DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Claims
Amendments to the Specification, Amendments to the Claims and Arguments/Remarks filed 23 July 2026, in response to the Office Correspondence dated 23 February 2026, are acknowledged.
The listing of Claims filed 23 July 2026, have been examined. Claims 1, and 3-18 are pending. Claims 1, and 3-9 are amended, claim 2 is canceled, and new claims 10-18 have been added.
Response to Amendment
All prior claims have been amended (except canceled claim 2, rendered moot) or are newly added claims, representing an entirely new claim set. Thus, all prior rejections are withdrawn. While some similar 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections still exist, they are reframed in the context of the amended claims and new grounds of rejection for the newly presented claims 1 and 3-18 are detailed below.
Several of the applicant’s amendments correct defects identified previously, particularly the conversion of former “application” claims into express method claims. However, the present amendments introduce additional informalities and substantive issues under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), § 112(b), § 112(d), and § 132(a).
Claim 1 now requires a composition comprising hydrogen peroxide and a coated particle, wherein the particle comprises one or more antimicrobial plant extracts selected from specified botanical families, the coating comprises one or more non-toxic alcohols, and the coated particle stabilizes hydrogen peroxide. Claims 3-18 add further compositional, process, and use limitations.
The prior rejection of amended claim 1 and claims depending therefrom under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over Huang is withdrawn. Huang teaches compositions in which hydrogen peroxide is associated with plant-derived polyphenolic material. Huang explains that plant-based phenolic macromolecules provide noncovalent-bonding opportunities, charge attraction, and physical sequestration for an activation precursor such as hydrogen peroxide, and that such sequestration can maintain oxidizer stability and reduce oxidizer loss (¶[0029]-[0032]). Huang further demonstrates a composition prepared from green-tea extract and hydrogen peroxide and attributes improved antimicrobial persistence to intermolecular sequestration of the oxidizer by the plant material (¶[0116]-[0118]).
Huang does not, however, expressly disclose that the plant-extract material constitutes a particle having a coating comprising a non-toxic alcohol. Nor does Huang establish that such an alcohol coating necessarily results from its disclosed extraction or peroxide-sequestration process. Anticipation requires every element of the claimed invention, arranged as required by the claim, to be expressly or inherently disclosed in a single reference. Accordingly, no § 102 rejection of amended claim 1 is maintained on the presently verified record.
New Rejections
The following new rejections are made from the previous Office Correspondence dated 23 February 2026, as the applicant's amendments and addition of new claims necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented below based on the amended/newly cited limitations.
Specification Objection
The amendments to the specification are objected to under 35 U.S.C. § 132(a) because they introduce new matter into the disclosure. The applicant is required to cancel the unsupported subject matter.
MPEP § 608.04 provides that an amendment to the specification introducing matter not present in the specification, claims, or drawings as filed is objected to under § 132(a), and any affected claims are correspondingly subject to rejection under § 112(a). MPEP § 2163.06 likewise distinguishes the § 132(a) objection applicable to newly added disclosure from the § 112(a) written-description rejection applicable to claims affected by that disclosure.
Proposed correction of the particle-size definition
The originally filed specification expressly defines a “coated particle” (p. 8, ll. 17-18, which would correspond to ¶[0048]) as having a diameter of 10-4-103 nanometers. The present amendment changes the Abstract and ¶[0048] to recite 104-103 nanometers. The submitted marked-up specification confirms this proposed replacement. However, it is not evident that 104-103 nanometers (nm) is a correction intended at filing. The originally filed disclosure contains no other particle-size measurement from which the newly asserted range can be derived. Moreover, the proposed range itself is written in descending order, 104 nm to 103 nm, further demonstrating that the appropriate correction is not self-evident.
An obvious-error correction avoids new matter only where a person of ordinary skill would recognize both the existence of the error and the appropriate correction (see In re Oda, 443 F.2d 1200, 170 USPQ 268 (CCPA 1971); MPEP § 2163, § 2163.07). Here, that is not the case. Accordingly, the substitution of 104-103 nm is new matter and is not an allowable correction. Independent of § 132(a), the amended specification remains objectionable under 37 C.F.R. § 1.71(c) because a stated range of 104-103 nanometers has internally reversed endpoints and does not make clear whether the applicant intends 103-104 nm, 10-4-10-3 nm, some micrometer range, or another dimension.
Addition of “complexation of one or more polyols”
Amended ¶[0048] (corresponding to originally-filed p. 8, ll. 17-18) newly defines a coated particle as “one or more plant extracts with a coating by complexation of one or more polyols.” The originally filed Specification discloses plant extracts having a coating of one or more non-toxic alcohols, preferably polyols, and specifically identifies glycerol and sorbitol. It also states separately that antimicrobial plant extracts are able to “form a bond with hydrogen peroxide under determined conditions.” The originally filed disclosure does not, however, describe the coating as being formed by “complexation” of the plant extract with a polyol, identify a polyol-plant-extract complex, or disclose that such complexation necessarily occurs.
Accordingly, the newly asserted mechanism “coating by complexation of one or more polyols” is more than a rephrasing of the original disclosure. No basis has been established that such complexation is necessarily inherent in the disclosed preparation. Inherency cannot rest on possibility or probability, rather the missing matter must necessarily be present (see MPEP § 2163.07(a)). Thus, this added language therefore constitutes new matter.
Addition of “molecular complex” as an embodiment of the present invention
Amended ¶[0045] (corresponding to the originally-filed p. 7, ll. 4-9) states that stabilized hydrogen peroxide of the invention “can be alternatively characterized or embodied as a solution, a composition, a molecular complex, or a particle-containing system.” The originally filed Patent Cooperation Treaty Specification for Application No. (WO2023048569A1) uses “molecular complex” when describing WO 2010/101844 and its prior-art process, stating that reaction of plant material with hydrogen peroxide produces an antimicrobial oxidizing molecular complex (p. 2, ll. 18-21), from which the instant application is filed under 35 U.S.C. §371. In contrast, the originally-filed Specification of the applicant’s invention as U.S. Application No. 18/694,864 at p. 2, ll. 18-21, corresponding to ¶[0045]) expressly states that stabilized hydrogen peroxide “is a solution of hydrogen peroxide with a coated particle.”
A description of a characteristic of the prior art does not, without more, constitute possession of that characteristic as an alternative embodiment of the applicant’s invention. There is no express disclosure, nor a showing of necessary inherency, that applicant’s coated-particle system is itself the “molecular complex” attributed to the prior art. Accordingly, the addition of “molecular complex” as an alternative embodiment of the applicant’s invention constitutes new matter.
In summary, the added particle-size range, “complexation” mechanism, and “molecular complex” characterization should therefore be canceled pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 132(a) (see MPEP § 608.04).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites plant extracts “selected from the Allium, the Solanaceae, the Magnoliaceae, the Salicaceae, the Cupressaceae and the Chamaecyparis families.” The terminology incorrectly places all six names at the same taxonomic rank. Allium is a genus in the family Amaryllidaceae, whereas Chamaecyparis is a genus in the family Cupressaceae; Chamaecyparis is therefore also redundant with the separately recited Cupressaceae family. The claim should be amended to identify the intended taxonomic scope expressly, for example, if consistent with applicant’s intent, “selected from the genus Allium, the families Solanaceae, Magnoliaceae, Salicaceae, and Cupressaceae, and the genus Chamaecyparis.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for at least limited internal oral and gastrointestinal embodiments of the claimed method that were within the knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art, does not reasonably provide enablement commensurate in scope with the full breadth of claim 14. The specification does not enable a person skilled in the art to make and use the invention throughout the scope of claim 14 without undue experimentation (see MPEP §§ 2164.01, 2164.03, and 2164.08).
Claim 14, while providing enabling disclosure for the illustrated water-treatment, crop-treatment, surface-treatment, and related external uses, does not reasonably provide enablement commensurate in scope with the claimed internal administration to the mouth, stomach, or intestines of all living beings with no numerical or functional limitations on the plant extract, the non-toxic alcohol, the coating, the hydrogen peroxide concentration, the dosage, the frequency, the target species, or the formulation for internal administration.
Certain limited oral and gastrointestinal applications of hydrogen-peroxide-containing and plant-extract-containing antimicrobial compositions were within the knowledge of persons of ordinary skill before the effective filing date. For example, Huang (US20110070198A1, Description, oral-use disclosure) teaches use of diluted plant-based hydrogen-peroxide compositions on oral mucosa and oral administration to control gastroenteritis and other bacteria-induced gastric disorders in humans and animals and identifies medical treatment of gastric infections and gingivitis among applications of its plant-based biocidal solution. Madding likewise teaches pharmaceutical, nutraceutical, and other consumable products containing its plant-extract compositions and expressly identifies colon-cleansing therapies among contemplated products (WO2020227422A1, Description, exemplary-product discussion). These teachings establish that at least certain oral, gastric, and intestinal uses were within the technical knowledge of the skilled artisan. They are also the limited embodiments relied upon in the separate rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as detailed below.
Claim 14 depends from claim 6, which in turn depends from claim 1. Claim 14 recites that application of the composition of claim 1 comprises applying the composition “for internal use on a living being to the mouth, stomach, or intestines.” Claim 1 recites a composition comprising hydrogen peroxide and a coated particle comprising one or more antimicrobial plant extracts selected from the Allium, Solanaceae, Magnoliaceae, Salicaceae, Cupressaceae, and Chamaecyparis families, together with a coating comprising one or more non-toxic alcohols, wherein the coated particle stabilizes the hydrogen peroxide.
Accordingly, claim 14 is not limited to one identified internally administered composition. Rather, through dependency from claim 1, the claim encompasses the internal use of compositions containing plant extracts selected from six different botanical families, coatings comprising one or more unspecified non-toxic alcohols, and hydrogen peroxide, without reciting a hydrogen-peroxide concentration for internal use, dosage or amount administered, frequency or duration of administration, particular formulation adapted for the mouth, stomach, or intestine, particular target organism or living species, or other conditions defining the operative internal-use embodiment.
The specification itself provides only generalized guidance concerning the presently claimed internal-use embodiments. The specification states that stabilized hydrogen peroxide according to the invention may be used for human hygiene, veterinary hygiene, oral or body hygiene, or antimicrobial action, including internal and external use “such as on wounds, in the mouth, stomach and intestines” (Specification, application/use discussion). The specification additionally states generally that stabilized hydrogen peroxide may be used as a medicine or medical aid in internal or external medical treatments. However, the detailed quantitative disclosure and working examples concern principally hydrogen-peroxide concentrates, preparation and stability of the coated-particle compositions, dosing in water systems, crop treatment, surface treatment, removal of biofilm, and oxygenation. The specification does not provide corresponding representative internal-use embodiments spanning the breadth of the claimed plant-extract families, coating materials, peroxide compositions, living beings, and mouth, stomach, and intestinal environments.
The enablement requirement asks whether a skilled artisan can make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation (see In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). The Supreme Court has confirmed that the amount of disclosure necessary varies with claim breadth, and the specification must enable the scope actually claimed (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 598 U.S. 594 (2023)). The enablement analysis is governed by the factors set forth in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737 (Fed. Cir. 1988), and the scope of enablement must be commensurate with the scope of the claims. As such, each of the eight Wands factors are addressed as set forth below for claim 14:
Breadth of the claims – Claim 14 is broad relative to the internal-use disclosure. It incorporates the full compositional breadth of claim 1, including antimicrobial extracts selected from six botanical families and coatings comprising one or more non-toxic alcohols, and applies those compositions internally to the mouth, stomach, or intestines of an unrestricted “living being.” The claim does not confine the internal-use embodiment to the particular plant materials, peroxide levels, formulation types, or administration conditions for which oral or gastrointestinal use was known in the art. Thus, although the state of the art supports certain specific oral or gastrointestinal embodiments, claim 14 extends substantially beyond those embodiments. The relevant inquiry is whether the specification enables the scope of protection actually sought, not whether one or several embodiments falling within the claim can be practiced (see MPEP § 2164.08; In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1236 (CCPA 1971); Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 598 U.S. 594, 610-12 (2023)). This factor weighs in favor of a scope-of-enablement rejection.
Nature of the invention – The claimed subject matter concerns chemical compositions containing hydrogen peroxide together with botanically derived particulate material and one or more alcohol-containing coating components, followed by use of those compositions in different internal biological environments. The mouth, stomach, and intestine differ materially in pH, endogenous enzymes, organic burden, residence time, fluid composition, and other conditions capable of affecting hydrogen-peroxide decomposition, plant-extract constituents, coated-particle stability, and antimicrobial activity. Likewise, extracts from the six recited botanical families are not a single chemically uniform material. These considerations make extrapolation across the entire claimed genus materially less straightforward than carrying out a known oral or gastric use with a particular previously characterized composition. This factor weighs toward a need for meaningful guidance commensurate with the breadth claimed.
State of the prior art – This factor is not relied upon as showing that all internal administration was unknown or unpredictable. The prior art provides meaningful knowledge relevant to at least a limited portion of claim 14. Huang teaches diluted plant-derived hydrogen-peroxide compositions for oral mucosa and oral treatment of gastroenteritis or bacteria-induced gastric disorders in humans and animals (US20110070198A1, Description, oral/gastric-use disclosure). Madding teaches consumable and pharmaceutical applications and identifies colon-cleansing therapies (WO2020227422A1, Description, exemplary products). The prior art does not, however, provide a general teaching that would permit the skilled artisan to extrapolate those particular oral or gastrointestinal uses to every composition encompassed by claim 1 (i.e., across the six claimed botanical families, the unrestricted class of non-toxic alcohol coatings, the full range of peroxide-containing compositions, different internal sites, and unrestricted living beings) without determining operative conditions for the particular combination. Thus, the state of the art weighs against a conclusion that nothing within claim 14 is enabled, but it does not cure the lack of enablement across the full claimed scope. This factor is therefore mixed and is considered together with the other Wands factors.
Level of one of ordinary skill in the art – A person of ordinary skill in the pertinent formulation and antimicrobial arts would possess substantial knowledge concerning hydrogen peroxide, formulation chemistry, plant-derived materials, and conventional oral or gastrointestinal formulations. That level of skill further supports the conclusion that the limited prior-art-supported oral/gastric embodiments could have been practiced without undue experimentation. The high level of skill, however, does not itself provide a general rule permitting reliable selection of operative internal-use conditions for every combination within the claimed genus. The skilled artisan would still have to determine whether and under what conditions materially different claim-1 compositions retain the claimed stabilized-peroxide characteristics and remain operative in the differing mouth, stomach, and intestinal environments. Accordingly, this factor provides some support for enablement of known or closely related embodiments but does not establish enablement of the complete breadth of claim 14.
Level of predictability in the art – The relevant issue is not whether hydrogen peroxide or plant-derived antimicrobial compositions can ever be used internally, wherein the cited prior art demonstrates that certain such uses were known. The relevant question is the degree to which results obtained with those known embodiments could reasonably have been extrapolated across the substantially broader claimed genus (see MPEP § 2164.03). The claimed botanical materials may differ substantially in chemical constituents and biological properties. The coating materials likewise are not restricted to a single polyol. Hydrogen-peroxide behavior depends on concentration and surrounding chemical environment, and the mouth, stomach, and intestines present materially different biological and chemical conditions. The specification does not establish a general relationship or common property demonstrating that all, or a representative cross-section, of the claimed combinations will operate in those internal environments in the same manner as the limited known embodiments. Accordingly, while particular embodiments were sufficiently predictable to support the separate § 103 rejection, extrapolation across the entire claim is not shown to be correspondingly predictable. This factor weighs in favor of the scope-of-enablement rejection.
Amount of direction or guidance provided by the inventor – The specification expressly identifies internal use and names the mouth, stomach, and intestines as possible sites of use. That disclosure is relevant and is not disregarded. However, beyond identifying those intended fields of use, the specification provides little guidance for selecting among the broad range of claim 1 compositions for different internal environments. In particular, the specification does not provide representative internal formulations across the claimed botanical families; criteria for selecting the non-toxic alcohol/coating for a particular internal site; internal-use peroxide concentration ranges corresponding to the mouth, stomach, or intestine; guidance correlating particle stability with differing gastrointestinal environments; or a general structure/property relationship explaining why the demonstrated external/water-system behavior may reliably be extrapolated across the internal-use genus. The specification therefore identifies the desired field of application but does not provide guidance commensurate with the breadth of combinations and internal environments encompassed by claim 14. This factor weighs in favor of non-enablement over the full scope.
Existence of working examples – The specification contains no working example directed specifically to administration of the claimed composition to the mouth, stomach, or intestines of a living being. The working examples principally concern preparation and storage stability of concentrated stabilized hydrogen-peroxide compositions and their use in water systems, crop treatment, biofilm control, cleaning, or oxygenation. The absence of representative internal examples is considered together with the breadth of the genus, the differing internal environments, the limited generalizable guidance in the specification, and the experimentation necessary to determine which embodiments throughout the claimed scope are operative (see Atlas Powder Co. v. E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 750 F.2d 1569, 1576-77 (Fed. Cir. 1984). This factor therefore provides supporting, but not independently sufficient, evidence for the scope rejection.
Quantity of experimentation needed – The quantity of experimentation required to practice the full scope of claim 14 would be undue. To practice the claimed method safely and effectively across the full scope, a person of ordinary skill in the art would need to determine which plant extracts from the six families are tolerable and efficacious when applied internally; which non-toxic alcohol coatings are compatible with internal use; what hydrogen peroxide concentrations are safe for the mouth, stomach, or intestines; how the coated particles behave in the gastrointestinal environment; what formulations, dosages, and exposure times are appropriate for internal administration; and whether the composition is stable and active under internal biological conditions. The specification does not provide this information. It does not identify any particular composition suitable for internal use or provide any data showing safety or efficacy in internal use. The absence of such data means that extensive, non-routine experimentation would be required. The experimentation becomes undue because the claim requires the skilled artisan to identify operative embodiments throughout a broad chemical and biological genus with insufficient guidance for reliably extrapolating from the limited embodiments known in the art.
Considering the Wands factors as a whole, the specification and knowledge in the art are sufficient to enable at least limited oral, gastric, and intestinal embodiments, including embodiments closely corresponding to the oral/gastric teachings of Huang and the pharmaceutical/colon-cleansing teachings of Madding. However, claim 14 extends substantially beyond those enabled and predictable embodiments. The claim encompasses the full range of claim1 compositions (i.e., multiple botanical families, unrestricted non-toxic-alcohol coatings, and unrestricted hydrogen-peroxide compositions) applied to differing internal sites in an unrestricted living being, without the specification providing representative internal-use examples or a general teaching permitting reliable extrapolation throughout that scope.
MPEP § 2164.08 requires that, where the rejection is based on enablement not being commensurate with the claim, the examiner identify the subject matter considered enabled. The enabled portion identified here comprises at least the limited oral and gastrointestinal embodiments for which the specification, together with knowledge existing in the art, provides sufficient teaching, including the particular oral/gastric or intestinal embodiments relied upon in the § 103 rejection. The rejection concerns the remainder of the substantially broader claimed genus, not those embodiments. Accordingly, the specification does not enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the full scope of claim 14 without undue experimentation and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for lack of enablement commensurate in scope with the claim.
Claims 1, and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The written-description inquiry is whether the originally filed disclosure reasonably conveys to a person of ordinary skill that the inventor was in possession of the invention as now claimed (see Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64 (Fed. Cir. 1991); MPEP § 2163). Of particular relevance here, disclosure of each claim element somewhere in the specification does not necessarily establish possession of a subsequently claimed combination (see In Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2007, wherein individual elements appeared in the specification but the particular claimed combination was not adequately described).
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected for failing to meet the written-description requirement, arising from the new-matter issue detailed above. The claims all directly or indirectly require the “coated particle” of claim 1. Amended ¶[0048] now purports to define that claimed term by a coating formed “by complexation of one or more polyols” and by a particle diameter of 104-103 nm. As discussed above, neither limitation was described in the application as filed. MPEP § 2163.06 specifically instructs that where the claims themselves have not necessarily added the new terminology, but a specification amendment adds new matter that affects a claim limitation, the affected claims should be rejected under § 112(a). The applicant may overcome this rejection by canceling the unsupported definitional material and establishing a permissible construction/correction of “coated particle,” or by otherwise demonstrating support in the application as filed.
Claim 7 is rejected as failing to comply with the written-description requirement for new combination of crop treatment and removal functions. Claim 7 now requires applying the composition to crops by the enumerated modes “to remove biofilms, sources of nutrients, and deposits and organic material from the crops.” The originally filed disclosure does not describe this particular combination. The specification ¶[0023] separately teaches removing biofilms in growth media for crops, removing nutrient sources on which microorganisms can develop, and cleaning deposits and organic material from external and internal surfaces. Example 3 does describe spraying the composition onto plants, but for breaking down crop-protection-agent residues, rather than for the conjunctively claimed removal of biofilms, nutrient sources, deposits, and organic material from the crop itself. Thus, the amendment has reassigned functions originally disclosed for growth media and surfaces to a different target, the crops themselves. The mere presence of the individual concepts “crops,” “biofilm,” “nutrient sources,” and “organic material” at separate locations does not establish possession of their particular presently claimed combination (see In Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2007)).
Claim 10 is rejected as failing to comply with the written-description requirement with respect to the generic recitation “liquids.” The originally filed disclosure states that the composition may be used for treating “air, surfaces and water,” and subsequently provides numerous water-specific applications. The newly added claim replaces the disclosed species “water” with the unrestricted genus “liquids.” The specification does not identify a general class of liquids, disclose representative nonaqueous liquid species for this treatment, or provide an identifying characteristic defining which members of the broad class of liquids were contemplated. A broad statement that hydrogen peroxide may be used in fields for which it is suitable does not, without more, necessarily demonstrate possession of every member of a newly claimed genus. Written description of a genus requires disclosure sufficient to convey possession of the claimed genus, either through representative species or relevant identifying characteristics (see MPEP § 2163; Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc)).
Claim 17 is rejected as failing to comply with the written-description requirement for the oxygen addition combined with milking equipment. By dependency from claim 8, claim 17 is not merely a claim to treating milking equipment; it is a method for adding oxygen to the recited material by application of the claimed composition. The originally filed disclosure identifies oxygen-addition applications for soil/growth media, drinking water, pools, spas, water systems and related aqueous environments. In a separate entry, the specification discloses “treating conduits and components of milking equipment and milk tanks.” It does not describe treatment of milking equipment as a method of adding oxygen to the equipment. The present claim therefore combines two separately disclosed applications in a way not reasonably conveyed by the original disclosure. Under Hyatt v. Dudas (as cited above), disclosure of each concept separately is insufficient where possession of their particular claimed combination is not shown.
Claim 18 is rejected as failing to comply with the written-description requirement for the oxygen addition combined with treatment of organic material. Claim 18 likewise incorporates claim 8’s method “for adding oxygen,” but directs that method to “organic material.” The original specification separately describes treatment of organic material, such as manure, as part of an energy-production process or for treatment/separation of nitrogen compounds. It does not describe the organic material treatment as an oxygen addition embodiment. Oxygen addition is instead expressly associated with soil/growth media and aqueous systems. The later combination therefore lacks adequate written-description support for substantially the same reason as claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
A 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection is appropriate when, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the claim language remains ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear so that its metes and bounds cannot be determined (see In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1311 (Fed. Cir. 2014); MPEP § 2173).
Claim 1 requires that the coating comprise “one or more non-toxic alcohols.” “Non-toxic” is a relative term for which neither the claims nor the specification establishes an objective boundary. The specification states generally that additives should not be harmful to soil life, crops, humans, animals, or the environment, but it does not identify an assay, exposure period, concentration, route, toxicological endpoint, acceptable threshold, or target organism by which an alcohol is determined to be “non-toxic.” The claimed composition is furthermore used in markedly different environments ranging from crops and irrigation water to human skin and internal administration.
The specification does not provide a standard that permits a skilled artisan to determine the scope with reasonable certainty. One of skill in the art cannot determine which alcohols fall within or outside the claimed “non-toxic” class. The applicant may overcome the rejection by, for example, replacing the relative limitation with objectively ascertainable chemical species/classes or by supplying a claim limitation that defines the toxicity criterion with reasonable certainty.
The previous indefiniteness issue concerning “coated particle” has not been cured by the proposed particle-size amendment, wherein alternative treatment depending on disposition of the specification amendment. The term "coated particle" as defined is therefore indefinite because a person of ordinary skill cannot determine with reasonable certainty whether a composition falls within the scope of the claim when the defining parameter is physically impossible to achieve or measure.
The specification provides does not clearly indicate what material forms the particle and no structure or method for determining what constitutes a "coated particle". The nature of the coating in terms of continuity and chemistry is not specified. The specification describes what the composition does (i.e., stabilizes) rather than what it is structurally and without any structural definition, the boundaries of the claim cannot be ascertained with reasonable certainty (see Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014)).
An additional ambiguity arises because amended ¶[0048] defines a “coated particle” as necessarily having a coating formed “by complexation of one or more polyols,” while claim 1 facially permits a coating comprising any “non-toxic alcohols.” It would then be unclear whether a coating containing only a non-polyol alcohol can satisfy claim 1. Thus, the proposed definitional amendment cannot simply be relied upon to remove the existing coated-particle issue.
Every remaining claim either depends from claim 1 or affirmatively requires use or preparation of the composition of claim 1, thus, claims 3-18 are included in this rejection because the do not cure the defect noted for claim 1.
Claims 3 and 4 are further rejected as indefinite for “hydrogen-absorbing properties”. Claim 3 requires “one or more polyols with hydrogen-absorbing properties,” and claim 4 incorporates that limitation. The specification merely repeats the expression and identifies glycerol and sorbitol as preferred polyols. It does not state whether “hydrogen” refers to molecular hydrogen (H2), atomic hydrogen, protons, hydrogen bonding, hydrogen derived from hydrogen peroxide, or another species; nor does it disclose an absorption test, minimum capacity, equilibrium condition, or other objective criterion for determining whether a polyol possesses the claimed property. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill is not reasonably apprised of which polyols satisfy the limitation. This is not an objection to the breadth, wherein it is uncertainty concerning membership in the claimed class, which is the basis for the rejection (see MPEP § 2173 and § 2173.05(b)).
Claim 9 recites, “medical aid”, wherein the term is not mentioned in the specification and has no definition and could encompass everything from bandages to diagnostic equipment, leaving the scope of the claim completely uncertain. In claim 9, “for use as medicine or medical aid”, without identifying disease indication, route of administration, dosage, treatment protocol, renders the claim indefinite. The issue concerning “medical aid” is not fully resolved merely by applicant’s assertion that the expression is known.
The originally filed specification uses the term “medical aid,” but does not define it, elsewhere it refers to “(medical) aids and other objects,” suggesting physical articles or equipment. Claim 9, in contrast, recites a composition “for use as medicine or medical aid.” If “medical aid” is intended to denote a medical device, object, service, therapeutic composition, or some combination thereof, those constructions have materially different boundaries. The applicant is required to clarify the intended meaning or demonstrates an art-recognized meaning applicable to this claim context.
Claim 17 is further rejected as indefinite for the relationship between “material” and “milking equipment”. Claim 8 recites a method “for adding oxygen to a solid or liquid material” by adding the composition to that material. Claim 17 thereafter states that the “solid or liquid material comprises milking equipment” and defines the adding step as “applying” the composition to the milking equipment.
The specification treats oxygen addition and treatment of milking equipment as different enumerated applications, wherein ¶[0030]-[0033] concern oxygen addition to soil, growth media, drinking water and other aqueous systems, whereas ¶[0035] separately identifies “treating conduits and components of milking equipment and milk tanks.” The claim therefore permits at least two materially different readings: treatment of a solid equipment surface, or addition of oxygen to a “material” somehow constituted by the equipment. The claim does not make clear which is intended (see MPEP § 2173). Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
35 U.S.C. § 112(d) requires a dependent claim to incorporate all limitations of the claim from which it depends and to specify a further limitation. A dependent claim that omits or substitutes for a parent limitation is rejected (see Pfizer, Inc. v. Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd., 457 F.3d 1284, 1291-92 (Fed. Cir. 2006); MPEP § 608.01(n)). Claims 10, 12, and 14 are rejected as being of improper dependent form for failing to include all limitations of claim 6 and/or for replacing, rather than further limiting, the subject matter of claim 6.
Claim 6 requires “applying the composition of claim 1 to the article.” Claim 10 defines that same application step as applying the composition “to air, surfaces, or liquids.” At least the “air” and “liquids” alternatives do not preserve the claimed “article” receiving the composition. Claim 12 defines the same step as applying the composition “to human skin,” thereby substituting a living biological surface for the parent claim’s “article.” Claim 14 defines the same step as internal application “on a living being to the mouth, stomach, or intestines,” likewise substituting a living being/anatomical site for the “article” recited in claim 6.
Claim 7 is not rejected at this stage because “crops” could arguably be construed broadly as the particular item receiving treatment. The applicant may cure these defects by rewriting the subject matter in independent form or by amending claim 6 and its dependents so the parent expressly encompasses the intended categories and each dependent claim genuinely narrows that scope (ee MPEP § 608.01(n)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
MPEP § 2143 recognizes, inter alia, use of a known technique to improve a similar product in the same way, combining known elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results, and a teaching, suggestion, or motivation arising from the prior art as permissible rationales, provided the necessary factual predicates are established. The references need not be capable of bodily incorporation into one another; the question is what their combined teachings would have suggested to the skilled artisan (see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981)). A reasonable expectation of success, rather than absolute predictability, is required (see MPEP § 2143.02; Intelligent Bio-Systems, Inc. v. Illumina Cambridge Ltd., 821 F.3d 1359, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), and in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), and Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”).
Regarding claim 1, Madding teaches a composition comprising a mixture of a plant infusion or extract and hydrogen peroxide (claim 1) and identifies garlic, an Allium plant, among the eligible plant materials (claim 2). Madding additionally teaches that such compositions may further comprise glycerin (claim 8).
Madding further identifies glycerin as a stabilizing agent and specifically explains that glycerin, also called glycerol, is 1,2,3-propanetriol and a trihydric alcohol (Description, discussion of stabilizing agents and glycerin, p. 9, ll. 20-22 and p. 13, l. 23-p. 14, l. 5). Thus, Madding places hydrogen peroxide, a plant extract expressly including garlic, and a non-toxic polyhydric alcohol/stabilizing ingredient in the same formulation. Madding, however, does not expressly teach that its garlic component exists as a coated particle having the non-toxic alcohol as a coating.
Yang cures a substantial portion of that structural deficiency. Yang expressly prepares polyethylene-glycol-coated nanoparticles loaded with garlic essential oil, using a melt-dispersion method, and reports round, dispersed particles below about 240 nm. Yang further reports that the efficacy of the encapsulated garlic essential oil remained above 80% after five months, whereas free garlic essential oil at a comparable concentration had only 11% efficacy, attributing the difference to slow and persistent release from the nanoparticle system (p. 10156, Abstract). Accordingly, Yang teaches a known coated-particle architecture for the same garlic-derived class of active ingredient expressly selected by Madding and teaches a recognized benefit from placing the garlic active in that coated-particle form—retention and persistence of the active.
Huang provides the nexus to hydrogen-peroxide stabilization. Huang teaches plant-based complexes formed from cellular material, fragments, polymers, oligomers, proteins, polysaccharides, phenolics, and related plant structures that bind bioactive material, including hydrogen peroxide (claims 1, 4, and 7-9). Huang further teaches that the interaction may comprise covalent, ionic, van der Waals, electrostatic, or hydrogen-bond interactions and depicts plant-derived structures binding hydrogen peroxide (¶[0083]; see also Description concerning plant-based complexes and binding sites). Huang additionally teaches plant material capable of increasing the half-life of hydrogen peroxide and plant material containing a binding configuration that increases peroxide half-life or preserves peroxide bio-reactivity (claims 8 and 9). Huang reports that some embodiments substantially increase the half-life of bound hydrogen peroxide relative to free hydrogen peroxide.
Van Geetruy independently confirms that the alcohol/polyol component proposed for the combination is compatible with and capable of stabilizing hydrogen peroxide. Van Geetruy claims an aqueous solution containing 0.5-10 wt.% sorbitol as stabilizer and 10-50 wt.% hydrogen peroxide, including D-sorbitol (claims 1-2), and reports only about 0.4% deterioration after 100 days, i.e., approximately 99.6% of the initial peroxide concentration remaining (Description, concentrated-solution stability results).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date to provide the garlic-derived component of Madding in a coated particulate form of the type taught by Yang while retaining a peroxide-compatible polyol/non-toxic-alcohol component. Madding already teaches the three relevant material classes (i.e., garlic plant extract, hydrogen peroxide, and a polyhydric alcohol/stabilizing ingredient) in the same antimicrobial composition. Yang supplies a known coated-particle architecture for the same garlic-derived active and teaches an experimentally demonstrated persistence benefit. Huang supplies an express reason to use plant-derived particulate/complex structures in connection with hydrogen peroxide, namely binding and extension of peroxide half-life. Van Geetruy independently establishes that a non-toxic polyol is suitable for stabilization of aqueous peroxide.
The proposed modification therefore constitutes the application of known coating/encapsulation and stabilization techniques to a closely related peroxide/plant-extract antimicrobial composition for the known benefits of improved stability and persistence (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417-18 (2007); MPEP § 2143, rationale (C)). The motivation does not depend merely upon reconstructing the claim from unrelated references. Madding and Yang both concern garlic-derived actives, Madding and Huang both concern plant-derived hydrogen-peroxide antimicrobial compositions, Huang expressly addresses peroxide binding/stabilization by plant structures, and Van Geetruy expressly addresses peroxide stabilization with a non-toxic polyol.
A person having ordinary skill would also have possessed a reasonable expectation of success because Yang actually prepared the coated garlic nanoparticles, Madding actually formulates plant extract, hydrogen peroxide, and glycerin, Huang teaches operative plant/peroxide complexes having extended peroxide half-life, and Van Geetruy experimentally demonstrates peroxide stabilization with a polyol. Absolute predictability is not required (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Regarding claim 9, Madding expressly contemplates products comprising its compositions that are pharmaceuticals and other consumable products (claim 28; Description, exemplary-product discussion) and specifically identifies colon-cleansing therapies (Description, exemplary products). Madding also teaches application of its disinfectant compositions to human or animal skin.
Thus, it would have been obvious to use the modified composition as a medical or medical-aid composition in the internal or external applications already contemplated by Madding because the coating/stabilization modification does not replace the known antimicrobial plant/peroxide components but instead is directed to their delivery and persistence. A person of ordinary skill therefore would have reasonably expected the antimicrobial composition to remain suitable for the known pharmaceutical/personal care uses.
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), and Alpaslan et al. (A garlic oil-based organo-hydrogel for use in pH-sensitive drug release, Chemical Papers 75 (2021) 5759-5772; hereinafter “Alpaslan”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang and Van Geetruy, teach the limitations of instant claim 1, as described above, from which instant claims 3 and 4 depend, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claims 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 3, Madding identifies glycerin/glycerol as a trihydric alcohol (Description, stabilizing-agent discussion, p. 13, l. 23-p. 14, l. 5), while Alpaslan provides additional evidence that glycerol can participate in strong hydrogen-bond associations in a garlic-oil-containing material. Alpaslan prepares an agar-glycerol/garlic-oil organo-hydrogel and attributes interactions within the garlic-oil/glycerol-containing material to strong hydrogen bonding involving hydroxyl groups (p. 5761, Materials/Methods and associated structural/FT-IR discussion).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date to select glycerol or another peroxide-compatible polyol for the coating/association component because the art supplied complementary recognized functions (i.e., association with the garlic-containing phase and compatibility/stabilization with hydrogen peroxide). Thus, under the broadest-reasonable-interpretation of instant claim 3, the limitations of instant claim 3 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 4, Madding’s glycerol is 1,2,3-propanetriol and consequently possesses three hydroxyl groups (Description, glycerin discussion, p. 13, l. 23-p. 14, l. 5). Van Geetruy’s sorbitol possesses six hydroxyl groups and is expressly selected as the peroxide stabilizer (claims 1-2). Both selected prior-art species therefore fall within the instant claimed range of three to ten hydroxyl groups.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), and in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), Fei et al. (US20120294812A1; published 22 November 2012, hereinafter “Fei”), Wehrli (US20100210859A1; published 19 August 2010, hereinafter “Wehrli”), and Alpaslan et al. (A garlic oil-based organo-hydrogel for use in pH-sensitive drug release, Chemical Papers 75 (2021) 5759-5772; hereinafter “Alpaslan”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang and Van Geetruy, teach the limitations of instant claim 1, as described above, from which instant claim 5 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 5.
As set forth in the rejection of instant claim 1, Madding teaches antimicrobial compositions comprising a plant infusion or plant extract and hydrogen peroxide (claim 1), identifies garlic, an Allium plant, as an eligible plant material (claim 2), and teaches glycerin in the hydrogen-peroxide/plant-extract composition (claim 8). Madding further claims a preparation process in which plant material is combined with water and/or alcohol and the plant solids are separated, followed by addition of hydrogen peroxide and glycerin (claims 34-35).
Madding therefore teaches the principal reactants and general preparation framework required by instant claim 5, plant material/extract, water, hydrogen peroxide, and a non-toxic polyhydric alcohol, but does not expressly teach the claimed order whereby the plant-derived material is contacted with the non-toxic alcohol before hydrogen peroxide is introduced.
Yang, as relied upon in the rejection of instant claim 1, teaches a known coated-particle architecture for a claimed-family plant material. Yang prepares polyethylene-glycol-coated nanoparticles loaded with garlic essential oil and reports prolonged retention/persistence of the encapsulated garlic material relative to free garlic oil (p. 10156, Abstract). Yang thus supplies a reason to provide Madding’s garlic-derived antimicrobial material in a polyol/polyether-associated coated-particle form before its incorporation into the peroxide composition.
Huang independently teaches preparation of a plant-derived hydrogen-peroxide composition by first preparing an aqueous plant extract and thereafter introducing hydrogen peroxide. Huang teaches pulverizing plant material, extracting the material with room-temperature or heated water, separating the plant-derived liquid fraction, and then adding concentrated hydrogen peroxide to the prepared plant extract (¶[0078]). Huang further teaches reaction of the plant material with hydrogen peroxide after peroxide addition (¶[0078]). Thus, Madding and Huang collectively teach that the plant-derived phase can be established before addition of hydrogen peroxide.
Fei provides an express reason to contact a botanical constituent with a polyol before completion of the final formulation. Fei addresses active ingredients obtained from Magnolia, a member of the Magnoliaceae family expressly recited in instant claim 1, and identifies undesirable formulation interactions and insufficient solubility as problems associated with Magnolia-derived actives (¶[0002]). Fei teaches addressing those problems by admixing propylene glycol with an active ingredient found in Magnolia extract (¶[0003], ¶[0010]).
Fei further teaches preparing the resulting solubilized composition using approximately 0.05-10 wt.% propylene glycol and approximately 0.05-5 wt.% Magnolia-derived active (¶[0011]). Fei also contemplates aqueous formulation vehicles and peroxide sources among additional formulation components (¶[0007]). Accordingly, Fei teaches not merely the coincidental presence of a botanical material and a polyol, but an affirmative reason to establish contact between a plant constituent and a non-toxic polyol before completion of the formulation, namely, to improve solubility and favorable interaction of the botanical active with formulation components.
Alpaslan provides further corroborative evidence that association of a instant claimed plant material and a polyol through hydroxyl-mediated interactions was predictable. Alpaslan prepares a garlic-oil-containing material using glycerol and attributes interactions within the garlic-oil/glycerol-containing material to strong hydrogen bonding involving hydroxyl functionality (Materials and Methods, Experimental Procedures; Results and Discussion, FTIR analysis). Garlic is an Allium material encompassed by instant claim 1.
Alpaslan is not relied upon as expressly teaching the applicant’s particular coated particle. Rather, it supports the technical proposition that mixing a instant claimed botanical material with glycerol/polyol was known to produce intermolecular association through hydrogen bonding, thereby providing a reasonable expectation that the botanical/polyol pre-contact taught by Fei would establish the type of intimate association sought before introduction of peroxide.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to modify Madding’s preparation procedure by contacting the plant-derived component with the polyol before introducing hydrogen peroxide. Fei expressly teaches a benefit from first admixing a claimed-family botanical active with a polyol, while Yang teaches a coated polyol-associated particle architecture for a claimed-family garlic active. The modification would therefore have represented application of a known botanical/polyol formulation technique to Madding’s botanical component for the known advantages of improved solubilization, association, and persistence.
Fei’s approximately 0.05-10 wt.% propylene glycol (diol alcohol) range overlaps instant claim 5’s 0.001-10% alcohol concentration, and Fei’s approximately 0.05-5 wt.% Magnolia-active range overlaps instant claim 5’s 0.0001-1% plant-extract range over the interval from approximately 0.05-1%. A prior-art range that overlaps a claimed range ordinarily establishes a prima facie case of obviousness absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results (see In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329-30 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP § 2144.05).
Wehrli provides particularly direct evidence for the remaining peroxide-addition sequence and terminal reaction conditions.
Wehrli teaches processes involving botanical-derived material, including carnosic acid present in a plant extract, and subsequent introduction of an oxidizing agent including hydrogen peroxide (¶[0006]-[0008], ¶[0012], ¶[0027]). Wehrli expressly identifies commercially available 30% and 50% aqueous hydrogen peroxide as suitable peroxide sources (¶[0036]), both concentrations falling within instant claim 5’s recited 1-70% hydrogen-peroxide range. Most significantly, Wehrli’s working examples expressly establish the presently claimed terminal processing conditions.
In Example 5, Wehrli establishes a rosemary-extract-containing reaction mixture, subsequently adds 50% aqueous hydrogen peroxide, and thereafter stirs the reaction mixture for four hours at 18°C (¶[0054]). In Example 6, Wehrli likewise establishes a botanical-extract-containing reaction mixture, thereafter adds 50% aqueous hydrogen peroxide at approximately 18°C, and then stirs the resulting mixture for three hours at ambient temperature (¶[0055]).
Thus, Wehrli teaches establishing the botanical-containing phase before peroxide addition, subsequently adding concentrated hydrogen peroxide within the claimed concentration range, and thereafter stirring the peroxide/botanical mixture for three or four hours at approximately room temperature. Wehrli therefore directly teaches species falling within instant claim 5’s “2-4 hours at room temperature while stirring” limitation.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to employ the foregoing teachings together in preparing Madding’s plant-extract/hydrogen-peroxide composition. Madding already identifies the necessary major ingredients and teaches preparing plant-extract/peroxide/glycerin compositions. Fei teaches an express advantage in pre-contacting a claimed-family botanical active with propylene glycol, namely improved solubility and favorable interaction with formulation components. Yang independently teaches that a polyol/polyether-associated coating can successfully encapsulate a claimed-family garlic-derived active and improve its persistence. Alpaslan confirms the technical plausibility of intermolecular association between an Allium-derived material and glycerol through hydroxyl-mediated hydrogen bonding.
Having first established that botanical/polyol-associated phase, Huang teaches the general sequence of preparing an aqueous botanical extract and thereafter adding hydrogen peroxide, and Wehrli experimentally demonstrates subsequent addition of 50% hydrogen peroxide to an established botanical-containing mixture followed by three to four hours of stirring at approximately ambient temperature. Accordingly, the proposed modification is not based upon an unsupported rearrangement of Madding’s ingredients or hindsight derived from the applicant’s disclosure. Rather, each change is supported by an identified technical reason in the prior art.
The plant/polyol pre-contact is taught by Fei’s solubilization/positive-interaction benefit; the polyol-associated plant architecture is taught by Yang’s coated garlic-particle teaching and Alpaslan’s documented plant/polyol intermolecular association; the peroxide introduced after establishment of the botanical phase is taught by Huang and Wehrli; 30-50% peroxide by Wehrli (¶[0036]); and three- to four-hour post-peroxide stirring at approximately room temperature by Wehrli (¶[0054]-[0055]).
The proposed process therefore represents the use of known botanical formulation and peroxide-reaction techniques according to their established functions to prepare a closely related plant-extract/hydrogen-peroxide composition. Where a known technique has been used to improve one product and a person of ordinary skill would recognize that it would improve a similar product in the same way, application of that technique ordinarily is obvious unless its application is beyond ordinary skill (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417-18 (2007); MPEP § 2143, rationale (C)). Here, Fei provides an affirmative reason for the plant/polyol pre-association, while Huang and Wehrli demonstrate the operability of subsequent peroxide addition. Thus, the proposed order is supported by specific factual teachings rather than by an assumption that order necessarily lacks criticality.
A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully carrying out the proposed process because Fei actually demonstrates botanical/polyol solubilization using Magnolia-derived active and propylene glycol. Yang actually prepares polyol/polyether-coated garlic particles. Alpaslan demonstrates association in a garlic/glycerol-containing system. Madding demonstrates compatibility of plant-derived material, hydrogen peroxide, and glycerin in the same antimicrobial composition. Huang demonstrates plant-extract preparation followed by peroxide addition. Wehrli actually introduces concentrated peroxide into botanical-containing reaction mixtures and successfully carries out the subsequent reaction using the precise claimed-class terminal conditions of three to four hours at approximately room temperature. Thus, the proposed process does not depend upon speculation that the materials could coexist or that the sequence would be operable. The cited references provide experimental evidence for each principal stage.
With respect to instant claim 5’s terminal recitation that the process forms hydrogen peroxide stabilized with a coated particle of the antimicrobial plant extract, the teachings applied to instant claim 1 in combination with the process teachings above is relied upon. Yang teaches forming a polyol/polyether-coated particle containing a claimed-family garlic-derived material and demonstrates increased persistence of the encapsulated plant active. Huang teaches that plant-derived structures can bind hydrogen peroxide and increase peroxide half-life. Van Geetruy independently demonstrates that a non-toxic polyol can stabilize aqueous hydrogen peroxide. Fei and Alpaslan provide additional evidence that claimed-family botanical material can be associated with polyols before subsequent formulation, while Huang and Wehrli establish the operability of subsequent peroxide introduction.
In view of those combined teachings, a person of ordinary skill would have had reason to expect that first establishing the plant/polyol-associated or coated phase and thereafter adding peroxide according to the known botanical/peroxide processing conditions would provide the same type of peroxide-stabilizing plant/polyol system rendered obvious with respect to instant claim 1. The rejection does not rely upon inherency to establish that every possible execution of Fei’s or Wehrli’s processes necessarily produces the applicant’s claimed coated particle. Rather, the obviousness conclusion rests upon the affirmative selection and combination of the coated-particle, botanical/polyol-association, peroxide-stabilization, and process teachings described above.
Accordingly, considering the prior art as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to prepare the composition of instant claim 1 by first establishing an aqueous plant/polyol-associated phase, thereafter adding hydrogen peroxide within the claimed concentration range, and subsequently stirring the peroxide-containing mixture for 2-4 hours at approximately room temperature, as presently recited in instant claim 5.
Claims 1, 6, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), and Jadesjö and Jönsson (EP0845525A2; published 03 June 1998, hereinafter “Jadesjö”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang and Van Geetruy, teach the limitations of instant claim 1, as described above, from which instant claim 6 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 6.
Madding teaches that its compositions are useful as cleaners, sanitizers, disinfectants, preservatives, and antimicrobial products. Madding defines cleaning broadly to include removal of soils, dirt, stains, odors, and reduction of microbial populations and teaches use on hard inanimate surfaces (claim 33).
Jadesjö teaches an acidic aqueous hydrogen-peroxide composition suitable for cleaning, disinfection, and/or bleaching and expressly identifies hydrogen peroxide as an oxidizer and disinfectant (Description, opening discussion, p. 2, ll. 3-15; claim 1). Jadesjö further teaches use of its peroxide composition for disinfection and bleaching (Description, use discussion, p. 4, ll. 4-10).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the modified Madding composition for the known disinfecting, cleaning, or bleaching functions taught by Madding and Jadesjö because those references concern the established antimicrobial/oxidative functions of hydrogen-peroxide-containing compositions. The coating/stabilization modification would not have altered the fundamental peroxide antimicrobial/oxidative mechanism. Rather, improved persistence or stability would have been an expected advantage in those applications (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417-18 (2007); MPEP § 2143).
Regarding instant claim 10, Madding teaches that its compositions may serve as sanitizers or disinfectants for airborne microorganisms and may be applied in the air and to hard inanimate surfaces. It additionally teaches application by washing, spraying, misting, and fogging and separately teaches treatment of water, including drinking and industrial water (Description, cleaning/disinfection and water-treatment discussion). Van Geetruy independently claims an atomizing system containing its stabilized peroxide solution and use of the solution for disinfecting products and spaces (claims 14-15). Thus, use of the modified Madding composition on air, surfaces, or liquids through the claimed application modes would have amounted to use of a known peroxide/plant antimicrobial composition according to expressly taught modes for the same antimicrobial purpose, yielding predictable disinfecting results.
Regarding instant claim 12, Madding teaches applying its sanitizer/disinfectant composition to human or animal skin by washing, spraying, misting, fogging, wiping, and related techniques (Description, exemplary sanitizer/disinfectant products and modes of application). Thus, it would have been obvious to apply the modified composition to human skin by those same methods because the modification of instant claim 1 concerns stabilization/delivery of the active materials rather than a change in their antimicrobial mechanism or intended substrate. The reference therefore supplies both the substrate and the method of application.
Regarding instant claim 14, Huang further teaches internal applications relevant to the presently claimed subject matter, including use of diluted plant-based hydrogen-peroxide compositions on oral mucosa and oral administration for gastrointestinal or gastric conditions in humans or animals (Description, oral/gastric-use disclosure). Madding likewise contemplates pharmaceutical and consumable products containing its plant-extract compositions and expressly identifies colon-cleansing therapies among contemplated applications (Description, exemplary-product discussion).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to employ the modified hydrogen-peroxide/plant-extract composition resulting from the combination above in at least the expressly suggested oral/gastric or intestinal antimicrobial or cleansing embodiments because Huang establishes that related plant/hydrogen-peroxide compositions were suitable for oral and gastric administration, while Madding establishes that its plant-extract compositions were contemplated for pharmaceutical, consumable, and colon-cleansing applications. These teachings provide an express reason to select an internal oral, gastric, or intestinal application.
A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success for those particular embodiments because the prior art itself teaches operative oral/gastric administration of related hydrogen-peroxide/plant compositions and pharmaceutical/intestinal applications of the pertinent plant-extract compositions. Obviousness requires a reasonable expectation of success, not absolute predictability (see MPEP §2143.02; Intelligent Bio-Systems, Inc. v. Illumina Cambridge Ltd., 821 F.3d 1359, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The rejection of instant claim 14 does not rely on or establish that every composition, botanical extract, coating material, hydrogen-peroxide concentration, living being, or internal-use condition encompassed by the full breadth of instant claim 14 would have been predictable or enabled. Rather, the cited references provide a reason and reasonable expectation of success for at least one oral/gastric or intestinal embodiment falling within instant claim 14.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), Jadesjö and Jönsson (EP0845525A2; published 03 June 1998, hereinafter “Jadesjö”), Larose and Abbot (US5723406A; published 03 March 1998, hereinafter “Larose”), and Christ et al. (WO2018114494A1; published 28 June 2018, hereinafter “Christ”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang, Van Geetruy, and Jadesjö, teach the limitations of instant claims 1 and 6, as described above, from which instant claim 7 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 7.
Larose teaches treatment of living plants and agricultural crops by applying dilute aqueous hydrogen peroxide directly to plant tissue. It teaches hydraulic spraying, misting, and fogging and additionally states that dilute hydrogen peroxide may be applied to living plants by spray, mist, fog, or immersion, thereby totally eradicating or substantially reducing pathogens on the plant surfaces (Description of the Preferred Embodiment; claims 1 and 3-6). Larose also reports greenhouse treatment in which fungus gnats were eliminated, probably because their food source had been removed (Example 2), pertinent for instant claim 7’s “sources of nutrients” language.
Christ teaches a crop-production environment in which a hydrogen-peroxide-containing treatment composition is introduced into drip-irrigation water to prevent deposit formation (Background of the invention, p. 1, ll. 13-21). It distinguishes biofilm deposits caused by bacteria/fungi from mineral deposits and teaches a hydrogen-peroxide/HEDP system for preventing both biofilm formation and mineral scale formation in drip irrigation (Detailed description of the Invention; p. 34, ll. 9-11 and p. 5, ll. 1-7). Christ further reports greenhouse cucumber cultivation using peroxide-containing irrigation treatments and identifies deposits principally comprising bacterial/fungal biofilm, while reporting no visible root damage (Example 15). It separately reports greenhouse tomato cultivation with peroxide treatment in drip irrigation and concludes that its treatment prevents biofilm formation and improves plant growth (Example 16).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to apply the modified Madding peroxide antimicrobial composition to agricultural crops by spraying, misting, fogging, or immersion according to the Larose invention because the Larose expressly teaches those modes as effective peroxide-based methods for reducing microorganisms on living plant tissue without material crop injury. It further would have been obvious to use peroxide treatment in the same crop-production environment to control microbial biofilm and deposits because Christ identifies precisely those problems in crop irrigation and demonstrates peroxide-based control.
The motivation to combine arises from the closely aligned problems addressed by the references, antimicrobial treatment and cleaning in agricultural/horticultural environments using hydrogen peroxide while maintaining compatibility with living plants. A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the Larose demonstrates peroxide treatment of living plant tissue and Christ demonstrates peroxide-mediated biofilm/deposit control during greenhouse crop cultivation.
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), and in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), and Boghosian (US3912490A; published 14 October 1975).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang and Van Geetruy, teach the limitations of instant claim 1, as described above, from which instant claims 8 and 15 depend, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claims 8 and 15.
Boghosian teaches a method for oxygenating plant roots, soil, and support media by contacting those materials with an effective amount of hydrogen peroxide (Abstract; claims 1, 4, 7, and 10). Boghosian explains that hydrogen peroxide is suitable because its breakdown products are water and oxygen, leaving no toxic residues, and defines “support media” broadly to include soil, sand, clay, loam, gravel, water, and mixtures thereof (Detailed Description, col. 3, ll. 1-6 and ll. 13-16).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the modified stabilized-peroxide composition of instant claim 1 as the peroxide source in Boghosian’s method because Boghosian specifically seeks delivery/release of oxygen from hydrogen peroxide into a solid or liquid plant-support material, while the modification to Madding is directed toward stabilization/delivery of the same peroxide active. A person of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success because Boghosian experimentally and expressly attributes the oxygenating effect to peroxide and its decomposition into oxygen, while the proposed Madding modification retains hydrogen peroxide rather than replacing it with a chemically unrelated oxygen source.
Regarding claim 15, Boghosian teaches treating soil or other support media adjacent to plant roots with hydrogen peroxide to overcome inadequate aeration and enhance plant growth (Abstract; Summary of the Invention; claims 1, 4, 7, and 10). Boghosian further explains that peroxide breakdown supplies water and oxygen and describes soil/support media as including sand, clay, loam, gravel, water, and mixtures (as detailed above for instant claim 8).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to add the modified stabilized-peroxide composition to soil or growth media to enrich such media for agricultural or horticultural cultivation because Boghosian supplies an express reason to do so as improving aeration/oxygen delivery to the root environment and enhancing plant growth. A reasonable expectation of success is particularly strong because Boghosian directly teaches the same peroxide-mediated oxygenation operation on the same claimed class of material, while the modification of the peroxide composition is directed to stabilization rather than alteration of the oxygen-generating peroxide chemistry.
Regarding instant claim 16, Madding expressly teaches adding its compositions to drinking water to reduce, eliminate, or kill microorganisms (Description, water-treatment discussion). As discussed below with respect to instant claim 8, Boghosian additionally teaches that hydrogen peroxide releases oxygen and identifies water among plant “support media.” Accordingly, after combining the composition of instant claim 1 teachings with the known oxygen-generating property and water-treatment teaching, adding the modified composition to drinking water would have been a suggested application having a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), Jadesjö and Jönsson (EP0845525A2; published 03 June 1998, hereinafter “Jadesjö”), and Bardoneschi et al. (WO2005090542A1; published 29 September 2005, hereinafter “Bardoneschi”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang, Van Geetruy, and Jadesjö, teach the limitations of instant claims 1 and 6, as described above, from which instant claim 11 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 11.
Bardoneschi concerns cleaning and sanitation of equipment used to produce or process dairy products, expressly including milking equipment (Abstract). Example 1 actually soils milking equipment with raw milk and cleans it with Horolith® oxy, an aqueous composition expressly containing hydrogen peroxide. The reference identifies a working cleaning concentration containing approximately 227.5 ppm hydrogen peroxide and reports reduction from approximately 30,000 germs/ml for the water control to 35 germs/ml after cleaning with the peroxide-containing formulation (Example 1).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to employ the modified peroxide/plant-extract composition resulting from the foregoing combination in cleaning equipment, containers, or conduits because Madding already teaches peroxide-containing cleaning/disinfectant compositions for inanimate surfaces, while Bardoneschi establishes that hydrogen-peroxide cleaning of dairy-processing/milking equipment was an operative and effective conventional application. The skilled artisan would reasonably have expected success because the references employ hydrogen peroxide for the same antimicrobial cleaning function on the same general class of hard equipment surfaces.
Claims 1, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), Jadesjö and Jönsson (EP0845525A2; published 03 June 1998, hereinafter “Jadesjö”), and Stevenson (US5101770A; published 07 April 1992).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang, Van Geetruy, and Jadesjö, teach the limitations of instant claims 1 and 6, as described above, from which instant claim 13 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 13.
Stevenson concerns veterinary pre- and post-milking udder hygiene. Stevenson claim 8 recites applying an aqueous solution containing hydrogen peroxide and acetic acid to the udder before milking to decolorize and disinfect the udder. The specification further expressly teaches vigorous spraying of the peroxide solution onto the udder and states that the solution possesses disinfecting properties; the disclosed apparatus includes spray outlets for dispensing the solution (Description of preferred operation; claim 11).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the modified plant-extract/peroxide antimicrobial composition in the same veterinary-hygiene context because Madding independently contemplates animal-care cleaning and application to animal skin, while the Stevenson establishes peroxide spraying onto animal tissue for milking-related disinfection. A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the cited art directly uses peroxide on the same biological substrate for the same disinfecting purpose.
Claims 1, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), and in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), Boghosian (US3912490A; published 14 October 1975), and Bardoneschi et al. (WO2005090542A1; published 29 September 2005, hereinafter “Bardoneschi”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang, Van Geetruy, and Boghosian teach the limitations of instant claims 1 and 8, as described above, from which instant claim 17 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 17. Instant claim 17 depends from claim 8, which recites a method “for adding oxygen to a solid or liquid material,” but claim 17 then states that the “solid or liquid material comprises milking equipment.” Milking equipment is naturally an article or apparatus rather than a “solid or liquid material.” However, under the broad reasonable construction of which the “solid material” encompasses the solid milking equipment itself, and to the extent instant claim 17 is interpreted as reciting application of the composition of instant claim 1 to solid milking equipment, instant claim 17 is rejected as follows.
Bardoneschi concerns cleaning/sanitizing dairy-production equipment, including milking equipment, and Example 1 applies a hydrogen-peroxide-containing cleaning formulation to raw-milk-soiled milking equipment (Abstract and Example 1). Boghosian independently establishes the known oxygen-generating decomposition of peroxide (as described above), while Bardoneschi supplies the claimed milking-equipment substrate. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to apply the modified peroxide composition to such equipment because Madding and Bardoneschi use peroxide-based compositions for antimicrobial cleaning and Bardoneschi demonstrates successful peroxide cleaning of the specific equipment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Madding et al. (WO2020227422A1; published 12 November 2020, hereinafter “Madding”), in view of Yang et al. (Structural Characterization of Nanoparticles Loaded with Garlic Essential Oil and Their Insecticidal Activity against Tribolium castaneum, J. Agric. Food Chem. 57 (2009) 10156-10162; published online 16 October 2009, hereinafter “Yang”), and in further view of Huang et al. (US20110070198A1; published 24 March 2011, hereinafter “Huang”), Van Geetruy et al. (WO2005075350A1; published 18 August 2005, hereinafter “Van Geetruy”), Boghosian (US3912490A; published 14 October 1975), and O’Neill and Kibbel (US3966450A; published 29 June 1976, hereinafter “O’Neill”).
Madding, in view of Yang, in further view of Huang, Van Geetruy, and Boghosian teach the limitations of instant claims 1 and 8, as described above, from which instant claim 18 depends, however do not explicitly teach the specific limitations of instant claim 18.
O’Neill teaches treatment of animal-waste slurry with aqueous hydrogen peroxide. O’Neill states that aqueous hydrogen peroxide and mineral acid may be added to the animal-waste slurry and that the slurry is mixed during treatment (col. 3, ll. 1-10). Most importantly, O’Neill explains that free hydrogen peroxide is preferred because it breaks down into water and oxygen and leaves no foreign residue in the slurry (col. 3, ll. 11-20). Example 1 specifically employs a chicken-manure slurry containing approximately 20% solids, contacts the slurry with hydrogen peroxide, and mechanically mixes the slurry after treatment (col.3, Example 1).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to add the modified stabilized-peroxide composition of claim 1 to organic material such as animal waste or manure because O’Neill expressly teaches hydrogen-peroxide addition to that very class of material and expressly identifies generation of water and oxygen as a consequence and advantage of peroxide use. The proposed modification represents substitution of the stabilized hydrogen-peroxide formulation for a conventional aqueous peroxide formulation in a known peroxide-treatment process while retaining peroxide’s established oxidative and oxygen-generating function (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417-18 (2007); MPEP § 2143). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because O’Neill actually treats manure slurry with peroxide and mixes the treated slurry, while Madding/Huang/Van Geetruy collectively establish operative peroxide-containing and peroxide-stabilized formulations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant Arguments/Remarks of the reply, filed 23 July 2026, have been fully considered.
The applicant argues that the prior objection concerning the definition of “coated particle” in ¶[0048] has been overcome by amending the specification to define the particle as comprising plant extract coated “by complexation” with one or more polyols and by changing the stated particle diameter. The argument is not persuasive.
The originally filed disclosure does not identify an alternative particle-size range, does not report a measured particle diameter in any working example, and does not disclose an analytical method from which a different numerical range could be derived. The working examples instead describe mixing plant extracts with glycerol, sorbitol, polyethylene glycol, or other constituents and thereafter characterize the resulting material as containing coated particles, without providing particle-size measurements.
Further, an amendment correcting an obvious error is permissible only where a person of ordinary skill would recognize both that an error occurred and what the appropriate correction must be. Where multiple plausible corrections are possible, the amendment cannot be supplied from hindsight (see MPEP § 2163). Accordingly, the proposed numerical alteration of ¶[0048] is objected to as introducing new matter under 35 U.S.C. § 132(a) unless the applicant identifies original disclosure from which the particular replacement range would have been immediately and unequivocally apparent to a person of ordinary skill. The unsupported replacement language should be canceled or otherwise corrected using matter demonstrably present in the application as filed.
The specification amendment further characterizes the coating as being formed “by complexation.” The applicant argues that this resolves the prior uncertainty concerning the nature of the coating. The originally filed disclosure does support mixing plant extracts with non-toxic alcohols, including polyols, and repeatedly refers to the resulting material as containing coated particles. However, the original disclosure does not clearly identify the interaction between the plant-extract material and the polyol coating as “complexation.” The disclosure separately refers to bonding and, when discussing the Huang prior art, to an oxidizing molecular complex. Those passages do not necessarily disclose that the applicant’s own plant-extract/polyol coating is a molecular complex. Accordingly, the applicant should identify the precise originally filed disclosure relied upon for “by complexation.” In the absence of such support, that addition is likewise objected to as new matter under 35 U.S.C. § 132(a).
The applicant also amended ¶[0045] to state that the invention may alternatively be characterized as a “solution, a composition, a molecular complex, or a particle-containing system” and contends that this reconciles the previously inconsistent characterizations. The amendment does not fully resolve the objection. Merely identifying several alternative structural characterizations does not explain how a homogeneous solution, a molecular complex, and a discrete particle having a coating are to be distinguished from one another. This distinction is particularly material because amended claim 1 affirmatively requires a coated particle, not merely a solution containing plant extract, polyol, and hydrogen peroxide. The applicant should therefore revise the specification to state clearly what constitutes the claimed coated particle and, to the extent a “molecular complex” is asserted to be an embodiment of the applicant’s invention, identify original support for that characterization.
Regarding the indefiniteness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) for requiring the “coated particle” of claim 1, the applicant has improved claim 1 by identifying material associated with the particle (i.e., one or more specified antimicrobial plant extracts), and material associated with the coating (i.e., one or more non-toxic alcohols). That amendment addresses part of the prior rejection. It does not, however, establish reasonably certain boundaries for determining when those materials constitute a coated particle rather than a solution, dispersion, molecular association, adsorbed mixture, aggregate, or other combination of plant extract and alcohol.
The specification as originally filed describes preparation by mixing the plant extract and alcohol/polyol and thereafter identifies “coated particles,” but supplies no particle-size measurement, microscopy, spectroscopy, isolation procedure, coating-thickness parameter, degree-of-coverage requirement, or other objective analytical criterion by which the existence of the claimed coating may be determined. The proposed specification amendment further compounds this ambiguity by suggesting that the same system may alternatively be a solution, a molecular complex, or a particle-containing system.
Under MPEP § 2173, claim language must provide objective boundaries sufficient for a person of ordinary skill to determine the scope of the claim with reasonable certainty. The applicant’s response that claim 1 now identifies the “particle” and “coating” materials therefore does not fully address the rejection. It identifies what materials are present, but not the criterion that distinguishes a claimed coated particle from those same materials merely mixed or dissolved together.
In addition, claim 1 is also indefinite in its recitation of “one or more non-toxic alcohols.” “Toxicity” varies with concentration, dose, route of administration, duration of exposure, and the organism or substrate exposed. That problem is especially material here because the dependent claims encompass crops, drinking water, human skin, veterinary applications, and internal administration to a living being. The claim provides no toxicity endpoint, exposure condition, concentration, test method, or regulatory standard by which an alcohol is determined to be “non-toxic.” Additional 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections are outlined above.
The applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 concerning amended claim 1 are persuasive to the extent that the prior anticipation rejection cannot be maintained on the reasoning previously stated. Amended claim 1 now affirmatively requires that the coated particle comprise one or more of the specified antimicrobial plant extracts, and the particle have a coating comprising one or more non-toxic alcohols.
Huang teaches hydrogen peroxide associated with polyphenol-containing plant material by noncovalent interactions, charge attraction, and physical sequestration, and teaches structures in which peroxide may be stabilized in proximity to polyphenolic material. Huang also discusses ethanol in connection with extraction procedures. Those disclosures do not, however, establish that Huang’s plant-extract particle itself necessarily possesses a coating comprising a non-toxic alcohol. Accordingly, the prior rejection of claim 1, and of claims 6-9 through dependency from claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) over Huang is withdrawn.
The applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are also persuasive that the previously stated § 103 rejections cannot simply be maintained unchanged after amendment of claim 1. Although the preceding rejection is not maintained as previously stated, several of the applicant’s broader arguments are not persuasive as independent reasons for patentability of claim 1. The applicant repeatedly argues that, in its process the “biopolymer is first coated”; the coated material thereafter reacts with hydrogen peroxide; the coating causes the biopolymer to lose reactivity toward hydrogen peroxide; reactive oxygen species bind to the coated biopolymer; free radicals therefore do not exert an oxidizing effect; and a particular long-duration peroxide stabilization mechanism results.
Claim 1 is a composition claim. It does not recite the order in which the plant extract, alcohol, and hydrogen peroxide are combined; does not require that the plant material “lose reactivity”; does not recite binding of reactive oxygen species; does not require absence of an oxidizing reaction; and does not recite a quantified two-year or five-year stability threshold. Those unclaimed process steps and mechanistic propositions therefore cannot by themselves distinguish every composition that satisfies the actual limitations of claim 1. Claim 5, in contrast, contains an order-of-addition limitation and must be evaluated on the language actually recited in that method claim.
The applicant relies upon the examples as allegedly showing stability for at least two years and additionally states that presently retained samples are more than five years old, having changed from 49.8% hydrogen peroxide initially to 48.2% hydrogen peroxide. The applicant further contrasts those results with an asserted 1-2% annual decrease for industrial hydrogen peroxide. The evidence and argument have been considered.
The two-year results contained in the originally filed specification may be considered to the extent relevant to the claimed subject matter. The additional assertion concerning presently existing five-year samples, however, appears in the applicant’s argument in the response rather than as properly authenticated evidentiary material establishing test conditions, analytical methods, sample composition, storage conditions, controls, repeat measurements, or statistical reliability. Attorney/applicant argument cannot substitute for evidence where objective experimental facts are relied upon to establish unexpected results (see In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705 (Fed. Cir. 1984)). No declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 or other objective evidence has been filed. Moreover, the claims do not require any particular stability duration. Further, objective evidence of unexpected results must have an adequate nexus to the claimed invention and be reasonably commensurate in scope with the claims (see MPEP § 716).
Claim 1 broadly encompasses one or more extracts drawn from multiple identified plant groupings and one or more “non-toxic alcohols,” without limiting concentration, coating amount, particle size, storage conditions, or a minimum degree or duration of peroxide stabilization. The specific working examples therefore do not, on the present record, establish that substantially the full scope of claim 1 exhibits the asserted magnitude of long-term stability. Should the applicant intend to rely upon the later five-year data as objective evidence of nonobviousness, the applicant should present competent evidence addressing the relevant formulation, testing methodology, comparative control or closest prior-art composition, and nexus to the breadth of the claims.
The applicant also relies upon the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority, which reportedly concluded that the then-pending PCT claims were novel and involved an inventive step over Huang because the plant extract had a coating. This argument is not persuasive. The ISA determination has been considered and is relevant to the prosecution history. It is not, however, binding upon the United States Patent and Trademark Office during substantive examination of the U.S. national-stage application. Written opinions and international preliminary examination conclusions are non-binding on elected or designated Offices. Moreover, the present U.S. claims and specification amendments must independently satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 103, § 112, and § 132 under U.S. examination standards. The ISA opinion therefore does not overcome the new-matter, definiteness, dependent-claim, or written-description issues identified above.
The applicant argues generally that claims 10-18 are patentable because they depend directly or indirectly from allegedly patentable claim 1 and add additional fields of use. That argument is not sufficient to establish allowability. A dependent claim incorporates the limitations of its parent and therefore claims 10-18 remain subject to the unresolved § 112(b) rejection arising from the “coated particle” terminology of claim 1. Several newly added claims additionally present the dependency and written-description defects set forth above. The fact that a claim recites a more specific end use does not itself establish patentability. Patentability must be determined from all limitations of each claim and the pertinent prior art after the claim scope has been made definite. No determination that claims 10-18 are allowable is therefore warranted on the present record.
Accordingly, the applicant’s request for allowance of claims 1 and 3-18 is denied. The application is not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RL Scotland/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615