DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 151 and 153 appear in the drawings but are not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the damper coupling portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because the dependency chain of claim 13 does not include claim 2, where “damper coupling portion” is introduced.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the adjacent lubricant flow paths" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because the dependency chain of claim 16 does not include claim 10, where a plurality of lubricant flow paths is introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1) and further in view of Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a pedal simulator (10) comprising:
a cylinder body (11) having a groove (internal space for receiving the simulator components) so that one side thereof is opened, and the other side thereof is closed (via stopper 19 at least);
a piston (13) inserted in one side of the cylinder body (11) and configured to be movable forward and rearward in conjunction with an operation of a pedal (first piston 13 linearly moved by operating rod 12 according to a stroke of the brake pedal);
a damper (first damper 16) provided in the cylinder body (11) and configured to transfer pedal feel to an electric booster by means of a pressure applied from the piston (first piston 13, first spring 14, first damper 16, and second spring 18 configured to generate pedal reaction force/pedal feel in an electric booster context);
a push rod (12) having one side connected to the pedal, and the other side connected to the piston (operating rod 12 moved according to a stroke of the brake pedal and configured to press first piston 13), the push rod being configured to move the piston forward toward the damper in conjunction with the operation of the pedal (operating rod 12 configured to move first piston 13 forward in conjunction with operation of the pedal).
Kim does not expressly disclose a guide bushing provided at one side of the cylinder body and configured to reduce friction between the cylinder body and the piston and a return means provided while covering one side of the guide bushing and a part of the push rod and configured to provide a restoring force for moving rearward the push rod that has moved forward.
Giering teaches a known low-friction guide sleeve/ring arrangement for guiding a linearly movable brake-system input/transmission member (guide sleeve 54 and guide ring 56, wherein the guide ring may be coated with PTFE/friction-reducing material to provide low-friction linear guidance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedal simulator of Kim to include the low-friction guide sleeve/ring arrangement taught by Giering because Giering teaches that such an arrangement provides secure, reliable, low-friction linear guidance of a linearly movable brake-system input/transmission member.
Kim does not expressly disclose a return means provided while covering one side of the guide bushing and a part of the push rod and configured to provide a restoring force for moving rearward the push rod that has moved forward.
Cretu teaches a known dust cap/spring return arrangement around a pedal coupling rod in a brake-by-wire pedal-feeling simulator (pedal coupling rod 16, dust cap 112 surrounding portions of the pedal coupling rod and spring and connected to housing 125, outer steel spring 113 holding the pedal in a starting position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedal simulator of Kim, as modified by Giering, to include the dust cap and spring return arrangement taught by Cretu at the guide-bushing side of the cylinder body, such that the dust cap surrounds/covers the guide-bushing-side portion of the push rod and spring-return region, because Cretu teaches, in a brake-by-wire pedal-feeling simulator, surrounding portions of a pedal coupling rod and spring with a dust cap connected to a housing and using springs to hold or return the pedal to a starting position, thereby protecting the moving rod/spring area and providing reliable return of the pedal/input member after actuation.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1) and further in view of Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and Kwon et al. (CN 204077634 U).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 1.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the cylinder body comprises a damper coupling portion protruding from a position spaced apart from the other side of the cylinder body by a preset distance toward one side of the cylinder body, the damper coupling portion being formed so that the damper is coupled to the damper coupling portion.
Kwon teaches a pedal simulator (300) including a cylinder body (cylinder shell 401) and a damper-coupling structure arranged in the pedal simulator (piston limiter 310 including protrusion 311 and placement portion 312), wherein the damper coupling portion (piston limiter 310/protrusion 311/placement portion 312) is formed so that the damper (elastic shock absorber 330) is coupled to the damper coupling portion (protrusion 311 inserted into through hole 331 of elastic shock absorber 330, and placement portion 312 placing/supporting elastic shock absorber 330).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedal simulator of Kim to include the damper-coupling structure taught by Kwon because Kwon teaches using the piston limiter, protrusion, and placement portion to position, couple, and place the elastic shock absorber in the pedal simulator.
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 2.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the damper coupling portion comprises a damper coupling groove formed concavely in one surface thereof so that the damper is inserted and coupled into the damper coupling groove.
Kwon teaches wherein the damper coupling portion (placement portion 312 of piston limiter 310) comprises a damper coupling groove (placement groove 411) formed concavely in one surface thereof so that the damper (330) is inserted and coupled into the damper coupling groove (elastic shock absorber 330 received/placed in placement groove 411).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified pedal simulator with the placement groove taught by Kwon because Kwon teaches that placement groove 411 receives/places elastic shock absorber 330 in the piston limiter/damper coupling structure, thereby providing a predictable way to seat, position, and retain the damper in the pedal simulator during pedal operation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1), Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and further in view of Weh et al. (US 20220363231 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 1,
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the guide bushing comprises a bushing body having a hollow portion formed in a longitudinal direction so that the piston is penetratively inserted in the hollow portion.
Weh teaches wherein the guide bushing (guide bushing 5) comprises a bushing body having a hollow portion formed in a longitudinal direction (guide bushing 5 arranged in power cylinder borehole 3 and extending along the movement direction of power piston 4) so that the piston is penetratively inserted in the hollow portion (guide bushing 5 enclosing/radially guiding power piston 4; power piston 4 exclusively radially guided in guide bushing 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedal simulator of Kim to include the guide bushing structure taught by Weh because Weh teaches using guide bushing 5 to radially guide power piston 4 in power cylinder borehole 3, thereby improving radial guidance, reducing friction and wear, and providing smooth linear piston movement.
Claims 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1), Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and further in view of Weh et al. (US 20220363231 A1) and Matsuura et al. (US 20060123630 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 8.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the guide bushing comprises a lubricant flow path formed concavely in an inner peripheral surface of the bushing body by a preset length in a longitudinal direction of the bushing body from a position spaced apart from the other side of the bushing body by a preset distance toward one side of the bushing body so that the lubricant flow path stores a lubricant.
Matsuura teaches wherein the guide bushing comprises a lubricant flow path formed concavely in an inner peripheral surface of the bushing body by a preset length in a longitudinal direction of the bushing body from a position spaced apart from the other side of the bushing body by a preset distance toward one side of the bushing body so that the lubricant flow path stores a lubricant (hollow cylinder 2 having blind grooves 4 formed in inner circumferential surface 3, the blind grooves 4 extending parallel to the axial direction of hollow cylinder 3 and serving as reservoirs for lubricating oil).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide bushing structure of Kim to include the lubricant flow path taught by Matsuura because Matsuura teaches using blind grooves 4 as lubricant reservoirs to maintain lubrication and reduce friction and wear during sliding movement.
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 9.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the lubricant flow path is provided as a plurality of lubricant flow paths spaced apart from one another by a preset angle in a circumferential direction of the bushing body.
Matsuura teaches wherein the lubricant flow path is provided as a plurality of lubricant flow paths spaced apart from one another by a preset angle in a circumferential direction of the bushing body (plurality of blind grooves 4 formed in inner circumferential surface 3 of hollow cylinder 2 and distributed around the inner circumferential surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of lubricant flow paths as taught by Matsuura because Matsuura teaches plural blind grooves 4 on the inner circumferential surface 3 of hollow cylinder 2, thereby distributing lubricant around the inner circumference and improving lubrication coverage during sliding movement.
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 9.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the return means comprises:
a first elastic member connected to one side of the guide bushing while covering the push rod and configured to move the push rod rearward by an elastic force; and
a boot coupled to one side of the guide bushing while covering the first elastic member and configured to be contracted and expanded by the forward and rearward movements of the piston.
Cretu teaches a return spring and dust cap/boot arrangement around a pedal coupling rod in a brake -by-wire pedal feeling simulator, wherein the first elastic member (outer steel spring 113 and/or simulator steel spring 122) is provided while covering the push rod (pedal coupling rod 16) and configured to move the push rod rearward by an elastic force (outer steel spring 113 holding the pedal in a starting position), which would have been arranged at one side of the guide bushing in the modified pedal simulator.
Cretu further teaches a boot provided while covering the first elastic member and the push rod region (dust cap 112 surrounding portions of pedal coupling rod 16 and the spring area) and arranged to accommodate movement of the pedal coupling rod/spring region (dust cap 112 surrounding the movable pedal coupling rod/spring region and connected to housing 125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the return spring and dust cap/boot arrangement taught by Cretu to the guide-bushing/open-side region of the modified Kim device because Cretu teaches using a dust cap to surround and protect the movable pedal coupling rod/spring region While accommodating movement of the input rod/spring assembly, and the guide bushing in the modified Kim device provides a fixed support/guiding structure at the open side through which the push rod/piston moves.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1), Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and further in view of Weh et al. (US 20220363231 A1), Matsuura et al. (US 20060123630 A1) and Kim et al. (KR 100466658 B1; hereinafter “Kim ‘658”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 10.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the guide bushing further comprises a bushing flange protruding from an outer peripheral surface of the bushing body at a position spaced apart from one side of the bushing body by a preset distance toward the other side of the bushing body, the bushing flange extending in a circumferential direction of the bushing body.
Kim ‘658 teaches wherein the guide bushing (guide bush 82) further comprises a bushing flange (flange portion 82c) protruding from an outer peripheral surface of the bushing body (flange portion 82c extending radially from coupling portion 82a of guide bush 82) at a position spaced apart from one side of the bushing body by a preset distance toward the other side of the bushing body (flange portion 82c located at one axial position along guide bush 82, spaced from the opposite axial end of guide bush 82, and contacting the bottom surface of recess 16), the bushing flange extending in a circumferential direction of the bushing body (flange portion 82c extending radially outward around guide bush 82/guide hole 82b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide bushing structure of Kim to include the flange portion taught by Kim ‘658 because Kim ‘658 teaches using flange portion 82c on guide bush 82 to position/support the guide bush relative recess 16 while guide bush 82 guides forward and rearward movement of output shaft 50, thereby providing a predictable way to retain and support a guide bushing and prevent eccentric movement of a guided shaft.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1), Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and further in view of Weh et al. (US 20220363231 A1), Matsuura et al. (US 20060123630 A1) and Kwon et al. (CN 204077634 U).
For purposes of examination, “the damper coupling portion” is interpreted as referring to the damper coupling portion recited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 12.
Kim does not expressly disclose, wherein the return means further comprises a second elastic member configured to cover the damper and having one side connected to the damper coupling portion, and the other side connected to the piston, the second elastic member being provided in the cylinder body and configured to move the piston rearward by an elastic force.
Kwon teaches a second elastic member arranged inside a pedal simulator cylinder body (340-2 provided inside cylinder shell 401) while covering the damper (second elastic member 340-2 provided around elastic shock absorber 330), having one side connected to the damper coupling portion (second elastic member 340-2 contacting/supporting piston limiter 310/placement portion 312) and the other side connected to the piston (second elastic member 340-2 contacting/supporting brake cylinder piston 360), and configured to move rearward the piston that has moved forward by the elastic force (340-2 arranged between brake cylinder piston 360 and piston limiter 310/placement portion 312 to provide elastic/reaction force to the brake cylinder piston after forward movement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedal simulator of Kim to include the second elastic member arrangement taught by Kwon because Kwon teaches arranging second elastic member 340-2 around elastic shock absorber 330 and between brake cylinder 360 and piston limiter 310/placement portion 312 to provide elastic/reaction force in the pedal simulator.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1), Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and further in view of Kwon et al. (CN 204077634 U) and Wang et al. (CN 202790240 U).
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 2.
Kim does not expressly disclose a filter member provided at the other side of the cylinder body and configured to remove foreign substances in air introduced into the cylinder body from the outside.
Wang teaches a filter member (dust filtration mesh) provided at the other side of the cylinder body (dust filtration mesh provided in an inner cavity of an air inlet flange connector arranged at an air inlet side of the brake cylinder/cylinder body) and configured to remove foreign substances in air introduced into the cylinder body from the outside (dust filtration mesh filtering dust/foreign substances from air introduced into the brake cylinder through the air inlet flange connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedal simulator of Kim to include the dust filtration mesh taught by Wang because Wang teaches using a dust filtration mesh in a brake cylinder air inlet structure to improve dust filtration/dustproof effect and prevent foreign substances from entering the cylinder.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20210070529 A) in view of Giering et al. (US 20050252734 A1), Cretu et al. (DE 102019219337 A1) and further in view of Hoxie et al. (US 11661046 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified discloses the pedal simulator of claim 1.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the piston comprises a piston flange protruding from an outer peripheral surface at a position spaced apart from the other side by a preset distance toward one side, the piston flange extending in a circumferential direction of the piston.
Hoxie teaches wherein the piston (72) comprises a piston flange (spring seat 78/radially outward flange at one side portion of the second piston 72) protruding from an outer peripheral surface at a position spaced apart from the other side by a preset distance toward one side (spring seat 78 located at one axial side of second piston 72 and spaced from the opposite side of second piston 72), the piston flange extending in a circumferential direction of the piston (spring seat 78 extending radially outwardly and around second piston 72 to support/seat the spring members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piston of the pedal simulator of Kim to include the radially outward spring seat taught by Hoxie because Hoxie teaches using spring seat 78 extending radially outwardly from second piston 72 to support/seat spring members in a pedal feel emulator, thereby providing a predictable piston flange/spring-seat structure for supporting reaction/elastic members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 14-15, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hong et al. (WO 2021/172915 A1) discloses a brake pedal moving device including a pedal simulator having an input rod, reaction force piston, damping member, reaction force spring, and boot.
/K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616