DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/22/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatzyk et al. (US20160247319, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) in view of Zhu et al. (US20160125642, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Nowatzyk teaches a device (figs.1-11, abstract, occluding light from a real-world background to enhance the display of virtual objects on a near-eye display) comprising (figs.1-11):
an active occlusion subsystem (selective background occluder 400; paragraph [0025], fig.2, selective background occluder 210 have any suitable configuration. FIG. 4 shows selective background occluder 400) comprising a liquid crystal panel (see annotated image, Nowatzyk, fig.4, liquid crystal panel 408+412; paragraph [0025] LC panels 408, 412) configured to operate in one of a normally on mode to pass light (paragraph [0026], cos2(a+c)=1,--- as a normally on mode---; light ray 402; such that cos2(a+c)=1, such that upper horizontal light ray 402 is transmitted) or a normally off mode to block light (paragraph [0027] cos2(b+c)=0 --- as a normally off mode; continuing with FIG. 4, the bottom ray 420 of the occluded target area 422).
one or more processors (the computing system 1100; paragraph [0043], FIG. 11 schematically shows a non-limiting embodiment of a computing system 1100 that can enact one or more of the methods and processes described above; computing system 1100 may be representative of computing device 220 shown in FIG. 2; paragraph [0002], the first liquid crystal panel and the second liquid crystal panel being positioned between a common pair of polarizers, and a computing device comprising a logic subsystem) configured to:
control (paragraph [0023], such that the LCD panel be controlled to form occlusion areas behind displayed virtual images), based on the direction of light rays (fig.2, paragraph [0022] more light sources configured to direct light) received (see fig.4, paragraph [0028] a large number of pixels that affect the light reaching one particular photoreceptor on the retina of the eye; each photoreceptor on the retina creates its own set of rays, each ray imposing constraints on the birefringence patterns of the LC panels --- note: mapping to applicant specification in paragraph [0025] Eye trackers in NED and HMD devices can include optics for directing light rays reflected from the eye to one or more image or other sensors which capture/detect the reflected eye light), at least one specific portion (see Nowatzyk, fig.4, LC cell a 406, LC cell b 424, LC cell c410 --- as specific portions) of the liquid crystal panel (see annotated image, Nowatzyk, fig.4, the liquid crystal panel) to switch (paragraph [0026] the selective- occluder) from the normally on mode (paragraph [0026], cos2(a+c)=1) to block light (fig.4, ray 420) and/or the at least one specific portion to switch from the normally off mode to pass light (paragraph [0022], Gaze location information may serve as further input to operation of selective background occluder 210; paragraph [0026] the use of a 90 degree offset may involve application of a voltage to form a transparent pixel; paragraph [0027], Continuing with FIG. 4, the bottom ray 420 of the occluded target area 422; In this case, bottom ray 420 may be blocked in that the combined birefringence of LC cell b and LC cell c may be configured such that cos2(b+c)=0).
(note: also mapping to applicant specification in paragraph [0026] an appropriate voltage is applied to at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel in accordance with an input control signal (either from the processing circuitry of the eye tracker, or from a separate control system having a computer processor and/or a computer-readable storage device storing instructions for configuring a computer processor(s) that is linked to the eye tracker)
Nowatzyk does not explicitly teach wherein one or more processors configured to: determine a direction of light rays from a light source.
However, Zhu teaches the analogous occlusion system (Zhu, abstract, Methods and apparatus are provided for displaying shadows of circular light sources), and further teaches wherein one or more processors (paragraph [0065], FIG. 1 is a flow chart illustrating method 100 for generating a display including a shadow; computer-readable instructions executed by one or more processors of the computing device, such as computing device 1200 discussed below in the context of FIG. 12A.) configured to:
determine a direction of light rays (Zhu, paragraph [0060] determined where the rays along the interpolated normal(s) intersect the expansion circle) from a light source (Zhu, fig.2A, light source 210); and also teaches wherein control, based on the direction of light rays received (see Zhu, paragraph [0069], FIGS. 2A-2E; light source radius emitting light toward receiver surface 224; Each vertex OV1-OV5 of occluding polygon OP 220 can have a height measured with respect to receiver surface 224).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nowatzyk to have the specific processors to determine a direction of light rays from a light source as taught by Zhu for the purpose to improve the user's perceived view of the virtual image, it may be desirable to at least partially occlude the portion of the background onto which the virtual image is projected, thereby presenting the user with a sharper and clearer virtual image (Zhu, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu teaches a method of controlling a device comprising an active occlusion subsystem comprising a liquid crystal panel configured to operate in one of a normally on mode to pass light or a normally off mode to block light, the method comprising:
determining a direction of light rays from a light source; and
controlling, based on the direction of light rays received, at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light and/or the at least one specific portion to switch from the normally off mode to pass light (this claim recites similar limitations as corresponding independent claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale).
Regarding claim 20, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage device storing instructions for controlling a device comprising an active occlusion subsystem (Nowatzyk, figs.1-11, paragraph [0002], a computing device comprising a logic subsystem and a storage subsystem storing instructions executable by the logic subsystem to determine a shape and a position of an occlusion area based upon a virtual object to be displayed on the see-through display) comprising a liquid crystal panel configured to operate in one of a normally on mode to pass light or a normally off mode to block light, the instructions causing one or more processors to at least perform:
determining a direction of light rays from a light source; and
controlling, based on the direction of light rays received, at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light and/or the at least one specific portion to switch from the normally off mode to pass light (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding claim 1 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Claims 2-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatzyk et al. (US20160247319, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) in view of Zhu et al. (US20160125642, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024), and further in view of Macnamara (US20130128230).
Regarding claim 2, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein further comprising (figs.1-11):
a waveguide (paragraph [0019] waveguide) comprising:
a coupling-out configuration (paragraph [0024], coupling-out),
wherein the liquid crystal panel (fig.4, 408+412) is configured to operate in the normally on mode to pass light (paragraph [0026], light ray 402; the use of parallel polarization planes provide for a default mode where the selective occluder 400 is transparent --- thus to pass light--- when no voltage --- as a normally on mode --- is applied to the liquid crystal panels).
Nowatzyk does not explicitly teach wherein a waveguide comprising: two major external surfaces configured to guide a virtual image, coupled into the waveguide from an image projector, by internal reflection.
However, Macnamara teaches the waveguide (figs.1-13, paragraph [ 0026], FIGS. 12A-12B, a waveguide ) comprising: two major external surfaces (paragraph [0026] the zone plate layer has been referred to as two major external surfaces) configured to guide a virtual image (paragraph [0023], the virtual image is passed out of the waveguide and into the eye of the user, and the other two modes, N=0 and N=+1, are trapped inside of the waveguide by reflection), coupled into the waveguide from an image projector (paragraph [0026], an imaging module comprises high-resolution mini projector), by internal reflection (paragraph [0023], the virtual image is passed out of the waveguide and into the eye of the user, and the other two modes, N=0 and N=+1, are trapped inside of the waveguide by reflection).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Nowatzyk to have a waveguide with the specific function as taught by Macnamara for the purpose of having a 3D display to produce a true sensation of depth, and more specifically, a simulated sensation of surface depth (Macnamara, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein the one or more processors (described in claim 1) are configured to, in determining the direction of light rays from the light source (described in claim 1), control one or more sensors (paragraph [0022], one or more inward-facing cameras) to detect a gaze direction of an eye (Nowatzyk, paragraph [0022], a gaze-tracking subsystem 222 to track a gaze position of the user's eye; the gaze-tracking subsystem may include one or more inward-facing cameras).
Regarding claim 4, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
determine a corresponding virtual image that is coupled-out by the coupling-out (paragraph [0019], Images from such image sources be delivered to the see-through display 202 via any suitable mechanism, including to waveguide-based optical arrangements--- means a corresponding virtual image that is coupled-out by the coupling-out) configuration in the gaze direction detected (paragraph [0022], a gaze-tracking subsystem 222 to track a gaze position of the user's eye); (note: the limitations of “determine a corresponding virtual image that is coupled-out by the coupling-out configuration in the gaze direction detected” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II)
determine a near-field pattern (paragraph [0013], birefringence patterns produced on two liquid crystal panels of an example selective occluder to form the occlusion shapes) corresponding to the virtual image (paragraph [0017], near-eye displays may form images on a see-through display via projection); and
control, based on the direction of the light rays received (described in claim 1) and the near-field pattern determined , the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel (described in claim1) to switch from the normally on mode to block light (described in claim 1, means to switch from the voltage off/on) such that light coming from a far-field background in the direction of the light rays received, is occluded and the virtual image is projected to at least partially overlap the at least one specific portion occluded (paragraph [0002], in a location visually overlapping with the occlusion area).
Regarding claim 5, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 4 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
optimize the near-field pattern by performing one or more of reshaping and resizing the near-field pattern (paragraph [0057], The instructions may also additionally or alternatively be executable to operate the first liquid crystal panel and the second liquid crystal panel by applying a first birefringence pattern to the first liquid crystal panel and a second birefringence pattern to the second liquid crystal panel based upon the shape and the position of the occlusion area--- means to optimize the near-field pattern by performing one or more of reshaping and resizing the near-field pattern); and
control, based on the direction of the light rays received and the near-field pattern optimized, the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light (paragraph [0057], The instructions may also additionally or alternatively be executable to operate the first liquid crystal panel and the second liquid crystal panel by applying a first birefringence pattern to the first liquid crystal panel and a second birefringence pattern to the second liquid crystal panel based upon the shape and the position of the occlusion area--- means control, based on the direction of the light rays received and the near-field pattern optimized, the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light).
Regarding claim 6, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 4 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
optimize the near-field pattern by applying a holed pattern (paragraph [0012], FIG. 8 shows an angular range of rays that traverse a pair of pixels in two liquid crystal panels of selective occluder; paragraph [0032] from two holes) to the near-field pattern; and
control, based on the direction of the light rays received and the near-field pattern optimized (paragraph [0030], FIG. 6 shows the results of birefringence patterns computed for two-dimensional occlusion patterns), the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel (the liquid crystal panel) to switch from the normally on mode (described in claim 1) to block light (fig.4, the bottom ray 420).
Regarding claim 12, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 11 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein the device further comprises a waveguide comprising:
two major external surfaces configured to guide a virtual image, coupled into the waveguide from an image projector, by internal reflection; and
a coupling-out configuration,
wherein the liquid crystal panel is configured to operate in the normally on mode to pass light (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 2 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale), and
wherein determining the direction of light rays from the light source comprises controlling one or more sensors to detect a gaze direction of an eye ( this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 3 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Regarding claim 13, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 12 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein further comprising:
determining a corresponding virtual image that is coupled-out by the coupling-out configuration in the gaze direction detected;
determining a near-field pattern corresponding to the virtual image; and
controlling, based on the direction of the light rays received and the near-field pattern determined, the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light such that light coming from a far-field background in the direction of the light rays received, is occluded and the virtual image is projected to at least partially overlap the at least one specific portion occluded (see Border, this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 4 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Regarding claim 14, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 13 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein further comprising:
optimizing the near-field pattern by performing one or more of reshaping and resizing the near-field pattern; and
controlling, based on the direction of the light rays received and the near-field pattern optimized, the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 5 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Regarding claim 15, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 13 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein further comprising:
optimizing the near-field pattern by applying a holed pattern to the near-field pattern; and
controlling, based on the direction of the light rays received and the near-field pattern optimized, the at least one specific portion of the liquid crystal panel to switch from the normally on mode to block light (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 6 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatzyk et al. (US20160247319, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) in view of Zhu et al. (US20160125642, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024), and further in view of Feng et al. (US20140240477).
Regarding claim 7, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to, in determining the direction of light rays from the light source (see Zhu, described in claim 1).
Nowatzyk does not explicitly teach wherein control one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays towards the active occlusion subsystem.
However, Feng teaches the analogous controlling active occlusion system (Feng, abstract, systems and methods for detecting and attenuating shadows), and further teaches wherein the one or more processors (fig.2, processor 19) are configured to, control one or more sensors (paragraph [0019], Implementations disclosed herein provide systems, methods, and apparatus for identifying and attenuating shadows; multispectral imaging system may include separate visible light and near infrared, NIR, sensors, or a single sensor capable of capturing both visible and NIR images) to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays (paragraph [0074] each pixel in the shadow penumbra map B can be smoothed locally in a direction tangent to the shadow edge), towards the active occlusion subsystem (see figs.1-2, paragraph [0027] daylight using a shadow attenuation system 10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/provide the apparatus of Nowatzyk to have control one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays towards the active occlusion subsystem as taught by Feng for the purpose of/to improve image quality by removing the dark regions formed by the shadow (Feng, paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu discloses the invention as described in Claim 11 and further teaches wherein determining the direction of light rays from the light source comprises controlling one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays towards the active occlusion subsystem (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 7 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatzyk et al. (US20160247319, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) in view of Zhu et al. (US20160125642, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) and Feng et al. (US20140240477), and further in view of Yaroshchuk et al. (US20220091323).
Regarding claim 8, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Feng discloses the invention as described in Claim 7 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to, in determining the direction of light rays from the light source, control one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of the stray light rays through the one or more lenses toward the active occlusion subsystem (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding claim 7 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Nowatzyk does not explicitly teach wherein further comprising:
one or more lenses.
However, Yaroshchuk teaches the analogous Near-eye displays ( paragraph [0002] Near-eye displays (“NEDs”); AR or MR headsets display a virtual image overlapping or superimposed with real-world images or see-through images...), and further teaches wherein further comprising:
one or more lenses (paragraph [0095], FIG. 7. the passive diffractive optical element may be configured with an optical power. The diffractive optical elements may realize substantially the same optical functions as conventional refractive optics, such as lenses).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nowatzyk to have lenses as taught by Yaroshchuk for the purpose of a moderately large field of view, a high transmittance, and a large eye-box (Yaroshchuk, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Feng discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein the device comprises one or more lenses, and
wherein determining the direction of light rays from the light source comprises controlling one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of the stray light rays through the one or more lenses toward the active occlusion subsystem (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 8 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatzyk et al. (US20160247319, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) in view of Zhu et al. (US20160125642, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024), and further in view of Mermillod et al. (WO2018091518, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 9, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to, in determining the direction of light rays from the light source (described in claim 1).
Nowatzyk does not explicitly teach wherein control one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays through a windshield or window of a vehicle toward the active occlusion subsystem.
However, Mermillod teaches wherein the one or more processors (paragraph [0023]-[0024] actuator is controlled by a computer according to the data acquired) are configured to, in determining the direction of light rays (paragraph [0018] a stray light shield located in the path of said light beam) from the light source (paragraph [0005] the light beam emitted by the image generation device to project said images into the field of vision of the driver of the motor vehicle), control one or more sensors (paragraph [0023]-[0024], sensors; paragraph [0091], each of these three angular positions can be associated with one of the photoelectric cells 72, 73, 74 of the sensor 70, so that the computer 80 drives the screen 50 into the angular position associated with the photoelectric cell that detects the greatest light intensity.) to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays through a windshield or window of a vehicle toward the active occlusion subsystem (paragraph [0020] to the actuator, it is possible to deflect the light rays that reflect off the antilight; paragraph [0023]-[0024], sensors are planned to acquire data relating to the position of the sun relative to the motor vehicle, and said actuator is controlled by a computer according to the data acquired).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nowatzyk to have the specific sensors as taught by Mermillod for the purpose of the amount of stray light reaching the screen and then likely to disrupt the reading of the virtual image by the driver is thus reduced (Mermillod, paragraph [0107]).
Regarding claim 18, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Mermillod discloses the invention as described in Claim 11 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein determining the direction of light rays from the light source comprises controlling one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays through a windshield or window of a vehicle toward the active occlusion subsystem(see Border, this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 9 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatzyk et al. (US20160247319, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) in view of Zhu et al. (US20160125642, of record, see IDS dated 3/22/2024) and Macnamara (US20130128230), and further in view of Ayres et al. (US20200159030).
Regarding claim 10, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara discloses the invention as described in Claim 2, Nowatzyk does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to in determining the direction of light rays from the light source, control one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays that is coupled into the waveguide and coupled out of the waveguide by the coupling-out configuration.
However, Ayres teaches the analogous optical system (Ayres, optical systems for performing gaze tracking and imaging an external scene; paragraph [0024] the optical system may determine a directional and/or angular offset of the reflected image, e.g., an optical gaze), and further teaches wherein the one or more processors (Ayres, paragraph [0103] The gaze tracking operations described above in connection with FIGS. 1-8; Code stored on the storage media may be executed using the processing circuitry of the control circuitry, e.g., one or more microprocessors) are configured to in determining the direction of light rays (see fig.8, direction of light 840 paragraph [0102]the external scene light 840 ) from the light source (paragraph [0102]the external scene light 840 may be accurately determined by the imaging device 825), control one or more sensors (determined by the imaging device 825) to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays (paragraph [0101], stray image display light of the image display light 835 may propagate through the waveguide to imaging device 825) that is coupled into the waveguide (paragraph [0095] grating medium 815 to in-couple visible light corresponding to an external scene) and coupled out of the waveguide by the coupling-out configuration (see fig.8, paragraph [0099] Grating medium 815 may direct the out-coupled light modes comprising image display light 835).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nowatzyk to have one or more processors are configured to in determining the direction of light rays from the light source, control one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays that is coupled into the waveguide and coupled out of the waveguide by the coupling-out configuration as taught by Ayres for the purpose to improve viewing capability and optical clarity of an associated image projection (Ayres, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, combination Nowatzyk-Zhu-Macnamara-Ayres discloses the invention as described in Claim 12 and Nowatzyk further teaches wherein determining the direction of light rays from the light source comprises controlling one or more sensors to detect a direction of arrival of stray light rays that is coupled into the waveguide and coupled out of the waveguide by the coupling-out configuration (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 10 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872