DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balnis et al. (US 20190054781).
Balnis teaches a rubber coating for an electronic communication module (i.e., RFID, see 0067) comprising 100 parts of rubber, 5 parts of Naphthenic oil and 5 parts of phenolic resin tackifier (see Table 1, Examples 1 and 2 at 0071) and a tire based on the composition above (see Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balnis in view of Saiki et al (US 20160017121) or Matsuo et al (US 20190144638).
Balnis teaches a Naphthenic oil, but fails to disclose a Naphthenic oil containing asphalt.
Saiki discloses a composition comprising 100 parts of natural rubber and 5 parts of aromatic oil (see Table 1, Examples 2-8, see 0040), which can be used in tire manufacturing (see 0030).
The oil is represented by A/O MDX produced by Sankyo Yuka Kogyo K.K., which used in the instant Application (see printed publication at 0025).
Saiki teaches that tackifier can be used in the composition (see 0028).
Matsuo teaches a composition comprising 100 parts of rubber and 2 by mass of the phenolic resin and 2 parts of A/O MDX mix oil (see Table 1 , examples 1-7, see 0106).
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) , 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301, see also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a Naphthenic oil containing asphalt, since it is a known material based on its suitability for its intended use.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765