DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15, 19-29, 31, 35-39, 41 and 43-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feinberg et al. U.S. PGPub 2019/0272468 (hereinafter “Feinberg”).
Regarding claims 1 and 46, Feinberg discloses a method comprising providing one or more associated biopolymer sequences (e.g. proteins) to conform to a reference structure, the reference structure comprising a target complex (e.g. ¶44, 88 and 93), the associated biopolymer sequences obtainable by a method comprising: embedding a graph representation (e.g. graph) using a neural network, the graph representation featurized from the reference structure and comprising a topology of a biopolymer (e.g. protein) with monomers as nodes and interactions between monomers (e.g. atom) as edges (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88); processing the graph representation with a graph neural network or equivariant neural network that iteratively updates node and edge embeddings with a learned parametric function (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88); converting the embedded graph representation to an energy landscape using a decoder (e.g. ¶23-26 and 139-142); and obtaining one or more associated biopolymer sequences (e.g. set of conformations of the set of molecules) from the energy landscape (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 2, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the energy landscape is a conditional generative model for sequences (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 3, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the energy landscape is a conditional random field representing the target complex and the one or more associated biopolymer sequences (e.g. ¶81 and 145).
Regarding claim 4, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the one or more associated biopolymer sequences from the energy landscape employs a maximum likelihood method (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 5, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the one or more associated biopolymer sequences from the energy landscape employs an energy minimization process (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 6, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the energy minimization process employs a Monte Carlo simulation, simulated annealing, integer-linear programming, genetic process, variational inference, or continuous relaxation based optimization (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 7, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the decoder is a generative model or a conditional generative model selected from at least one of the following: a site-independent model predicting marginal probability of each possible monomer at each position, a conditional random field layer, or Potts model, with pairwise couplings between monomers (e.g. ¶81 and 145), an energy-based model with at least one of higher order interactions and a neural network parameterization, an autoregressively factorized language model, a continuous latent variable model, a discrete latent variable model, and an implicit generative model (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 8, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the decoder is structured as a conditional random field (e.g. ¶81 and 145).
Regarding claim 9, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the conditional random field is parameterized by a first term and a second term, the first term representing a monomer bias at each position in the reference structure and the second term representing interdependencies between monomers in the reference structure (e.g. ¶81 and 145).
Regarding claim 11, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target complex comprises the biopolymer (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 12, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target complex comprises a molecule that is not a biopolymer (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 13, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target complex is a complex comprising two or more reference biopolymer sequences (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 14, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 13, wherein obtaining the one or more associated biopolymer sequences from the energy landscape further includes obtaining a given associated biopolymer sequences relating to binding the target complex comprising the two or more reference biopolymer sequences (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 15, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the topology comprises a representation of one or more of bond lengths, bond angles, dihedral angles, scalar lengths and angles as vectorial values through radial basis functions, angular embeddings, and at least one categorical discretization (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 19, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the edges comprise one or more of: primary sequence distance between monomers, wherein pairs of monomers are in a same or different polymers in the reference structure, interatomic distances between monomers, relative orientations of atoms at a first monomer i and atoms at a second monomer j, and raw Cartesian displacements between atoms at the first monomer i and the second monomer j (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 20, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a full chain design for the one or more associated biopolymer sequences to conform to the reference structure, the reference structure including at least one of a structure formed by naturally occurring sequences, structures formed by an in silico generated sequence, and structures generated in silico unassociated with a sequence (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 21, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a design of interfacial monomers of the one or more associated biopolymer sequences to conform to the reference structure (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 22, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a design of surface monomers of the one or more associated biopolymer sequences to conform to the reference structure (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 23, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing the one or more associated biopolymer sequences to conform to the reference structure using a limited set of monomers (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 24, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reference structure comprises a backbone of the biopolymer (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 25, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the backbone omits at least one side chain of the biopolymer (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 26, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: concurrently or sequentially altering the one or more associated biopolymer sequences to modulate one or more biophysical properties or pharmacodynamic properties of the one or more associated biopolymer sequences, the one or more biophysical properties or pharmacodynamic properties selected from: isoelectric point, weight, hydrophobicity, melting temperature, stability, K.sub.on, K.sub.off, or K.sub.d, half-life, enzymatic function, aggregation, and functional activity (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 27, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more associated biopolymer sequences is a polypeptide (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 28, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the polypeptide comprises one or more non-canonical amino acids (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 29, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the polypeptide comprises one or more D-amino acids (e.g. ¶131 and 134).
Regarding claim 31, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the polypeptide is a ligand or receptor, and the reference structure is a ligand-receptor complex (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 35, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: training on the target complex, wherein the target complex involves multiple chains (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 36, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more associated biopolymer sequences are proteins and the energy landscape is a conditional random field (e.g. ¶81 and 145).
Regarding claim 37, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the edges are initialized using edge features based on geometric and structural relationships between the biopolymer (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88).
Regarding claim 38, Feinberg discloses a method comprising providing one or more associated biopolymer sequences to conform to a reference structure, the reference structure comprising a target complex (e.g. ¶44, 88 and 93), the associated biopolymer sequences obtainable by a method comprising: obtaining a first biopolymer sequence from an energy landscape, the energy landscape generated based on a graph representation embedded using a neural network, the graph representation featurized from the reference structure and comprising a topology of biopolymer sequences as nodes and interactions between monomers as edges (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88); and generating one or more additional biopolymer sequences using the energy landscape, free of using the graph representation (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 39, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 38, further comprising synthesizing the one or more additional biopolymer sequences (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 41, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 38, further comprising producing one or more of the additional biopolymer sequences (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 43, Feinberg discloses the method of claim 38, further comprising administering to a subject in need a particular biopolymer sequence, the particular biopolymer sequence being a given biopolymer sequence from amongst the first biopolymer sequence obtained and the one or more additional biopolymer sequences generated (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153).
Regarding claim 47, Feinberg discloses the biopolymer sequence of claim 46, wherein the biopolymer sequence is at least one of: a polypeptide (e.g. ¶44-46, 54-55, 64 and 85-88) and an antibody.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg as applied to claims above, and further in view of Steemers et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0102194 (hereinafter “Steemers”).
Regarding claim 16, Feinberg does not explicitly disclose the topology being based on k-nearest neighbors.
Steemers discloses a topology based on k-nearest neighbors, wherein k is about: 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 (e.g. ¶487 and 499).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use k-nearest neighbor approach to model a topology. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since it is a way to analyze data and produce a graph.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Feinberg with Steemers to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Claim(s) 40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg as applied to claims above, and further in view of Wei et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0027862 (hereinafter “Wei”).
Regarding claim 40, Feinberg discloses a method further comprising contacting the one or more additional biopolymer sequences with an analyte (e.g. ¶27, 81, 91, 110, 117, 131, 145-146, 150 and 153), but does not explicitly disclose the analyte is a biological fluid. Regarding claim 42, Feinberg does not disclose a method wherein the produced one or more of the additional biopolymer sequences is an antibody.
Wei discloses analyte being a biological fluid (e.g. ¶239). Wei discloses additional biopolymer sequences being an antibody (e.g. ¶112).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to produce antibodies with biological fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since antibodies have desirable the properties of fighting pathogens or toxins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Feinberg with Wei to obtain the invention as specified in claims 40 and 42.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 17, 18, 30 and 32-34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not disclose a method, wherein the one or more associated biopolymer sequence is a protein and the conditional random field is characterized by the formula wherein s refers to monomer identity at position i, X refers to an entire backbone structure of the reference structure, h.sub.i[s.sub.i; X] refers to a bias term for monomer type s.sub.i at position i that is output by the network given X, and J.sub.ij[s.sub.i,s.sub.j; X] refers to a coupling term between monomer type s.sub.i at position i and monomer type s.sub.j at position j.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record does not disclose a method, wherein the topology is based on monomer centroid distance of about: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, or 20 angstroms.
Regarding claim 30, the prior art of record does not disclose a method wherein the polypeptide is an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and the reference structure is an antibody-antigen complex.
Regarding claim 32, the prior art of record does not disclose a wherein the polypeptide is an enzyme or substrate, and the reference structure is an enzyme-substrate complex.
Regarding claim 33, the prior art of record does not disclose a wherein the method can provide one or more n-mer biopolymer sequences in under 3 seconds, wherein n is greater than 500.
Regarding claim 34, the prior art of record does not disclose a wherein the one or more associated biopolymer sequences is a protein and wherein the model neural network was trained: using an ensemble of 1000, 2000, 3000, 5000, 10000, 50000, 100000, 500000, or 1000000 more protein structures, e.g., some (e.g., 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 95%) or substantially all of the structures from the Protein Data Bank (PDB).
Conclusion
CK
October 16, 2026
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116