DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to preliminary amendment filed on 3/22/2024, claims 9- 10 are cancelled, claims 11- 13 are amended and claim 14- 22 are added as new claims. Claims 1- 8 and 11- 22 are pending for examinations.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed on 3/22/2024,1/27/2025,2/3/2025 and 8/28/2025 are under compliance and have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding recitations, “…a physical uplink control channel (PDCCH)…..” is unclear, confusing and indefinite to understand. Dependent claims of above claims can also be rejected based on same above rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 2, 8, 11- 14, 20- 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US Pub. No. 2024/0340899 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for generating a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 and 2 wherein 110 as a UE; further see Abstract…HARQ-ACK codebook is adapted to report HARQ feedbacks in case where CBD based transmission and multi-transmission scheduling are both configured…. ), comprising:
receiving first configuration information and second configuration information (in context with [0044- 0046] refer to [0046- 0047].. the network device 120 transmits 205 a parameter PDSCH-CodeBlockGroupTransmission (i.e. for CGB configuration here second configuration) and a first DCI for multi-PDSCH scheduling (configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs) (i.e. here first configuration multi-slot PDSCH configuration) for at least one of the N.sub.cells.sup.DL serving cells in the PUCCH cell group; see [0046]; further see [0047] the network device 120 transmits 210 multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and at least one TB-based transmission to the terminal device 110. Additionally, the network device 120 may further transmit a single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. In some example embodiments, the at least one TB-based transmission may comprise a single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI and multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a third DCI.);
generating, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); (see [0048].. Upon receipt of the transmissions, the terminal device 110 generates 215 a HARQ-ACK codebook comprising HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions and the at least one TB-based transmission to the network device 120. The HARQ-ACK codebook may comprise a plurality of sub-codebooks. FIGS. 3-5 show different designs of the HARQ-ACK codebook); and
sending the HARQ-ACK codebook to a network device (see [0049] and #220 of Fig. 2… terminal device 110 transmits 220 the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network device 120. For example, the HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted on Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))
wherein the first configuration information indicates whether a multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by a physical uplink control channel (PDCCH) is configured, and the second configuration information indicates whether a code block group (CBG) transmission is configured (already discussed above…. the network device 120 transmits 205 a parameter PDSCH-CodeBlockGroupTransmission (i.e. for CGB configuration here second configuration) and a first DCI for multi-PDSCH scheduling (configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs) (i.e. here first configuration multi-slot PDSCH configuration) for at least one of the N.sub.cells.sup.DL serving cells in the PUCCH cell group; see [0046]; further see [0047] the network device 120 transmits 210 multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and at least one TB-based transmission to the terminal device 110. Additionally, the network device 120 may further transmit a single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. In some example embodiments, the at least one TB-based transmission may comprise a single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI and multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a third DCI; further see [0041]… For example, the downlink control channel transmission may be a PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches as per claim 1, wherein generating, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back the PDSCH comprises:
in response to the first configuration information indicating that the multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by the PDCCH is configured and the second configuration information indicating that the CBG transmission is configured(already discussed above regarding first configuration and second configuration above and also discussed about generating HARQ-codebook above in claim 1 see [0046- 0047]), determining that a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each downlink control information (DCI) is a maximum value between M and N, wherein M is a maximum number of CBGs comprised in one transport block configured by the network device, N is a maximum number of PDSCHs corresponding to the multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by the PDCCH (see [0082]… the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks as shown in FIG. 5, the size of the fourth sub-codebook 503 for a DAI in single DCI may be based on the maximum number of CBGs configured for a TB. Moreover, the size of the first sub-codebook 504 for a DAI in single DCI may be based on the maximum number of CBGs, N.sub.CBG (i.e. M), and the maximum number of transmissions schedulable by a single DCI, N.sub.PDSCH (i.e. N). For example, the size of the first sub-codebook 504 may be determined to be N.sub.CBG*N.sub.PDSCH.….),
the maximum number of PDSCHs is a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI determined based on a configuration from the network device or a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI determined based on a protocol (already discussed above in [0082] regarding single DCI; now refer to [0084] The number of sub-codebooks to be included in HARQ-ACK codebook may be specified, preconfigured, indicated by the network device 120, or determined by the terminal device 110); and
wherein M and N are both positive integers greater than 0 (see [0082] M and N are representing number of schedule/CBG/s hence M and N are in integers and greater than 0; further codebook size is determined by multiplication of these two and codebook size is in bits, so neither of N.sub.PDSCH nor N.sub.CBG can be 0 i.e. it is greater than 0).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a method for receiving a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, performed by a network device (see Fig. 1 and 2 wherein 110 as a UE and 120 as a network device; further see Abstract…HARQ-ACK codebook is adapted to report HARQ feedbacks in case where CBD based transmission and multi-transmission scheduling are both configured…. ), comprising:
sending first configuration information and second configuration information to a user equipment (UE) (in context with [0044- 0046] refer to [0046- 0047].. the network device 120 transmits 205 a parameter PDSCH-CodeBlockGroupTransmission (i.e. for CGB configuration here second configuration) and a first DCI for multi-PDSCH scheduling (configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs) (i.e. here first configuration multi-slot PDSCH configuration) for at least one of the N.sub.cells.sup.DL serving cells in the PUCCH cell group; see [0046]; further see [0047] the network device 120 transmits 210 multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and at least one TB-based transmission to the terminal device 110. Additionally, the network device 120 may further transmit a single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. In some example embodiments, the at least one TB-based transmission may comprise a single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI and multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a third DCI.);
receiving the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the UE (see [0048].. Upon receipt of the transmissions, the terminal device 110 generates 215 a HARQ-ACK codebook comprising HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions and the at least one TB-based transmission to the network device 120. The HARQ-ACK codebook may comprise a plurality of sub-codebooks. FIGS. 3-5 show different designs of the HARQ-ACK codebook; now see [0049] and #220 of Fig. 2… terminal device 110 transmits 220 the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network device 120. For example, the HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted on Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))
wherein the first configuration information indicates whether a multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is configured, and the second configuration information indicates whether a code block group (CBG) transmission is configured (already discussed above…. the network device 120 transmits 205 a parameter PDSCH-CodeBlockGroupTransmission (i.e. for CGB configuration here second configuration) and a first DCI for multi-PDSCH scheduling (configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs) (i.e. here first configuration multi-slot PDSCH configuration) for at least one of the N.sub.cells.sup.DL serving cells in the PUCCH cell group; see [0046]; further see [0047] the network device 120 transmits 210 multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and at least one TB-based transmission to the terminal device 110. Additionally, the network device 120 may further transmit a single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. In some example embodiments, the at least one TB-based transmission may comprise a single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI and multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a third DCI; further see [0041]… For example, the downlink control channel transmission may be a PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a user equipment, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to (see Fig. 1 and 2 wherein 110 as a UE; further see Abstract…HARQ-ACK codebook is adapted to report HARQ feedbacks in case where CBD based transmission and multi-transmission scheduling are both configured…. ):
receive first configuration information and second configuration information (in context with [0044- 0046] refer to [0046- 0047].. the network device 120 transmits 205 a parameter PDSCH-CodeBlockGroupTransmission (i.e. for CGB configuration here second configuration) and a first DCI for multi-PDSCH scheduling (configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs) (i.e. here first configuration multi-slot PDSCH configuration) for at least one of the N.sub.cells.sup.DL serving cells in the PUCCH cell group; see [0046]; further see [0047] the network device 120 transmits 210 multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and at least one TB-based transmission to the terminal device 110. Additionally, the network device 120 may further transmit a single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. In some example embodiments, the at least one TB-based transmission may comprise a single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI and multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a third DCI.);
generate, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); (see [0048].. Upon receipt of the transmissions, the terminal device 110 generates 215 a HARQ-ACK codebook comprising HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions and the at least one TB-based transmission to the network device 120. The HARQ-ACK codebook may comprise a plurality of sub-codebooks. FIGS. 3-5 show different designs of the HARQ-ACK codebook); and
send the HARQ-ACK codebook to a network device (see [0049] and #220 of Fig. 2… terminal device 110 transmits 220 the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network device 120. For example, the HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted on Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))
wherein the first configuration information indicates whether a multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by a physical uplink control channel (PDCCH) is configured, and the second configuration information indicates whether a code block group (CBG) transmission is configured (already discussed above…. the network device 120 transmits 205 a parameter PDSCH-CodeBlockGroupTransmission (i.e. for CGB configuration here second configuration) and a first DCI for multi-PDSCH scheduling (configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs) (i.e. here first configuration multi-slot PDSCH configuration) for at least one of the N.sub.cells.sup.DL serving cells in the PUCCH cell group; see [0046]; further see [0047] the network device 120 transmits 210 multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and at least one TB-based transmission to the terminal device 110. Additionally, the network device 120 may further transmit a single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. In some example embodiments, the at least one TB-based transmission may comprise a single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI and multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a third DCI; further see [0041]… For example, the downlink control channel transmission may be a PDCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches a network device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 8; please refer to above claim 8’s citations.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having executable instructions stored thereon, wherein when the executable instructions are executed by a processor, the processor is caused to perform the method of claim 1; please refer to above claim 1’s citations.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches as per claim 8, wherein in response to the first configuration information indicating that the multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by the PDCCH is configured and the second configuration information indicating that the CBG transmission is configured (already discussed above regarding first configuration and second configuration above and also discussed about generating HARQ-codebook above in claim 1 see [0046- 0047]), a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each downlink control information (DCI) is a maximum value between M and N; wherein M is a maximum number of CBGs comprised in one transport block configured by the network device, N is a maximum number of PDSCHs corresponding to the multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by the PDCCH (see [0082]… the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks as shown in FIG. 5, the size of the fourth sub-codebook 503 for a DAI in single DCI may be based on the maximum number of CBGs configured for a TB. Moreover, the size of the first sub-codebook 504 for a DAI in single DCI may be based on the maximum number of CBGs, N.sub.CBG (i.e. M), and the maximum number of transmissions schedulable by a single DCI, N.sub.PDSCH (i.e. N). For example, the size of the first sub-codebook 504 may be determined to be N.sub.CBG*N.sub.PDSCH.….),
the maximum number of PDSCHs is a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI determined based on a configuration from the network device or a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI determined based on a protocol (already discussed above in [0082] regarding single DCI; now refer to [0084] The number of sub-codebooks to be included in HARQ-ACK codebook may be specified, preconfigured, indicated by the network device 120, or determined by the terminal device 110); and
wherein M and N are both positive integers greater than 0 (see [0082] M and N are representing number of schedule/CBG/s hence M and N are in integers and greater than 0; further codebook size is determined by multiplication of these two and codebook size is in bits, so neither of N.sub.PDSCH nor N.sub.CBG can be 0 i.e. it is greater than 0).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having executable instructions stored thereon, wherein when the executable instructions are executed by a processor, the processor is caused to perform the method of claim 8; please refer to above claim 8’s citations.
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches as per claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to the first configuration information indicating that the multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by the PDCCH is configured and the second configuration information indicating that the CBG transmission is configured(already discussed above regarding first configuration and second configuration above and also discussed about generating HARQ-codebook above in claim 1 see [0046- 0047]), determine that a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each downlink control information (DCI) is a maximum value between M and N, wherein M is a maximum number of CBGs comprised in one transport block configured by the network device, N is a maximum number of PDSCHs corresponding to the multi-slot PDSCH transmission scheduled by the PDCCH (see [0082]… the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks as shown in FIG. 5, the size of the fourth sub-codebook 503 for a DAI in single DCI may be based on the maximum number of CBGs configured for a TB. Moreover, the size of the first sub-codebook 504 for a DAI in single DCI may be based on the maximum number of CBGs, N.sub.CBG (i.e. M), and the maximum number of transmissions schedulable by a single DCI, N.sub.PDSCH (i.e. N). For example, the size of the first sub-codebook 504 may be determined to be N.sub.CBG*N.sub.PDSCH.….),
the maximum number of PDSCHs is a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI determined based on a configuration from the network device or a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI determined based on a protocol (already discussed above in [0082] regarding single DCI; now refer to [0084] The number of sub-codebooks to be included in HARQ-ACK codebook may be specified, preconfigured, indicated by the network device 120, or determined by the terminal device 110); and
wherein M and N are both positive integers greater than 0 (see [0082] M and N are representing number of schedule/CBG/s hence M and N are in integers and greater than 0; further codebook size is determined by multiplication of these two and codebook size is in bits, so neither of N.sub.PDSCH nor N.sub.CBG can be 0 i.e. it is greater than 0).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub. No. 2024/0340899 A1) in view of Lei et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0266105 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches as per claim 2, but fails to state about wherein determining that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to the DCI is the maximum value of M and N comprises one of:
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M≥N, determining that HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH;
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH and (N−M) stuffing bits, values of the (N−M) stuffing bits being identical;
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M≥N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (M−L) stuffing bits, values of the (M−L) stuffing bits being identical; or
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (N−L) stuffing bits, values of the (N−L) stuffing bits being identical;
wherein L is a positive integer greater than 0.
However Lei teaches in [0013- 0020] regarding determining semi static HARQ-ACK codebook; see [0103] now refer to [0014- 0018] regarding number of TB for one PDCSH, max number of non-overlapped PDCSH occasions per slot per cell, max number of CBGs per TB; now refer to [0020] if N PDSCH occasions are determined in the downlink association set and C carriers are configured, semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook size would be C*N*M, where M is the RRC configured to the maximum number of CBGs of one TB. If N=4, C=5 and M=8 (i.e. M>N and L=1 see [0015] one PDSCH), 160 HARQ-ACK bits are generated. It can be observed that a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook would cause too much overhead in UCI and need more uplink resources for the PUCCH transmission.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Wang to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to the DCI is the maximum value of M and N comprises one of: in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M≥N, determining that HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH; in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH and (N−M) stuffing bits, values of the (N−M) stuffing bits being identical; in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M≥N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (M−L) stuffing bits, values of the (M−L) stuffing bits being identical; or in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (N−L) stuffing bits, values of the (N−L) stuffing bits being identical wherein L is a positive integer greater than 0; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches as per claim 14, but fails to state wherein,
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M≥N, determining that HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH;
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH and (N−M) stuffing bits, values of the (N−M) stuffing bits being identical;
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M≥N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (M−L) stuffing bits, values of the (M−L) stuffing bits being identical; or
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (N−L) stuffing bits, values of the (N−L) stuffing bits being identical;
wherein L is a positive integer greater than 0.
However Lei teaches in [0013- 0020] regarding determining semi static HARQ-ACK codebook; see [0103] now refer to [0014- 0018] regarding number of TB for one PDCSH, max number of non-overlapped PDCSH occasions per slot per cell, max number of CBGs per TB; now refer to [0020] if N PDSCH occasions are determined in the downlink association set and C carriers are configured, semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook size would be C*N*M, where M is the RRC configured to the maximum number of CBGs of one TB. If N=4, C=5 and M=8 (i.e. M>N and L=1 see [0015] one PDSCH), 160 HARQ-ACK bits are generated. It can be observed that a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook would cause too much overhead in UCI and need more uplink resources for the PUCCH transmission.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Wang to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to the DCI is the maximum value of M and N comprises one of: in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M≥N, determining that HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH; in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH and (N−M) stuffing bits, values of the (N−M) stuffing bits being identical; in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M≥N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (M−L) stuffing bits, values of the (M−L) stuffing bits being identical; or in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (N−L) stuffing bits, values of the (N−L) stuffing bits being identical wherein L is a positive integer greater than 0; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 22, Wang teaches as per claim 21, but fails to state about wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M≥N, determining that HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH;
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH and (N−M) stuffing bits, values of the (N−M) stuffing bits being identical;
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M≥N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (M−L) stuffing bits, values of the (M−L) stuffing bits being identical; or
in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (N−L) stuffing bits, values of the (N−L) stuffing bits being identical;
wherein L is a positive integer greater than 0.
However Lei teaches in [0013- 0020] regarding determining semi static HARQ-ACK codebook; see [0103] now refer to [0014- 0018] regarding number of TB for one PDCSH, max number of non-overlapped PDCSH occasions per slot per cell, max number of CBGs per TB; now refer to [0020] if N PDSCH occasions are determined in the downlink association set and C carriers are configured, semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook size would be C*N*M, where M is the RRC configured to the maximum number of CBGs of one TB. If N=4, C=5 and M=8 (i.e. M>N and L=1 see [0015] one PDSCH), 160 HARQ-ACK bits are generated. It can be observed that a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook would cause too much overhead in UCI and need more uplink resources for the PUCCH transmission.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Wang to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining that the number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to the DCI is the maximum value of M and N comprises one of: in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M≥N, determining that HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH; in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, L=1 and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises M information bits corresponding to M CBGs of the PDSCH and (N−M) stuffing bits, values of the (N−M) stuffing bits being identical; in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M≥N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (M−L) stuffing bits, values of the (M−L) stuffing bits being identical; or in response to one DCI scheduling L PDSCHs, 1<L≤N and M<N, determining that the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the DCI comprises L information bits corresponding to the L PDSCHs and (N−L) stuffing bits, values of the (N−L) stuffing bits being identical wherein L is a positive integer greater than 0; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub. No. 2024/0340899 A1) in view of Elmali et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0056776 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches as per claim 1, wherein generating, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back the PDSCH (already discussed in claim 1 regarding generating HARQ-ACK codebook) but fails to state about determining, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, transmission scenario groups, each of the transmission scenario groups comprising at least one transmission scenario; and generating the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the transmission scenario groups; however Elmali teaches in Fig. 3 regarding however Elmali teaches in fig. 3 and [0042] about … In addition, the type of HARQ-ACK codebook to use as well as the concatenation order to use can be specified by the communication node in a connection reconfiguration message, such as a RRCReconfiguration or a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message. Method 300 is independent of the HARQ-ACK codebook type that the UE is configured by the communication node to construct, e.g., type-1, type-2, enhanced type-2, or type-3 codebook can be configured individually for any service….; now refer to [0043].. step 320, the UE can determine whether there is more than one MBS service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback at the scheduled time instance. The UE can also determine if there is at least one MBS and at least one unicast service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback (i.e. transmission scenario groups based on different services) at the scheduled time instance. If decision step 320 is ‘Yes’, method 300 proceeds to a step 330….; now refer to [0045].. to step 330, the UE can generate two or more HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks for the various MBS or unicast services that have a HARQ-ACK feedback scheduled at the time instance, e.g., map the HARQ-ACK feedback to the sub-codebook. The UE can construct the sub-codebooks based on the current codebook construction mechanisms, … Method 300 proceeds to a step 340; now refer to [0046] step 340 the UE can concatenate the two or more sub-codebooks using the scheme as specified by the communication node to generate one concatenated HARQ-ACK codebook. In some aspects, in cases where the UE receives services that have different priorities, the lower priority sub-codebooks can be dropped. In some aspects, the RNTI value can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the MTCH list order can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the DRB-identity for a particular service can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the communication node can specify the concatenation order, which can provide greater flexibility to the communication node for optimizations. In some aspects, a sub-codebook for unicast services can be concatenated at a front position or a following position of a concatenated structure of sub-codebooks for the MBS services…
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Elmali with the teachings of Wang to make system more effective. Having a mechanism determining, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, transmission scenario groups, each of the transmission scenario groups comprising at least one transmission scenario; and generating the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the transmission scenario groups; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein generating, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back the PDSCH comprises:
in response to one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenarios, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenarios; or
in response to one PUCCH group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups; however Elmali teaches in fig. 3 and [0042] about … Method 300 is independent of the HARQ-ACK codebook type that the UE is configured by the communication node to construct, e.g., type-1, type-2, enhanced type-2, or type-3 codebook can be configured individually for any service….; now refer to [0043].. step 320, the UE can determine whether there is more than one MBS service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback at the scheduled time instance. The UE can also determine if there is at least one MBS and at least one unicast service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback (i.e. transmission scenarios based on different services) at the scheduled time instance. If decision step 320 is ‘Yes’, method 300 proceeds to a step 330….; now refer to [0045].. to step 330, the UE can generate two or more HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks for the various MBS or unicast services that have a HARQ-ACK feedback scheduled at the time instance, e.g., map the HARQ-ACK feedback to the sub-codebook. The UE can construct the sub-codebooks based on the current codebook construction mechanisms, … Method 300 proceeds to a step 340; now refer to [0046] step 340 the UE can concatenate the two or more sub-codebooks using the scheme as specified by the communication node to generate one concatenated HARQ-ACK codebook. In some aspects, in cases where the UE receives services that have different priorities, the lower priority sub-codebooks can be dropped. In some aspects, the RNTI value can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the MTCH list order can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the DRB-identity for a particular service can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the communication node can specify the concatenation order, which can provide greater flexibility to the communication node for optimizations. In some aspects, a sub-codebook for unicast services can be concatenated at a front position or a following position of a concatenated structure of sub-codebooks for the MBS services… It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Elmali with the teachings of Wang to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein generating, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, the HARQ-ACK codebook for feeding back the PDSCH comprises:
in response to one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenarios, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenarios; or
in response to one PUCCH group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches as per claim 8, but fails to state about wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is generated based on transmission scenario groups determined based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, and each of the transmission scenario group comprising at least one transmission scenario; however Elmali teaches in Fig. 3 regarding however Elmali teaches in fig. 3 and [0042] about … In addition, the type of HARQ-ACK codebook to use as well as the concatenation order to use can be specified by the communication node in a connection reconfiguration message, such as a RRCReconfiguration or a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message. Method 300 is independent of the HARQ-ACK codebook type that the UE is configured by the communication node to construct, e.g., type-1, type-2, enhanced type-2, or type-3 codebook can be configured individually for any service….; now refer to [0043].. step 320, the UE can determine whether there is more than one MBS service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback at the scheduled time instance. The UE can also determine if there is at least one MBS and at least one unicast service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback (i.e. transmission scenario groups based on different services) at the scheduled time instance. If decision step 320 is ‘Yes’, method 300 proceeds to a step 330….; now refer to [0045].. to step 330, the UE can generate two or more HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks for the various MBS or unicast services that have a HARQ-ACK feedback scheduled at the time instance, e.g., map the HARQ-ACK feedback to the sub-codebook. The UE can construct the sub-codebooks based on the current codebook construction mechanisms, … Method 300 proceeds to a step 340; now refer to [0046] step 340 the UE can concatenate the two or more sub-codebooks using the scheme as specified by the communication node to generate one concatenated HARQ-ACK codebook. In some aspects, in cases where the UE receives services that have different priorities, the lower priority sub-codebooks can be dropped. In some aspects, the RNTI value can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the MTCH list order can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the DRB-identity for a particular service can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the communication node can specify the concatenation order, which can provide greater flexibility to the communication node for optimizations. In some aspects, a sub-codebook for unicast services can be concatenated at a front position or a following position of a concatenated structure of sub-codebooks for the MBS services…
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Elmali with the teachings of Wang to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is generated based on transmission scenario groups determined based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information, and each of the transmission scenario group comprising at least one transmission scenario; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches as per claim 8, but fails to state about
in response to one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenarios, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenarios; or
in response to one PUCCH group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups; however Elmali teaches in fig. 3 and [0042] about … Method 300 is independent of the HARQ-ACK codebook type that the UE is configured by the communication node to construct, e.g., type-1, type-2, enhanced type-2, or type-3 codebook can be configured individually for any service….; now refer to [0043].. step 320, the UE can determine whether there is more than one MBS service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback at the scheduled time instance. The UE can also determine if there is at least one MBS and at least one unicast service that requires HARQ-ACK feedback (i.e. transmission scenarios based on different services) at the scheduled time instance. If decision step 320 is ‘Yes’, method 300 proceeds to a step 330….; now refer to [0045].. to step 330, the UE can generate two or more HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks for the various MBS or unicast services that have a HARQ-ACK feedback scheduled at the time instance, e.g., map the HARQ-ACK feedback to the sub-codebook. The UE can construct the sub-codebooks based on the current codebook construction mechanisms, … Method 300 proceeds to a step 340; now refer to [0046] step 340 the UE can concatenate the two or more sub-codebooks using the scheme as specified by the communication node to generate one concatenated HARQ-ACK codebook. In some aspects, in cases where the UE receives services that have different priorities, the lower priority sub-codebooks can be dropped. In some aspects, the RNTI value can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the MTCH list order can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the DRB-identity for a particular service can be used to determine the concatenation order. In some aspects, the communication node can specify the concatenation order, which can provide greater flexibility to the communication node for optimizations. In some aspects, a sub-codebook for unicast services can be concatenated at a front position or a following position of a concatenated structure of sub-codebooks for the MBS services… It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Elmali with the teachings of Wang to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein
in response to one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenarios, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenarios; or
in response to one PUCCH group comprising a plurality of cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups, obtaining the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the PUCCH group by concatenating codebooks corresponding to the cells belonging to different transmission scenario groups; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub. No. 2024/0340899 A1) in view of Elmali et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0056776 A1) and in further view of Papasakellariou (US Pub. No. 2021/0376988 A1), hereafter Aris.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Elmali teaches as per claim 4, but Wang is silent about, wherein generating the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the transmission scenario groups comprises: for cells belonging to the same transmission scenario group, determining that a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI is the maximum number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI in transmission scenarios comprised in the transmission scenario group; however Aris states in [0158- 0159] regarding UE determines whether or not the UE is provided by higher layers a parameter enabling multiplexing for Type 1 and Type 2 HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. Max number of bits) in a PUSCH associated with the same service as Type 2 HARQ-ACK information bits 1510 (as identified by corresponding DCI formats or as configured by higher layers). …; see [0158]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Aris with the teachings of Wang in view of Elmali to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein generating the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the transmission scenario groups comprises: for cells belonging to the same transmission scenario group, determining that a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI is the maximum number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI in transmission scenarios comprised in the transmission scenario group; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Elmali teaches as per claim 16, but Wang is silent about, wherein for cells belonging to the same transmission scenario group, a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI is the maximum number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI in transmission scenarios comprised in the transmission scenario group; however Aris states in [0158- 0159] regarding UE determines whether or not the UE is provided by higher layers a parameter enabling multiplexing for Type 1 and Type 2 HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. Max number of bits) in a PUSCH associated with the same service as Type 2 HARQ-ACK information bits 1510 (as identified by corresponding DCI formats or as configured by higher layers). …; see [0158]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Aris with the teachings of Wang in view of Elmali to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein for cells belonging to the same transmission scenario group, a number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI is the maximum number of HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to each DCI in transmission scenarios comprised in the transmission scenario group; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Yi et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0032031 A1) states about wireless device transmits, via an uplink resource, a sub-codebook comprising feedback bits for at least one of downlink control information (DCI) or a multi-physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling DCI (M-DCI). The DCI schedules a PDSCH reception via code block groups (CBGs). The M-DCI schedules multiple PDSCH receptions for a cell. A number of the feedback bits is based on a larger of a first number of schedulable PDSCHs by the M-DCI and a second number of the CBGs; further see [0502] first category may comprise the one or more first cases/conditions. For example, a case, of the one or more first cases/conditions, may be based on an applicability of a multi-PDSCH scheduling and a CBG transmission. For example, when a scheduled cell, of a DCI, is configured with a single-PDSCH scheduling (e.g., not configured with a multi-PDSCH scheduling) and a TB-based transmission (e.g., not configured with a CBG transmission), the wireless device may determine the case of the first category are satisfied for the DCI.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479