DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims benefit of priority to foreign application EP21198571.8 filed 09/23/2021 and is also a 371 of PCT/EP2022/074418 filed 09/02/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 03/22/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 03/22/2024 has been acknowledged and considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, and Pseudomonas fluorescens as the specific bacteria, triglycerol trioleate as the specific polyglycerol ester and polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate as the specific emulsifier in the reply filed on 03/19/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is regarding the election of species. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method is effective for many different bacteria and different polyglycerol esters within formula (I) with the same general structure would have the same effect as triglycerol trioleate. This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the Restriction Requirement, the bacteria are all different as they do not share a common structure, with the structure in this instance being their nucleotide/amino acid sequence and the different polyglycerol esters within formula (I) would vary drastically based upon the broadness of the formula and would therefore not share the same structure and would be expected to function differently.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Amendments and Claim Status
As stated above, Applicant elected Group I, encompassing claims 1-9. Therefore, claims 10-15 are withdrawn as they are not encompassed by the elected group.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-9 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites “wherein the Gram-negative bacteria is selected from the group consisting of Gram-negative bacteria selected from the group consisting of …” in lines 2-3. This is redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hansel et al. (US20220211036A1, 07/07/2022, with priority to the filing date of 05/12/2020).
The applied reference has a common Assignee and a common Inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, Hansel et al. disclose a composition comprising at least one active microbiological ingredient and a carrier comprising at least one polyglycerol ester (Claim 1 of Hansel et al.), wherein the polyglycerol ester is trigylcerol trioleate and wherein the carrier comprises at least one emulsifier and the emulsifier is polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate (Claim 8 of Hansel et al.). It is preferable that the active microbiological ingredient comprises cells of Pseudomonas fluorescens (Paragraph [0111]). The composition is obtainable by mixing the active microbiological ingredient with the carrier (Paragraph [0134]), reading on a method of producing a liquid composition of the bacteria by contacting the bacteria to the mixture of trigylcerol trioleate and polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate. The microorganism is grown in a culture, separated from the culture substrate and dried via freeze-drying or spray drying (Paragraph [0134]). After the separation and drying, the microorganism is dispersed into the carrier (Paragraph [0134]).
Regarding claim 2, Hansel et al. disclose the carrier was a mixture of 80% by weight of triglycerol trioleate and 20% by weight polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate (Paragraph [0174]).
Regarding claims 6-7, Hansel et al. disclose the adjustment of the activity of water increases the viability and/or germinability of the active microbial ingredient presence and hence also the storability there of (Paragraph [0112]). It is preferable the activity of water is less than 0.4 (Paragraph [0112]). Less than 0.4 reads on about 0.4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proulx et al. (WO 2020104612 A1, 05/28/2020) (IDS Reference of 03/22/2024, 44 Pages) in view of Klostermann et al. (US 20170295782 A1, 10/19/2017).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 8-9, Proulx et al. disclose dried and stable biological compositions with high-colony forming units and methods of making the same (See entire document, Abstract). Microbial insecticides, herbicides, fungicides and growth promoters that incorporate beneficial viruses, bacteria, yeast and fungi to target certain insect or plant species is a growing interest in the agricultural field due to its low impact on non-targeted species and the environment (Paragraph [0002]). Maintaining the viability of these products is challenging because liquid formulations must be stored and transported at a low temperature and in dry formulations the microorganisms can suffer cell death due to the heat in the drying process (Paragraph [0002]). Proulx et al. provide a method of drying microorganisms onto the surface of a substrate to provide dried biological compositions with improved viability and at a CFU greater than that of the state of the art (Paragraph [0006]). The method comprises combining a microorganism mixture, solution or suspension with a substrate and drying the substrate-microorganism mixture to reach a total moisture content of about 0.01 to about 15% wt (Claim 22 of Proulx et al.) wherein the drying step comprises spray drying the substrate-microorganism mixtures (Claim 29 of Proulx et al.), reading on the drying process being carried out in the presence of the substrate. In a specific embodiment the microorganism is Pseudomonas fluorescens (Paragraph [0007]). The compositions may be directly applied to a treatment area or they may be formulated into a biological formulation for application to a treatment area (Paragraph [0026]). The composition can be formulated into an oil dispersion and can be combined with other agrochemical active ingredients, excipients or adjuvants (Paragraph [0026]).
Proulx et al. do not disclose contacting their spray dried bacteria to a mixture of triglycerol trioleate and polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate.
However, Klostermann et al. disclose compositions containing at least one hydrophobic, at least partially water-insoluble polyglycerine ester combined with at least one emulsifier and the use thereof (See entire document, Abstract). Advantages of the compositions of the invention are the enhancement of the efficacy of pesticides (Paragraph [0047]) and anti-spray drift properties (Paragraph [0049]). Pesticides are biological crop protection products based on natural materials or living or processed microorganisms, and mixtures thereof (Paragraph [0048]). The polyglycerol ester is an adjuvant (Paragraph [0103]). The emulsifier is a polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate (Paragraph [0042]), reading on the elected emulsifier. Klostermann et al. further disclose a mixture of 80% by weight of triglyceryl trioleate, reading on the elected polyglycerol ester, with 20% by weight of polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate was used (Paragraph [0086]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mix, or contact, the spray dried microorganism composition comprising Pseudomonas fluorescens disclosed by Proulx et al. with the mixture of Klostermann et al. because both compositions are directed to pesticides. Additionally, it would have been obvious to mix the spray dried microorganism composition of Proulx et al., which is a microbial pesticide, with the composition of Klostermann et al., including in an amount of 80% by weight of triglyceryl trioleate and 20% by weight of polyethylene glycol-20 sorbitan trioleate, motivated by the desire to create an effective pesticide because Klostermann et al. specifically state their composition enhances the efficacy of pesticides and Proulx et al. state their composition can be combined with adjuvants, which is what triglycerol trioleate is.
Regarding claim 5, Proulx et al. disclose the substrate is silica (Claim 37 of Proulx et al.).
Regarding claims 6-7, Proulx et al. disclose the resulting composition has a water activity value (Aw) preferably between about 0.01 to 0.6 (Claim 34 of Proulx et al.).
Proulx et al. do not explicitly disclose a water activity level of 0.05 to 0.4, or about 0.4.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a water activity level anywhere between about 0.01 to 0.6, which completely encompasses the claimed water activity levels, with a reasonable expectation of success because that is a range disclosed by the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/A.T.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653