Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-- “an acquiring section configured to acquire, …”, “an updating section
configured to … specify actions”, “a generating section configured to, …generate sentences”, in claim 1;
-- “a training section configured to train …”, in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, (US-PGPUB 20210118447) in view of Wallace (US-Patent 10,480,990)
In regards to claim 1, Kim et al discloses a description generation device, (see
at least: Fig. 1, Par. 0057, “AI device (or an AI apparatus) 100”), comprising:
an acquiring section configured to acquire, for a task including a plurality of steps,
an updating section configured to, based on the video characteristic amounts of the respective videos of each of the steps, specify actions with respect to materials that are included in the videos of each of the steps,
a generating section configured to, based on learning processor 130 may provide the cooking content image 604, “i.e., video characteristic amounts”, to the text recognition model 605 as input data to generate the image description text 606 as output data, “i.e., generate sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps”; and from Par. 0174, if the text … is Trim oyster mushrooms,” the text recognition model may output the image description text 803 “Trim oyster mushrooms”, [i.e., based on the specified actions, “Trim oyster mushrooms”, and the video characteristic amounts, “based on the video characteristic amounts”, generate sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps, “generate the image description text 606 as output data”]).
Kim et al does not expressly disclose acquiring material characteristic amounts expressing respective materials used in the task, and updating the material characteristic amounts of specified materials in accordance with specified actions; and generating, based on the updated material characteristic amounts, sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps.
Wallace discloses acquiring material characteristic amounts expressing respective materials used in the task, (see at least: col. 4, lines 9-11, implicit by displaying the recipe or one or more ingredients such that the desired amount of information is visible on a display field at the same time);
updating the material characteristic amounts of specified materials in accordance with specified actions, (see at least: col. 2, line 53 through col. 3, line 2, implicit by adjustment to the amount of the ingredient, “updating the material characteristic amounts of specified materials”, through preselecting an adjusted amount or adding less or more, “specified actions”, than the targeted amount of the ingredient as predetermined in the recipe); and
generating, based on the updated material characteristic amounts, sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps, (see at least: col. 11, lines 56-64, performing adjustments to ingredients including highlighting each recipe ingredient block 112. Such highlighting can include textual, visual, audio, video or other notification of operations being performed regarding that recipe ingredient block, [i.e., generating sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps, “implicit by highlighting including textual notification”, based on the updated material characteristic amounts, “implicitly based on the adjustments to ingredients”]).
Kim and Wallace are combinable because they are both concerned with cooking recipe description. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim, to use textual notification, as though by Wallace, in order to highlight the adjustments to ingredients, (Wallace, col. 11, lines 56-64).
In regards to claim 2, the combine teaching Kim and Wallace as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Wallace further discloses wherein the updating section is configured to use, as the material characteristic amounts that are targets of updating, material characteristic amounts that have been updated with respect to a video of a previous step, in chronological order of the steps in the task, (see at least: col. 2, line 53 through col. 3, line 2, implicit by adjustment to the amount of the ingredient. Furthermore, the chronological order of the steps in the task, is well known in the art).
In regards to claim 3, the combine teaching Kim and Wallace as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Wallace further discloses wherein the updating section is configured to carry out at least one of addition, deletion or merging of material characteristic amounts with respect to the updated material characteristic amounts, (col. 3, lines 1-2, implicit by adding less or more, “at least one of addition”, than the targeted amount of the ingredient as predetermined in the recipe).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. As such, claim 9 is rejected for at least similar rational.
The Examiner further acknowledged the following additional limitation(s): “description generation method executed by a computer”. However, Kim discloses the “description generation method executed by a computer”, (see at least: Fig. 4, and Par. 0011, “method”).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. As such, claim 10 is rejected for at least similar rational.
The Examiner further acknowledged the following additional limitation(s): “a non-transitory storage medium storing a description generation program that is executable by a computer”. However, discloses the “non-transitory storage medium storing a description generation program that is executable by a computer”, (see at least: Par. 0211, “computer-readable recording medium“).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, and Wallace, as applied to claim 1; and further in view of Goldberg (US-PGPUB 20200167722)
In regards to claim 4, the combine teaching Kim and Wallace as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Wallace further discloses that the updating section is configured to specify actions from video characteristic amounts, (see at least: col. 4, lines 7-9, implicit by presenting a recipe or one or more ingredients to a user via one or more formats that include text, video, graphics, audio, and text).
In the other hand, Kim discloses that the generating section is configured to generate the sentences by using a second model that has been trained in advance so as to generate sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps, based on material characteristic amounts, actions and video characteristic amounts, (see at least: Abstract, and Par. 0013, implicit by using an artificial intelligence apparatus including a learning processor configured to generate recipe text including at least one of cooking ingredient information or description text of cooking from cooking content).
The combine teaching Kim and Wallace as whole does not expressly disclose updating the material characteristic amounts by using a first model that has been trained in advance so as to update the material characteristic amounts based on of specified actions.
However, Goldberg discloses updating the material characteristic amounts by using a first model that has been trained in advance so as to update the material characteristic amounts based on of specified actions, (see at least: Par. 0114, 0118, the machine learning system 106 may receive further training using updated historical ingredient use information 402 …. and predicts future supply need of one or more ingredients 202, [i.e., updating the material characteristic amounts, “future supply need of one or more ingredients”, by using a first model, “machine learning system 106”, that has been trained in advance, “trained using updated historical ingredient”, so as to update the material characteristic amounts based on of specified actions, “implicit by predicting future supply need of one or more ingredients 202”]).
Kim, Wallace, and Goldberg are combinable because they are all concerned with cooking recipe description. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combine teaching Kim and Wallace, to apply the machine learning system 106, as though by Goldberg, in order to predict the future supply need of one or more ingredients 202, (Par. 0114)
In regards to claim 5, the combine teaching Kim, Wallace, and Goldberg as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Kim further discloses a training section configured to train the second model by using, as training data, a material list and videos for each of the steps, and sentences of correct answers that correspond to the material list and the videos for each of the steps, (see at least: Par. 0145-0148, implicit by providing cooking content including video and audio of cooking process, to a recipe text generation model and generate recipe text),
Further, in the other hand, Goldberg discloses training the first model using, as training data, material list and videos for each of the steps, and sentences of correct answers that correspond to the material list and the videos for each of the steps, (see at least: Par. 0114, 0118, the machine learning system 106 may receive further training using updated historical ingredient use information 402 …. and predicts future supply need of one or more ingredients 202).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 6, the combine teaching Kim, Wallace, and Goldberg as whole discloses the underlined limitations of claim 1.
“wherein the training section is configured to train the first model and the second model so as to minimize a total loss that includes a first loss, which is based on comparison of sentences generated by the generating section and the sentences of the correct answers, and a second loss, which is based on comparison of the actions and the material characteristic amounts specified at the updating section, and actions and materials of correct answers included in the videos for each of the steps”
Kim et al (US-PGPUB 20210118447) discloses a description generation device, (see at least: Fig. 1, Par. 0057, “AI device (or an AI apparatus) 100”), comprising:
an acquiring section configured to acquire, for a task including a plurality of steps, video characteristic amounts extracted from respective videos of each of the steps that capture the task, (see at least: Par. 0181-0183, the recipe information may include … description of steps of a cooking process, [i.e., a task, “cooking process”, including a plurality of steps, “implicit by description of steps of a cooking process”]. Further, from Par. 0162, If the cooking content is a cooking video explaining a food recipe, the image 701 in the cooking content may be a frame-by-frame image in the cooking image, [i.e., acquiring video characteristic amounts, “implicit by the cooking content”, extracted from respective videos, “cooking videos”, of each of the steps that capture the task, including a plurality of steps “implicit by the cooking video explaining a food recipe for the cooking process”]);
an updating section configured to, based on the video characteristic amounts of the respective videos of each of the steps, specify actions with respect to materials that are included in the videos of each of the steps, (see at least: Par. 0185, when the word “egg” about the cooking ingredient in the description text is included in cooking ingredient information, the processor 180 may determine the description text “Boil an egg” as recipe information of cooking, [i.e., based on the video characteristic amounts of the respective videos of each of the steps, “when word egg is included in the cooking content”, specify actions with respect to materials that are included in the videos of each of the steps, “determining that the text “Boil an egg” as recipe information of cooking”]); and
a generating section configured to, based on the specified actions and the video characteristic amounts, generate sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps, (see at least: Par. 0170-0173, the learning processor 130 may provide the cooking content image 604, “i.e., video characteristic amounts”, to the text recognition model 605 as input data to generate the image description text 606 as output data, “i.e., generate sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps”; and from Par. 0174, if the text … is Trim oyster mushrooms,” the text recognition model may output the image description text 803 “Trim oyster mushrooms”, [i.e., based on the specified actions, “Trim oyster mushrooms”, and the video characteristic amounts, “based on the video characteristic amounts”, generate sentences describing procedures of the task for each of the steps, “generate the image description text 606 as output data”]).
Kim et al further discloses the artificial neural network, which may be used to determine the model parameters that minimize a loss function, which the loss function may be used as an index to determine optimal model parameters in the learning process of the artificial neural network, (Par. 0039).
However, while disclosing using the artificial neural network to determine the model parameters that minimize a loss function; Kim et al fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, training the first model and the second model so as to minimize a total loss that includes a first loss, which is based on comparison of sentences generated by the generating section and the sentences of the correct answers, and a second loss, which is based on comparison of the actions and the material characteristic amounts specified at the updating section, and actions and materials of correct answers included in the videos for each of the steps”
A further prior art of record, Peters et al, (US-PGPUB 20210086753) discloses training the first model and the second model so as to minimize a total loss, (see at least: Fig. 7, and Par. 0075, first model portion 404 and the second model portion 410 may be trained by reducing, for example minimizing, the total loss value 614); but fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, that the total loss includes a first loss, which is based on comparison of sentences generated by the generating section and the sentences of the correct answers, and a second loss, which is based on comparison of the actions and the material characteristic amounts specified at the updating section, and actions and materials of correct answers included in the videos for each of the steps”.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, claims 7 and 8 are in condition for allowance based at least on their dependency from claim 6.
Contact Information
/AMARA ABDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668 02/07/2026