not, which corresponds to determining a change in possession on a per-user basis),
a warning notification circuitry to output warning information when the categorization information comparison circuitry determines that a change has occurred in the situation of the possession of the user (paragraphs 37-38, wherein the warning unit, , being implemented by a processing circuit (paragraph 111), corresponds the “warning notification circuitry” which outputs warning info, for example, image of the occupant and their lost object/possession).
As noted above by the double strike-throughs the prior art of Abe does not disclose expressly that the vehicle is an “on-demand” vehicle operated on a use request from a user or that determining whether a change has occurred in a situation of the possession of the user by making a comparison, on a per-user basis, between a plurality of sets of the categorization information including the categorization information as of before the user gets on the on-demand vehicle and the categorization information as of when the user gets off the on-demand vehicle.
Yamada discloses an on-demand vehicle management device comprising:
receiving detection data output by AT LEAST ONE OF a sensor provided in or on an on-demand vehicle operated based on a use request from a user (Figs. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 60, 74, 88 and 89, wherein image data (i.e. detection data) of the interior of an autonomous taxi (i.e. on-demand vehicle) requested by a passenger is received) OR a sensor installed along a travel route of the on-demand vehicle (alternative limitation not required to be addressed by the prior art, see MPEP 2143.03)
determining whether a change has occurred in a situation of a possession of the user by making a comparison, on a per-user basis, between a plurality of sets of the categorization information including the categorization information as of before the user gets on the on-demand vehicle and the categorization information as of when the user gets off the on-demand vehicle (Fig. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 90-94, wherein a left behind possession (i.e. change in possession) is determined by comparing image data (i.e. categorization information) of before the user gets in the vehicle with image data of when the user leaves the on-demand vehicle); and
outputting warning information when its determined that a change has occurred in the situation of the possession of the user (Figs. 5; paragraphs 94-95, wherein a warning/alert is output if it is determined that a possession is left behind).
Abe & Yamada are combinable because they are from the same art of using image processing to determine a change in possession of objects.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the technique of determining a change has occurred in the situation of a possession of a user of an on-demand vehicle by comparing image data of before the user gets on the vehicle with image data of when/after the user gets off the vehicle, as taught by Yamada, into the vehicle management device disclosed by Abe.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provide high-quality services in autonomous vehicles by determining and notifying a passenger about items left behind (Yamada, paragraphs 97-98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abe with Yamada to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Abe and Yamada discloses the on-demand vehicle management device according to any one of claim 1,wherein the warning notification circuitry outputs the warning information to AT LEAST ONE OF a user terminal owned by the user who has undergone a change in the situation of the possession, the on-demand vehicle (Abe, paragraph 38, wherein warning is output on the display of the vehicle), OR a roadside communicator installed along the travel route.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Abe and Yamada discloses the on-demand vehicle management device according to claim 1, wherein the categorization information comparison circuitry determines whether a change has occurred in the situation of the possession of the user further using categorization information as of when the user is on board the on-demand vehicle (Abe, paragraphs 34-35, wherein the object identification unit portion of the “categorization information comparison circuitry” determines changes in the location of the object (e.g. putting an object away in another object) while the user/occupant is in the vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Abe and Yamada disclose the on-demand vehicle management device according to claim 1,wherein the categorization information generation circuitry determines an owner of the object based on a temporal change in a location of the object relative to the user (Abe, paragraphs 34-35, wherein the object identification unit portion of the “categorization information generation circuitry” determines changes in the location of the object (e.g. putting an object away in another object) and determines the object owner/occupant associated with those objects).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Abe and Yamada discloses the on-demand vehicle management device according to claim 1, wherein when the possession of the user has decreased in number, the warning notification circuitry outputs the warning information indicating that the user may have left the possession in the on-demand vehicle (paragraphs 37-38, wherein the warning unit corresponds the “warning notification circuitry” which outputs warning info, for example, image of the occupant when the occupant leaves without the object (i.e. possessions of the user decreased in number) resulting from the user having misplaced the object in the vehicle corresponding to left the possession in the vehicle).
Regarding claim 14, Abe discloses lost item detection method for use in an Figs. 1-4 disclose a lost item detection method for use in a vehicle management device managing the operated vehicle) the lost item detection method comprising:
receiving, by the Fig. 1, elements 2, 3 and 5; paragraph 31, wherein a camera (i.e. sensor) mounted in a vehicle captures images (i.e. detection data) that are received by the occupant and object identifications units) OR a sensor installed along a travel route of the on-demand vehicle (alternative limitation not required to be addressed by the prior art);
recognizing, by the paragraphs 32-33, wherein the occupant identification unit identifies the occupant that got in the vehicle based on the image data (i.e. detection data));
generating, by the paragraphs 34-36, wherein an object is identified based on the image data by the object identification unit, and associated as a possession of the user via the owner determining unit);
determining, by the paragraphs 37-38, wherein the object, previously detected, tracked and associated with a user/occupant by the object identification unit, associated with a user exiting the vehicle is identified, and the object misplacement determining unit, determines if the user is, for example, holding the object when they exit the vehicle, compared to if they are not, which corresponds to determining a change in possession on a per-user basis),
outputting, by the user (paragraphs 37-38, wherein the warning unit outputs warning info, for example, image of the occupant and their lost object/possession).
As noted above by the double strike-throughs the prior art of Abe does not disclose expressly that the vehicle is an “on-demand” vehicle operated based on a use request from a user, or that determining whether a change has occurred in a situation of the possession of the user by making a comparison, on a per-user basis, between a plurality of sets of the categorization information including the categorization information as of before the user gets on the on-demand vehicle and the categorization information as of when the user gets off the on-demand vehicle.
Yamada discloses an on-demand vehicle management device comprising:
receiving detection data output by AT LEAST ONE OF a sensor provided in or on an on-demand vehicle operated based on a use request from a user (Figs. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 60, 74, 88 and 89, wherein image data (i.e. detection data) of the interior of an autonomous taxi (i.e. on-demand vehicle) requested by a passenger is received) OR a sensor installed along a travel route of the on-demand vehicle (alternative limitation not required to be addressed by the prior art)
determining whether a change has occurred in a situation of a possession of the user by making a comparison, on a per-user basis, between a plurality of sets of the categorization information including the categorization information as of before the user gets on the on-demand vehicle and the categorization information as of when the user gets off the on-demand vehicle (Fig. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 90-94, wherein a left behind possession (i.e. change in possession) is determined by comparing image data (i.e. categorization information) of before the user gets in the vehicle with image data of when the user leaves the on-demand vehicle); and
outputting warning information when its determined that a change has occurred in the situation of the possession of the user (Figs. 5; paragraphs 94-95, wherein a warning/alert is output if it is determined that a possession is left behind).
Abe & Yamada are combinable because they are from the same art of using image processing to determine a change in possession of a user’s objects.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the technique of determining a change has occurred in the situation of a possession of a user of an on-demand vehicle by comparing image data of before the user gets on the vehicle with image data of when/after the user gets off the vehicle, as taught by Yamada, into the vehicle management device disclosed by Abe.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been provide high-quality services in autonomous vehicles by determining and notifying a passenger about items left behind (Yamada, paragraphs 97-98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abe with Yamada to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0074144 to Abe in view of US 2020/0005059 to Yamada et al. (“Yamada”) and in further view US 2021/0370867 to Morosawa et al. (“Morosawa”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Abe and Yamada discloses the on-demand vehicle management device according to claim 1, wherein the detection data received by the communication circuitry includes the detection data obtained by sensing an interior of the on-demand vehicle (Abe, Fig. 1, elements 2, 3 and 5; paragraph 31, wherein a camera (i.e. sensor) mounted in a vehicle captures images (i.e. detection data) that are received by the occupant and object identifications units. Yamada, Figs. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 60, 74, 88 and 89, wherein image data (i.e. detection data) of the interior of an autonomous taxi (i.e. on-demand vehicle) requested by a passenger is received).
However, the combination of Abe and Yamada does not disclose expressly wherein the detection data received by the communication circuitry includes the detection data obtained by sensing an exterior of the on-demand vehicle.
Morosawa discloses process that include receiving images (i.e. detection data) of the interior and exterior of a vehicle for use in recognizing a person and specific motion detection (Abstract and paragraphs 07, 24 and 25).
Abe, Yamada & Morosawa are combinable because they are from the same art of image processing, specifically images related to vehicle passengers/occupants.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the technique of receiving images (i.e. detection data) of the exterior of a vehicle, as taught by Morosawa, into on-demand vehicle management device, as disclosed by the combination of Abe and Yamada.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide control of opening/closing of doors for people allowed to enter the vehicle, ensuring security (Morosawa, paragraph 06-07).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Morosawa with Abe and Yamada to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Abe and Yamada discloses the on-demand vehicle management device according to claim 1, wherein the communication circuitry receives the detection data output by an in-vehicle sensor, OR by a sensor provided in a roadside communicator installed along the travel route (alternative limitation not required to be addressed by the prior art), the in-vehicle sensor being a sensor provided inside a passenger room of the on-demand vehicle (Abe, Fig. 1, elements 2, 3 and 5; paragraph 31, wherein a camera (i.e. sensor) mounted in a vehicle captures images (i.e. detection data) that are received by the occupant and object identifications units. Yamada, Figs. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 60, 74, 88 and 89, wherein image data (i.e. detection data) of the interior of an autonomous taxi (i.e. on-demand vehicle) requested by a passenger is received).
However, the combination of Abe and Yamada does not disclose expressly wherein the communication circuitry receives the detection data output vehicle exterior sensor the vehicle exterior sensor being a sensor provided outside the passenger room.
Morosawa discloses process that include receiving images (i.e. detection data) of the interior, via interior cameras, and exterior of a vehicle, via exterior cameras for use in recognizing a person and specific motion detection (Abstract, paragraphs 07, 24 and 25).
Abe, Yamada & Morosawa are combinable because they are from the same art of image processing, specifically images related to vehicle passengers/occupants.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the technique of receiving images (i.e. detection data) of the exterior of a vehicle, as taught by Morosawa, into on-demand vehicle management device as disclosed by the combination of Abe and Yamada.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide control of opening/closing of doors for people allowed to enter the vehicle, ensuring security (Morosawa, paragraph 06-07).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Morosawa with Abe and Yamada to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Abe, Yamada and Morosawa discloses on-demand vehicle management device according to claim 3, wherein the communication circuitry receives the detection data from multiple ones of the in-vehicle sensor (Abe, Fig. 1, elements 2, 3 and 5; paragraph 31, wherein one or more cameras (i.e. sensor) mounted in a vehicle captures images (i.e. detection data) that are received by the occupant and object identifications units. Yamada, Fig. 2, elements 106; Figs. 5, 6A, 6B; paragraphs 60, 74, 88 and 89, wherein image data (i.e. detection data) of the interior of an autonomous taxi (i.e. on-demand vehicle) requested by a passenger is received from multiple in-vehicle cameras/sensors. Morosawa, Fig. 1, elements 110, 112; paragraphs 07, 24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
Claims 6, 7, 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 13, none of the prior art teach or fairly suggests the combination of “a roadside communicator including a sensor capable of detecting the user of the on-demand vehicle, the roadside communicator being installed along a travel route of the on-demand vehicle, wherein the on-demand vehicle management device includes
a communication circuitry to receive detection data output by the sensor,
a categorization information generation circuitry to recognize the user who uses the on-demand vehicle, based on the detection data, and to generate categorization information that associates an object represented by information included in the detection data with the user, as a possession of the user”.
The prior art of Abe (US 2021/0074144) and Yamada (US 2020/0005059) discloses a process that includes captures images (i.e. detection data) of the interior of a vehicle and uses that the recognize a user and/or object associated with the user to determine objects misplaced or left behind in a vehicle. Additionally, US 2021/0117997 to Kaneichi discloses a roadside communicator including a sensor/camera capable of detecting a user of an on-demand vehicle and being installed along a travel route of the vehicle, see paragraph 78 which describes detecting users at a taxi stand. However, none of the prior art found teach, nor make obvious, the use of the detection data, output by the sensor of the roadside communicator, for recognizing the user and associating an object included in the detection data with them.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/AARON W CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661