DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NAKAAE (US 2024/0108823).
Nakaae teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising a housing (100) shaped to define an elongated insertion space (141); a heater (121) configured to heat a stick (150) inserted into the elongated insertion space; a puff sensor (112); a memory (114) configured to store a temperature profile; and at least one processor (116) configured to: determine, based on an interval between puffs detected by the puff sensor in a first period among a plurality of periods in which the stick is heated (para. 0016-0019), a setting value for a second period among the plurality of periods, the second period being a period after the first period (para. 0017-19); and adjust power supplied to the heater in the second period based on the determined setting value, wherein the setting value comprises at least one of a target temperature of the heater (para. 0018) or a heating time period (para. 0019).
Regarding claim 2, Nakaae teaches the first period is an initial period from a point in time of a completion of preheating of the heater to a point in time of a lapse of a predetermined period of time (para. 0060).
Regarding claim 3, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to determine the target temperature of the heater for the second period to be a temperature higher than a reference temperature corresponding to the temperature profile, based on the interval between the puffs being shorter than a predetermined interval (para. 0018).
Regarding claim 4, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to determine the target temperature of the heater for the second period to be a temperature lower than a reference temperature corresponding to the temperature profile, based on the interval between the puffs exceeding a predetermined interval (para. 0018).
Regarding claim 5, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to determine the heating time period for the second period to be a time period longer than a reference period of time corresponding to the temperature profile, based on the interval between the puffs being shorter than a predetermined interval (para. 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to determine the heating time period for the second period to be a time period shorter than a reference period of time corresponding to the temperature profile, based on the interval between the puffs exceeding a predetermined interval (para. 0019).
Regarding claim 7, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to change a heating time period for the first period to be a time period longer than a reference period of time corresponding to the temperature profile, based on the interval between the puffs being shorter than a predetermined interval (para. 0019, 0061).
Regarding claim 8, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to change a heating time period for the first period to be a time period shorter than a reference period of time corresponding to the temperature profile, based on the interval between the puffs being equal to or longer than a predetermined interval (para. 0019, 0061).
Regarding claim 9, Nakaae teaches the at least one processor is further configured to initialize the setting value for the second period in response to a completion of use of the stick inserted into the elongated insertion space (para. 0077, 0100).
Regarding claim 10, Nakaae teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising a housing (100) shaped to define an elongated insertion space (141); a heater (121) configured to heat a stick (150) inserted into the elongated insertion space; a puff sensor (112); a memory (114) configured to store a temperature profile; and at least one processor (116) configured to: determine, based on a number of puffs detected by the puff sensor in a first period among a plurality of periods in which the stick is heated (para. 0009), a setting value for a second period among the plurality of periods, the second period being a period after the first period (para. 00010, 0012, 0014); and adjust power supplied to the heater in the second period based on the determined setting value (para. 0009-0015), wherein the setting value comprises at least one of a target temperature of the heater (para. 0012) or a heating time period (para. 0014).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alarcon (US 2016/0057811).
Reevell (US 2017/0238610)
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741