DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 1/2/2026 has been entered. Claims 57-111 remain pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “44” has been used to designate both third plate portions and gussets in Fig. 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 76, 96, 101 and 111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 76, the limitation “the crossarm” in Line 16 “a crossarm” in Line 23 renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. It appears as if Applicant has flipped the antecedent basis terminology since the first mentioning of the crossarm should include “a” and the second should include language such as “the.” It is suggested that the Applicant amend the claim to read “a crossarm” in Line 16 and “the crossarm” in Line 23.
Claim 96 recites the limitation "the one or more mounting apertures" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 101 recites the limitation "the mounting recess" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Re. Cl. 111, the limitation “further plate member” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear which structure the Applicant is referring to. Applicant’s does not specifically use this language in the specification in reference to any particular structure and therefore it is unclear what this structure is and how it interacts with the rest of the device. It is suggested that the Applicant specifically call out which structure is being claimed so that the metes and bounds of the claim can be properly ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 57, 62-68, 70-72, 74-76, and 90-103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dziedzic US 5228260 (hereinafter Dziedzic).
Re. Cl. 57, Dziedzic discloses: A bracket (Fig. 2) for securing a crossarm (24, Fig. 1) to a utility pole (P, Fig. 1), comprising: a pole-mounting member (38, Fig. 1) comprising: a pole-receiving side (back side which faces P, Fig. 1), wherein the pole-mounting member is mountable to the utility pole by engaging the pole-receiving side to the utility pole such that the pole-receiving side is in contact with the utility pole (see Fig. 1); and a front surface on a front side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 2, side with 52, 54 as shown), wherein the front side is opposite the pole-receiving side (see Fig. 1-2); an upper plate (24, Fig. 2) secured to the front surface of the pole-mounting member and extending away from the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 1-2); and a lower plate (26, Fig. 1-2) secured to the front surface of the pole-mounting member and extending away from the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 1), wherein the upper plate includes a lower surface facing the lower plate, and the lower plate includes an upper surface facing the upper plate (see Fig. 6, lower surface of 24 faces the upper surface of 26), wherein the lower surface of the upper plate, the upper surface of the lower plate, and the front surface of the pole-mounting member define interconnected walls of a channel for receiving therein at least a portion of the crossarm (see Fig. 6, the lower surface of the upper plate and upper surface of the lower plate provide the vertical limit of the channel where 24 is located while the front surface of the pole mounted member shown in annotated figure 4 forms a back supporting surface of the channel; as seen in Fig. 4-6, those walls are interconnected), wherein the pole-mounting member further comprises: a first plate portion (see annotated figure 4) defining the front surface of the pole-mounting member; and a pair of second plate portions (42, Fig. 4) angled relative to the first plate portion, and extending from the first plate portion and away from the upper plate and the lower plate (see Fig. 4), and wherein each of the upper plate and the lower plate is secured to and in contact with at least a portion of each of the second plate portions (see Fig. 4-5, via 32a, 34a for instance).
Re. Cl. 74, Dziedzic discloses: A bracket for securing a crossarm to a utility pole (Fig. 2), comprising: a pole-mounting member (38, Fig. 2) for mounting to the utility pole by engaging a pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member to the utility pole (see Fig. 1, engaging P); a crossarm-mounting member (12, Fig. 2) secured to the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 1) and comprising: a mounting plate (see annotated figure 6) for mounting the crossarm to the crossarm-mounting member (see Fig. 6, using 36); and walls (see Fig. 6, 24, 26) extending from the mounting plate and toward the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 6), wherein the walls comprise upper walls and lower walls (see Fig. 6), and wherein the upper walls and the lower walls define a groove within which is received the pole-mounting member (see 4-5, the members 24, 26 define a groove where 38 fits within as shown).
Re. Cl. 76, Dziedzic discloses: An assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a bracket for mounting to a utility pole (Fig. 2), comprising: a pole-mounting member (38, Fig. 2) comprising: a pole-receiving side (rear side which receives pole P, Fig. 1), wherein the pole-mounting member is mountable to the utility pole by engaging the pole-receiving side to the utility pole (see Fig. 1); and a front surface on a front side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 2, where 12 is mounted), wherein the front side is opposite the pole-receiving side (see Fig. 1-2); an upper plate secured to the front surface of the pole-mounting member (24, Fig. 2) and extending away from the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 6); and a lower plate (26, Fig. 2) secured to the front surface of the pole-mounting member and extending away from the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 6), wherein the upper plate includes a lower surface facing the lower plate (see Fig. 6), and the lower plate includes an upper surface facing the upper plate (see Fig. 6), wherein the lower surface of the upper plate, the upper surface of the lower plate, and the front surface of the pole-mounting member define interconnected walls of a channel (see Fig. 6, the lower surface of the upper plate and upper surface of the lower plate provide the vertical limit of the channel where 24 is located while the front surface of the pole mounted member shown in annotated figure 4 forms a back supporting surface of the channel; as seen in Fig. 4-6, those walls are interconnected), wherein a portion of the crossarm is mounted within the channel (see Fig. 1), wherein the pole-mounting member further comprises: a first plate portion defining the front surface of the pole-mounting member (see annotated figure 4); and a pair of second plate portions angled relative to the first plate portion (42, Fig. 4), and extending from the first plate portion and away from the upper plate and the lower plate (see Fig. 4), and wherein each of the upper plate and the lower plate is secured to and in contact with at least a portion of each of the second plate portions (see Fig. 4-5, at 44a, 46a, 46b); and a crossarm mounted within the channel and oriented such that a longitudinal axis of the crossarm is aligned with the channel (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cls. 62 and 92, Dziedzic discloses: the pole-mounting member comprises one or more mounting apertures (52, Fig. 2) at a top end thereof, for receiving one or more fasteners for mounting the pole-mounting member to the utility pole (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cls. 63 and 93, Dziedzic discloses: wherein the one or more apertures comprise at least one keyhole aperture (see 52, Fig. 2).
Re. Cls. 64 and 97, Dziedzic discloses: the pole-mounting member comprises a mounting recess at a bottom edge thereof (54, Fig. 2), for mounting the pole-mounting member to the utility pole (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cls. 65 and 98, Dziedzic discloses: wherein the mounting recess extends from the bottom edge of the pole-mounting member upwards towards a top edge of the pole- mounting member (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cls. 66 and 102, Dziedzic discloses: wherein the pole-mounting member has a generally frustoconical cross-sectional shape (see Fig. 4-5).
Re. Cl. 67, Dziedzic discloses: each of the upper plate and the lower plate is further secured across an entirety of a width of the first plate portion of the pole- mounting member (see Fig. 5-6, supported and secured using fasteners as shown).
Re. Cl. 68, Dziedzic discloses: the pole-mounting member further comprises: a pair of third plate portions angled relative to the second plate portions (see annotated figure 4), and extending from the second plate portions and away from the upper plate and the lower plate (see annotated figure 4, the portions extend away from the centers of the upper and lower plate).
Re. Cl. 70, Dziedzic discloses: the upper plate and the lower plate extend perpendicularly to the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 2 and 4-5).
Re. Cl. 71, Dziedzic discloses: each of the upper plate and the lower plate comprises apertures (see Fig. 2-5, apertures which receive fasteners 36) for receiving fasteners therethrough, for securing the crossarm to the upper plate and the lower plate when the crossarm is received within the channel (see Fig. 2-5).
Re. Cl. 72, Dziedzic discloses: each of the upper plate and the lower plate comprises a front edge (see annotated figure 4), side edges extending from the front edge and toward the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see annotated figure 4), and a pair of rear edges (see annotated figure 4) extending at obtuse angles to the side edges and toward the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 75, Dziedzic discloses: the pair of second plate portions are angled relative to the first plate portion at angles greater than 90 degrees (see Fig. 4, the portions 42 are angled relative to the portion between them at an angle greater than 90 degrees).
Re. Cl. 90, Dziedzic discloses: a cross-sectional shape of the pole-mounting member substantially conforms to a shape of the groove (see Fig. 4-5).
Re. Cl. 91, Dziedzic discloses: wherein the crossarm-mounting member comprises apertures for receiving fasteners therethrough (see Fig. 2-5, where 36 pass through).
Re. Cl. 94, Dziedzic discloses: a first reinforcing doubler secured to the pole-mounting member (32b, Fig. 6; shown as secured to 38 in Fig. 4-5).
Re. Cl. 95, Dziedzic discloses: the first reinforcing doubler comprises one or more doubler apertures formed therein (see Fig. 4-6 where 36 pass).
Re. Cl. 96, Dziedzic discloses: a shape of the one or more doubler apertures corresponds to a shape of the one or more mounting apertures of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 4-6, shapes of the apertures which receive 36 are consistent and thus correspond).
Re. Cl. 99, Dziedzic discloses: a second reinforcing doubler (34b, Fig. 6) secured to the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 4-5).
Re. Cl. 100, Dziedzic discloses: the second reinforcing doubler comprises a doubler recess formed therein (see Fig. 4-6, where 36 penetrates).
Re. Cl. 101, Dziedzic discloses: a shape of the doubler recess corresponds to a shape of the mounting recess of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 2 and 4-6, the shape of the recess receiving 36 corresponds to recess 52 since they are located on the device to secure 24 to P).
Re. Cl. 103, Dziedzic discloses: the pole-mounting member comprises: a first plate portion (see annotated figure 4); a pair of second plate portions (42, Fig. 4-5) angled relative to the first plate portion (see Fig. 4-5), extending from the first plate portion, and extending away from the crossarm-mounting member (see Fig. 4-5, the portions 42 extend away from the center of 24, 26); and a pair of third plate portions angled relative to the second plate portions (see annotated figure 4), extending from the second plate portions, and extending away from the crossarm-mounting member (see Fig. 4, away from the center of 12).
Claims 73, 77, 80, 82 and 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faries US 2016/0258177 (hereinafter Faries).
Re. Cl. 73, Dziedzic discloses: A bracket for securing a crossarm (112, Fig. 2) to a utility pole (116, Fig. 2), comprising: a pole-mounting member (114 and 120, Fig. 1-3) for mounting to the utility pole by engaging a pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member to the utility pole (see Fig. 2); a crossarm-mounting member (100, Fig. 2) secured to the pole-mounting member and comprising: a rear plate (106, Fig. 1); and walls (102, Fig. 2) extending from the rear plate and away from the pole-receiving side of the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 2), wherein the rear plate and the walls define a channel for receiving the crossarm (see Fig. 2, where 112 enters), and wherein the bracket further comprises at least one supporting member (104, Fig. 1-2) secured to the rear plate of the crossarm-mounting member and to the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 2), for resisting a load applied to the crossarm-mounting member when the crossarm is received within the channel (see Paragraph 0028), and wherein the at least one supporting member comprises: a plate portion (108, Fig. 1) secured to the rear plate of the crossarm-mounting member (see Fig. 1); and a pair of gusset portions (110, Fig. 1) extending from the plate portion and secured to the pole- mounting member (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 77, Faries discloses: the at least one supporting member comprises: a first supporting member on a first side of a longitudinal axis defined by the pole- mounting member (see 104, Fig. 1-2); and a second supporting member on a second side of the longitudinal axis, wherein the second side is opposite the first side (see Fig. 1-2).
Re. Cl. 80, Faries discloses: the pole-mounting member comprises one or more mounting apertures at a top end thereof (see openings in top of 118, Fig. 2), for receiving one or more fasteners for mounting the pole-mounting member to the utility pole (see Fig. 2-3).
Re. Cl. 82, Faries discloses: the pole-mounting member comprises a mounting recess at a bottom edge thereof (see opening at the bottom of 118, Fig. 2), for mounting the pole-mounting member to the utility pole (see Fig. 2-3).
Re. Cl. 89, Faries discloses: the crossarm-mounting member comprises apertures for receiving fasteners therethrough (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58-60 and 107-111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dziedzic in view of Taylor US 3555747 (hereinafter Taylor).
Re. Cls. 58-60 and 108-110, Dziedzic does not disclose a supporting member secured to the lower plate and to the front surface of the pole-mounting member, for resisting a load applied to the lower plate when the crossarm is received within the channel (Cl. 58), the supporting member comprises one or more apertures formed therein for attaching a guy-wire to the supporting member (Cl. 59), the supporting member extends perpendicularly to the lower plate (Cl. 60), a guy-wire attachment for securing the bracket to a guy-wire (Cl. 107), the guy-wire attachment comprises one or more tab members secured to an underside of at least one of the walls of the crossarm-mounting member and to the pole-mounting member (Cl. 108), the guy-wire attachment comprises a first end secured relative to the crossarm-mounting member and a second end comprising one or more rotating members rotatable relative to the guy-wire attachment (Cl. 109), or the guy-wire attachment comprises a plate member secured to at least one of the walls of the crossarm-mounting member (Cl. 110). Taylor discloses a bracket (Fig. 4) for securing a crossarm (10) to a pole (14) which includes a supporting member (19, Fig. 3) secured to the lower plate (16, Fig. 3) and to the front surface of the pole-mounting member (18, Fig. 1-3), for resisting a load applied to the lower plate when the crossarm is received within the channel (see Fig. 1-2); the supporting member comprises one or more apertures formed therein (21, Fig. 3) for attaching a guy-wire to the supporting member (see 22, Fig. 1); the supporting member extends perpendicularly to the lower plate (see Fig. 1-3); a guy-wire attachment (19, 20, Fig. 1-3) for securing the bracket to a guy-wire (see Fig. 1, 22); the guy-wire attachment comprises one or more tab members (19, Fig. 3) secured to an underside of at least one of the walls of the crossarm-mounting member and to the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 3, to underside of 16); the guy-wire attachment comprises a first end secured relative to the crossarm-mounting member (19, Fig. 3) and a second end comprising one or more rotating members rotatable relative to the guy-wire attachment (20, Fig. 1, via pin shown); the guy-wire attachment comprises a plate member secured to at least one of the walls of the crossarm-mounting member (see 19, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Dziedzic device to include the supporting member/guy wire attachment of Taylor with reasonable expectation of success since Taylor states that such a modification rigidifies the shelf (16) (Col. 2, Lines 43-46).
Re. Cl. 111, Dziedzic discloses: a further plate member (32a or 34a, Fig. 6) secured to at least another one of the walls of the crossarm-mounting member (see Fig. 6).
Claims 61 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dziedzic in view of LAL US 2022/0094149 (hereinafter LAL).
Re. Cls. 61 and 69, Dziedzic does not disclose each/one or both of the upper plate and the lower plate are welded to the front surface of the pole-mounting member. LAL discloses a bracket (Fig. 1) for securing a crossarm to utility pole (see Abstract, Lines 1-5) which includes upper and lower plates (12, 13, Fig. 1) secured to the front surface of the pole mounting member (see Fig. 1, to 11). LAL discloses that the upper and lower plates are connected in two manners, using bends (34, 35) and welding (44, 45, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Dziedzic device to have its upper and lower plate welded to the front surface of the pole mounting member as disclosed by LAL with reasonable expectation of success since LAL states that such a modification considerably improves the strength of the joint and thus the loadbearing capacity of the bracket is significantly enhanced (Abstract, Lines 9-13).
Claim 104-105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dziedzic in view of Chipka US 2003/0168560 (hereinafter Chipka).
Re. Cls. 104-105, Dziedzic does not disclose a support member secured to the pole- mounting member in a position for supporting the crossarm when the crossarm is mounted to the mounting plate (Cl. 104), the support member comprises a plate portion and a pair of gusset portions extending from the plate portion and secured to the pole-mounting member (Cl. 105). Chipka discloses a support member (16, Fig. 1-2) secured between a pole mounting member (14) and a crossarm mounting member (12), in a position for supporting a crossarm when mounted to the mounting plate (see Fig. 1-2, when an object is mounted to 12); the support member comprises a plate portion (central 16, Fig. 1-2) and a pair of gusset portions (lateral 16s, Fig. 1-2) extending from the plate portion and secured to the pole-mounting member (see Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Dziedzic device to include the support member of Chipka with reasonable expectation of success since Chipka states that such an modification structurally reinforces the shelf (12) (Paragraph 0027, Lines 4-6).
Claim 79 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faries in view of LAL.
Faries does not disclose the crossarm mounting member is welded to the pole-mounting member. LAL discloses a bracket (Fig. 1) for securing a crossarm to utility pole (see Abstract, Lines 1-5) which includes upper and lower plates (12, 13, Fig. 1) secured to the front surface of the pole mounting member (see Fig. 1, to 11). LAL discloses that it is known to form connections in two manners, using bends (34, 35) and welding (44, 45, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Faries device to have its crossarm mounting member not only fastened to the pole mounting member using fasteners but also use welding as disclosed by LAL with reasonable expectation of success since LAL states that such a modification considerably improves the strength of the joint and thus the loadbearing capacity of the bracket is significantly enhanced (Abstract, Lines 9-13).
Claims 81 and 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faries in view of Dziedzic.
Re. Cls. 81 and 83, Faries does not disclose the one or more apertures comprise at least one key-hole aperture (Cl. 81) or the mounting recess extends from the bottom edge of the pole mounting member upward towards a top edge of the pole-mounting member (Cl. 83). Dziedzic discloses a bracket (Fig. 1) which includes a pole-mounting member (38, Fig. 2) which includes one or more apertures in the from of a key-hole aperture (52, Fig. 2) and a mounting recess in the form of a recess which extends from the bottom edge of the pole mounting member upward towards a top edge of the pole-mounting member (54, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Faries device to replace the circular aperture/recess with the keyhole and open bottom recess of Dziedzic with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve a predictable result. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Claim 84 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faries.
Re. Cl. 84, Faries discloses that the pole mounting member (120) has a generally rectangular or U-shaped cross-section shape (see Fig. 2-3) and therefore does not disclose that it is generally frustoconical in cross-section. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of (120) to be generally frustoconical in cross section has been held obvious absent persuasive evidence to change the shape of a device. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 78, 85-88 and 106 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 57-111 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams US 1802995, Stroup US 1815598, and Lin US 6862861 disclose other known brackets which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632