DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. rejections of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Bohm does not disclose obtaining the second parameter value without a preset calibration. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection has been modified to teach this limitation. Oja teaches correlating a sensor response to an analyte concentration by consulting a lookup table populated with the sensor response recorded at each known analyte concentration (para. [0089]), the processor determining which stored value is closest to the measured response and reporting the concentration (para. [0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant did not have possession, at the time the application was filed, of the limitation “a first detective value”. The specification as filed discloses only that the internal part of the sensor penetrates the user’s skin to obtain the first parameter value (paras. [0094], [0109]). The term “detective value” does not appear in the specification as filed.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a first detective value” renders the claim indefinite. The sensor obtains “a first detective value” while the processor obtains the second parameter value by indexing based on “the first parameter value” which takes antecedent basis only from the pair-data prestored in the memory. It is unclear whether the value obtained by the sensor is the same value used for indexing, and it is further unclear what a “detective value” is. For purposes of examination the indefinite limitation has been deemed to claim the first parameter value.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, the limitation “without a preset calibration function to calculate the second parameter value according to the first parameter value” renders the claim indefinite. The specification discloses obtaining the second parameter value by interpolation (paras. [0114]-[0117]) and adjusting the second parameter value with the predetermined calibration function f(x)t=f(x)+a(t)x+c (paras. [0155]-[0163]). It is unclear whether such operations fall within the excluded “preset calibration function” particularly in view of claims 11 and 14. For purposes of examination the indefinite limitation has been deemed to exclude a preset function that calculates the second parameter value from the first parameter value, and not to exclude interpolation between prestored pair-data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190320949 A1 to Bohm et al. (hereinafter, Bohm) in view of US 20140121477 A1 to Jin et al. (hereinafter, Jin) and further in view of US 20200237276 A1 to Oja et al. (hereinafter, Oja).
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, Bohm discloses an analyte detection device, comprising inter alia:
a shell ([0265] “…the sensor extends through a housing…”);
a sensor ([0265] “…the sensor extends through a housing…”) comprising an internal part ([0263] “…the continuous analyte sensor system may be comprised of … transdermal device…”) and an external part ([0265] “…electrical connection of the sensor to sensor electronics.”), wherein the internal part is used to penetrate into a subcutaneous skin ([0263] “…the continuous analyte sensor system may be comprised of … transdermal device…”) to obtain a first detective value ([0264] “…the continuous analyte sensor includes one or more working electrodes and one or more reference electrode, which operate together to measure a signal associated with a concentration of the analyte in the host. The output signal from the working electrode is typically a raw data stream…”);
a memory ([0033] “… the plurality of different sensitivity values are stored in a lookup table in computer memory.”) in which at least a first predetermined pair-data set and a second predetermined pair-data set ([0029] “…the a priori sensitivity information is stored in the sensor electronics prior to use of the sensor.”) composed of a first parameter value and a second parameter value are prestored ([0268] “…calibration of the sensor is obtained by solving the equation: y=mx+b wherein y represents the sensor signal (counts), x represents the estimated glucose concentration (mg/dL), m represents the sensor sensitivity to analyte concentration (counts/mg/dL)…” e.g., the sensor signal y (first parameter value, in counts) and the estimate glucose concentration x (second parameter value, in mg/dL) are related by y=mx+b, where m is the stored sensitivity value. The stored sensitivity value m defines the relationship between the first and second parameter values, and therefore is a pair-data set comprised of a first and second parameter value), wherein the first predetermined pair-data set has at least a time parameter difference relative to the second predetermined pair-data set ([0011] “… the a priori information is associated with at least one predetermined sensitivity value that is associated with a predetermined time after start of a sensor session.” e.g., Each predetermined sensitivity value stored in the lookup table is associated with a predetermined time after start of a sensor session. Therefore, the first stored sensitivity value (first pair-data set) is associated with a second, different predetermined time), and wherein the second parameter value is associated with an in vivo analyte parameter information ([0012] “… at least one predetermined sensitivity value is associated with a correlation between a sensitivity determined from in vitro analyte concentration measurements and a sensitivity determined from in vivo analyte concentration measurements at the predetermined time.” e.g., The predetermined sensitivity value is associated with a correlation between a sensitivity determined from in vitro analyte concentration measurements and a sensitivity determined from in vivo analyte concentration measurements at the predetermined time. Because applying the stored sensitivity to the sensor signal yields the second parameter value (glucose concentration), the second parameter value is associated with in vivo analyte parameter information.);
a processor programmed to call the first predetermined pair-data set from the memory in a first time period, calling the second predetermined pair-data set from the memory in a second time period, and obtaining the second parameter value by indexing based on the first parameter value ([0124] “…a first set of estimated analyte concentration values is generated using the determined sensitivity value and sensor data associated with a first time period, and wherein a second set of concentration values is generated using the second sensitivity value and sensor data associated with a second time period.”; [0054] “…forming a conversion function based at least in part on the sensitivity value; and determining an analyte output value by applying the conversion function to the at least one sensor data point.”);
a transmitter, which is used to transmit the first parameter value and/or the second parameter value to a remote equipment ([0314] “The transmitter may be used to transmit the first and second signals to a receiver, where additional data analysis and/or calibration of analyte concentration can be processed.”; [0429] “…a receiver, which can also be referred to as a display device, is in communication with the sensor electronics module…”);
(Claim 2) wherein the first parameter value is a current value or a voltage value ([0247] “…a raw data stream measured in counts is directly related to a voltage (for example, converted by an A/D converter), which is directly related to current from a working electrode.”);
(Claim 3) wherein the second parameter value comprises a blood glucose concentration value ([0268] “… x represents the estimated glucose concentration (mg/dL)…”);
(Claim 4) wherein the first predetermined pair-data set is at least partially derived from in vivo tests ([0012] “… least one predetermined sensitivity value is associated with a correlation between a sensitivity determined from in vitro analyte concentration measurements and a sensitivity determined from in vivo analyte concentration measurements at the predetermined time.”), and wherein the second predetermined pair-data set is at least partially derived from in vivo tests ([0033] “…the plurality of different sensitivity values are stored in a lookup table in computer memory.”);
(Claim 5) wherein the first predetermined pair-data set is at least partially derived from in vitro tests ([0012] “… least one predetermined sensitivity value is associated with a correlation between a sensitivity determined from in vitro analyte concentration measurements and a sensitivity determined from in vivo analyte concentration measurements at the predetermined time.”), and wherein the second predetermined pair-data set is at least partially derived from in vitro tests ([0033] “…the plurality of different sensitivity values are stored in a lookup table in computer memory.”) ([0279] “…a sensor may undergo an in vitro sensor sensitivity drift test, in which the sensor is exposed to changing conditions (e.g., step changes of glucose concentrations in a solution), and an in vitro sensitivity profile of the sensor is generated over a certain time period.”);
(Claim 6) wherein a test time difference between the first predetermined pair-data set and the second predetermined pair-data set is equal to a difference between the first time period and the second time period ([0012] “… least one predetermined sensitivity value is associated with a correlation between a sensitivity determined from in vitro analyte concentration measurements and a sensitivity determined from in vivo analyte concentration measurements at the predetermined time.” e.g., Each predetermined sensitivity is tied to a specific predetermined time after start of sensor session, the same time it was testing and the same time it is applied during use. Both pair-data sets follow this rule – the difference in test time automatically equals the difference in application times.);
(Claim 7) wherein at least some of pair-data in the first predetermined pair-data or the second predetermined pairdata set are adjustable ([0298] “…the sensor sensitivity profile may be adjusted during sensor use to account for, in real-time, certain parameters that may affect sensor sensitivity or provide additional information about sensor sensitivity.”);
(Claim 8) wherein an adjustment of the pair-data is based at least partly on physical characteristics of the sensor ([0298] “These parameters may include, but are not limited to, parameters associated with sensor properties, such as, for example, sensor membrane permeability or the level of sensor hydration…”);
(Claim 9) wherein the physical characteristics of the sensor comprise at least one of a membrane thickness, an active enzyme area, an active enzyme volume or a resistance of an electrode [0298] “These parameters may include, but are not limited to, parameters associated with sensor properties, such as, for example, sensor membrane permeability or the level of sensor hydration…”);
(Claim 10) wherein an adjustment of the pair-data is fixed ([0286] “…although the in vivo to in vitro sensitivity relationship was not equal, the relationship nonetheless involved a consistently fixed ratio.”);
(Claim 11) wherein an adjustment of the pair-data is linear ([0469] “… the sensor sensitivity drift could be compensated using either linear or non-linear sensor sensitivity-impedance correlation.”);
(Claim 12) wherein the first parameter value or the second parameter value is set with at least one threshold, when the first parameter value or the second parameter value exceeds the threshold, the remote equipment sends an alert indication ([0365] “If the impedance magnitude and phase values exceed one or both of the respective predefined levels, then process 1900 initiates an error routine at step 1910. The error routine can include one or more of triggering an audible alarm and/or visual alarm on a display screen to alert a user that the sensor system may not be functioning properly.”);
(Claim 13) wherein the threshold is set by a user or a non-user ([0365] “…predefined levels…”);
(Claim 14) wherein the second parameter value is obtained by interpolating the first parameter value (([0268] “…calibration of the sensor is obtained by solving the equation: y=mx+b…” e.g., applying the linear equation to a measured first parameter reads on interpolating to obtain the second parameter value.);
(Claim 15) wherein the first parameter value in the first predetermined pair-data set or the second predetermined pair-data set is a continuous range interval, and the second parameter value is obtained by judging the range interval in which the first parameter value falls with indexing ([0268] “…calibration of the sensor is obtained by solving the equation: y=mx+b wherein y represents the sensor signal (counts), x represents the estimated glucose concentration (mg/dL), m represents the sensor sensitivity to analyte concentration (counts/mg/dL)…” e.g., the equation operates over a continuous range of current values (first parameter values) and applying it to measured current value “judges” where on that continuous range the value falls, and indexes via the function to yield the glucose value (second parameter)); and
(Claim 18) wherein at least two of the transmitter, the processor and the memory are integrated (all elements of the device are “integrated” because they are part of the same device).
Bohm discloses that electric energy is provided to the device ([0244]), but does not expressly disclose (Claim 1) where a battery specifically provides electric energy and further discloses where part of the sensor is located in the shell ([0265] “… the sensor extends through a housing …”) but does not expressly disclose (Claims 16 and 17) wherein the transmitter, the battery are also located in the shell, and the memory and/or the processor are located in the remote equipment.
However, Jin teaches a transmitter that is in a housing ([0013]), the transmitter including a sensor, a power supply and memory components ([0014], [0039], [0042]) and a processor located in remote equipment ([0038]). One having an ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the aforementioned components in the housing of Jin, as Jin teaches at [0043] that this would have protected those components from water.
Bohm in view of Jin do not expressly teach (Claims 1 and 19) where the second parameter value is obtained without a preset calibration function to calculate the second parameter value according to the first parameter value.
However, Oja teaches correlating a sensor response to a corresponding analyte concentration by consulting a lookup table, where the lookup table is populated by assaying multiple samples having known analyte concentrations and recording the sensor response at each concentration (para. [0089]; see also para. [0246], sensor response measured in nA). Oja further teaches that a processor determines which sensor response value in the lookup table is closest to that measured for a sample having an unknown analyte concentration and then reports the analyte concertation accordingly, and that the processor interpolates between two lookup table values where the measured response falls between recorded values (para. [0090]). Oja presents inputting the sensor response into a calibration curve as a separate, alternative approach (para. [0091]).
One having an ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to obtain the analyte concentration in the device of Bohm in view of Jin by consulting the lookup table of Oja, because Oja’s lookup table is populated with the sensor response actually recorded at each known analyte concentration (para. [0089]), such that the reported concentration is taken from empirically measured values rather than from an assumed relationship between the sensor response and the concentration, which Oja identifies as the basis of the alternative calibration curve (paras. [0089] and [0091] “the calibration curve for analyte sensors of the present disclosure may be linear”). Oja further teaches that interpolation is employed only where the measured sensor response differs from a recorded value by about 10% or greater (para. [0090]) so that the concentration is otherwise reported directly from the stored values.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791