DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 02/02/2026. The objections to the abstract have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. A portion of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claim 3 has been canceled. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control module, disclosed in at least claims 16 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Control module in at least claim 16
A review of the specification show that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
–
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16 and 18 recite the limitation “control module” in line 2. The term “control module,” being a non-structural term that is a substitute for the term "means," invokes a claim interpretation under the guise of 35 USC § 112(f), which requires a reliance on the corresponding disclosure to provide the limits on the structure, material or act that performs the claimed function. The disclosure must show with reasonable clarity to one skilled in the art that applicant was in possession of the invention as claimed. Possession is shown by describing the claimed invention with all limitations. Here, the control module, including its function, is discussed in Page 6. However, the corresponding structure that is capable of performing the claimed function (i.e. controlling) of the module is not provided in the specification. A mere restatement of the function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function, is a failure to provide adequate written description for a § 112(f) limitation claim interpretation. Because the specification fails to provide an adequate description of a structure for the control module, the boundary of claim is not clearly defined. A claim without clearly defined boundaries is rendered indefinite. Therefore, the claim, and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 16 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “control module” in Claim(s) 16 and 18 render the claim(s) indefinite. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not understand the scope of the claimed invention when read in light of the specification. The lack of disclosure regarding the limitation "control module” as called for in dependent claims 16 and 18 creates such an inconsistency between the claims and the description that it prevents a skilled artisan from understanding the scope of the independent claims (MPEP § 2173.03). The specification does not use the claim terminology to identify the “control module”. Therefore the claim, and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 106352116 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Zheng teaches a reversing valve, comprising:
a valve seat [1] comprising a first flow channel [11], a second flow channel [12], a third flow channel [13], and a fourth flow channel [14], wherein an end of the first flow channel is an inlet [15], and an end of the second flow channel is an outlet [16] [¶ 0013, 0015];
a first valve body [62], wherein the first valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the first flow channel and the third flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 62 communicates with hole 22 controlling the flow from channel 11 and channel 13];
a second valve body [61], wherein the second valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the first flow channel and the fourth flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 61 communicates with hole 21 controlling the flow from channel 11 and channel 14];
a third valve body [64], wherein the third valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the third flow channel and the second flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 64 communicates with hole 24 controlling the flow from channel 12 and channel 13]; and
a fourth valve body [63], wherein the fourth valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the fourth flow channel and the second flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 63 communicates with hole 23 controlling the flow from channel 12 and channel 14];
wherein the reversing valve comprises a first operation state and a second operation state [¶ 0007; Figs. 4-5 show at least two separate configurations];
when the reversing valve is in the first operation state [Fig. 4], the second valve body [61] controls the first flow channel [11] to communicate with the fourth flow channel [14], allowing a refrigerant to flow in from the inlet and then out of the fourth flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 4; apparent from inspection that ports 15 and 18 communicate], and the third valve body [64] controls the third flow channel [13] to communicate with the second flow channel [12], allowing a refrigerant to flow back into the third flow channel and be discharged from the outlet channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 4; apparent from inspection that ports 17 and 16 communicate]; and
when the reversing valve is in the second operation state [Fig. 5], the first valve body [62] controls the first flow channel [11] to communicate with the third flow channel [13], allowing a refrigerant to flow in from the inlet and then out of the third flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 5; apparent from inspection that ports 15 and 17 communicate], and the fourth valve body [63] controls the fourth flow channel [14] to communicate with the second flow channel [12], allowing a refrigerant to flow back into the fourth flow channel and be discharged from the outlet [¶ 0010; Fig. 5; apparent from inspection that ports 16 and 18 communicate];
wherein the first flow channel is disposed above the third flow channel [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection channel 11 is above 13], the second flow channel is disposed below the third flow channel [Fig. 1; Note: the terms “above” and “below” are considered relative terms and are interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the device of Fig. 1 shows the claimed features when rotated accordingly to dispose channel 12 below 11; See Annotated Fig, 3], and the third flow channel and the fourth flow channel are disposed at a same height [Fig. 1 and Annotated Fig. 3; apparent from inspection channel 13 and 14 are at the same elevation]; after entering the first flow channel [11], the refrigerant can flow into the third flow channel or the fourth flow channel [13, 14] under its own weight [See Annotated Fig. 3; upon rotating the device as described above, such that channel 12 is below 11, the relative heights of channels 13/14 provides further downward space for fluid from 11 to flow, thus providing a flow downwards due to gravity]; after entering the fourth flow channel or the third flow channel, the refrigerant can flow into the second flow channel under its own weight [See Annotated Fig. 3; upon rotating the device as described above, such that channel 12 is below 11, the relative height of channel 12 provides further downward space for fluid from channels 13/14, thus providing a flow downwards due to gravity].
Regarding Claim 2, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zhen teaches wherein when the reversing valve is in the first operation state [Fig. 4], the first valve body controls cutting off of the communication between the first flow channel and the third flow channel [¶ 0010; 62 activates so that plug 72 may engage with hole 22], and the fourth valve body controls cutting off of the communication between the fourth flow channel and the second flow channel [¶ 0010; 63 activates so that plug 73 may engage with hole 23]; and when the reversing valve is in the second operation state [Fig. 5], the second valve body controls cutting off of the communication between the first flow channel and the fourth flow channel [¶ 0010; 61 activates so that plug 71 may engage with hole 21], and the third valve body controls cutting off of the communication between the third flow channel and the second flow channel [¶ 0010; 64 activates so that plug 74 may engage with hole 24].
Claim 3 canceled
Regarding Claim 4, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zheng teaches wherein the first valve body and the second valve body are disposed at intervals along a liquid inlet direction of the first flow channel [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; 62 and 61 are disposed at intervals to interact with the middle partition 2 within chamber 11 to communicate with 15], and the fourth valve body and the third valve body are disposed at intervals along a liquid outlet direction of the second flow channel [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; 63 and 64 are disposed at intervals within the middle partition 2 within chamber 12 to communicate with 16]; and the first valve body and the third valve body are disposed at intervals along an extension direction of the third flow channel [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; 62 and 64 are disposed at intervals within the middle partition 2 within chamber 13 to communicate with 17], and the second valve body and the fourth valve body are disposed at intervals along an extension direction of the fourth flow channel [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; 61 and 63 are disposed at intervals within the middle partition 2 within chamber 14 to communicate with 18].
Regarding Claim 5, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zheng teaches wherein the first flow channel is parallel to the second flow channel [Fig. 1; 11 and 12, apparent from inspection, separated by 3], and the third flow channel is parallel to the fourth flow channel [Fig. 1; 13 and 14, apparent from inspection, separated by 4], wherein the first flow channel and the third flow channel are set at an angle [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection the channels are perpendicular to one another].
Regarding Claim 6, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the first valve body further comprises a first valve port [22] in communication with the third flow channel, and a valve needle [72] of the first valve body blocks or avoids the first valve port, so as to control communication between the first flow channel and the first valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 72 interacts with through hole 22, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 7, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 6 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the second valve body further comprises a second valve port [21] in communication with the fourth flow channel, and a valve needle [71] of the second valve body blocks or avoids the second valve port, so as to control communication between the first flow channel and the second valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 71 interacts with through hole 21, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 8, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 7 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the third valve body further comprises a third valve port [24] in communication with the second flow channel, and a valve needle [74] of the third valve body blocks or avoids the third valve port, so as to control communication between the third flow channel and the third valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 74 interacts with through hole 24, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 9, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 8 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the fourth valve body further comprises a fourth valve port [23] in communication with the second flow channel, and a valve needle [73] of the fourth valve body blocks or avoids the fourth valve port, so as to control communication between the fourth flow channel and the fourth valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 73 interacts with through hole 23, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 10, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the first valve body further comprises a first valve port [22] in communication with the third flow channel, and a valve needle [72] of the first valve body blocks or avoids the first valve port, so as to control communication between the first flow channel and the first valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 72 interacts with through hole 22, controlling communication between respective channels]; and the valve seat or the second valve body further comprises a second valve port [21] in communication with the fourth flow channel, and a valve needle [71] of the second valve body blocks or avoids the second valve port, so as to control communication between the first flow channel and the second valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 71 interacts with through hole 21, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 11, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 7 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the third valve body further comprises a third valve port [24] in communication with the second flow channel, and a valve needle [74] of the third valve body blocks or avoids the third valve port, so as to control communication between the third flow channel and the third valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 74 interacts with through hole 24, controlling communication between respective channels]; and the valve seat or the fourth valve body further comprises a fourth valve port [23] in communication with the second flow channel, and a valve needle [73] of the fourth valve body blocks or avoids the fourth valve port, so as to control communication between the fourth flow channel and the fourth valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 73 interacts with through hole 23, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 12, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat or the first valve body further comprises a first valve port [22] in communication with the third flow channel, and a valve needle [72] of the first valve body blocks or avoids the first valve port, so as to control communication between the first flow channel and the first valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 72 interacts with through hole 22, controlling communication between respective channels];
the valve seat or the second valve body further comprises a second valve port [21] in communication with the fourth flow channel, and a valve needle [71] of the second valve body blocks or avoids the second valve port, so as to control communication between the first flow channel and the second valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 71 interacts with through hole 21, controlling communication between respective channels];
the valve seat or the third valve body further comprises a third valve port [24] in communication with the second flow channel, and a valve needle [74] of the third valve body blocks or avoids the third valve port, so as to control communication between the third flow channel and the third valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 74 interacts with through hole 24, controlling communication between respective channels];
the valve seat or the fourth valve body further comprises a fourth valve port [23] in communication with the second flow channel, and a valve needle [73] of the fourth valve body blocks or avoids the fourth valve port, so as to control communication between the fourth flow channel and the fourth valve port [Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; valve plug 73 interacts with through hole 23, controlling communication between respective channels].
Regarding Claim 13, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above and Zheng teaches wherein the valve seat further comprises a first mounting surface [5, left side] and a second mounting surface [5, right side], the first mounting surface is higher than the second mounting surface [Fig. 1; Note: the term “higher than” is considered relative terms and is interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the device of Fig. 1 shows the claimed features when rotated accordingly to dispose valves 62 and 61 above 64 and 63], the first valve body and the second valve body are disposed on the first mounting surface [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection 62 and 61 are on the left side], and the third valve body and the fourth valve body are disposed on the second mounting surface [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection 64 and 63 are on the right side].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Beek et al. (WO 2019115555 A1, hereinafter “Van Beek”).
Regarding Claim 14, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above, but Zheng does not explicitly teach wherein the first valve body is a solenoid valve; or the second valve body is a solenoid valve; or the third valve body is a solenoid valve; or the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, and the second valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, and the third valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the second valve body is a solenoid valve, and the third valve body is a solenoid valve; or the second valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the third valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, the second valve body is a solenoid valve, and the third valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, the second valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, the third valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the second valve body is a solenoid valve, the third valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve; or the first valve body is a solenoid valve, the second valve body is a solenoid valve, the third valve body is a solenoid valve, and the fourth valve body is a solenoid valve. [Note: the thrust of claim 14 will be paraphrased to “a solenoid valve for one, several or all of the valve bodies” for the purposes of examination]
However, Van Beek teaches a valve arrangement for an operation mode selector [Figs. 1-2], wherein a plurality of valve modules [2] comprising a combination of mode selector valves [9, 10] wherein the mode selector valves may be actuated by a solenoid [11] [Pg. 7, 4 – Pg. 8, 17]. Van Beek discloses that the use of a solenoid provides the means to actuate the valve elements to enable the system, thus demonstrating that a solenoid is a known means to enable a similar system in the art [Pg. 8, 4 – Pg. 9, 6]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the solenoids as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the solenoids would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. solenoids provide a means to modulate the valve elements, thereby enabling a system requiring actuation of a valve element to interact with a valve body [Pg. 8, 4 – Pg. 9, 6].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zheng to have a solenoid valve for one, several or all of the valve bodies, in view of the teachings of Van Beek, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. solenoids provide a means to modulate the valve elements, thereby enabling a system requiring actuation of a valve element to interact with a valve body.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fu et al. (CN 112444006 A, hereinafter “Fu”).
Regarding Claim 15, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 1 above but Zhen does not explicitly the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel.
However, Fu teaches a heat exchange system [Fig. 1] comprising a compressor [1], a reversing valve [8] and a first and a second heat exchange apparatus [2, 6], wherein the compressor communicates with valve 8 at points D1 and point S1 [¶ 0031; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection]. Furthermore, heat exchange apparatus 2 communicates with apparatus 6 via refrigerant line and with the valve via point C1. Lastly, heat exchange apparatus 6 communicates with the valve via point E1. Zheng teaches that the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the four-way reversing valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the valve would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zheng to have the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel, in view of the teachings of Fu and Zheng where the elements could have been combined by known method with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 16, Zheng, as modified, teaches the heat exchange system as claimed in claim 15 above and Fu further teaches comprising:
a control module [see control method; ¶ 0044-0051; also see claim 10], wherein the control module is connected to the first valve body, the second valve body, the third valve body, and the fourth valve body [as taught by Zheng in claim 1] of the reversing valve; wherein the heat exchange system comprises a first heat exchange state and a second heat exchange state [See Figs. 1-2 of Fu showing different refrigerant flow and modes], when the heat exchange system is in the first heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve to be in a first operation state [¶ 0044-0051; Fig. 1; in the cooling mode, D1 communicates with C1 and E1 communicates with S1]; and when the heat exchange system is in the second heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve to be in a second operation state [¶ 0044-0051; Fig. 2; in the heating mode D1 communicates with E1 and S1 communicates with C1].
Regarding Claim 17, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 2 above but Zheng does not explicitly disclose the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel.
However, Fu teaches a heat exchange system [Fig. 1] comprising a compressor [1], a reversing valve [8] and a first and a second heat exchange apparatus [2, 6], wherein the compressor communicates with valve 8 at points D1 and point S1 [¶ 0031; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection]. Furthermore, heat exchange apparatus 2 communicates with apparatus 6 via refrigerant line and with the valve via point C1. Lastly, heat exchange apparatus 6 communicates with the valve via point E1. Zheng teaches that the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the four-way reversing valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the valve would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zheng to have the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel, in view of the teachings of Fu and Zheng where the elements could have been combined by known method with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 18, Zheng, as modified, teaches the heat exchange system as claimed in claim 17 above and Fu further teaches comprising:
a control module [see control method; ¶ 0044-0051; also see claim 10], wherein the control module is connected to the first valve body, the second valve body, the third valve body, and the fourth valve body [as taught by Zheng in claim 1] of the reversing valve; wherein the heat exchange system comprises a first heat exchange state and a second heat exchange state [See Figs. 1-2 of Fu showing different refrigerant flow and modes], when the heat exchange system is in the first heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve to be in a first operation state [¶ 0044-0051; Fig. 1; in the cooling mode, D1 communicates with C1 and E1 communicates with S1]; and when the heat exchange system is in the second heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve to be in a second operation state [¶ 0044-0051; Fig. 2; in the heating mode D1 communicates with E1 and S1 communicates with C1].
Regarding Claim 19, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 12 above but Zheng does not explicitly disclose the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel.
However, Fu teaches a heat exchange system [Fig. 1] comprising a compressor [1], a reversing valve [8] and a first and a second heat exchange apparatus [2, 6], wherein the compressor communicates with valve 8 at points D1 and point S1 [¶ 0031; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection]. Furthermore, heat exchange apparatus 2 communicates with apparatus 6 via refrigerant line and with the valve via point C1. Lastly, heat exchange apparatus 6 communicates with the valve via point E1. Zheng teaches that the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the four-way reversing valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the valve would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zheng to have the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel, in view of the teachings of Fu and Zheng where the elements could have been combined by known method with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 20, Zheng teaches the reversing valve as claimed in claim 13 above but Zheng does not explicitly disclose the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel.
However, Fu teaches a heat exchange system [Fig. 1] comprising a compressor [1], a reversing valve [8] and a first and a second heat exchange apparatus [2, 6], wherein the compressor communicates with valve 8 at points D1 and point S1 [¶ 0031; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection]. Furthermore, heat exchange apparatus 2 communicates with apparatus 6 via refrigerant line and with the valve via point C1. Lastly, heat exchange apparatus 6 communicates with the valve via point E1. Zheng teaches that the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the four-way reversing valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the valve would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system [Zheng ¶ 0002-0004].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zheng to have the valve disposed within a heat exchange system, the heat exchange system further comprising a compressor, a reversing valve, a first heat exchange apparatus, and a second heat exchange apparatus, wherein an exhaust port of the compressor communicates with an inlet of the reversing valve, an intake port of the compressor communicates with an outlet, the first heat exchange apparatus communicates with both a third flow channel of the reversing valve and the second heat exchange apparatus, and the second heat exchange apparatus communicates with a fourth flow channel, in view of the teachings of Fu and Zheng where the elements could have been combined by known method with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. the disclosed four-way reversing valve structure provides a means to reverse flow in a refrigeration system with reduced refrigerant leakage due to poor air tightness, thereby improving the system.
Claim 1 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng and further in view of Van Beek.
Regarding Claim 1, Zheng teaches a reversing valve, comprising:
a valve seat [1] comprising a first flow channel [11], a second flow channel [12], a third flow channel [13], and a fourth flow channel [14], wherein an end of the first flow channel is an inlet [15], and an end of the second flow channel is an outlet [16] [¶ 0013, 0015];
a first valve body [62], wherein the first valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the first flow channel and the third flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 62 communicates with hole 22 controlling the flow from channel 11 and channel 13];
a second valve body [61], wherein the second valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the first flow channel and the fourth flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 61 communicates with hole 21 controlling the flow from channel 11 and channel 14];
a third valve body [64], wherein the third valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the third flow channel and the second flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 64 communicates with hole 24 controlling the flow from channel 12 and channel 13]; and
a fourth valve body [63], wherein the fourth valve body is movably disposed on the valve seat to control communication between the fourth flow channel and the second flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection valve 63 communicates with hole 23 controlling the flow from channel 12 and channel 14];
wherein the reversing valve comprises a first operation state and a second operation state [¶ 0007; Figs. 4-5 show at least two separate configurations];
when the reversing valve is in the first operation state [Fig. 4], the second valve body [61] controls the first flow channel [11] to communicate with the fourth flow channel [14], allowing a refrigerant to flow in from the inlet and then out of the fourth flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 4; apparent from inspection that ports 15 and 18 communicate], and the third valve body [64] controls the third flow channel [13] to communicate with the second flow channel [12], allowing a refrigerant to flow back into the third flow channel and be discharged from the outlet channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 4; apparent from inspection that ports 17 and 16 communicate]; and
when the reversing valve is in the second operation state [Fig. 5], the first valve body [62] controls the first flow channel [11] to communicate with the third flow channel [13], allowing a refrigerant to flow in from the inlet and then out of the third flow channel [¶ 0010; Fig. 5; apparent from inspection that ports 15 and 17 communicate], and the fourth valve body [63] controls the fourth flow channel [14] to communicate with the second flow channel [12], allowing a refrigerant to flow back into the fourth flow channel and be discharged from the outlet [¶ 0010; Fig. 5; apparent from inspection that ports 16 and 18 communicate];
[While Zheng is believed to reject the independent claim in the 102 rejection above, an alternative interpretation may be provided in view of further prior art, in the interest of compact prosecution]
Specifically, an alternative prior art may also teach wherein the first flow channel is disposed above the third flow channel, the second flow channel is disposed below the third flow channel, and the third flow channel and the fourth flow channel are disposed at a same height: after entering the first flow channel, the refrigerant can flow into the third flow channel or the fourth flow channel under its own weight; after entering the fourth flow channel or the third flow channel, the refrigerant can flow into the second flow channel under its own weight.
Van Beek teaches a valve arrangement for an operation mode selector [Figs. 1-2], wherein a plurality of valve modules [2] comprises a plurality of mode selector valves [9, 10; see four total valves in Fig. 2], wherein the mode selector valves may control fluid to and from a plurality of conduits, such as a suction conduit [8] (first flow channel), a discharge conduit [7] (second flow channel) and at least two evaporator conduits [19; see left and right side of Figs. 1-2] (third and fourth flow channels) [Note Fig. 2; the T-portion of conduit extending out 19 is also considered to be part of the third/fourth flow channels] [Pg 7, 6-24]. It is apparent from inspection that conduit 8 is disposed above conduits 19, such that valves 10 regulate the flow therebetween, wherein a downward force of gravity would motivate fluid from 8 towards 19. Furthermore, conduits 19 are disposed above conduit 7, such that valves 9 regulate the flow therebetween, wherein a downward force of gravity would motivate fluid from 19 towards 7. Furthermore, conduits 19 are disposed at the same level [Figs. 1-2; Pg 7, 16-28]. Van Beek teaches that this structural configuration of conduits organizes the conduits in relative parallel and perpendicular orientations, thus enabling the valve modules to be arranged side by side in said directions, thereby improving the modulation capabilities to increase the size of the system without requiring a larger case that may waste space [Pg 1, 1-14; Pg 3, 11-15]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the conduits as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the conduit configuration would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing conduits in relative parallel and perpendicular orientations enables the valve modules to be arranged side by side in said directions, thereby improving the modulation capabilities to increase the size of the system without requiring a larger case that may waste space [Pg 1, 1-14; Pg 3, 11-15].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Zheng to have a solenoid valve for one, several or all of the valve bodies, in view of the teachings of Van Beek, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing conduits in relative parallel and perpendicular orientations enables the valve modules to be arranged side by side in said directions, thereby improving the modulation capabilities to increase the size of the system without requiring a larger case that may waste space.
Alternative rejections of dependent claims 2 and 4-20 depending from the alternative rejection follow the same logic as those proposed in the rejections above in the same manner.
Response to Arguments
On pages 13-14 of the remarks, in regarding to applicant' s argument that the term “control module” should not invoke 112(f), the Examiner disagrees. The claim language uses a generic placeholder, “module,” coupled with functional language (“control”), without reciting sufficient structure in the Specification. Further the term “module” is merely a nonce word of “non-structural generic placeholder” equivalent to the term “means” because it fails to connote sufficiently definite structure and, in the context of claims 16 and 18 invokes § 112(f). Therefore, the applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
On page 14 of the remarks, in regarding to applicant' s argument that the term “control module” should be not rejected under 112(a) or 112(b), the Examiner disagrees. The claim language uses a generic placeholder, “module” coupled with functional language (“control”), without reciting sufficient structure in the Specification to perform the recited function. Regarding the Specification' s teachings, the Examiner finds that “the heat exchange system further includes a control module. The control module is connected to a first valve body 20, a second valve body 30, a third valve body 40, and a fourth valve body 50 of the reversing valve 70. The heat exchange system has a first heat exchange state and a second heat exchange state. When the heat exchange system is in the first heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve 70 to be in a first operation state. When the heat exchange system is in the second heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve 70 to be in a second operation state” (Pg 18 of the substitute specification) recite insufficient structure. The claim recites no particular structure to perform the recited function of “the heat exchange system further includes a control module. The control module is connected to a first valve body 20, a second valve body 30, a third valve body 40, and a fourth valve body 50 of the reversing valve 70. The heat exchange system has a first heat exchange state and a second heat exchange state. When the heat exchange system is in the first heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve 70 to be in a first operation state. When the heat exchange system is in the second heat exchange state, the control module controls the reversing valve 70 to be in a second operation state”. Additionally, the specification does not disclose general purpose computer or software or specific computer/hardware. The Specification also does not disclose any algorithm to provide the requisite structure. Further consultation with other office personnel reinforces the Examiner’s assertion, while also pointing out the necessary drawing objection to said control module. Therefore, the applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
On pages 14-17 of the remarks, applicant argues that the prior art does not meet the claims as amended. Specifically, applicant argues that no orientation of the device in Zhen is capable of forming the technical solution of having three different heights to flow under their own weight (i.e. due to gravity). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first through fourth points rely on a non-rotated orientation of the prior art. See Annotated Figure 3 of Zheng, wherein upon relative rotation of the device in the manner described in the current and previous Office Action (chamber 11 disposed above chamber 12), a fluid may commonsensically flow through the ports as depicted. Specifically, assuming the liquid has a density great enough to fall down under the effects of gravity, a fluid in chamber 12 would eventually fall through either hole 22 or 21 into 13 or 14 respectively, because potential energy will fall if given room. Similarly, a fluid having fallen from channel 12, falls through either channel 13 or 14, then may further fall into channel 12 via holes 24 or 23, due to fluid communication with port 16. Alternatively, comparing the median height levels of each channel/portion provides at least three different elevations. Accordingly all claim rejections are maintained.
Furthermore, in regarding to applicant’s argument that the specific operation/configuration of Zheng does not consider gravity, "[I]t is elementary that the mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, inherently possessed by things in the prior art, does not cause a claim drawn to those things to distinguish over the prior art". In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2114. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.
Additionally, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [MPEP 2114]. Since the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations.
However, the Examiner has provided rejections of an alternative interpretation (see 103 rejection regarding Zheng and Van Beek, in order to both demonstrate the breadth of the claims, but also to promote compact prosecution by applying art rejections to the interpretation apparently intended by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763