DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16, 20, 22, 26, 27, and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11, and 17, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/548203 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations of the instant application are anticipated by and/or obvious variants of the respective claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
9. Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0279385 A1 (hereinafter “Johansson”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Johansson, in view of the non-patent literature document titled Discussion On Pause/Resume NR QoE Reporting (hereinafter “R2-2104271”)1.
Regarding claims 16, 22, 27, and 29: Johansson teaches a user Equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a base station, a first message comprising a configuration that enables resuming Quality of Experience (QoE) measurement reporting (see, e.g., figures 7, 8A, 8B, [0039], [0043], [0130]-[0136], [0146]-[0150]; the UE receives configuration regarding restarting QoE reporting); and
transmit, to the base station, a second message comprising at least one QoE measurement report (see, e.g., figures 7, 8A, 8B, [0039], [0043], [0130]-[0136], [0146]-[0150]; the UE reports QoE measurements).
Johansson does not explicitly state the term “resume,” nor explicitly state wherein the configuration is from a base station. To the extent these features are not inherent to the system of Johansson, they are nevertheless taught in R2-2104271 (see, e.g., section 2, figures 1 and 2; note configuration for pausing and resuming QoE reporting is sent from a base station). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of R2-2104271, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Johansson, in order to improve responses to overload.
The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 16 is applicable to the methods and base station of claims 22, 27, and 29, respectively.
Regarding claims 17 and 23: Johansson modified by R2-2104271 further teaches wherein the at least one QoE measurement report is stored in the memory of the UE, and wherein the memory of the UE comprises a buffer (see, e.g., Johansson [0008], [0028], [0149]; and/or R2-210417 section 2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 16 is applicable to claim 17.
The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 17 is applicable to the method of claim 23.
Regarding claims 18 and 24: Johansson modified by R2-2104271 further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to submit the at least one QoE measurement report stored in the memory of the UE to a lower layer of the UE for transmission based on the configuration (see, e.g., Johansson figures 7, 8A, 8B, [0136]; note submission(s) between layers). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 16 is applicable to claim 18.
The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 18 is applicable to the method of claim 24.
Regarding claims 19, 25, 28, and 30: Johansson modified by R2-2104271 further teaches wherein the configuration comprises an indication of a maximum buffering time for the at least one QoE measurement report stored in the memory of the UE (see, e.g., Johansson, [0008]; R2-2104271 section 2; note buffer limitation of duration or size). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 16 is applicable to claim 19.
The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 19 is applicable to the methods and base station of claims 25, 28, and 30, respectively.
Regarding claim 20: Johansson modified by R2-2104271 further teaches wherein the second message comprises one or multiple complete QoE measurement reports (see, e.g., Johansson figures 7, 8A, 8B, [0039], [0043], [0130]-[0136], [0146]-[0150]; the UE reports QoE measurements; see also R2-210417 section 1; note QoE reporting). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 16 is applicable to claim 20.
Regarding claim 21: Johansson modified by R2-2104271 further teaches wherein the second message comprises one or multiple segments of QoE measurement reports (see, e.g., R2-210417 section 1; note segmentation). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 16 is applicable to claim 21.
Regarding claim 26: Johansson modified by R2-2104271 further teaches wherein: the second message comprises one or multiple complete QoE measurement reports; or the second message comprises one or multiple segments of QoE measurement reports (see, e.g., Johansson figures 7, 8A, 8B, [0039], [0043], [0130]-[0136], [0146]-[0150]; the UE reports QoE measurements; see also R2-210417 section 1; note QoE reporting and/or segmentation). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 16 is applicable to claim 26.
Relevant Art
10. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 R2-2104271 was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted March 22, 2024 (Non-Patent Literature Documents, cite no. 3).