DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-15 of applicant’s response, filed 10/29/25, with respect to the covered regions of Guo have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/25 regarding Xiao have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding Xiao, Xiao discloses "position information of an available playback area in the cloud desktop, the available playback area in the cloud desktop being an area not blocked by a cloud desktop application window in the preset playback area in the cloud desktop", via the video playback area being a window overlaid onto the main desktop (paragraph 95-96, 114). As the video is decoded and displayed last within the preset position of the sub-window on the cloud desktop, the displayed video window is an area not blocked by a cloud desktop application window.
Further, as seen in Fig. 4, paragraph 111-115, Xiao discloses sizing and positioning the “local window” onto the cloud desktop display “before rendering and displaying based on above position information of an available playback area”, as the decoding and displaying step, S410, occurs after the sizing and positioning step of the local window, S409 (Fig. 4, paragraph 103-104, 113-115).
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not convincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (Xiao) (EP 3544303 A1) (of record).
As to claim 1, Xiao discloses a cloud desktop display method, comprising:
receiving video data, cloud desktop video playback area information and a cloud desktop picture stream, which are sent from a cloud desktop system (desktop, position and size of video window and video content; see Fig. 4, paragraph 103-114);
determining a picture to be rendered according to the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream (paragraph 103-115); and
rendering the picture to be rendered and displaying the rendered picture (paragraph 103-115),
wherein the cloud desktop video playback area information comprises position information of a preset playback area in the cloud desktop, and position information of an available playback area in the cloud desktop (paragraph 111), the available playback area in the cloud desktop being an area not blocked by a cloud desktop application (video playback area being a window overlaid onto the main desktop; paragraph 95-96, 114), and determining the picture to be rendered according to the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream comprises:
determining a video picture stream according to the video data, the position information of the preset playback area in the cloud desktop and the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop (paragraph 94-96, 111-115);
determining, according to the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop, cloud desktop picture data in the cloud desktop picture stream having a size matched with video picture data in the video picture stream (paragraph 94-96, 111-115); and
replacing the cloud desktop picture data matched with the video picture data in the video picture stream with video picture data matched with the cloud desktop picture data, wherein the cloud desktop picture stream after replacement comprises only the picture to be rendered (paragraph 94-96, 111-115).
As to claim 3, Xiao discloses wherein determining the video picture stream according to the video data, the position information of the preset playback area in the cloud desktop and the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop comprises:
decoding and transcoding the video data to obtain pre-processed video data (paragraph 111-115);
scaling the pre-processed video data according to the position information of the preset playback area in the cloud desktop, to obtain cloud desktop video data having a playback size matched with the position information of the preset playback area in the cloud desktop (sized to particular playback window; paragraph 111-115); and
determining the video picture stream from the cloud desktop video data according to the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop (paragraph 94-96, 111-115).
As to claim 4, Xiao discloses wherein determining, according to the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop, the cloud desktop picture data of the available playback area in the cloud desktop picture stream having the size matched with the playback size of the video picture data in the video picture stream comprises:
determining total data of a current cloud desktop picture to be rendered in the cloud desktop picture stream, and determining data of a current video picture to be rendered in the video picture stream (size and position of playing window covering portion of the virtual desktop and remaining desktop; paragraph 94-96, 111-115); and
determining cloud desktop picture data in the total data of the current cloud desktop picture to be rendered, which corresponds to the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop, as cloud desktop picture data matched with the data of the current video picture to be rendered (paragraph 94-96, 111-115).
As to claim 6, Xiao discloses wherein before receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system, the method further comprises:
acquiring, in response to a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection request from the cloud desktop system, address information carried in the TCP connection request (Fig. 3-4, 301; paragraph 81-82, 101-108); and
establishing a TCP link with the cloud desktop system according to the address information (Fig. 3-4, 302; paragraph 83, 101-108); and
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system comprises:
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system through the TCP link (Fig. 3, 303; paragraph 2, 84, 101-109).
As to claim 7, Xiao discloses a cloud desktop display method, comprising:
sending video data, cloud desktop video playback area information and a cloud desktop picture stream to a terminal (desktop, position and size of video window and video content; see Fig. 4, paragraph 103-114), so as to cause the terminal to perform the method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 9, Xiao discloses wherein before sending the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream to the terminal, the method further comprises:
establishing, in response to a video playback instruction, a transmission control protocol (TCP) service, and sending a TCP connection request carrying address information to the terminal, so that the terminal establishes a TCP link with a current cloud desktop system (Fig. 3-4, 301-302; paragraph 81-83, 101-108);
decapsulating a video file to play indicated by the video playback instruction to obtain the video data (paragraph 85, 109, 115); and
sending the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream to the terminal comprises:
sending the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream to the terminal through the TCP link (Fig. 3, 303; paragraph 2, 84, 101-109).
As to claim 10, Xiao discloses a terminal (cloud terminal, Fig. 4, 5, 9-10, 12), comprising:
a receiving module configured to receive (paragraph 127-136, 152-166) video data, cloud desktop video playback area information and a cloud desktop picture stream sent from a cloud desktop system (desktop, position and size of video window and video content; see Fig. 4, paragraph 103-114);
a processing module (paragraph 127-136, 152-166) configured to determine a picture to be rendered according to the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream (paragraph 103-115);
a rendering module (paragraph 127-136, 152-166) configured to render the picture to be rendered; and
a display module configured to display the rendered picture (paragraph 103-115),
wherein the cloud desktop video playback area information comprises position information of a preset playback area in the cloud desktop, and position information of an available playback area in the cloud desktop (paragraph 111), the available playback area in the cloud desktop being an area not blocked by a cloud desktop application (video playback area being a window overlaid onto the main desktop; paragraph 95-96, 114), and determining the picture to be rendered according to the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream comprises:
determining a video picture stream according to the video data, the position information of the preset playback area in the cloud desktop and the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop (paragraph 94-96, 111-115);
determining, according to the position information of the available playback area in the cloud desktop, cloud desktop picture data in the cloud desktop picture stream having a size matched with video picture data in the video picture stream (paragraph 94-96, 111-115); and
replacing the cloud desktop picture data matched with the video picture data in the video picture stream with video picture data matched with the cloud desktop picture data, wherein the cloud desktop picture stream after replacement comprises only the picture to be rendered (paragraph 94-96, 111-115).
As to claim 11, Xiao discloses a cloud desktop system (see Fig. 4-8, 11) comprising a processor and a memory having executable instructions stored thereon (paragraph 137-151) which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 7 (see the rejection of claim 7 above).
As to claim 12, Xiao discloses an electronic device (cloud terminal, Fig. 4, 5, 9-10, 12), comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph 127-136, 152-166); and
a storage device having one or more programs stored thereon (paragraph 127-136, 152-166);
wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement any one of the cloud desktop display method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 13, Xiao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program thereon (within cloud terminal, Fig. 4, 5, 9-10, 12; paragraph 127-136, 152-166) which, when executed, causes the cloud desktop display method according to claim 1 to be implemented (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 14, Xiao discloses an electronic device (server; see Fig. 4-8, 11), comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph 137-151); and
a storage device having one or more programs stored thereon (paragraph 137-151);
wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the cloud desktop display method according to claim 7 (see the rejection of claim 7 above).
As to claim 15, Xiao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program thereon (within cloud server; Fig. 4, 5, 9-10, 12; paragraph 137-151) which, when executed, causes the cloud desktop display method according to claim 7 to be implemented (see the rejection of claim 7 above).
As to claim 17, Xiao discloses wherein before receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system, the method further comprises:
acquiring, in response to a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection request from the cloud desktop system, address information carried in the TCP connection request (Fig. 3-4, 301; paragraph 81-82, 101-108); and
establishing a TCP link with the cloud desktop system according to the address information (Fig. 3-4, 302; paragraph 83, 101-108); and
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system comprises:
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system through the TCP link (Fig. 3, 303; paragraph 2, 84, 101-109).
As to claim 18, Xiao discloses wherein before receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system, the method further comprises:
acquiring, in response to a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection request from the cloud desktop system, address information carried in the TCP connection request (Fig. 3-4, 301; paragraph 81-82, 101-108); and
establishing a TCP link with the cloud desktop system according to the address information (Fig. 3-4, 302; paragraph 83, 101-108); and
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system comprises:
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system through the TCP link (Fig. 3, 303; paragraph 2, 84, 101-109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Zhou et al. (Zhou) (US 2016/0309202).
As to claim 5, while Xiao discloses wherein determining the data of the current video picture to be rendered in the video picture stream comprises:
determining the data of the current video picture to be rendered in the video picture stream according to an operation instruction message sent from the cloud desktop system (paragraph 62-64),
Xiao fails to specifically disclose wherein the operation instruction message comprises a fast forward instruction and a fast forward target time point, or comprises a fast backward instruction and a fast backward target time point.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses a system for playing media content which will determine the data of the current video picture to be rendered in the video picture stream according to a received operation instruction message comprising a fast forward instruction and a fast forward target time point, or comprises a fast backward instruction and a fast backward target time point (receiving fast forward instruction with designated duration; paragraph 69-73, 90-101) so as to provide a more user friendly system allowing the user to fast forward through undesired particular portions of the video content, such as advertisements (paragraph 60, 73, 87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiao’s system to include wherein the operation instruction message comprises a fast forward instruction and a fast forward target time point, or comprises a fast backward instruction and a fast backward target time point, as taught in combination with Zhou, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly system allowing the user to fast forward through undesired particular portions of the video content, such as advertisements (paragraph 60, 73, 87).
As to claim 19, Xiao and Zhou disclose wherein before receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system, the method further comprises:
acquiring, in response to a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection request from the cloud desktop system, address information carried in the TCP connection request (see Xiao at Fig. 3-4, 301; paragraph 81-82, 101-108); and
establishing a TCP link with the cloud desktop system according to the address information (see Xiao at Fig. 3-4, 302; paragraph 83, 101-108); and
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system comprises:
receiving the video data, the cloud desktop video playback area information and the cloud desktop picture stream sent from the cloud desktop system through the TCP link (see Xiao at Fig. 3, 303; paragraph 2, 84, 101-109).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424