DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims, specification, and abstract dated 3/23/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-14 were amended and new claim 15 was added.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 15 there is an extraneous [0057].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the mains" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0036401 to Takano et al. (hereinafter Takano ‘401; cited by Applicant on 3/23/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Takano ‘401 teaches a rotor (FIG. 1, 30) for a drive motor (FIG. 1, 1), comprising:
a rotor core (FIG. 2, 31) having an outer circumference;
a surface magnet (FIG. 2, 32) arranged on the outer circumference of the rotor core, wherein the surface magnet also has an outer circumference; and
a reinforcing sleeve (FIG. 2, 33) arranged on the outer circumference of the surface magnet, wherein the reinforcing sleeve is configured to fix the surface magnet to the rotor core (Paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing sleeve is connected to the surface magnet by way of a material connection (Paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing sleeve is made of plastic (Paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein:
the surface magnet is formed by at least two circular segment-shaped magnetic segments (FGI. 2, 32), and the reinforcing sleeve comprises a cylindrical base body (FIG. 2, 33).
Regarding claim 12, Takano ‘401 teaches a drive motor (FIG. 1, 1) having a stator (FIG. 1, 20) and a rotor (FIG. 1, 30), wherein the rotor comprises a rotor core (FIG. 2, 31) on the outer circumference of which is arranged a surface magnet (FIG. 2, 32) and wherein a reinforcing sleeve (FIG. 2, 33) for fixing the surface magnet to the rotor core (Paragraph [0054]) is arranged on an outer circumference of the surface magnet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401 over German Patent No. 10 2011 105 867 to Borsai et al. (hereinafter Borsai; provided by Applicant on 3/23/2024).
Regarding claim 4, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing sleeve comprises a cylindrical base body (FIG. 2, 33).
Takano ‘401 does not teach the surface magnet being implemented as a ring magnet.
However, Borsai teaches a rotor with a surface ring magnet (FIG. 2, 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 with the ring magnet of Borsai to achieve a higher flux density.
Regarding claim 10, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Takano ‘401 does not teach the rotor being formed as a laminated core.
However, Borsai teaches a rotor being formed as a laminated core (FIG. 6, 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 with the laminated core of Borsai as they improve magnetic performance by decreasing eddy current losses.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401 over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0204017 to Choi et al. (hereinafter Choi; cited by Applicant on 3/23/2024) and German Patent No. 10 2018 004 725 to Takano et al. (hereinafter Takano ‘725).
Regarding claim 6, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Takano ‘401 does not teach the surface magnet being formed by at least two annular magnetic segments, the reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two cylindrical sleeve segments, and the at least two annular magnetic segments and the at least two cylindrical sleeve segments are arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
However, Choi teaches a surface magnet being formed by at least two annular magnetic segments (FIG. 6, 110), the at least two annular magnetic segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 with the annular magnetic segments of Choi to provide an easier to install and replace modular component for the rotor.
Takano ’401 in view of Choi does not teach the reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two cylindrical sleeve segments, the at least two cylindrical sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
However, Takano ‘725 teaches a reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two cylindrical sleeve segments (FIG. 2A, 33), the at least two cylindrical sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 in view of Choi with the cylindrical sleeve segments of Takano ‘725 to provide an easier to install and replace modular component for the rotor.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401 in view of WIPO Publication No. 2021/183170 to Li et al. (hereinafter Li; provided by Applicant on 3/23/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the surface magnet is formed by at least two circular segment-shaped magnetic segments (FIG. 2, 32), the at least two circular segment-shaped magnetic segments being adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
Takano ‘401 does not teach the reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments, and the at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
However, Li teaches a reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments (FIG. 3; 40, 42, 44, 46), the at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 with the circular segment-shaped sleeve segments of Li to provide an easier to install and replace modular component for the rotor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401 in view of Takano ‘725.
Regarding claim 8, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the surface magnet is formed by at least two circular segment-shaped magnetic segments (FIG. 2, 32), the at least two circular segment-shaped magnetic segments being adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
Takano ‘401 does not teach the reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two cylindrical sleeve segments, and the at least two cylindrical sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
However, Takano ‘725 teaches a reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two cylindrical sleeve segments (FIG. 2A, 33), the at least two cylindrical sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 with the cylindrical sleeve segments of Takano ‘725 to provide an easier to install and replace modular component for the rotor.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401 in view of Choi and Li.
Regarding claim 9, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Takano ‘401 does not teach the surface magnet being formed by at least two annular magnetic segments, the reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments, the at least two annular magnetic segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor, and the at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
However, Choi teaches a surface magnet being formed by at least two annular magnetic segments (FIG. 6, 110), the at least two annular magnetic segments being arranged adjacent to one another along a longitudinal extension of the rotor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 with the annular magnetic segments of Choi to provide an easier to install and replace modular component for the rotor.
Takano ‘401 in view of Choi does not teach the reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments, and the at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
However, Li teaches a reinforcing sleeve being formed by at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments (FIG. 3; 40, 42, 44, 46), the at least two circular segment-shaped sleeve segments being arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 in view of Choi with the circular segment-shaped sleeve segments of Li to provide an easier to install and replace modular component for the rotor.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401.
Regarding claim 11, Takano ‘401 teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Takano ‘401 does not teach the reinforcing sleeve having a wall thickness of at most 20% of a wall thickness of the surface magnet.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Takano ‘401 by making the reinforcing sleeve have a wall thickness of at most 20% of a wall thickness of the surface magnet as a matter of design choice and reduce the overall radial footprint of the rotor (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano ‘401 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0393534 to Lu et al. (hereinafter Lu).
Regarding claim 13, Takano ‘401 teaches a drive motor (FIG. 1, 1) comprising a stator (FIG. 1, 20) and a rotor (FIG. 1, 30), wherein the rotor comprises a rotor core (FIG. 2, 31) on the outer circumference of which a surface magnet (FIG. 2, 32) is arranged, and wherein a reinforcing sleeve (FIG. 2, 33) is arranged on an outer circumference of the surface magnet for fixing the surface magnet to the rotor core (Paragraph [0054]).
Takano ‘401 does not teach the drive motor being part of an electrical consumer.
However, Lu teaches an electrical consumer (FIG. 1, 10) comprising a drive motor (FIG. 2A, 100) with a rotor sleeve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive motor of Takano ‘401 by incorporating it into the electrical consumer of Lu for the electrical consumer of Lu to benefit from the features of the drive motor of Takano ‘401.
Regarding claim 14, Takano ‘401 in view of Lu teaches the electrical consumer according to claim 13, wherein Lu further teaches a battery pack (FIG. 1, 17) for providing power independently of mains power is provided (Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Takano ‘401 in view of Lu teaches the electrical consumer according to claim 13, wherein the electrical consumer is a hand-held power tool (FIG. 1, 10; Paragraph [0064]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834