DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendment filed 08/13/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zacharias et al (US 2022/0264361 A1) in view of Paredes et al (US 2017/0164238 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zacharias teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (Zacharias: Figs, 2-3, UE) to:
receive an indication of whether a first buffer status report ("BSR") format is usable (Zacharias: [0068], determine whether a short BSR can be used based on configured uplink throughput);
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine a buffer size based on a first table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a first buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], [0070]use short BSR with 5-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is not less than configured uplink throughput, the short BSR is associated with a LCG-ID),
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is not usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine the buffer size based on a second table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a second buffer size field, the first buffer size field being shorter than the second buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], [0070] use long BSR with 8-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is less than configured uplink throughput, the short BSR is associated with a LCG-ID); and
transmit a BSR based on the buffer size to the network (Zacharias: Fig. 3:315).
Zacharias does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier.
Paredes teaches receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier (Paredes: Fig. 3B:302; Fig. 17:1506; [0052], [0092], UE receiving RRC indication from the eNB indicating bit rate/throughput and logical channel group ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zacharias by receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier as disclosed by Paredes to provide a system for bit rate adaptation (Paredes: Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Zacharias teaches a method, comprising:
receiving an indication of whether a first buffer status report ("BSR") format is usable (Zacharias: [0068], determine whether a short BSR can be used based on configured uplink throughput);
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine a buffer size based on a first table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a first buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], use short BSR with 5-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is not less than configured uplink throughput),
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is not usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine the buffer size based on a second table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a second buffer size field, the first buffer size field being shorter than the second buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], use long BSR with 8-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is less than configured uplink throughput); and
transmitting a BSR based on the buffer size to the network (Zacharias: Fig. 3:315).
Zacharias does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier.
Paredes teaches receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier (Paredes: Fig. 3B:302; Fig. 17:1506; [0052], [0092], UE receiving RRC indication from the eNB indicating bit rate/throughput and logical channel group ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zacharias by receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier as disclosed by Paredes to provide a system for bit rate adaptation (Paredes: Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Zacharias teaches a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE (Zacharias: Figs, 2-3, base station) to:
transmit an indication of a buffer status report ("BSR") format to be used for a BSR (Zacharias: [0068], determine whether a short BSR can be used based on configured uplink throughput/indication);
receive a BSR according to the indicated BSR format (Zacharias: Fig. 3:315), wherein:
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine a buffer size based on a first table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a first buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], use short BSR with 5-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is not less than configured uplink throughput),
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is not usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine the buffer size based on a second table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a second buffer size field, the first buffer size field being shorter than the second buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], use long BSR with 8-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is less than configured uplink throughput).
Zacharias does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier.
Paredes teaches receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier (Paredes: Fig. 3B:302; Fig. 17:1506; [0052], [0092], UE receiving RRC indication from the eNB indicating bit rate/throughput and logical channel group ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zacharias by receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier as disclosed by Paredes to provide a system for bit rate adaptation (Paredes: Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Zacharias teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor (Zacharias: Figs, 2-3, UE) to:
receive an indication of whether a first buffer status report ("BSR") format is usable (Zacharias: [0068], determine whether a short BSR can be used based on configured uplink throughput);
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine a buffer size based on a first table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a first buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], use short BSR with 5-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is not less than configured uplink throughput),
in response to the indication indicating that the first BSR format is not usable for the logical channel group identifier, determine the buffer size based on a second table that comprises buffer size levels corresponding to a second buffer size field, the first buffer size field being shorter than the second buffer size field (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], [0067]-[0068], use long BSR with 8-bits buffer size field/table when throughput is less than configured uplink throughput); and
transmit a BSR based on the buffer size to the network (Zacharias: Fig. 3:315).
Zacharias does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier.
Paredes teaches receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier (Paredes: Fig. 3B:302; Fig. 17:1506; [0052], [0092], UE receiving RRC indication from the eNB indicating bit rate/throughput and logical channel group ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zacharias by receiving the indication from the network, the indication comprising a logical channel group identifier, the indication indicating whether the first BSR format is usable for the logical channel group identifier as disclosed by Paredes to provide a system for bit rate adaptation (Paredes: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 17, Zacharias teaches wherein the first buffer size field, the second buffer size field, or both, identifies a total amount of data available according to a data volume calculation procedure across logical channels of a logical channel group after a medium access control packet data unit has been built created (Zacharias: Fig. 3, [0058], [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Zacharias teaches wherein the indication is a radio resource control indication (Zacharias: [0068]).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Zacharias teaches wherein the indication is a medium access control-control element indication or a downlink control information indication and wherein the indication is applicable for a certain time duration or until a timer expires (Zacharias: [0057]-[0058], MAC-CE indication; [0068] configured uplink throughput over network delay duration).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Zacharias teaches wherein the first table comprises 5- bit buffer size levels and the second table comprises 8-bit buffer size levels (Zacharias: [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Zacharias teaches wherein logical channel having a same logical channel group identifier are configured with a same table of the first table and the second table (Zacharias: Fig. 3; [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Zacharias teaches wherein the indication indicates that the short format BSR with the fixed size can be used first BSR format is usable for a first logical channel group identifier and that the short format BSR with the fixed size cannot be used the first BSR format is not usable for a second logical channel group identifier (Zacharias: Fig. 3; [0071]-[0072], single LCG used).
Regarding claim 8, Zacharias teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus UE to determine a first logical channel identifier that corresponds to [[a]] the BSR with the short first BSR format associated with the first logical channel group identifier and a second logical channel identifier that corresponds to a second BSR with a long format associated with the second logical channel group identifier and prepare at least one of the BSR with the short first BSR format and the BSR with the long second BSR format (Zacharias: Fig. 3; [0066]-[0067]; [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 9, Zacharias teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus UE to: determine whether [[a]] the BSR is triggered; determine logical channel groups to be included in the BSR; determine a BSR format for the triggered BSR according to the indication and the determined logical channel groups; and transmit the BSR according to the determined BSR format (Zacharias: Fig. 3; [0061]-[0063]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zacharias et al (US 2022/0264361 A1) in view of Paredes et al (US 2017/0164238 A1) in further view of Wang et al (US 2023/0247478 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zacharias in view of Paredes does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first table or the second table is indicated for a logical channel in a corresponding logical channel configuration.
Wang teaches wherein at least one of the first table [[and]] or the second table is indicated for a logical channel in a corresponding logical channel configuration (Wang: Fig. 6A; [0027], [0146]-[0148]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zacharias wherein at least one of the first table or the second table is indicated for a logical channel in a corresponding logical channel configuration as disclosed by Wang to provide a system for buffer status reporting tables for high data rate (Wang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Zacharias in view of Wang teaches wherein logical channels of a logical channel group are associated with the first table, the second table, or both (Wang: Fig. 6A; Tables 2-3; [0146]-[0148]).
Regarding claim 12, Zacharias in view of Wang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to report a second BSR format based on the second table for logical channel groups that have data available for transmission in response to more than one logical channel group having data available for transmission when a medium access control packet data unit containing the BSR is built created (Wang: Fig. 6A-6B; [0146]-[0148]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478