DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-14 and 16-20, drawn to a tape and a process for its production.
Group II, claim 15, drawn to a process of using the tape.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a multi-layer tape as recited in claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art, as detailed in the rejections below.
During a telephone conversation with Kathleen Gross on 10/16/2026, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-14 and 16-20. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation “an aqueous dispersion of an elastomer” in line 2. This recitation is unclear as to whether it is referring to the same elastomer and aqueous dispersion previously recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as referring to the same elastomer and aqueous dispersion previously recited in claim 1.
Claim 9 is also ambiguous as to whether or not the process requires the use of a vulcanization accelerator and a vulcanization activator as recited in claim 1. Claim 9 is recited as “a process of making the tape of claim 1,” however such a recitation occurs only in the preamble and describes an intended use of the process rather than clearly limiting the process itself. The tape of claim 1 positively recites a vulcanization accelerator and a vulcanization activator. However the process which is said to produce such a tape does not recite such components. Therefore it is unclear whether such components are required in the process of claim 9. For examination purposes, the preamble of claim 9 has not been given patentable weight. The claim has been construed as reciting only materials which are present in the body of the claim such that the vulcanization accelerator and vulcanization activator are not required to meet the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukamura (JP 2021130731 A) in view of Nicholson (Nicholson, John W. The Chemistry of Polymers. 5th Edition. Royal Society of Chemistry, 2017.).
Fukamura teaches a pressure-sensitive adhesive tape comprising: a substrate and an adhesive layer applied to the substrate, the adhesive layer comprising a crosslinked rubber component, a tackifying resin, and sulfur (See [0001]; [0009]-[0016]). The substrate and crosslinked rubber component read on the instantly claimed backing and at least partially crosslinked elastomer, respectively. Regarding the limitation “applied from an aqueous dispersion on the backing,” such a limitation describes a process by which the tape is made and does not materially limit the structure of the tape itself. Therefore the aqueous dispersion is not part of the tape and has not been given patentable weight. Nonetheless, Examiner notes that Fukamura teaches a step of applying the adhesive layer to the substrate as an aqueous dispersion (See [0009]; [0036]).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Fukamura does not expressly disclose a vulcanization accelerator and a vulcanization activator as claimed.
Nicholson teaches that rubber is combined with sulfur in the presence a thiazole accelerator and an activator comprising zinc oxide and a fatty acid (See section 1.4.17, pp. 36-37). Zinc oxide is a metal oxide as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a vulcanization accelerator and a vulcanization activator in the adhesive layer of Fukamura. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Nicholson that to do so would predictably increase reaction speed between rubber and sulfur (See section 1.4.17, p. 37).
Regarding claim 2, the at least partially crosslinked elastomer of Fukamura comprises various types of rubber as claimed (See [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 3, Fukamura teaches various tackifiers which read on the claimed species including rosin resins and hydrogenated petroleum resins (See [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukamura teaches antioxidants (See [0017]).
Regarding claim 6, Fukamura teaches surfactants (See [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Fukamura teaches several of the claimed species for the substrate, including paper, polypropylene, and polyvinyl chloride (See [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Fukamura and Nicholson combine to teach an adhesive tape which is identical to the claimed adhesive tape. It is reasonable to conclude that the adhesive tape taught by the combination of Fukamura and Nicholson would have the same release properties as the claimed tape since they are identical in structure and composition (See MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 9, Fukamura teaches a method of manufacturing the tape, the method comprising: applying an aqueous dispersion which includes the various adhesive components to the substrate, drying the aqueous dispersion, and heat treating the tape (See [0020]; [0032]; [0036]). Heating a rubber component in the presence of a sulfur crosslinking agent, a vulcanization accelerator, and a vulcanization activator in the manner disclosed by Fukamura produces a crosslinking reaction, which necessarily includes the formation of polysulfide bonds. Therefore the step of heating and stabilizing the tape reads on the instantly claimed steps of exposing the tape to radiation to crosslink the elastomer and heating the tape to crosslink the elastomer with polysulfide bonds.
Regarding claim 10, Fukamura teaches that the rubber component, tackifying resin, and crosslinking agent may each be added to water as a dispersion medium and subsequently mixed (See [0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Fukamura teaches that the adhesive composition does not use volatile organic compounds (See [0010]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the heating step of Fukamura produces a crosslinking reaction, which necessarily includes the formation of polysulfide bonds, as detailed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Fukamura teaches that the amount of crosslinking agent which is added to the adhesive is 5 to 30 parts by mass relative to 100 part by mass of rubber (See [0016]). This range overlaps the instantly claimed range such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 16, Fukamura teaches a substrate comprising paper (See [0022]).
Regarding claim 17, Fukamura teaches the use or multiple surfactants (See [0015]).
Regarding claim 18, Fukamura teaches a tackifying resin comprising rosin resins (See [0013]) which include rosin acids as claimed.
Regarding claim 19, the various rubber materials disclosed by Fukamura are hydrocarbon elastomers as claimed.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukamura (JP 2021130731 A) in view of Nicholson (Nicholson, John W. The Chemistry of Polymers. 5th Edition. Royal Society of Chemistry, 2017.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Applicant’s admitted prior art.
Fukamura and Nicholson combine to teach an adhesive tape, as detailed above.
Fukamura and Nicholson do not expressly disclose a low-adhesion backsize as claimed.
Applicant states on page 3 of the instant specification “Low-adhesion backsizes are known to one of ordinary skill in the art and can be made from a variety materials.” Applicant goes on to provide multiple U.S. Patents which teach such low-adhesion backsizes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a low-adhesion backsize on the adhesive tape taught by the combination of Fukamura and Nicholson based upon the Applicant’s admission that such low-adhesion backsizes are well-known and conventional in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the objection to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukamura have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant persuasively argues that the Fukamura reference does not expressly disclose the inclusion of a vulcanization accelerator and a vulcanization activator as claimed. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nicholson.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claim has been amended to remedy issues of indefiniteness and that the claim clearly sets forth the metes and bounds of the invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that the scope of claim 9 is indefinite such that one of ordinary skill in the art is not reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim, as detailed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746